DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 12/11/2025. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 have been amended. Claim 10 has been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending and an action is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #94 “Support of scheduling of multiple DL/UL transport blocks for MTC” (hereinafter 3GPP) – Provided by the Applicant in the IDS filed on 4/4/2023, in view of Zhang et al. US 2023/0163885 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method of operating a feedback radio node in a wireless communication network, (The wireless network comprising a radio access network (RAN) comprising a base station and eMTC CAT-M1 UE, wherein the feedback is provided by the UE (interpreted as the claimed feedback radio node) [3GPP, See Section “2. Discussion”, Lines 1-10])
the method comprising:
transmitting acknowledgement signaling based on a received control information message, the control information message comprising a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process. ([3GPP, See Fig. 3 (shown below), Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] This is described by 3GPP as transmitting acknowledgement signaling, shown as the HARQ ACK/NACK bundling, based on a received control information, shown as DCI, the control information message comprising an anchor process indication indicating an anchor acknowledgement process, shown as the DCI comprising an indication indicating a HARQ process ID for the first transport block acknowledgment process (noted as a start process); and/or a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process, which is disclosed as the relative process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity.)
But it does not teach the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
However, Zhang teaches the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
([Zhang, Fig.5 (shown below), ¶65] The UE transmits HARQ-ACK feedback signaling 510 comprising a codebook. [Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP, indicating that the HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) signaling is feedback corresponding to HARQ processes, wherein the ACK signaling is transmitted by the UE with the teachings of Zhang, indicating the procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability [Zhang, ¶35].
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches a feedback radio node for a wireless communication network, the wireless device configured to:
([3GPP, See Section “2. Discussion”, Lines 1-10] The wireless network comprising a radio access network (RAN) comprising a base station and eMTC CAT-M1 UE, wherein the feedback is provided by the UE)
transmit acknowledgement signaling based on a received control information message, the control information message comprising a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] This is described by 3GPP as transmitting acknowledgement signaling, shown as the HARQ ACK/NACK bundling, based on a received control information, shown as DCI, the control information message comprising an anchor process indication indicating an anchor acknowledgement process, shown as the DCI comprising an indication indicating a HARQ process ID for the first transport block acknowledgment process (noted as a start process); and/or a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process, which is disclosed as the relative process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity.)
But it does not teach the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
However, Zhang teaches the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
([Zhang, Fig.5 (shown below), ¶65] The UE transmits HARQ-ACK feedback signaling 510 comprising a codebook. [Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP, indicating that the HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) signaling is feedback corresponding to HARQ processes, wherein the ACK signaling is transmitted by the UE with the teachings of Zhang, indicating the procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability [Zhang, ¶35].
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP teaches a method of operating a signaling radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: ([3GPP, See Section “2. Discussion”, Lines 1-10] The wireless network comprising a radio access network (RAN) comprising an eNodeB base station and eMTC CAT-M1 UE, wherein the MPDCCH control signaling is provided by the base station (interpreted as the claimed signaling radio node) to the UE.)
transmitting a control information message, the control information message comprising a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process; and
This is described by 3GPP as transmitting control signaling information, shown as DCI, the control signaling information message comprising an anchor process indication indicating an anchor acknowledgement process, shown as the DCI comprising an indication indicating a HARQ process ID for the first transport block acknowledgment process (noted as a start process); and a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process, which is disclosed as the relative process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity.)
While 3GPP teaches wherein the acknowledgement signaling is sent in the uplink as indicated by the PUCCH carrying the HARQ ACK/NACK bundling [3GPP, Fig. 3].
But it does not teach receiving acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
However, Zhang teaches receiving acknowledgment signaling based on the control information message, the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
([Zhang, Fig. 5, ¶65] The UE 502 transmits HARQ-ACK feedback signaling 510 comprising a codebook, which is received by the base station 504 based on the control information message shown as DCI 508. [Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP, indicating that the HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) signaling is feedback corresponding to HARQ processes, wherein the ACK signaling is transmitted by the UE with the teachings of Zhang, indicating the procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability [Zhang, ¶35].
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP teaches a signaling radio node for a wireless communication network, the radio node configured to:
([3GPP, See Section “2. Discussion”, Lines 1-10] The wireless network comprising a radio access network (RAN) comprising an eNodeB base station and eMTC CAT-M1 UE, wherein the MPDCCH control signaling is provided by the base station (interpreted as the claimed signaling radio node) to the UE.)
transmit a control information message, the control information message comprising a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process. (This is described by 3GPP as transmitting control signaling information, shown as DCI, the control signaling information message comprising an anchor process indication indicating an anchor acknowledgement process, shown as the DCI comprising an indication indicating a HARQ process ID for the first transport block acknowledgment process (noted as a start process); and/or a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process, which is disclosed as the relative process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity.)
While 3GPP teaches wherein the acknowledgement signaling is sent in the uplink as indicated by the PUCCH carrying the HARQ ACK/NACK bundling [3GPP, Fig. 3].
But it does not teach receiving acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
However, Zhang teaches receiving acknowledgment signaling based on the control information message, the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
([Zhang, Fig. 5, ¶65] The UE 502 transmits HARQ-ACK feedback signaling 510 comprising a codebook, which is received by the base station 504 based on the control information message shown as DCI 508. [Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP, indicating that the HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) signaling is feedback corresponding to HARQ processes, wherein the ACK signaling is transmitted by the UE with the teachings of Zhang, indicating the procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability [Zhang, ¶35].
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP teaches a User Equipment (UE) performing a method
(The wireless network comprising a radio access network (RAN) comprising a base station and eMTC CAT-M1 UE, wherein feedback is provided by the UE as part of performed method [3GPP, See Section “2. Discussion”, Lines 1-10])
transmitting acknowledgement signaling based on a received control information message, the control information message comprising a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] This is described by 3GPP as transmitting acknowledgement signaling, shown as the HARQ ACK/NACK bundling, based on a received control information, shown as DCI, the control information message comprising an anchor process indication indicating an anchor acknowledgement process, shown as the DCI comprising an indication indicating a HARQ process ID for the first transport block acknowledgment process (noted as a start process); and/or a relative process indication indicating an acknowledgement process relative to an anchor process, which is disclosed as the relative process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity.)
But 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is a computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method, nor does it teach the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
However, Zhang teaches the transmitting of the acknowledgement signaling being based on a codebook, the codebook being determined based on the relative process indication.
([Zhang, Fig.5 (shown below), ¶65] The UE transmits HARQ-ACK feedback signaling 510 comprising a codebook. [Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”.)
Additionally, Zhang teaches wherein the UE 504 performing the method of Fig. 5 has the corresponding structure 700 shown in Fig. 7 of Zhang, wherein UE 700 comprises a memory 730, interpreted as the claimed non-transitory computer storage medium for storing the computer program comprising instructions causing the processor 710, interpreted as the claimed processing circuitry, to control and perform the method [Zhang, Fig. 7, Memory 730 and processor 710 (shown below)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP, indicating that the HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) signaling is feedback corresponding to HARQ processes, wherein the ACK signaling is transmitted by the UE with the teachings of Zhang, indicating the procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to provide a flexible procedure to control HARQ-ACK codebooks based on grouping HARQ processes to improve reliability [Zhang, ¶35].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the acknowledgement process indicated by the relative process indication belongs to a group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchor process, shown as the start process noted for the HARQ process ID of the first transport block acknowledgement process (HARQ PID 1) and/or the relative acknowledgement process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity belong to a group of acknowledgement processes which are shown as HARQ Process IDs 2-4 (HARQ PID 2 - HARQ PID 4).)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes. ([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The group of acknowledgement processes, HARQ PID 1, HARQ PID 2, HARQ PID 3 and HARQ PID 4, may be interpreted as being logically partitioned into multiple subgroup and group combinations. For instance, HARQ PID 3- HARQ PID 4 may be a subgroup of a second group acknowledgement processes with the others belonging to a first group.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and the second group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchoring process (HARQ PID 1) is interpreted as an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes (shown as HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 4) or a second group of acknowledgement processes (which may be set to comprise HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the codebook is determined based on one or both of an anchor process indication and the relative process indication.
([Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”)
The motivation to combine 3GPP, in view of Zhang is the same as the rationale applied to the rejection and obviousness statement of the rejected claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the feedback radio node according to claim 2, wherein the acknowledgement process indicated by the relative process indication belong to a group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchor process, shown as the start process noted for the HARQ process ID of the first transport block acknowledgement process (HARQ PID 1) and/or the relative acknowledgement process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity belong to a group of acknowledgement processes which are shown as HARQ Process IDs 2-4 (HARQ PID 2 - HARQ PID 4).)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the feedback radio node according to claim 11, wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The group of acknowledgement processes, HARQ PID 1, HARQ PID 2, HARQ PID 3 and HARQ PID 4, may be interpreted as being logically partitioned into multiple subgroup and group combinations. For instance, HARQ PID 3- HARQ PID 4 may be a subgroup of a second group acknowledgement processes with the others belonging to a first group.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the feedback radio node according to claim 12, wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and the second group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchoring process (HARQ PID 1) is interpreted as an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes (shown as HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 4) or a second group of acknowledgement processes (which may be set to comprise HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 2).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the feedback radio node according to claim 2, wherein the codebook being determined based on one or both of an anchor process indication and the relative process indication.
([Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”)
The motivation to combine 3GPP, in view of Zhang is the same as the rationale applied to the rejection and obviousness statement of the rejected claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the acknowledgement process indicated by the relative process indication belongs to a group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchor process, shown as the start process noted for the HARQ process ID of the first transport block acknowledgement process (HARQ PID 1) and/or the relative acknowledgement process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity belong to a group of acknowledgement processes which are shown as HARQ Process IDs 2-4 (HARQ PID 2 - HARQ PID 4).)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The group of acknowledgement processes, HARQ PID 1, HARQ PID 2, HARQ PID 3 and HARQ PID 4, may be interpreted as being logically partitioned into multiple subgroup and group combinations. For instance, HARQ PID 3- HARQ PID 4 may be a subgroup of a second group acknowledgement processes with the others belonging to a first group.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and the second group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchoring process (HARQ PID 1) is interpreted as an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes (shown as HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 4) or a second group of acknowledgement processes (which may be set to comprise HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhan teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the codebook is determined based on one or both of an anchor process indication and the relative process indication.
([Zhang, ¶35] Codebook being determined based on the HARQ processes interpreted as being the claimed “relative process indication”)
The motivation to combine 3GPP, in view of Zhang is the same as the rationale applied to the rejection and obviousness statement of the rejected claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the signaling radio node according to claim 4, wherein the one or both of the acknowledgement process indicated by the relative process indication belongs to a group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchor process, shown as the start process noted for the HARQ process ID of the first transport block acknowledgement process (HARQ PID 1) and/or the relative acknowledgement process indication provided by the HARQ process ID of each subsequent transport block increasing by unity belong to a group of acknowledgement processes which are shown as HARQ Process IDs 2-4 (HARQ PID 2 - HARQ PID 4).)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the signaling radio node according to claim 19, wherein the group of acknowledgement processes is a subgroup of a second group of acknowledgment processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The group of acknowledgement processes, HARQ PID 1, HARQ PID 2, HARQ PID 3 and HARQ PID 4, may be interpreted as being logically partitioned into multiple subgroup and group combinations. For instance, HARQ PID 3- HARQ PID 4 may be a subgroup of a second group acknowledgement processes with the others belonging to a first group.)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of 3GPP, in view of Zhang teaches the signaling radio node according to claim 20, wherein an anchor process is one or both of an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes and the second group of acknowledgement processes.
([3GPP, Section 2.3 “HARQ and PUCCH Feedback signaling”] The anchoring process (HARQ PID 1) is interpreted as an anchoring subgroup of the group of acknowledgement processes (shown as HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 4) or a second group of acknowledgement processes (which may be set to comprise HARQ PID 1- HARQ PID 2).
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467