Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (PGPub No. 20200185304) in further view of Wu (PGPub No. 20180259271) and Johnson (PGPub No. 20190132994).
Regarding claim 12, Chiu teaches a thermoconductive material to be disposed between a heat generator and a heat dissipator and to be fastened together with the heat generator and the heat dissipator with a plurality of screws (Fig. 14 and [0045-47] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a package component 100 including integrated circuit dies 50 (heat generator), a thermal module 200 (heat dissipator), and a plurality of bolts 202 (screws) used to fasten together said package component 100 and thermal module 200.), the thermoconductive material having a plurality of screw insertion portions into which the plurality of screws are to be inserted on a one-to-one basis in a thickness direction defined with respect to the thermoconductive material (Figs. 13-14 and [0046] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a plurality of bolt holes 148 and 204, which imply that similar bolt holes (screw insertion portions) exist in the thermal interface material 208 as well.), the thermoconductive material including an inside region and an outside region, the inside region being a region located at a side of a central portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the plurality of screw insertion portions, the outside region being a region located at a side of an outer edge portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the inside region (Figs. 13-14 and [0047] points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes areas located between multiple bolts 202 (inside region), as well as the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), the outside region including a support portion which is at least part of the outside region (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), wherein when a pressure of 500 kPa is applied in the thickness direction, an outside thickness which is a thickness of the support portion is greater than an inside thickness which is a greatest thickness of the inside region ([0055] points to the thermal interface material, or TIM, 208 experiencing at least 60 PSI, or 413.685 kPa. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding the difference in thickness between the outside and inside regions, it is interpreted to be obvious that as pressure is applied to the TIM via the bolts 202, at least some portions of the TIM would move away from said bolts and towards the outer edges/outside region, which would result in a greater thickness.), the plurality of screw insertion portions include four or more screw insertion portions, four of the four or more screw insertion portions are arranged at vertices of a quadrangle (Figs. 13-14 points to at least 9 bolt holes 204/148 (screw insertion portions), with each bolt hole corresponding with adjacent bolt holes to create a square shape (quadrangle).), the plurality of screw insertion portions each have a hole shape (Figs. 13-14 and [0046] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a plurality of bolt holes 148 and 204, which imply that similar bolt holes (screw insertion portions) of the same shape (hole shape) exist in the thermal interface material 208 as well.), the support portion is in a region of the outside region, the region being outside the quadrangle whose vertices are centers of the four screw insertion portions (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges (outside region) of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (quadrangle).).
Chiu fails to teach the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component, the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers.
Wu teaches the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component ([0015-16] point to a thermal interface material 12 (thermoconductive material) comprising a foam-like synthetic graphite (carbonaceous substrance).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu and Wu, such that the thermoconductive material comprises a carbonaceous material such as synthetic graphite in order to make use of its thermal spreading ability and high thermal conductivity for better heat dissipation.
Chiu et al. still fails to teach the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers.
Johnson teaches the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers ([0024] points to a structure comprising a dam (or one or more wall portions) made of PET (laminate structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu et al. and Johnson, such that an overlap is formed on the outside region in order to define or provide a channel, pocket, or walled off area that reinforces and/or confines the softer TIM/thermoconductive material within.
Regarding claim 13, Chiu teaches a thermoconductive material to be disposed between a heat generator and a heat dissipator and to be fastened together with the heat generator and the heat dissipator with a plurality of screws (Fig. 14 and [0045-47] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a package component 100 including integrated circuit dies 50 (heat generator), a thermal module 200 (heat dissipator), and a plurality of bolts 202 (screws) used to fasten together said package component 100 and thermal module 200.),the thermoconductive material having a plurality of screw insertion portions into which the plurality of screws are to be inserted on a one-to-one basis in a thickness direction defined with respect to the thermoconductive material (Figs. 13-14 and [0046] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a plurality of bolt holes 148 and 204, which imply that similar bolt holes (screw insertion portions) exist in the thermal interface material 208 as well.), the thermoconductive material including an inside region and an outside region, the inside region being a region located at a side of a central portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the plurality of screw insertion portions, the outside region being a region located at a side of an outer edge portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the inside region (Figs. 13-14 and [0047] points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes areas located between multiple bolts 202 (inside region), as well as the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), the outside region including a support portion which is at least part of the outside region (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), wherein when a pressure of 500 kPa is applied in the thickness direction, an outside thickness which is a thickness of the support portion is greater than an inside thickness which is a greatest thickness of the inside region ([0055] points to the thermal interface material, or TIM, 208 experiencing at least 60 PSI, or 413.685 kPa. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding the difference in thickness between the outside and inside regions, it is interpreted to be obvious that as pressure is applied to the TIM via the bolts 202, at least some portions of the TIM would move away from said bolts and towards the outer edges/outside region, which would result in a greater thickness.), the plurality of screw insertion portions include four or more screw insertion portions, four of the four or more screw insertion portions are arranged at vertices of a quadrangle (Figs. 13-14 points to at least 9 bolt holes 204/148 (screw insertion portions), with each bolt hole corresponding with adjacent bolt holes to create a square shape (quadrangle).), the plurality of screw insertion portions each have a hole shape (Figs. 13-14 and [0046] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a plurality of bolt holes 148 and 204, which imply that similar bolt holes (screw insertion portions) of the same shape (hole shape) exist in the thermal interface material 208 as well.), the support portion is in a region of the outside region, the region being outside the quadrangle whose vertices are centers of the four screw insertion portions (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges (outside region) of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (quadrangle).).
Chiu fails to teach the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component, the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and a material of the overlap is a resin or a metal.
Wu teaches the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component ([0015-16] point to a thermal interface material 12 (thermoconductive material) comprising a foam-like synthetic graphite (carbonaceous substrance).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu and Wu, such that the thermoconductive material comprises a carbonaceous material such as synthetic graphite in order to make use of its thermal spreading ability and high thermal conductivity for better heat dissipation.
Chiu et al. still fails to teach the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap is a resin or a metal.
Johnson teaches the thermoconductive material further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap is a resin or a metal ([0024] points to a structure comprising a dam (or one or more wall portions) made of PET (laminate structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu et al. and Johnson, such that an overlap is formed on the outside region in order to define or provide a channel, pocket, or walled off area that reinforces and/or confines the softer TIM/thermoconductive material within.
Regarding claim 15, Chiu teaches an electronic component comprising: a heat generator; a heat dissipator; a thermoconductive material between the heat generator and the heat dissipator; and a plurality of screws which fasten the heat generator, the thermoconductive material, and the heat dissipator together,the plurality of screws being inserted in the thermoconductive material in a thickness direction defined with respect to the thermoconductive material (Fig. 14 and [0045-47] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a package component 100 including integrated circuit dies 50 (heat generator), a thermal module 200 (heat dissipator), and a plurality of bolts 202 (screws) used to fasten together said package component 100 and thermal module 200 in a vertical direction (thickness direction).),the thermoconductive material including an inside region and an outside region, the inside region being a region located at a side of a central portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to central axes of the plurality of screws, the outside region being a region located at a side of an outer edge portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the inside region (Figs. 13-14 and [0047] points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes areas located between multiple bolts 202 (inside region), as well as the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), the outside region including a support portion which is at least part of the outside region (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), wherein when a pressure of 500 kPa is applied in the thickness direction, an outside thickness which is a thickness of the support portion is greater than an inside thickness which is a greatest thickness of the inside region ([0055] points to the thermal interface material, or TIM, 208 experiencing at least 60 PSI, or 413.685 kPa. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding the difference in thickness between the outside and inside regions, it is interpreted to be obvious that as pressure is applied to the TIM via the bolts 202, at least some portions of the TIM would move away from said bolts and towards the outer edges/outside region, which would result in a greater thickness.), the plurality of screws include four or more screws, four of the four or more screws are arranged at vertices of a quadrangle (Figs. 13-14 points to at least 9 bolt holes 204/148 (screw insertion portions), with each bolt hole corresponding with adjacent bolt holes to create a square shape (quadrangle).), the support portion is in a region of the outside region, the region being outside the quadrangle whose vertices are centers of the four screws (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges (outside region) of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (quadrangle).).
Chiu fails to teach the thermoconductive material including a carbonaceous substance as a main component, the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers.
Wu teaches the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component ([0015-16] point to a thermal interface material 12 (thermoconductive material) comprising a foam-like synthetic graphite (carbonaceous substrance).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu and Wu, such that the thermoconductive material comprises a carbonaceous material such as synthetic graphite in order to make use of its thermal spreading ability and high thermal conductivity for better heat dissipation.
Chiu et al. still fails to teach the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers.
Johnson teaches the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and the overlap includes two or more layers ([0024] points to a structure comprising a dam (or one or more wall portions) made of PET (laminate structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu et al. and Johnson, such that an overlap is formed on the outside region in order to define or provide a channel, pocket, or walled off area that reinforces and/or confines the softer TIM/thermoconductive material within.
Regarding claim 16, Chiu teaches an electronic component comprising: a heat generator; a heat dissipator; a thermoconductive material between the heat generator and the heat dissipator; and a plurality of screws which fasten the heat generator, the thermoconductive material, and the heat dissipator together,the plurality of screws being inserted in the thermoconductive material in a thickness direction defined with respect to the thermoconductive material (Fig. 14 and [0045-47] point to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed between a package component 100 including integrated circuit dies 50 (heat generator), a thermal module 200 (heat dissipator), and a plurality of bolts 202 (screws) used to fasten together said package component 100 and thermal module 200 in a vertical direction (thickness direction).),the thermoconductive material including an inside region and an outside region, the inside region being a region located at a side of a central portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to central axes of the plurality of screws, the outside region being a region located at a side of an outer edge portion of the thermoconductive material with respect to the inside region (Figs. 13-14 and [0047] points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes areas located between multiple bolts 202 (inside region), as well as the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), the outside region including a support portion which is at least part of the outside region (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (outside region).), wherein when a pressure of 500 kPa is applied in the thickness direction, an outside thickness which is a thickness of the support portion is greater than an inside thickness which is a greatest thickness of the inside region ([0055] points to the thermal interface material, or TIM, 208 experiencing at least 60 PSI, or 413.685 kPa. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding the difference in thickness between the outside and inside regions, it is interpreted to be obvious that as pressure is applied to the TIM via the bolts 202, at least some portions of the TIM would move away from said bolts and towards the outer edges/outside region, which would result in a greater thickness.), the plurality of screws include four or more screws, four of the four or more screws are arranged at vertices of a quadrangle (Figs. 13-14 points to at least 9 bolt holes 204/148 (screw insertion portions), with each bolt hole corresponding with adjacent bolt holes to create a square shape (quadrangle).), the support portion is in a region of the outside region, the region being outside the quadrangle whose vertices are centers of the four screws (Id. points to a thermal interface material 208 (thermoconductive material) dispensed on the back side of the package component 100, which includes the outer edges (outside region) of the package component 100 away from the bolts 202 (quadrangle).).
Chiu fails to teach the thermoconductive material including a carbonaceous substance as a main component, the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and a material of the overlap is a resin or a metal.
Wu teaches the thermoconductive material comprising a carbonaceous substance as a main component ([0015-16] point to a thermal interface material 12 (thermoconductive material) comprising a foam-like synthetic graphite (carbonaceous substrance).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu and Wu, such that the thermoconductive material comprises a carbonaceous material such as synthetic graphite in order to make use of its thermal spreading ability and high thermal conductivity for better heat dissipation.
Chiu et al. still fails to teach the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and a material of the overlap is a resin or a metal.
Johnson teaches the electronic component further comprises an overlap arranged only on the outside region of the thermoconductive material to form a laminate structure on the outside region such that the outside thickness is greater than the inside thickness, and a material of the overlap is a resin or a metal ([0024] points to a structure comprising a dam (or one or more wall portions) made of PET (laminate structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu et al. and Johnson, such that an overlap is formed on the outside region in order to define or provide a channel, pocket, or walled off area that reinforces and/or confines the softer TIM/thermoconductive material within.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-13 and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chiu (PGPub No. 20200185304) in further view of Wu (PGPub No. 20180259271) and Johnson (PGPub No. 20190132994).
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899