DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 07/09/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 16-21 are pending.
Claims 5, 8, 14-15, and 18 are cancelled.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filled on 07/09/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1-4 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filled on 07/09/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-4, 6-7, 13, and 16-17 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2020/0413427) in view of CHANG (US 2022/0150940).
Regarding claim 1, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network [Fig. 5, ¶¶ 98-104; a method performed by a UE for assigning HARQ process IDs for grant-based uplink transmissions], the method comprising:
receiving a control information message comprising an acknowledgement signaling group indication that indicates, for each acknowledgement process of a group of acknowledgement processes, an acknowledgement mode [Fig. 5, ¶ 100; receiving DCI scheduling a plurality of TTIs for grant-based UL transmissions, wherein HARQ process IDs are assigned to the grant-based transmissions starting from a HARQ ID indicated in the DCI and by incrementing the HARQ IDs by one for each subsequent grant-based transmission]; the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use [¶¶ 97, 128; wherein the DCI includes NDI field indicating whether the HARQ ID indicated is used or not to be used (e.g., NDI= 0 or 1); and
transmitting acknowledgement signaling based on the received control information message [¶¶ 104; transmitting the grant-based uplink transmissions based on the assigned HARQ IDs; wherein the assigns HARQ IDs for the set of grant-based transmissions based on the received indication in the DCI, See ¶ 103].
Although, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses all aspect set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes.
However, CHANG discloses the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes [¶¶ 105-106; the range of the HARQ process numbers used for the configured grant scheme may be represented by the number of HARQ process numbers and a starting HARQ process number].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively e processes” as taught by CHANG in the system of KHOSHNEVISAN, so that it would provide a radio link adaptation to reduce the delay, and capable of rapidly reflecting the state of the radio channel [see CHANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 2, the claims recite a wireless device for a wireless communication network to perform the method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 2 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses a method of operating a radio node in a wireless communication network [Fig. 6, ¶¶ 105-116; a method performed by a base station (BS) for assigning HARQ process IDs for grant-based uplink transmissions], the method comprising:
transmitting a control information message, the control information message comprising an acknowledgement signaling group indication indicating, for each acknowledgement process of a group of acknowledgement processes, an acknowledgement mode [Fig. 6, ¶ 107; transmitting a DCI scheduling a plurality of TTIs for grant-based UL transmissions, wherein HARQ process IDs are to be assigned to the grant-based UL transmissions starting from a HARQ ID indicated in the DCI and by incrementing the HARQ IDs by one for each subsequent grant based transmission]
the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use [¶¶ 97, 128; wherein the DCI includes NDI field indicating whether the HARQ ID indicated is used or not to be used (e.g., NDI= 0 or 1); and
receiving acknowledgement signaling based on the received control information message [¶ 110; receiving the grant-based uplink transmissions based on the assigned HARQ IDs; wherein the assigns HARQ IDs for the set of grant-based transmissions based on the received indication in the DCI, See ¶ 109].
Although, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses all aspect set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes.
However, CHANG discloses the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes [¶¶ 105-106; the range of the HARQ process numbers used for the configured grant scheme may be represented by the number of HARQ process numbers and a starting HARQ process number].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes” as taught by CHANG in the system of KHOSHNEVISAN, so that it would provide a radio link adaptation to reduce the delay, and capable of rapidly reflecting the state of the radio channel [see CHANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 4, the claims recite a radio node for a wireless communication network to perform the method of operating a radio node in a wireless communication network recited as in claim 3; therefore, claim 4 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites a computer storage medium storing a computer program to perform the method steps recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 13 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over ISLAM et al. (US 2019/0246378) in view of CHANG (US 2022/0150940).
Regarding claim 1, ISLAM discloses a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network [Fig. 5, ¶¶ 98-104; a method performed by a UE for assigning HARQ process IDs for grant-based uplink transmissions], the method comprising:
receiving a control information message comprising an acknowledgement signaling group indication that indicates, for each of a group of acknowledgement processes, an acknowledgement mode [Fig. 8, ¶¶ 85-87; receiving a DCI comprising a scheduling grant/(acknowledgement signaling group indication) that indicating HARQ process ID of the TB transmission: (5) whether the transmission is a new (initial transmission) of the TB or a retransmission of the TB/(referred as new data indicator (NDI))], the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use [¶¶ 110-112; where each transmission mode includes one or more DCI types indicating whether its corresponding HARQ process ID is in use]; and
transmitting acknowledgement signaling based on the received control information message [¶¶ 65, 87; transmitting HARQ feedback (ACK/NACK)/(acknowledgement signaling) based on a received DCI/control information message].
Although, ISLAM discloses all aspect set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes.
However, CHANG discloses the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes [¶¶ 105-106; the range of the HARQ process numbers used for the configured grant scheme may be represented by the number of HARQ process numbers and a starting HARQ process number].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use; the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes” as taught by CHANG in the system of ISLAM, so that it would provide a radio link adaptation to reduce the delay, and capable of rapidly reflecting the state of the radio channel [see CHANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 2, ISLAM discloses a wireless device for a wireless communication network, the wireless device configured to:
receive a control information message comprising an acknowledgement signaling group indication that indicates, for each of a group of acknowledgement processes, an acknowledgement mode [Fig. 8, ¶¶ 85-87; receiving a DCI comprising a scheduling grant/(acknowledgement signaling group indication) that indicating HARQ process ID of the TB transmission: (5) whether the transmission is a new (initial transmission) of the TB or a retransmission of the TB/(referred as new data indicator (NDI))]; and
transmit acknowledgement signaling based on the received control information message [¶¶ 65, 87; transmit HARQ feedback (ACK/NACK)/(acknowledgement signaling) based on a received DCI/control information message].
Although, ISLAM discloses all aspect set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes.
However, CHANG discloses the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes [¶¶ 105-106; the range of the HARQ process numbers used for the configured grant scheme may be represented by the number of HARQ process numbers and a starting HARQ process number].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use; the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes” as taught by CHANG in the system of ISLAM, so that it would provide a radio link adaptation to reduce the delay, and capable of rapidly reflecting the state of the radio channel [see CHANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 3, ISLAM discloses a method of operating a radio node in a wireless communication network [Fig. 6, ¶¶ 105-116; a method performed by a base station (BS) for assigning HARQ process IDs for grant-based uplink transmissions], the method comprising:
transmitting a control information message, the control information message comprising an acknowledgement signaling group indication indicating, for each acknowledgement process of a group of acknowledgement processes, an acknowledgement mode [Fig. 8, ¶¶ 85-87; receiving a DCI comprising a scheduling grant/(acknowledgement signaling group indication) that indicating HARQ process ID of the TB transmission: (5) whether the transmission is a new (initial transmission) of the TB or a retransmission of the TB/(referred as new data indicator (NDI))]; and
receiving acknowledgement signaling based on the received control information message [¶¶ 65, 87; receiving HARQ feedback (ACK/NACK)/(acknowledgement signaling) based on a received DCI/control information message].
Although, ISLAM discloses all aspect set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes.
However, CHANG discloses the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes [¶¶ 105-106; the range of the HARQ process numbers used for the configured grant scheme may be represented by the number of HARQ process numbers and a starting HARQ process number].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the acknowledgement mode indicating whether its corresponding acknowledgement process is in use; the group of acknowledgement processes representing a range of consecutively numbered processes” as taught by CHANG in the system of ISLAM, so that it would provide a radio link adaptation to reduce the delay, and capable of rapidly reflecting the state of the radio channel [see CHANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 4, the claims recite a radio node for a wireless communication network to perform the method of operating a radio node in a wireless communication network recited as in claim 3; therefore, claim 4 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1,
ISLAM further discloses wherein an acknowledgement mode indicates retransmission or new transmission for the acknowledgment process it pertains to [¶¶ 85, 104, 106; wherein an acknowledgement mode indicates retransmission or new transmission for the acknowledgment process it pertains to].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1,
ISLAM further discloses wherein an acknowledgement mode of an acknowledgment process indicates whether the acknowledgement process is in use or not in use [¶ 104; Whether the transmission is a new (initial transmission) of the TB or a retransmission of the TB, e.g. a new data indicator (NDI) flag. (e.g. which may be 1 bit)].
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites a computer storage medium storing a computer program to perform the method steps recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 13 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the claims recite the method according to claim 3 to perform the method steps recited as in claims 6, and 7 respectively; therefore, claims 16 and 17 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 6 and 7 respectively.
Claims 9-12 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over ISLAM et al. (US 2019/0246378) in view of CHANG (US 2022/0150940), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2021/0050950).
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the group indication comprises a bit map, each bit of the bit map pertaining to a different one of the acknowledgement processes.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein the group indication comprises a bit map, each bit of the bit map pertaining to a different one of the acknowledgement processes [¶¶ 37, 167-169, 192-196; wherein the group indication comprises a bit map, each bit of the bit map pertaining to a different one of the acknowledgement processes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the group indication comprises a bit map, each bit of the bit map pertaining to a different one of the acknowledgement processes” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG, so that it would reduce the path loss of radio waves in such a super-high frequency band and to increase a transmission distance of radio waves [see ZHOU; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes [¶¶ 275, 648; wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG, so that it would reduce the path loss of radio waves in such a super-high frequency band and to increase a transmission distance of radio waves [see ZHOU; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and a second group of acknowledgement processes.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and a second group of acknowledgement processes [¶ 275; group ID of the group in which the UE is located, ID of the UE within the group and ID index of the UE within the group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and a second group of acknowledgement processes” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG, so that it would reduce the path loss of radio waves in such a super-high frequency band and to increase a transmission distance of radio waves [see ZHOU; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting acknowledgement signaling is based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the group indication.
However, ZHOU discloses wherein transmitting acknowledgement signaling is based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the group indication [¶¶ 167-169, 275; wherein transmitting acknowledgement signaling is based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the group indication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein transmitting acknowledgement signaling is based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the group indication” as taught by ZHOU in the combined system of ISLAM and CHANG, so that it would reduce the path loss of radio waves in such a super-high frequency band and to increase a transmission distance of radio waves [see ZHOU; ¶ 4].
Regarding claims 19-21, the claims recite the method according to claim 3 to perform the method steps recited as in claims 9-11 respectively; therefore, claims 19-21 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 9-11 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469