DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 03/08/2023 and 03/21/2023 have been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if claim 17 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 recites, inter alia, “…wherein said filling layer is produced by pressing and sintering a soft magnetic powder composite material. (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruenkmans et al. (hereinafter Bruenkmans), German Patent DE102007054917A1.
Regarding Claim 11, Bruenkmans teaches, a transformer (Fig. 14), comprising:
a magnetic core (41);
a coil (42, 43) extending around a core section (41.1) of said magnetic core; and
a filling layer (44, 45) formed of a magnetizable material (“a matrix 44 or 45 of magnetically conductive material” [0035]) arranged between said core section and said coil. (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0006]-[0009], [0035], [0039]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bruenkmans further teaches, wherein said core section and said coil are disposed to form a gap (gap filled with matrix 44, 45) therebetween, and said filling layer completely fills said gap between said core section and said coil. (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0035]).
Regarding Claim 13 and similarly claims 14 and 15, Bruenkmans further teaches, wherein said filling layer is made of a paramagnetic material (“a matrix 44 or 45 of magnetically conductive material” [0035], “such as iron powder” [0007]). (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0007], [0035]).
Regarding Claim 16, Bruenkmans further teaches, wherein said filling layer is made of a soft magnetic composite material (“a matrix 44 or 45 of magnetically conductive material” [0035], “such as iron powder” [0007], and “the magnetically conductive potting compound” [0008] comprises “a soft magnetic composite material”). (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0007], [0008], [0035]).
Regarding Claim 18, Bruenkmans further teaches, wherein said filling layer has an outer surface distal from said core section, and said outer surface has a shape of a cylinder (Fig. 14 comprises a matrix 44, 45 with the shape of a cylinder) with a smooth trajectory (“a matrix 44 or 45 of magnetically conductive material” [0035]). (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruenkmans, as applied to claim 18, in view of Parashar et al. (hereinafter Parashar), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0002392.
Regarding Claim 19 and similarly claim 20, Bruenkmans is silent on including an outer surface having a shape wherein said trajectory is oval. (Bruenkmans: Fig. 14, machine translation, para. [0006]-[0009], [0035], [0039]).
Bruenkmans does not explicitly teach, wherein said trajectory is oval.
However, Parashar (Fig. 1) teaches, “allows the manufacture of magnetic cores having different shapes” [0009]. (Parashar: Figs. 1-4, para. [0007]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the magnetic core of Bruenkmans to include the shape wherein said trajectory is oval, the motivation being “to provide a magnetic core in which the power losses resulting from the creation of eddy currents in the magnetic core are reduced” [0010]. (Parashar: Figs. 1-4, para. [0010]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 19 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Bruenkmans in view of Parashar further teaches, wherein said magnetic core is formed of a plurality of electrical sheets (16) (“magnetic core layers 16 may be made from iron, steel or other magnetic material” [0044]), the motivation being “to constrain and guide the magnetic field” [0007]. (Parashar: Figs. 1-4, para. [0007], [0044]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanov (EP3001435A1).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
1/5/2026