DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 15 reads “at a position facing to at least any one of the at least one depression portion” and “the depression portion facing to the first insulating substrate”, where “facing to” should read more clearly as “facing”.
Claim 15 also reads “solder is contained inside the depression portion” which should read as “solder is contained inside the at least one depression portion” or the like, to where the claim term has proper antecedent basis.
Claim 1 reads “wherein the at least one insulating substrate is bonded on one main surface of the heat radiation plate, the semiconductor element is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate via any of the at least one insulating substrate, the metal electrode is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate” which would be clearer if claim 1 read as “wherein the at least one insulating substrate is bonded to one main surface of the heat radiation plate, the semiconductor element is bonded to the one main surface of the heat radiation plate via any of the at least one insulating substrate, the metal electrode is bonded to the one main surface of the heat radiation plate”.
Further, claim 1 recites “in a region between a region where the semiconductor element is bonded and a region where the metal electrode is bonded” which would be clearer if this limitation read as “in a region between a region where the semiconductor element is bonded to the heat dissipation plate and a region where the metal electrode is bonded to the heat dissipation plate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Overall, the claims appear to be a translation into English from a foreign document and as such should be checked for further grammatical or syntactical errors.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1a and 2b in the reply filed on January 20 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-6, 11-14, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 7-10, 15, and 17-21 are examined. The Restriction/Election Requirement is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata et al. (“Iwata” US 2008/0290500).
Regarding claim 1, Iwata discloses a semiconductor device (10, Figures 1-3) comprising:
a heat radiation plate (stress relaxation member 20, made of a highly thermal conductive material, thus is considered a heat radiation plate, see para. [0023]);
at least one insulating substrate (14);
a semiconductor element (12); and
a metal electrode (right side portion of layer 15, spaced apart from the left layer 15 in the cross-sectional view of Figure 2 and plan view of Figure 1), wherein the at least one insulating substrate (14) is bonded on one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface), the semiconductor element (12) is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface) via any of the at least one insulating substrate (14, see Figure 2), the metal electrode (15) is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface) via any of the at least one insulating substrate (14, see Figure 2), and
the heat radiation plate (20) has, in a region between a region where the semiconductor element (12) is bonded (this region is the vertical projection of the surface area of the semiconductor element 12) and a region where the metal electrode (15, right portion on Figures 1 and 2) is bonded (this region is the vertical projection of the surface area of the metal electrode 15, right portion), a narrowed portion (21) having a narrower width in a thickness direction (vertical direction in Figure 2) than widths of other locations (see recessed portions of the heat radiation plate 20 having a smaller thickness in the vertical direction than other portions of the heat radiation plate 20 that are not recessed).
Regarding claim 7, Iwata discloses at least one depression portion (21) is provided on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface, see Figure 2 which shows at least one recess on the upper surface of the heat radiation plate 20), and
the width of the narrowed portion (recessed portion 21) in the thickness direction (vertical direction of Figure 2) is narrowed by the at least one depression portion (21, see Figure 2 which shows the recess narrowing the vertical thickness of the heat radiation plate 20).
Regarding claim 8, Iwata discloses wherein the heat radiation plate (20) is provided with a plurality of depression portions (21, see plurality shown in Figures 2 and 3) as the at least one depression portion (21).
Regarding claim 9, Iwata discloses wherein any of the at least one depression portion (21) extends in a direction (vertical direction in Figure 2, see the depression portion 21 recess extending down into the heat radiation plate, thus extends in the vertical direction) that intersects with a direction connecting a region where the semiconductor element (12) is bonded and a region where the metal electrode (15, right portion) is bonded (the direction connecting these regions in the horizontal direction in Figure 2, and a horizontal direction and vertical direction in Figure 2 are orthogonal to each other and intersect).
Regarding claim 10, Iwata discloses wherein any of the at least one depression portion (21) has a rectangular, V-shaped, or semicircular cross section (see Figure 2 which shows rectangular cross sections).
Regarding claim 17, Iwata discloses wherein the heat radiation plate (20) includes copper, aluminum, or both (see para. [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Takizawa (US 2023/0051389).
Regarding claim 15, Iwata discloses the semiconductor element (12) is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface) via a first insulating substrate (14, see Figure 2), which is any one of the at least one insulating substrate (14),
the metal electrode (15, right portion) is bonded on the one main surface of the heat radiation plate (20, upper surface) via the first insulating substrate (14, see Figure 2),
the first insulating substrate (14) is bonded to the heat radiation plate (20) [by solder] at a position facing to at least any one of the at least one depression portion (21, see Figure 2 which shows the lower surface of the insulating substrate 14 bonded to the heat radiation plate and faces the depression portions 21), and
solder is contained inside the depression portion facing to the first insulating substrate.
Iwata does not disclose that the first insulating substrate is bonded to the heat radiation plate by solder, and solder is contained inside the depression portion facing to the first insulating substrate.
However, Takizawa discloses a first insulating substrate (21) is bonded to the heat radiation plate (31) by solder (25a), and solder (25a) is contained inside the depression portion (depression portion formed within protrusions 34a/35a) facing to the first insulating substrate (21, see at least Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Takizawa into the teachings of Iwata to include a solder bonding material between the insulating substrate and the heat dissipation plate, and that solder is contained in the depression portions, for the purpose of improving heat dissipation (see Takizawa para. [0003]) and bond strength, and the protrusions within which the solder is contained allow for the substrates to be kept horizontal (see Takizawa para. [0046]).
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Soeno (US 2011/0049535).
Regarding claim 18, Iwata does not disclose that the semiconductor element includes a wide band gap semiconductor.
However, Soeno discloses a semiconductor element that includes a wide band gap semiconductor (see para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Soeno into the teachings of Iwata to include a wide bandgap semiconductor material, such as silicon carbide, for the purpose of implementing a material with high temperature rating limits (Soeno, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Soeno discloses wherein the wide band gap semiconductor is silicon carbide, a gallium nitride-based material, or diamond (see para. [0002] which discloses the use of silicon carbide).
Regarding claim 20, Iwata discusses in para. [0030] the semiconductor device is configured to be applied to a driving device of a vehicle motor, and controls electricity supplied to the vehicle electric motor. Thus, Iwata implicitly discloses some sort of power control or conversion device, however does not disclose this explicitly.
Soeno discloses a main conversion circuit (see conversion circuit of Figure 1, and para. [0030]) that has the semiconductor device (the semiconductor apparatus of the first embodiment is incorporated, see para. [0030], Figures 1 and 2) according to claim 1, and which converts input electric power and outputs converted electric power (see para. [0030]-[0037]); and
a control circuit (control portions of the circuit of Figure 1 discussed in para. [0031]) that outputs, to the main conversion circuit, a control signal controlling the main conversion circuit (see para. [0031]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Soeno into the teachings of Iwata to implement power conversion capabilities of the semiconductor device of Iwata. All the claimed elements would continue to operate in the same manner, specifically the semiconductor device of Iwata would still control electrical function of a vehicle, and the power conversion device would still convert power for a vehicle. Therefore, the results would be predictable to one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the operational characteristics of Soeno into the device of Iwata as being no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 21, Soeno discloses a mobile body (hybrid vehicle, see para. [0030]-[0037]), comprising:
the power conversion device according to claim 20 (see the teachings of Soeno above); and
an electric motor (30) driven by the electric power output by the power conversion device (inverter 5 of the power conversion device of Figures 1 and 2, see para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Soeno into the teachings of Iwata to include the electric motor as claimed in order to assist the drive power of the hybrid vehicle (see para. [0030]).
Conclusion
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899