DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims are examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 02/11/2026, with respect to the claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1) hereafter referenced as Shigeta in view of Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1) hereafter referenced as Van Horn.
Regarding claim 1, Shigeta teaches a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 can recognize the number and the amount of bills by performing an image analysis of the surfaces of the bills K.):
a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0083]- Shigeta discloses the image analyzing device 12 and the control device 14 of the fraud detecting system have a structure integrally including a computer formed as one body or by a plurality of configurations, a program, and a memory.);
one or more image sensors (Fig. 1, #2 called a camera Paragraph [0085]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 having an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep learning structure can perceive a position (a player, a banker, or a pair) inside a bet area 8 on which each player 6 bets chips 120, the type (a value of a different amount is assigned to chips 120 for each color) and the number of the bet chips 120 through the camera device 2 and the image analyzing device 12.);
and a processor that executes the instructions to (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0083]- Shigeta discloses the image analyzing device 12 and the control device 14 of the fraud detecting system have a structure integrally including a computer formed as one body or by a plurality of configurations, a program, and a memory. (wherein a computer includes a processor)):
monitor dealer gestures (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
responsive to one or more monitored dealer gestures, capture and receive one or more images of an area from said one or more image sensors (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
process the one or more images to identify one or more items of currency in the area (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0160]- Shigeta discloses the management control device 14 can perceive the position 8 (a position betting on a player, a banker, or a pair), the types (a value of a different amount is assigned to the chips 120 for each color), and the numbers of the chips 120 that is bet by each participant 6 through the camera device 2 and the image analyzing device 18.);
determine the validity of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills, being capable of recognizing a total amount of chips even in a state in which a plurality of chips come out onto the game table as an exchange target is hidden due to a blind area of the camera device 2, comparing a total amount of the bills K come out onto the game table 4 from a player with a total amount of the chips 120 come out from the dealer 5, and being capable of determining whether or not both the amounts match each other.);
and determine a total value of the one or more validated items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0117]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 includes a database recording a history of exchange of bills K and chips 120, refers to the database at the interval of a predetermined time or in units of one day and determines through a comparison whether or not the amount of chips 120 acquired in the chip tray 17 for the dealer 5 of the game table 4 has been increased or decreased according to a payed amount of chips 120 corresponding to exchanged bills K or a total amount of payment of bills K corresponding to exchanged chips 120.);
Shigeta fails to explicitly teach responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
However, Van Horn explicitly teaches responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0085]- Van horn discloses the positioning feedback may indicate that the view of the currency item is obstructed, folded, or not clearly visible. Further in Fig. 12, Paragraph [0087]- Van horn discloses positioning feedback/indicators may inform a user of an obstructed view. Positioning feedback/indicators may be audible or tactile. Audio indicators may be any combination of sounds, tones, “grunts”, or spoken words. The positioning feedback/indicators may include visual text/images projected into the validation device field of view. This feedback may visually indicate where a currency item should be located (at least initially). The various types of feedback/indicators may be combined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Van Horn wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better quality and consistency in images used for validation, since both Shigeta and Van horn are both systems that perform image processing in verification of currency. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Van Horn’s system increased quality and consistency of data collected for validation. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 2, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 1, Shigeta further teaches wherein the processor processes the one or more images by detecting a security feature of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses it is determined whether or not bills K to be exchanged for chips 120 are genuine by detecting genuine marks G of the bills by emitting black light. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills).
Regarding claim 3, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 2, Shigeta further teaches wherein the security feature comprises an infrared strip (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0176]- Shigeta discloses the chip 120 according to this embodiment has a structure in which the side ID 126 is attached to the side face, the RFID 125 is built, and face codes using UV emission ink or infrared absorption ink are arranged on the upper face or the lower face (the print layer 124).).
Regarding claim 4, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 1, Shigeta further teaches wherein the processor counts the one or more items of currency by determining a denomination of each of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0307]- Shigeta discloses the management control device 50 reading information on types (values) of chips from the RFIDs of the chips held in the accommodating portion 170 to determine an amount of chips held in the accommodating portion 170 corresponds to a dealer chip determining device of the present invention.).
Regarding claim 9, Shigeta teaches a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 can recognize the number and the amount of bills by performing an image analysis of the surfaces of the bills K.):
a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0083]- Shigeta discloses the image analyzing device 12 and the control device 14 of the fraud detecting system have a structure integrally including a computer formed as one body or by a plurality of configurations, a program, and a memory.);
one or more image sensors (Fig. 1, #2 called a camera Paragraph [0085]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 having an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep learning structure can perceive a position (a player, a banker, or a pair) inside a bet area 8 on which each player 6 bets chips 120, the type (a value of a different amount is assigned to chips 120 for each color) and the number of the bet chips 120 through the camera device 2 and the image analyzing device 12.);
and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
responsive to one or more monitored dealer gestures (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.),
capture and receive one or more images of a top surface of said gaming table from said one or more image sensors (Fig, 6, Paragraph [0145]- Shigeta discloses the management system of table games in a game house including a plurality of game tables 4 includes: a measurement device 19 including an image analyzing device 18 that records a state of process of a game played in the game table 4 as a video including game participants 6 and a dealer 5 through a plurality of camera devices 2 and performs an image analysis of the recorded video of the state of process of the game (wherein fig. 6, shows a camera above taking a picture of the top of a game table));
process the one or more images to identify one or more items of currency on the gaming table (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0160]- Shigeta discloses the management control device 14 can perceive the position 8 (a position betting on a player, a banker, or a pair), the types (a value of a different amount is assigned to the chips 120 for each color), and the numbers of the chips 120 that is bet by each participant 6 through the camera device 2 and the image analyzing device 18.);
determine the validity of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills, being capable of recognizing a total amount of chips even in a state in which a plurality of chips come out onto the game table as an exchange target is hidden due to a blind area of the camera device 2, comparing a total amount of the bills K come out onto the game table 4 from a player with a total amount of the chips 120 come out from the dealer 5, and being capable of determining whether or not both the amounts match each other.);
and determine a total value of the one or more validated items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0117]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 includes a database recording a history of exchange of bills K and chips 120, refers to the database at the interval of a predetermined time or in units of one day and determines through a comparison whether or not the amount of chips 120 acquired in the chip tray 17 for the dealer 5 of the game table 4 has been increased or decreased according to a payed amount of chips 120 corresponding to exchanged bills K or a total amount of payment of bills K corresponding to exchanged chips 120.);
Shigeta fails to explicitly teach responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
However, Van Horn explicitly teaches responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0081]- Van horn discloses the positioning feedback may indicate that the view of the currency item is obstructed, folded, or not clearly visible. Further in Fig. 12, Paragraph [0085]- Van horn discloses positioning feedback/indicators may inform a user of an obstructed view. Positioning feedback/indicators may be audible or tactile. Audio indicators may be any combination of sounds, tones, “grunts”, or spoken words. The positioning feedback/indicators may include visual text/images projected into the validation device field of view. This feedback may visually indicate where a currency item should be located (at least initially). The various types of feedback/indicators may be combined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Van Horn wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better quality and consistency in images used for validation, since both Shigeta and Van horn are both systems that perform image processing in verification of currency. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Van Horn’s system increased quality and consistency of data collected for validation. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 10, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta further teaches wherein the process further receives one or more of an area proximate to the top surface of the gaming table (Fig, 6, Paragraph [0145]- Shigeta discloses the management system of table games in a game house including a plurality of game tables 4 includes: a measurement device 19 including an image analyzing device 18 that records a state of process of a game played in the game table 4 as a video including game participants 6 and a dealer 5 through a plurality of camera devices 2 and performs an image analysis of the recorded video of the state of process of the game (wherein fig. 6, shows a camera above taking a picture of the top of a game table)).
Regarding claim 11, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta further teaches wherein the processor processes the one or more images by detecting a security feature of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses it is determined whether or not bills K to be exchanged for chips 120 are genuine by detecting genuine marks G of the bills by emitting black light. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills).
Regarding claim 12, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 11, Shigeta further teaches wherein the security feature comprises an infrared strip (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0176]- Shigeta discloses the chip 120 according to this embodiment has a structure in which the side ID 126 is attached to the side face, the RFID 125 is built, and face codes using UV emission ink or infrared absorption ink are arranged on the upper face or the lower face (the print layer 124).).
Regarding claim 13, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta further teaches wherein the processor counts the one or more items of currency by determining a denomination of each of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0307]- Shigeta discloses the management control device 50 reading information on types (values) of chips from the RFIDs of the chips held in the accommodating portion 170 to determine an amount of chips held in the accommodating portion 170 corresponds to a dealer chip determining device of the present invention.).
Regarding claim 18, Shigeta teaches a method for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 can recognize the number and the amount of bills by performing an image analysis of the surfaces of the bills K.):
storing instructions on a non-transitory storage medium (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0083]- Shigeta discloses the image analyzing device 12 and the control device 14 of the fraud detecting system have a structure integrally including a computer formed as one body or by a plurality of configurations, a program, and a memory.);
positioning one or more image sensors (Fig. 1, #2 called a camera Paragraph [0085]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 having an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep learning structure can perceive a position (a player, a banker, or a pair) inside a bet area 8 on which each player 6 bets chips 120, the type (a value of a different amount is assigned to chips 120 for each color) and the number of the bet chips 120 through the camera device 2 and the image analyzing device 12.);
and configuring a processor to execute instructions to: monitor dealer gestures (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
responsive to one or more monitored dealer gestures, capture and receive one or more images of an area from said one or more image sensors (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
process the one or more images to identify one or more items of currency in the area (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0410]- Shigeta discloses In the management system of a table game, the management control device captures an image of the positions, the types, and the numbers of chips put by the game participants in each game, but the image-capturing is performed when it is detected that the card distributing device draws a first card, before or after the card distributing device draws the first card, or after the management control device recognizes a betting end sign of a dealer.);
determine the validity of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills, being capable of recognizing a total amount of chips even in a state in which a plurality of chips come out onto the game table as an exchange target is hidden due to a blind area of the camera device 2, comparing a total amount of the bills K come out onto the game table 4 from a player with a total amount of the chips 120 come out from the dealer 5, and being capable of determining whether or not both the amounts match each other.);
and determine a total value of the one or more validated items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0117]- Shigeta discloses the control device 14 includes a database recording a history of exchange of bills K and chips 120, refers to the database at the interval of a predetermined time or in units of one day and determines through a comparison whether or not the amount of chips 120 acquired in the chip tray 17 for the dealer 5 of the game table 4 has been increased or decreased according to a payed amount of chips 120 corresponding to exchanged bills K or a total amount of payment of bills K corresponding to exchanged chips 120.);
Shigeta fails to explicitly teach responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
However, Van Horn explicitly teaches responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0081]- Van horn discloses the positioning feedback may indicate that the view of the currency item is obstructed, folded, or not clearly visible. Further in Fig. 12, Paragraph [0085]- Van horn discloses positioning feedback/indicators may inform a user of an obstructed view. Positioning feedback/indicators may be audible or tactile. Audio indicators may be any combination of sounds, tones, “grunts”, or spoken words. The positioning feedback/indicators may include visual text/images projected into the validation device field of view. This feedback may visually indicate where a currency item should be located (at least initially). The various types of feedback/indicators may be combined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta a method for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: storing instructions on a non-transitory storage medium; positioning one or more image sensors; and configuring a processor to execute instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Van Horn wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein responsive to the one or more items of currency not being identifiable due to positioning of the one or more items of currency in the area, transmit an error notice with instructions to one or more personnel.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better quality and consistency in images used for validation, since both Shigeta and Van horn are both systems that perform image processing in verification of currency. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Van Horn’s system increased quality and consistency of data collected for validation. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 19, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the method of claim 18, Shigeta further teaches further configuring the processor to execute instructions to: detect a security feature of the one or more items of currency (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0124]- Shigeta discloses it is determined whether or not bills K to be exchanged for chips 120 are genuine by detecting genuine marks G of the bills by emitting black light. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the control device 14 has an artificial intelligence-utilizing or deep-learning structure verifying the genuine marks G through an image analysis, recognizing a total amount of genuine bills).
Regarding claim 20, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the method of claim 19, Shigeta further teaches wherein the security feature comprises an infrared strip (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0176]- Shigeta discloses the chip 120 according to this embodiment has a structure in which the side ID 126 is attached to the side face, the RFID 125 is built, and face codes using UV emission ink or infrared absorption ink are arranged on the upper face or the lower face (the print layer 124).).
Claims 5-7 and 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1) hereafter referenced as Shigeta in view of Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1) hereafter referenced as Van Horn and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1) hereafter referenced as Csulits.
Regarding claim 5, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 1, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]- Csulits discloses the document scanning device 100 is communicatively coupled to a separate computing device or processor 180 such as a personal computer (PC). Further in Fig. 4a, paragraph [0114]- discloses the device 400 generates a total value for the documents in the stack that were successfully denominated and/or imaged.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 6, Shigeta in view of Van Horn and Csulits teaches the system of claim 5, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0117]- Csulits discloses the processor can perform the character recognition using image data obtained from the imaging scanner and communicate with, for example, the controller of the document scanning device. The use of a high-speed board allows the processor 480 to send a signal to a controller (e.g., 150) residing in the scanning device 100, 200, 300, 400 to allow the controller, for example, to divert a certain document before the document has proceeded to far along in the transport mechanism to be properly diverted.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn and Csulits a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 1, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor further executes the instructions to: determine the validity of the one or more items of currency using serial numbers acquired from said one or more images (Fig. 7a, Paragraph [0058]- Csulits discloses a number of data can be used to assess whether a bill is a suspect bill, including serial number, denomination, series, issuing bank, image quality, infrared characteristics, ultraviolet characteristics, color shifting ink, watermarks, metallic threads, holograms, etc., or some combination thereof. Further in paragraph [0057-8]- the memory 160 is adapted to store serial numbers associated with known counterfeit bills and/or the serial numbers extracted from bills otherwise determined to be suspected counterfeit bills by the scanning device 100. When a currency bill is scanned, the controller 150 or an alternate computing device 180 compares the serial number of the scanned currency bill against any serial numbers stored in the memory 160.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]- Csulits discloses the document scanning device 100 is communicatively coupled to a separate computing device or processor 180 such as a personal computer (PC). Further in Fig. 4a, paragraph [0114]- discloses the device 400 generates a total value for the documents in the stack that were successfully denominated and/or imaged.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor transmits the count to an electronic device.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Shigeta in view of Van Horn and Csulits teaches the system of claim 14, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0117]- Csulits discloses the processor can perform the character recognition using image data obtained from the imaging scanner and communicate with, for example, the controller of the document scanning device. The use of a high-speed board allows the processor 480 to send a signal to a controller (e.g., 150) residing in the scanning device 100, 200, 300, 400 to allow the controller, for example, to divert a certain document before the document has proceeded to far along in the transport mechanism to be properly diverted.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn and Csulits a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor performs an action using a response received from the electronic device.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 16, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor further executes the instructions to: determine the validity of the one or more items of currency using serial numbers acquired from said one or more images.
However, Csulits explicitly teaches wherein the processor further executes the instructions to: determine the validity of the one or more items of currency using serial numbers acquired from said one or more images (Fig. 7a, Paragraph [0058]- Csulits discloses a number of data can be used to assess whether a bill is a suspect bill, including serial number, denomination, series, issuing bank, image quality, infrared characteristics, ultraviolet characteristics, color shifting ink, watermarks, metallic threads, holograms, etc., or some combination thereof. Further in paragraph [0057-8]- the memory 160 is adapted to store serial numbers associated with known counterfeit bills and/or the serial numbers extracted from bills otherwise determined to be suspected counterfeit bills by the scanning device 100. When a currency bill is scanned, the controller 150 or an alternate computing device 180 compares the serial number of the scanned currency bill against any serial numbers stored in the memory 160.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn and Csulits a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Csulits wherein the processor further executes the instructions to: determine the validity of the one or more items of currency using serial numbers acquired from said one or more images.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the processor further executes the instructions to: determine the validity of the one or more items of currency using serial numbers acquired from said one or more images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a faster and more accurate system for validating currency, since both Shigeta and Csulits are both systems that perform image processing. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Csulits’s system wherein increased the speed and accuracy of validating bank notes. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Csulits et al. (US 20080219543 A1), Paragraph [0003].
Claims 8 and 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1) hereafter referenced as Shigeta in view of Van Horn et al. (US 20170193727 A1) hereafter referenced as Van Horn and Hobmeier et al. (US 20070142112 A1) hereafter referenced as Hobmeier.
Regarding claim 8, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 1, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the area.
However, Hobmeier explicitly teaches wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the area (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]- Hobmeier discloses camera 3 is disposed in a certain distance above gaming table 2 and adjusted such that it can capture a certain detection area 4 on the gaming table 2. (Wherein it would be obvious to adjust the position between 1 to 3 meters if that was required to capture the detection area.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn a system for evaluating currency in areas using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Hobmeier wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the area.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the area.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for certain area to be scanned for the currency, since both Shigeta and Hobmeier are both systems for evaluating currency at a gaming table. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Hobmeier’s system provides an increase in precision and reliability of data that can be gathered. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Hobmeier et al. (US 20070142112 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Regarding claim 17, Shigeta in view of Van Horn teaches the system of claim 9, Shigeta in view of Van Horn fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the top surface of the gaming table.
However, Hobmeier explicitly teaches wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the top surface of the gaming table (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]- Hobmeier discloses camera 3 is disposed in a certain distance above gaming table 2 and adjusted such that it can capture a certain detection area 4 on the gaming table 2. (Wherein it would be obvious to adjust the position between 1 to 3 meters if that was required to capture the detection area.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shigeta in view of Van Horn a system for evaluating currency positioned on a gaming table using image processing, comprising: a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; one or more image sensors; and a processor that executes the instructions to: monitor dealer gestures with the teachings of Hobmeier wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the top surface of the gaming table.
Wherein having Shigeta’s system for counting and evaluating currency wherein the one or more image sensors are positioned 1 to 3 meters above the top surface of the gaming table.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for certain area to be scanned for the currency, since both Shigeta and Hobmeier are both systems for evaluating currency at a gaming table. Wherein Shigeta’s system provides an increase accuracy of recognition, while Hobmeier’s system provides an increase in precision and reliability of data that can be gathered. Please see Shigeta et al. (US 20190172312 A1), Paragraph [0086] and Hobmeier et al. (US 20070142112 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Jones et al. (US 20050207634 A1)- a document processing system includes an input receptacle for receiving documents. A transport mechanism receives the documents from the input receptacle and transports the documents past an image scanner and a discrimination unit. An output receptacle receives the documents from the transport mechanism after being transported past the full image scanner and the discrimination unit. The image scanner operates to obtain images of the documents and further operates to obtain images of selected portions of the documents, and further can obtain information contained in the selected portions.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Schramm et al. (US 7017812 B1)- a variable distance angular symbology reader utilizes at least one light source to direct light through a beam splitter and onto a target. A target may be angled relative to the impinging light beam up to and maybe even greater than 45.degree.. A reflected beam from the target passes through the beam splitter and is preferably directed 90.degree. relative to the light source through a telecentric lens to a scanner which records an image of the target such as a direct part marking code.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Shigeta et al. (US 20180350191 A1)- A detection system according to the present invention includes a control device detecting fraud performed in a game table by using a result of an image analysis performed by an image analyzing device, and substitute currency for gaming used for this detection system has a multi-layer structure in which a plurality of plastic layers having different colors are stacked, a coloring layer (121) is included at least in the middle, and white layers (122) or thin-color layers (may be layers having a color thinner than that of the coloring layer (121);.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Bulzacki et al. (US 20160328604 A1)- Systems and methods are provided in relation to monitoring activities at a gaming venue. A system for monitoring activities at a gaming venue may be provided, including one or more capture devices configured to capture gesture input data, each of the capture devices disposed so that one or more monitored individuals are within an operating range of the data capture device; and one or more electronic datastores configured to store a plurality of rules governing activities at the gaming venue; an activity analyzer comprising: a gesture recognition component configured to: receive gesture input data captured by the one or more capture devices;.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673