DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by ENQUIST, US 2019/0237419 A1.
Claim 1. ENQUIST, discloses a bonding process of a microdevice into a system substrate (such as the steps from figs. 1-7, [0037], items 30, 32), where the system substrate has at least one pad (items 7/1/4) for coupling to the micro device and a dielectric layer (item 3, upper layer) formed adjacent to the at least one pad, the dielectric layer being adhesive and configured to bond to a corresponding dielectric (item 3, bottom layer) on the microdevice.
Claim 2. ENQUIST, discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is separated from the pads (as seen in the structure of the figures cited above).
Claims 4-5, 12, 14. ENQUIST, discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein microdevice pads and the at least one pad are in a contact wherein the contact between the microdevice pads and the at least one pad is formed at a temperature below a temperature needed to form an alloy (this limitation would read through [0038] wherein is disclosed examples of heating include temperatures in the range of 100-400° C. for times between 10 minutes and 2 hours depending upon the materials used for the contact structures 4, barrier 6 and conductor 1. Time and temperature optimization for a given combination of materials is possible.
Claim 13. ENQUIST, discloses the bonding process of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is formed before integration of the microdevice (this limitation would read through [0039] of the primary reference wherein is disclosed that if the initial bond between the dielectric 3 of substrates 30 and 32 does not include barriers 7, heating can be used to result in contact between barriers 7 due to a higher CTE of barrier 7 than dielectric 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 6-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENQUIST, US 2019/0237419 A1, in view of Razdan et al., US 2015/0162313 A1.
Claim 6. ENQUIST, disclose the bonding process of claim 1, above.
The reference appears to not indicate wherein a housing structure holds the microdevice and the microdevice has connections that are formed as microdevice pads.
However, in a similar interconnect structure, fig. 1 of Razdan et al., disclose a housing structure (item 109) holds the microdevice (item 102) and the microdevice has connections that are formed as microdevice pads (item 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to modify the device of ENQUIST by using the encapsulant from the teaching of Razdan et al., a housing structure, because encapsulants in microdevice structures, such as epoxy molding compounds or polymers, are used primarily to protect sensitive, fragile components from environmental hazards (moisture, contaminants, chemical exposure) and mechanical stressors (vibration, shock). They also provide electrical insulation, improve heat dissipation, and enhance structural integrity, ensuring long-term reliability and performance.
Claims 7-11. ENQUIST/ Razdan et al., disclose the bonding process of claim 6, wherein the microdevice pads are conductive and are composed of one or more types of material (this limitation would read through [0038] of the primary reference wherein is disclosed that for times between 10 minutes and 2 hours depending upon the materials used for the contact structures 4, barrier 6 and conductor 1. Time and temperature optimization for a given combination of materials is possible).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899