DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Un-der 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 12-14, 50, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Miyazaki US 2006/0214275 A1.
Claim 1. Miyazaki discloses a bonding process of a microdevice into a system substrate (such as the one in fig. 3, items 10, 20) where the system substrate has at least one pad (item 13/23) for coupling to the microdevice and a dielectric layer (item 14/24) formed adjacent to the at least one pad, the dielectric layer being configured to bond to a corresponding dielectric on the microdevice, the dielectric layer comprising a shield layer surrounding at least a portion of the at least one pad and configured to limit expansion of the at least one pad during bonding to prevent shorting (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0035] indicates that while an arrangement of the bumps 23 is configured to present "two rows-three rows-two rows" in FIG. 3A, it is not intended to particularly limit to this arrangement, and a desired arrangement may also be employed as required).
Claim 2. Miyazaki discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is separated from the pads (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0035], disclosed in the bumps-formed region 12 and 22, the bumps 13 formed in the first semiconductor chip 10 is opposed to the bumps 23 formed in the second semiconductor chip 20).
Claim 6. Miyazaki discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein a housing structure holds the microdevices and the microdevices have has connections that are formed as microdevice pads (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0035], disclosed in the bumps-formed region 12 and 22, the bumps 13 formed in the first semiconductor chip 10 is opposed to the bumps 23 formed in the second semiconductor chip 20).
Claim 12. Miyazaki discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein the at least one pad is heated up at high temperature and under pressure expanding a system substrate pad area (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0038], disclosed in this case, the penetration of the resin 31 can be accelerated by heating the resin 31 to a temperature for providing a fused condition).
Claim 13. Miyazaki discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is formed before integration of the microdevice (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0040], disclosed in this case, when air is entrapped in the inside of the opening 16 of the first semiconductor chip 10, the air can also be easily eliminated by a defoaming process before the thermal cure process in the similar way).
Claims 5, 14, 50. Miyazaki discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein microdevice pads and the at least one pad are in a contact wherein the contact between the microdevice pads and the at least one pad is formed at a temperature below a temperature needed to form an alloy (this limitation would read through the structure of fig. 3A, as [0038], disclosed in this case, the penetration of the resin 31 can be accelerated by heating the resin 31 to a temperature for providing a fused condition).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 7-11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
(A) Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter because none of references of record teach or suggest, either singularly or in combination, at least the limitation of wherein the microdevice pads are conductive and are composed of one or more types of material).
(B) Since claims 8-11 is/are dependent claim of objected claim (claim 7), They are also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim (e.g., claim 7).
Conclusion
/W.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899