DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on March 3, 2023. Claims 1-18 are pending and are examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to German Patent No. DE 2020 211 258.4, filed September 8, 2020.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “device for,” “holding device for,” in claims 1, 3, 4-8, and 15-17.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims lack traditional punctuation, e.g., a colon, delineating preambles from bodies of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al., US 20200156553 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kang.
As to claim 1, Kang discloses an interior adjustment system for a vehicle, comprising
a first interior assembly which has a first adjustment device for adjusting the first interior assembly (Seat and motor mechanism – See at least ¶5),
at least one second interior assembly which has a second adjustment device for adjusting the at least one second interior assembly (Console and motor – See at least ¶14) and
a controller (Controller – See at least ¶14),
wherein the controller is designed to activate the second adjustment device in order to adjust the at least one second interior assembly as a function of an adjustment movement of the first interior assembly (Adjust console in response to seat movement – See at least ¶14).
Independent claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as the claims recite nearly identical subject matter in terms of inventive concept but for minor differences due to the claims being drawn to different statutory classes of invention.
As to claim 2, Kang discloses the first interior assembly is a vehicle seat or an assembly of a vehicle seat (Seat – See at least Abstract, ¶5 and Fig. 1).
As to claim 3, Kang discloses the first adjustment device is configured by a seat longitudinal adjustment device, a seat height adjustment device or a backrest inclination adjustment device (Seat slide, i.e., “longitudinal” – See at least Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 4, Kang discloses the at least one second interior assembly is a console element, an armrest, a holding device for holding a functional assembly, a ventilation device, a sound generating device, a light generating device, a display, an operating element or a storage device (Console – See at least ¶14 and Fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Kang discloses the first adjustment device has an electric motor for adjusting the first interior assembly by electric motor (Motor – See at least ¶5).
As to claim 6, Kang discloses the second adjustment device has an electric motor for adjusting the second interior assembly by electric motor (Motor – See at least ¶14).
As to claim 7, Kang discloses the first interior assembly can be moved by actuating the first adjustment device from a current first position into an adjusted second position, wherein the controller is designed to activate the second adjustment device in order to adjust the at least one second interior assembly from a current first functional position into an adjusted second functional position as a function of the second position of the first interior assembly (Adjust console in response to seat movement – See at least ¶14).
As to claim 8, Kang discloses the controller is designed to monitor an adjustment criterion and to activate the second adjustment device in order to adjust at least one second interior assembly from the current first functional position into the adjusted second functional position, as a function of the monitoring of the adjustment criterion (Controller responsive to distance, and seat switches, i.e., input criterions, and activates console adjustment accordingly – See at least Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, Kang discloses the controller is designed to evaluate as an adjustment criterion an operating event, a use state of the at least one second interior assembly, a collision state of the at least one second interior assembly, a driving state of the vehicle or an occupancy state of one or more vehicle seats (Switch ON, i.e. “operating event” – See at least ¶59 and Fig. 4).
As to claim 10, Kang discloses the controller is designed to determine the second functional position as a function of the adjustment criterion (Adjust console in response to seat movement – See at least ¶14).
As to claim 11, Kang discloses the first interior assembly is adjustable along a first movement path in a vehicle interior (Seat rail – See at least Fig. 1).
As to claim 12, Kang discloses the first interior assembly is able to be moved into a plurality of different positions along the first movement path (Movement along rails – See at least ¶60 and Fig. 1; Examiner notes movement along the seat rail includes any number of positions.).
As to claim 13, Kang discloses the at least one second interior assembly is adjustable along a second movement path in the vehicle interior (Console rail – See at least Fig. 1).
As to claim 14, Kang discloses the at least one second interior assembly is able to be moved into a plurality of different positions along the second movement path (Movement along rails – See at least ¶62 and Fig. 1; Examiner notes movement along the console rail includes any number of positions.).
As to claim 15, Kang discloses the controller is designed to activate the second adjustment device in order to adjust the at least one second interior assembly into a position along the second movement path as a function of the position of the first interior assembly (Adjust console in response to seat movement – See at least ¶14).
As to claim 16, Kang discloses a sensor device for detecting a position of the first interior assembly and/or the at least one second interior assembly, wherein the controller is designed to evaluate a sensor signal of the sensor device for controlling the second adjustment device (Distance sensors – See at least ¶14).
As to claim 17, Kang discloses the sensor device is an interior monitoring system (Distance sensors – See at least ¶14; Examiner notes distance sensors meets broadest reasonable interpretation of “interior monitoring system” as “interior monitoring system” has no special definition, and the distance sensors monitor part of the vehicle interior.).
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668