DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 13, 15-19, 21-22, 26 and 36 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 13, 19, 26 and 36 have been amended. No new claim is added. Claims 2 and 14 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remark, the applicant argued in substance:
That: Geng does not disclose “the configuring further comprises configuring the first replication function to use the first indication to identify a member flow to be output from the first replication function and input into the first elimination function.”
In response to the applicant argument Geng in [0092], the first label corresponds to a first function, and the first function is used to generate the plurality of second packets. For example, the first label is a replication label. The second label corresponds to a second function, and the second function is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device. For example, the second label is a redundancy label.
Geng in [0095] also teaches the second indication information may include a label is used to uniquely identify the data flow, and in [0038] the second indication information is used to instruct the second network device to discard a packet in the plurality of second packets.
Therefore, Geng clearly teaches the second device is configured to perform two functions such as replication and discarding (deleting) functions and using an indication information that identifies a data flow and pushes the flow from replication function to discarding function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 13, 15-19, 21-22, 26 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (US 20200228446) hereinafter Geng in view of Nainar et al. (US 10979350) hereinafter Nainar and further in view of Jiang (US 20210250303) hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding claim 1, Geng teaches a method performed by a first node (i.e. the first network device, [0006]), the method being for configuring a second node to handle two or more ingress member flows split from a flow of packets (i.e. separately forwards the plurality of second packets to the second network device (for example, R5) over different forwarding paths, [0078] and the second function is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device, [0015]), each of the two or more ingress member flows comprising a plurality of packets (i.e. the data flow corresponding to the first packet includes a plurality of packets, [0006]), the configuring being to handle the two or more ingress member flows via at least one elimination function (i.e. the second function information is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device. For example, the second function information is function information of deleting a redundant packet, [0020]), and at least one replication function supported by the second node (i.e. the target operation type is a replication operation type, [0096]), the first node and the second node operating in a communications network (i.e. a network device R1, a network device R2 constitute a physical network, the physical network may be a data center network, a wireless network, a deterministic network (DetNet), a segment routing (segment routing, SR) network, [0075]), the method comprising: allocating a first indication to a first ingress member flow to be input into the at least one elimination function (i.e. The second indication information included in each of the plurality of second packets is used to instruct the second network device to discard a packet in the plurality of second packets except a packet that first reaches the second network device, [0010]), the first indication identifying the first ingress member flow as being comprised in the flow of packets (i.e. where each of the plurality of second packets includes the payload data and second indication information, [0038]), wherein the at least one elimination function comprises a first elimination function, and the at least one replication function comprises a first replication function (i.e. the first label corresponds to a first function, and the first function is used to generate the plurality of second packets. For example, the first label is a replication label, the second label corresponds to a second function, and the second function is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device. For example, the second label is a redundancy label, [0092]), and the first indication uniquely identifying the first ingress member flow from at least one of (i.e. the second indication information may include a label is used to uniquely identify the data flow, [0095]): a second ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows to be input into the at least one replication function (i.e. function information is the replication function information, the network device replicates the packet, obtains a flow identifier, and searches the packet SRH replication table for an SRH corresponding to the flow identifier, [0131]); and configuring the second node to use the allocated first indication (i.e. the second indication information is used to instruct the second network device to discard a packet in the plurality of second packets, [0038]); the configuring further comprises configuring the first replication function to use the first indication to identify a member flow to be output from the first replication function and input into the first elimination function (i.e. the first label corresponds to a first function, and the first function is used to generate the plurality of second packets. For example, the first label is a replication label. The second label corresponds to a second function, and the second function is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device. For example, the second label is a redundancy label, [0092]).
However, Geng does not explicitly disclose any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node; the second node being a multiple Packet Replication, Elimination, and Ordering Functions, PREOF, stage node that supports a plurality of PREOF stages.
However, Nainar teaches any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node (i.e. a wireless deterministic network (DetNet) track for an identified DetNet flow of DetNet packets, and the DetNet track comprising DetNet devices connected by allocated DetNet segments, each DetNet device configured for providing guaranteed deterministic transport of the identified DetNet flow along the corresponding allocated DetNet segment, col. 3, lines 23-29); the second node being a multiple Packet Replication, Elimination, and Ordering Functions, PREOF (i.e. DetNet node performing DetNet packet replication, elimination, and/or ordering functions (PREOF), Col. 11, lines 4-9, DetNet device DN3 can perform packet elimination function, col. 14, lines 18-25 and it can also perform packet ordering function, col. 14, lines 60-67). Therefore, DetNet device DN3 is a multiple Packet PREOF stage device that supports a plurality of PREOF stages such as packet elimination and ordering functions.
Based on Geng in view of Nainar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nainar to the system of Geng in order to prevent any possible packet processing or error evaluation that would otherwise delay forwarding of a DetNet packet, (col 1, lines 49-51).
However, Geng in view of Nainar does not explicitly disclose stage node configured to perform a first PREOF stage of a first type followed by a second PREOF stage of a second type.
However, Jiang teaches stage node configured to perform a first PREOF stage of a first type followed by a second PREOF stage of a second type (i.e. Fig. 3(a), relay C or D performs a packet replication function followed by a packet elimination function, configuration information of the relay C, includes configuration information of the rep 102 and configuration information of the elm 103, [0119] and configuration information of the relay D includes configuration information of the rep 104 and configuration information of the elm 105, [0122]).
Based on Geng in view of Nainar and further in view of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Jiang to the system of Geng and Nainar in order to ensures reliability of transmission of the traffic flow, (Jiang, [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Geng teaches allocating further comprises allocating a second indication to the second ingress member flow to be input into the at least one replication function (i.e. The replication label is used as an instruction for replicating a packet. When a top of a DetNet packet received by a network device is the replication label, the network device replicates the packet, [0121]), the second indication identifying the second ingress member flow as being comprised in the flow of packets, and the second indication uniquely identifying the second ingress member flow from at least one of (i.e. The replication label stack table is used to describe an association relationship between the flow ID and path information (MPLS label stacks) of a plurality of forwarding paths corresponding to a plurality of second packets, [0122]): the first ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows to be input into the at least one elimination function (i.e. A DetNet redundancy label is used as an instruction for deleting a redundant packet. When a top of a received DetNet packet is the redundancy label, a flow ID and a sequence Num of the packet are searched for, a packet that is first received is stored, and the redundant packet is discarded, [0121]); and; and the configuring further comprises configuring the second node to use the allocated second indication (i.e. the network device R2 receives the first packet, parses the first packet, and determines that a destination address in the IPv6 header of the first packet matches a network address of the network device R2 and function information corresponding to the destination address in the IPv6 header is a replication function. In this case, the network device R2 replicates the packet, [0133]).
However, Geng does not explicitly disclose any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node.
However, Nainar teaches any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node (i.e. a wireless deterministic network (DetNet) track for an identified DetNet flow of DetNet packets, and the DetNet track comprising DetNet devices connected by allocated DetNet segments, each DetNet device configured for providing guaranteed deterministic transport of the identified DetNet flow along the corresponding allocated DetNet segment, col. 3, lines 23-29). Therefore, the limitations of claims 3 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 4, Geng teaches any of the first indication and the second indication is a label (i.e. the first indication information includes a first label, and the second indication information includes a second label, [0015]).
However, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein the label is an Ingress Service label, S-label.
However, Nainar teaches wherein the label is an Ingress Service label, S-label (i.e. a DetNet “service” label (“S-label”), col. 6, line 14). Therefore, the limitations of claims 4 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 6, Geng teaches wherein the first node is the same as the second node (i.e. An operation manner of each network device is the same, [0136]), wherein the method further comprises: receiving at least one of at the first elimination function, the first ingress member flow as input, as identified by the first indication (i.e. The receive unit 901 is configured to receive a second packet, where the second packet is any one of a plurality of second packets that are generated by the first network device based on a first packet, the second packet includes indication information, [0155]); and at the first replication function, the second ingress member flow as input, as identified by the second indication (i.e. The receive unit 801 is configured to receive a first packet, where the first packet includes first indication information, payload data, and a packet sequence number of the first packet in a data flow corresponding to the first packet, [0138]).
Regarding claim 8, Geng teaches wherein the communications network is a Deterministic Network, DetNet (i.e. a deterministic network (DetNet), [0075]).
However, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein the first node manages a DetNet Service Label allocation Entity.
However, Nainar teaches wherein the first node manages a DetNet Service Label allocation Entity (i.e. a DetNet ingress node for the DetNet track 12 can classify the incoming data traffic 34 as DetNet traffic requiring forwarding over a wired and/or wireless DetNet track: EN1 can encapsulate with headers (e.g., the d-ACH specifying “0000b” in the first nibble, a DetNet “service” label (“S-label”), col. 6, lines 9-14). Therefore, the limitations of claims 8 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, Geng teaches wherein the second node supports Multi Protocol Label Switching, MPLS (i.e. The path information of the forwarding path includes a multi-protocol label switching MPLS label stack of the forwarding path, [0144]).
Regarding claim 13, Geng teaches a method performed by a second node (i.e. second network device, [0078]), the method being for handling two or more ingress member flows split from a flow of packets, each of the two or more ingress member flows comprising a plurality of packets (i.e. separately forwards the plurality of second packets to the second network device (for example, R5) over different forwarding paths, [0078] and the second function is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device, [0015]), the second node supporting at least one elimination function (i.e. the second function information is used to instruct the second network device to discard the packet in the plurality of second packets except the packet that first reaches the second network device. For example, the second function information is function information of deleting a redundant packet, [0020]), and at least one replication function (i.e. the target operation type is a replication operation type, [0096]), the second node operating in a communications network (i.e. a network device R1, a network device R2 constitute a physical network, the physical network may be a data center network, a wireless network, [0075]), the method comprising: receiving a configuration from a first node operating in the communications network, the configuration configuring the second node to use a first indication for a first ingress member flow to be input into the at least one elimination function (i.e. The second network device receives a second packet, where the second packet is any one of a plurality of second packets that are generated by the first network device based on a first packet. The second packet includes indication information, payload data carried in the first packet, and a packet sequence number, where the packet sequence number is a packet sequence number of the first packet in a data flow corresponding to the first packet. The indication information is used to instruct the second network device to discard a packet in the plurality of second packets except a packet that first reaches the second network device, [0025]), the first indication identifying the first ingress member flow as being comprised in the flow of packets (i.e. where each of the plurality of second packets includes the payload data and second indication information, [0038]), and the indication uniquely identifying the first ingress member flow from at least one of (i.e. the second indication information may include a label is used to uniquely identify the data flow, [0095]): a second ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the at least one replication function (i.e. function information is the replication function information, the network device replicates the packet, obtains a flow identifier, and searches the packet SRH replication table for an SRH corresponding to the flow identifier, [0131]); and; and assigning the first indication to the first ingress member flow to be input into the at least one elimination function (i.e. the second indication information is used to instruct the second network device to discard a packet in the plurality of second packets, [0038]).
However, Geng does not explicitly disclose any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node; the second node being a multiple Packet Replication, Elimination, and Ordering Functions, PREOF, stage node that supports a plurality of PREOF stages.
However, Nainar teaches any other ingress member flow, of the two or more ingress member flows, to be input into the second node (i.e. a wireless deterministic network (DetNet) track for an identified DetNet flow of DetNet packets, and the DetNet track comprising DetNet devices connected by allocated DetNet segments, each DetNet device configured for providing guaranteed deterministic transport of the identified DetNet flow along the corresponding allocated DetNet segment, col. 3, lines 23-29); the second node being a multiple Packet Replication, Elimination, and Ordering Functions, PREOF, stage node that supports a plurality of PREOF stages (i.e. DetNet node performing DetNet packet replication, elimination, and/or ordering functions (PREOF), Col. 11, lines 4-9, DetNet device DN3 can perform packet elimination function, col. 14, lines 18-25 and it can also perform packet ordering function, col. 14, lines 60-67). Therefore, DetNet device DN3 is a multiple Packet PREOF stage device that supports a plurality of PREOF stages such as packet elimination and ordering functions.
Based on Geng in view of Nainar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nainar to the system of Geng in order to prevent any possible packet processing or error evaluation that would otherwise delay forwarding of a DetNet packet, (col 1, lines 49-51).
However, Geng in view of Nainar does not explicitly disclose stage node configured to perform a first PREOF stage of a first type followed by a second PREOF stage of a second type.
However, Jiang teaches stage node configured to perform a first PREOF stage of a first type followed by a second PREOF stage of a second type (i.e. Fig. 3(a), rely C or D performs a packet replication function followed by a packet elimination function, configuration information of the relay C, includes configuration information of the rep 102 and configuration information of the elm 103, [0119] and configuration information of the relay D includes configuration information of the rep 104 and configuration information of the elm 105, [0122]).
Based on Geng in view of Nainar and further in view of Jiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Jiang to the system of Geng and Nainar in order to ensures reliability of transmission of the traffic flow, (Jiang, [0003]).
Regarding claims 15-19, 21-22, 26, and 36 the limitations of claims 15-19, 21-22, 26, and 36 are similar to the limitations of claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, and 13 above. Geng further teaches processing circuitry (i.e. the first network device includes a processor, [0039]). Therefore, the limitations of claims 15-19 21-22, 26, and 36 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, and 13 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
3/6/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447