DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 8/13/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1, 3-14 and 16-19 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0381486 A1), hereafter referred to as Jeong.
As to claim 1, Jeong discloses a display panel (fig 1), comprising:
a display substrate (fig 16, 10) including a substrate (100), an encapsulation layer (330) disposed on a side of the substrate (100), a touch functional layer (41a) disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (330) away from the substrate (100), and a first insulating layer (45) disposed on a side of the touch functional layer (41a) away from the encapsulation layer (330), wherein the display substrate is provided with a first through hole therein (100H); and
a spacer pattern (700) disposed on the side of the touch functional layer (41a) away from the encapsulation layer (330) and arranged around the first through hole (100H), wherein an orthogonal projection, on a plane where the display substrate is located, of a boundary of the spacer pattern (700) proximate to the first through hole (100H) substantially coincides with an orthogonal projection, on the plane where the substrate is located, of a boundary of the first through hole (100H);
wherein the display substrate has a display area (DA), the display area surrounds the first through hole (100H), and a boundary of the display area and the boundary of the first through hole have a distance therebetween (MA);
the display substrate further includes at least one first isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 below); the at least one first isolation structure is a protruding structure (see annotated fig 16 below); the at least one first isolation structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located between the boundary of the display area (DA) and the boundary of the first through hole (100H); each first isolation structure is arranged around the first through hole (100H); and in a case where the at least one first isolation structure includes a plurality of the first isolation structures, the plurality of the first isolation structures are arranged at intervals along a radial direction of the first through hole; and the spacer pattern (700) covers the at least one first isolation structure (fig 16 below);
the display substrate further includes at least one second isolation structure (see annotated figure 16 below); the at least one second isolation structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330); and
the display substrate further includes a light-emitting functional layer (222), the light-emitting functional layer is disposed between the encapsulation layer (330) and both the at least one second isolation structure and the at least one first isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 below).
As to claim 3, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the display substrate further includes at least one first dam structure (PW); the at least one first dam structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located between the at least one first isolation structure (portion of 310 inside G is also one of the first isolation structures; as well as the portion of layer 201 with sidewall facing groove G) and the boundary of the display area (DA); each first dam structure (PW) is arranged around the first through hole (100H); and in a case where the at least one first dam structure includes a plurality of first dam structures, the plurality of the first dam structures are arranged at intervals along the radial direction of the first through hole; and
wherein the spacer pattern (700) covers the at least one first dam structure (PW).
As to claim 4, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 3 (paragraphs above),
the at least one second isolation structure (see annotate fig 16 above) is located between the at least one first dam structure (PW) and the boundary of the display area (DA); each second isolation structure is arranged around the first through hole (100H); and in a case where the at least one second isolation structure includes a plurality of second isolation structures, the plurality of second isolation structures are arranged at intervals along the radial direction of the first through hole; and
wherein the spacer pattern (700) further covers the at least one second isolation structure (fig 16 above).
As to claim 5, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 4 (paragraphs above),
wherein an orthogonal projection, on the plane where the display substrate is located, of a boundary of the spacer pattern (700) away from the first through hole (100H) is located between an orthogonal projection, on the plane where the display substrate is located, of a second isolation structure (annotated fig 16) farthest away from the first through hole and the boundary of the display area (DA).
As to claim 6, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 4 (paragraphs above),
the at least one second isolation structure and the at least one first isolation structure disconnect the light-emitting functional layer (222).
As to claim 7, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
an orthogonal projection of the spacer pattern (700) on the display substrate (100) is located outside the display area (DA) and has a distance from the boundary of the display area (DA).
As to claim 8, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the spacer pattern (700) is located on a side of the first insulating layer (45) proximate to the display substrate (100), and/or the spacer pattern is located on a side of the first insulating layer away from the display substrate.
As to claim 9, Jeong discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a material of the first insulating layer includes polyimide, and/or a material of the spacer pattern includes polyimide ([0181]).
As to claim 19, Jeong discloses a display device (fig 2), comprising:
the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above); and
a polarizing sheet (50, [0086]) disposed on a light exit side (top) of the display panel and including a second through hole (hole in 50), wherein an orthogonal projection, on the plane where the display substrate is located, of a boundary of the second through hole substantially overlaps the orthogonal projection, on the plane where the display substrate is located, of the boundary of the first through hole of the display panel (hole 10H and 50H).
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0210723 A1), hereafter referred to as Han.
As to claim 1, Han discloses a display panel (fig 1), comprising:
a display substrate including a substrate (fig 5A, 100), an encapsulation layer (330) disposed on a side of the substrate (100), a touch functional layer (430) disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (330) away from the substrate (100), and a first insulating layer (upper portion of 450) disposed on a side of the touch functional layer (430) away from the encapsulation layer (330), wherein the display substrate (100) is provided with a first through hole therein (OA); and
a spacer pattern (bottom portion of 450 equal to thickness of 3 microns: Applicant’s disclosure makes it clear that the spacer pattern and the insulating layer are both made of polyimide, as such, there is no difference in structure of labeling a region of polyimide as a spacer pattern and labeling another region of polyimide as a layer when the structure is the same) disposed on the side of the touch functional layer (430) away from the encapsulation layer (330) and arranged around the first through hole (OA), wherein an orthogonal projection, on a plane where the display substrate is located, of a boundary of the spacer pattern proximate to the first through hole substantially coincides with an orthogonal projection, on the plane where the substrate is located, of a boundary of the first through hole (OA coincides with portion of 450 adjacent to the hole).
wherein the display substrate has a display area (A2), the display area surrounds the first through hole (OA), and a boundary of the display area and the boundary of the first through hole have a distance therebetween (A3);
the display substrate further includes at least one first isolation structure (115P); the at least one first isolation structure is a protruding structure (115P); the at least one first isolation structure (115P) is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located between the boundary of the display area (A2) and the boundary of the first through hole (OA); each first isolation structure (115P) is arranged around the first through hole (OA); and in a case where the at least one first isolation structure includes a plurality of the first isolation structures, the plurality of the first isolation structures are arranged at intervals along a radial direction of the first through hole; and
the spacer pattern (bottom portion of 450) covers the at least one first isolation structure (115P).
As to claim 10, Han discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein in a direction perpendicular to the display substrate, a thickness of the spacer pattern is in a range of 2 um to 4 um, inclusive (fig 5A, the bottom 3 microns of 450 are considered to be the spacer pattern).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Okabe et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0199947 A1), hereafter referred to as Okabe.
As to claim 11, Jeong discloses a display (fig 1), comprising:
an initial display substrate (fig 16) including a substrate (100), an encapsulation layer (330) disposed on a side of the substrate (100), a touch functional layer (41a) disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (330) away from the substrate (100), and a first insulating layer (45) disposed on a side of the touch functional layer (41a) away from the encapsulation layer (330), wherein the initial display substrate (100) has a hole area (OA) and a display area (DA) arranged around the hole area (OA); and
an initial spacer pattern (700) disposed on the side of the touch functional layer (41a) away from the encapsulation layer (330), wherein a boundary, proximate to the display area, of an orthogonal projection of the initial spacer pattern on the initial display substrate is located outside a boundary of the hole area (boundary of 700 proximate to DA is outside boundary of OA), and the initial spacer pattern (700) covers at least a boundary of the hole area (700 covers the boundary of OA);
wherein the boundary of the hole area and a boundary of the display area have a distance therebetween (fig 16, MA);
the initial display substrate (100) further includes at least one first isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 above); the at least one first isolation structure is a protruding structure; the at least one first isolation structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located between the display area (DA) and the hole area (OA); each first isolation structure is arranged around the hole area (OA); and in a case where the at least one first isolation structure includes a plurality of the first isolation structures, the plurality of the first isolation structures are arranged at intervals along a radial direction of the hole area; and the initial spacer pattern (700) further covers the at least one first isolation structure (portion of 310 inside G);
the display substrate further includes at least one second isolation structure (see annotated figure 16 below); the at least one second isolation structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330); and
the display substrate further includes a light-emitting functional layer (222), the light-emitting functional layer is disposed between the encapsulation layer (330) and both the at least one second isolation structure and the at least one first isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 below).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose the display motherboard.
Nonetheless, Okabe discloses wherein an initial display substrate is formed with a display motherboard ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the display device of Jeong using a display motherboard as taught by Okabe since this allows for a plurality of display devices to be formed simultaneously.
As to claim 12, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Jeong further discloses wherein the initial display substrate (100) further includes at least one second dam structure (PW); the at least one second dam structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located in the hole area (OA including MA); each second dam structure is of a ring structure (PW); and in a case where the at least one second dam structure includes a plurality of the second dam structures, centers of orthogonal projections of the plurality of the second dam structures on the substrate substantially coincide with one another, and the plurality of the second dam structures are arranged at intervals along a radial direction of the hole area; and
wherein the initial spacer pattern (700) covers the second dam structure (PW).
As to claim 16, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Jeong further discloses wherein the initial display substrate (100) further includes at least one first dam structure (PW); the first dam structure is disposed between the substrate (100) and the encapsulation layer (330), and is located between the at least one first isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 above) and the boundary of the display area (DA); each first dam structure (PW) is arranged around the hole area (OA); and in a case where the at least one first dam structure includes a plurality of first dam structures, the plurality of the first dam structures are arranged at intervals along the radial direction of the hole area; and
wherein the initial spacer pattern (700) covers the at least one first dam structure (PW).
As to claim 17, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Jeong further discloses the at least one second isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 above) is located between the at least one first dam structure (PW) and the boundary of the display area (DA); each second isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 above) is arranged around the hole area (OA); and in a case where the at least one second isolation structure includes a plurality of second isolation structures, the plurality of the second isolation structures are arranged at intervals along the radial direction of the hole area; and
an orthogonal projection, on the substrate, of a boundary of the initial spacer pattern (700) proximate to the display area (DA) is located between an orthogonal projection, on the substrate (100), of a boundary of a second isolation structure (see annotated fig 16 above) farthest away from the hole area (OA) and the boundary of the display area (DA).
As to claim 18, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose wherein the hole area is actually formed by removing a portion of a motherboard.
Nonetheless, Okabe further discloses wherein the display motherboard is configured to form a display panel by removing a portion of the display motherboard located in a hole area along the boundary of the hole area ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to hole of Jeong to be formed by removing a portion of the substrate as taught by Okabe since this will allow for ensuring that the alignment of the hole opening between the adjacent layers are coincident and thus for improved fitment of the underlying sensor component.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Okabe and further in view of CN214847489 (published 11/23/2021), hereafter referred to as CN214.
As to claim 13, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Jeong further discloses wherein the initial spacer pattern is of a ring structure (700).
Jeong in view of Okabe do not disclose wherein a boundary of the initial spacer pattern away from the display area is located within the boundary of the hole area.
Nonetheless, CN214 discloses a similar display device with an opening for a sensor component wherein a boundary of an initial spacer pattern away from the display area is located within the boundary of the hole area (figs 4-6, English translation page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the boundary of the initial spacer pattern of Jeong in view of Okabe within the boundary of the hole pattern as taught by CN214 since this allows for simplifying the manufacture of the display on the mother substrate.
As to claim 14, Jeong in view of Okabe disclose the display motherboard according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Jeong in view of Okabe do not disclose wherein the initial spacer pattern covers the hole area.
Nonetheless, CN214 discloses a similar display device with an opening for a sensor component wherein a boundary of an initial spacer pattern away from the display area is located within the boundary of the hole area (figs 4-6, English translation page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the initial spacer pattern covering the hole area of Jeong in view of Okabe as taught by CN214 since this allows for simplifying the manufacture of the display on the mother substrate by removing the process of separately patterning the hole and the spacer pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2022/0209187 A1 and US Pub. No. 2022/0077425 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/31/2026