Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed May 21, 2026.
Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 5, 21-32 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 12-14, 17-18 and 20 are amended.
Claim 33 is newly added.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-20 and 33 are pending and under examination.
Priority
The instant application 18/043,501 was filed on 02/28/2023. This application is a national stage of international application PCT/JP2021/042028 filed 11/16/2021, claiming priority based on Japanese patent application JP2020-190551 filed 11/16/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A verified English-language translation of JP2020-190551 has been filed on 05/21/2026 in U.S. Application No. 18/043,501.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/2026 has been considered.
Withdrawal of Prior Rejections/Objections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office action mailed 01/21/2026 are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application. Applicant’s remarks filed 05/21/2026 have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner also respectfully notes that PD-L2 and CD273 refer to the same cell surface marker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-20 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 2019/0269739 A1 to Brodie et al.; in view of WO 2017/204231 A1 to Nagamura et al.
WO 2017/204231 A1 to Nagamura et al. was published in a non-English language. This rejection relies on a machine translation of the publication generated by Google Patents. A paper copy of said translation has been provided with this action.
This rejection is newly applied, necessitated by amendment.
Brodie provides pharmaceutical compositions comprising a mesenchymal stromal cell (MSC) population, extracellular vesicles secreted therefrom, and a combination thereof, and methods of use thereof in treatment of a disease or disorder. See, Abstract.
The method of treating a disease or condition in a subject in need thereof comprises a step of administering the MSC population to the subject. See, e.g., par. 74, 97, 270.
The MSCs are umbilical cord-derived MSCs (UC-MSCs). See, e.g., par. 23. 53, 59, 86.
The disease or disorder is a muscular disease or disorder, such as muscular dystrophy or sarcopenia. See, e.g., par. 39, 68, 97, 210, 348-353.
Accordingly, Brodie is found to teach or fairly suggest a method for suppressing muscle mass loss in a subject in need thereof comprising administering a cell preparation comprising umbilical cord-derived cells to the subject, as claimed in claim 1.
Brodie does not teach or fairly suggest obtaining umbilical cord-derived cells by cutting an umbilical cord tissue and culturing the cut umbilical cord tissue in a culture medium comprising a human mesenchymal stem cell basal medium and an animal-free additive, wherein the umbilical cord tissue comprises amnion, blood vessels, perivascular tissue, and Wharton jelly, as instantly claimed in claim 1.
Nagamura is relevant prior art for disclosing a process of obtaining a cell preparation comprising umbilical cord-derived cells, wherein the cell population is prepared using the umbilical cord as a raw material. In particular, the preparation method comprises a step of cutting the umbilical cord and culturing the cut umbilical cord. The cut umbilical cord tissue contains amnion membrane, blood vessels, perivascular tissue and Wharton jelly. The cut umbilical cord tissue is cultured in a culture solution suitable for umbilical cord-derived cells comprising a basal medium, such as mesenchymal stem cell growth medium, and an additive, such as a serum replacement or human serum. See, Abstract and pages 2-4 of the provided translation.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brodie by obtaining umbilical cord-derived cells by cutting an umbilical cord tissue and culturing the cut umbilical cord tissue in a culture medium comprising a human mesenchymal stem cell basal medium and an animal-free additive, wherein the umbilical cord tissue comprises amnion, blood vessels, perivascular tissue, and Wharton jelly, in view of Nagamura, with a reasonable expectation of success because such a preparation method would have been suitable for obtaining the desired umbilical cord-derived cells, and the use of animal-free components minimizes contaminants, reducing the risk of immune rejection.
Claim 1 further recites the umbilical cord-derived cell is positive for CD105, CD73, CD90, CD44, HLA-class I, HLA-G5 and PD-L2, and negative for CD45, CD34, CD11b, CD19 and HLA-Class II. Brodie teaches the MSCs express CD105, CD73, CD90, CD44, HLA-class I (HLA-A,B,C) and PD-L2 (CD273), and negative for CD45, CD34, CD11b, CD19 and HLA-Class II. See, e.g., par. 52, 321-322. Nagamura teaches the umbilical cord-derived cells are positive for CD105, CD73, CD90, CD44, HLA-class I, HLA-G5 and PD-L2, and negative for CD45, CD34, CD11b, CD19 and HLA-Class II. See, pages 2-3 of the provided translation. Accordingly, the cited prior art teaches that the umbilical cord-derived cell expresses or does not express the surface markers recited in claim 1.
For these reasons, claim 1 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Brodie teaches that the umbilical cord-derived cell is an umbilical cord-derived mesenchymal cell. See, e.g., par. 23. 53, 59, 86.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Brodie teaches administration of 1 x 106 cells to mice. See, par. 310, 357-359.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Brodie teaches the composition may further contain extracellular vesicles secreted from the UC-MSCs and/or conditioned media from the UC-MSCs. See, e.g., Abstract; par. 86-96.
Regarding dependent claim 33, Nagamura teaches that the preparation method further comprises passaging proliferating cells obtained from culturing the cut umbilical cord tissue. See, pages 3-4 of the provided translation.
Regarding dependent claims 4, 8-20, the claims further recite that the umbilical cord-derived cell, under an inflammatory condition, induces expression of a gene or a protein or both of at least one protein selected from the group consisting of IDO and PD-LI, or induces secretion of PGE2, or induces both the expression and the secretion, in the subject (claim 4); the cell preparation improves a mitochondrial function in a muscle tissue of the subject (claim 8); the cell preparation increases a number of mitochondria in a muscle tissue of the subject (claim 9); the cell preparation induces expression of a mitochondrial function-improving gene in a muscle tissue of the subject (claim 10), wherein the mitochondrial function-improving gene is at least one gene selected from the group consisting a PGC1-α gene, a COX4 gene, and a GLUT4 gene (claim 11); the cell preparation suppresses apoptosis of muscle cells of the subject (claim 12); the cell preparation exhibits an anti-inflammatory effect in a muscle tissue of the subject (claim 13); the cell preparation suppresses expression of at least one gene selected from the group consisting of an inflammatory cytokine gene and a chemokine gene, in a muscle tissue of the subject (claim 14), wherein the inflammatory cytokine gene is a TNF-α gene (claim 15), wherein the chemokine gene is a MCP-1 gene (claim 16); the cell preparation promotes proliferation of muscle cells of the subject (claim 17); the cell preparation induces expression of a muscle cell proliferation-promoting gene in the subject (claim 18), wherein the muscle cell proliferation-promoting gene is a TGF-β1 gene (claim 19); and the cell preparation exhibits a muscle tissue-repairing effect in the subject (claim 20).
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See, MPEP 2112.
In this case, the above limitations of claims 4, 8-20 describe the intended results and/or functional properties of performing the process steps (manipulative actions) positively recited in claim 1. A recitation of an intended result or functional property of the claimed process must result in a manipulative difference between the claimed process and the cited prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed process from the cited prior art. If the prior art process is capable of performing the intended result, or if the functional property naturally flows from the prior art process, then the prior art reads on the intended result or functional property recitation. There is no requirement that the cited prior art expressly teach or suggest the intended result or functional property recitation, but only that the subject matter is, in fact, present in the cited prior art. As outlined above, the manipulative actions positively recited by the claims would have been prima facie obvious over the cited prior art. In particular, Brodie teaches the administration of umbilical cord-derived cells to a subject in need of suppression of muscle mass loss, and Nagamura teaches preparing the umbilical cord-derived cells by culturing cut umbilical cord tissue comprising comprises amnion, blood vessels, perivascular tissue and Wharton jelly, as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, the intended result and/or functional property limitations would have naturally flowed from performing the process steps taught by cited references.
In addition, Brodie discloses similar results and/or functional properties as those claimed in claims 4, 8-20, including increased mitochondria transfer, suppression of inflammation, reduced expression of cytokines and TNF-alpha, and muscle regeneration. See par. 223, 348-353. Moreover, Nagamura discloses expression of IDO, PGE2 and PD-L1 is induced under conditions of inflammation. See, page 2 of the provided translation.
For these reasons, absent evidence to the contrary, the intended results and/or functional properties of dependent claims 4, 8-20 are not found to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631