DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 - 20 have been presented for examination. Claims 1 and 11 are currently amended.
The instant office action relies on Roussel et al. “Optimizing Fracture Spacing and Sequencing in Horizontal-Well Fracturing” which is cited on the IDS dated 10/24/2023.
Response to Double Patenting
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/13/2026 was approved (see Terminal disclaimer review decision, dated 01/26/2026). Therefore, the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Claim Rejections – 35 USC 101
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. However, the Office does not consider them to be persuasive.
Applicant argues: “The claims are "directed to a specific improvement in hydraulic fracturing operations": a "physics-informed feedback and control loop" that "modifies physical completion design parameters" (e.g., injection rate, proppant concentration/volume, cluster spacing, stage spacing) "as the job runs". See dependent claims 5-7 and 9 (linking the control to multi-stage operations and concrete completion parameters). human cannot "practically" perform these "closed-loop", "real-time", "physics-informed" computations and operational adjustments in the harsh environment of a live frac job simply by "thinking" or with "pen and paper."”
Applicant argues that there is a “control loop” that modifies “physical completion design parameters”. Examiner notes that there is no recited “loop” since the poroelastic refracture design is only measured once, and a fracture design is changed once. Further, there is no recited “control” in the claims since it merely recites “change a fracture design to optimize completion in the active well”, which covers a mental process since requires no more than judgements and evaluations which could be performed mentally on an intangible “design”.
Applicant further argues that “identifying” and “estimating” and “changing” cannot practically be performed in the mind due to performance in “real-time”, “physics informed” and in a “harsh environment of a live frac job”. Examiner notes that performance the fracturing jobs take place on the order of 10s of minutes (see the instant application Figure 2B) which does not preclude performance in the mind due to the timescales required. Further, the computations being “physics-informed” does not require any specific computations or algorithms which would reasonably preclude performance in the mind. Further, Applicant has not specifically argued how the alleged “harsh environment of a live frac job” precludes performance in the mind to one of ordinary skill in the art who is experienced in performing said frac jobs.
Applicant argues: “The "claimed focus" is "controlling and improving a physical fracturing and completion process in real time" using "defined physical features" and a "geomechanical model-based simulation library". That is a "technological process", not an abstract mental concept”
Applicant argues that the controlling and improving is in real time, and amounts to a technological process. Examiner notes that the merely the “immediate assessment” is in real-time, which is distinct from any optimization of fracturing and/or completion process. Further, no “physical” fracturing or completion process is improved since the claimed invention merely recites changing an intangible “fracture design” which does not require further modifying the physical fracturing or completion process.
Applicant argues: “The claims "tie" any alleged abstract operations to a specific industrial process, specifically "hydraulic fracturing" in "an active well" and require "real-time measurement" and "real-time control" of "completion design parameters" "during the operation" ( claims 1 ( d), 4-7). This "imposes meaningful limits" and "effects a physical transformation" in the subsurface via modified pump schedules, proppant volumes/rates, and stage/cluster spacing and is not a mere post-solution reporting. OA at p. 11 mischaracterizes "measuring" as "insignificant extra-solution activity." In the claimed workflow, measurement is integral to the "closed-loop control" that "modifies the ongoing frac" (Cf Diehr, 450 U.S. at 187-88).” (emphasis added)
Examiner notes that limiting the claimed invention to a field of use does not amount to a practical application (see emphasis in Applicant’s remarks) (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). As argued in the preceding remarks, the claims does not recite a “control”, the “real time” is with regard to the “using physics-informed data analytics to process poroelastic pressure data”, and the claim does not positively recite changing a physical fracture design (see emphasis in Applicant’s remarks). Examiner notes that although the measuring is used to modifying the fracture design, the manner of collect measuring the data is recited at a high-level of generality and merely gathers data which is used in the abstract idea steps.
Applicant argues: “The claims require "physics-informed data analytics" and "explicit extraction of defined physical features" (L1tmax/ L1tmin/ L1pmax/ L1pmin/slope) to produce an "immediate SRV" assessment "as the job runs". This is not generic data manipulation; it operationalizes "physical modeling constraints" for "real-time control" in a "particular environment" i.e. hydraulic fracturing, satisfying MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c).”
As argued in the preceding remarks, the claims does not recite a “control”, the “real time” is with regard to the “using physics-informed data analytics to process poroelastic pressure data”, and the claim does not positively recite changing a physical fracture design (see emphasis in Applicant’s remarks). Further, limiting the claimed invention to a field of use does not amount to a practical application(see emphasis in Applicant’s remarks) (see MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Applicant argues: “Claim 11 explicitly recites "computer implementation" ("using a computer-processor to query a database" of "simulated poroelastic responses" stored in "non-transitory memory"), but its role is not generic: the "database" is specifically a "library of geomechanical-model-generated responses" tailored to "fracture geometries", used "in-situ" to "drive real-time operational changes". This "ties the computation to a particular machine-implemented control application" of a "physical process"”
Examiner notes that the recited “computer-processor” and “database” are wholly generic hardware and/or software components irrespective of the information they contain and/or query. Further, there is no controlling explicitly recited since the claim merely recites changing an intangible “design”.
Applicant argues: “But the Office provides "no evidence" that the "claimed
ordered combination" including "real-time physics-informed feature extraction" of poroelastic signals, "matching to a geomechanical simulation library", "estimating fracture geometry", "and immediately altering completion design parameters in the active well" is routine.
Indeed, the claims "ordered combination" is similar to a "non-conventional control architecture" in computer technologies, as the claimed combination provides a unique process for analyzing SRV in real-time: …
Absent competent evidence that this "specific real-time, physics-constrained control loop" was routine, the Office cannot sustain Step 2B. Berkheimer, 881 F.3d at 1368.” (emphasis added)
Examiner notes that the claimed invention does not explicitly recite a “control loop” since the claim merely recites changing an intangible “design”. Further, Applicant argues one or more limitations which are part of the abstract idea itself as requiring evidence regarding their ordered combination (e.g., estimating). Further, the Office Action clearly articulated that the ordered combination does not add anything more since they require no more than general purpose computer function, and Applicant has not refuted this.
Applicant argues: “A human mind alone cannot acquire, process, and apply these "physics-informed" computations fast enough to control an ongoing frac job. Processing A human mind alone cannot acquire, process, and apply these "physics-informed" computations fast enough to control an ongoing frac job.
The claimed "feature set" (L1tmax, L1pmax, slopes, etc.) and "simulation library" generated by a "geomechanical model" are "domain-specific physical constructs", not mental abstractions”
Examiner notes that the claim merely recites performing “physics-informed data analytics” in real-time, which does not in any way limit the “analytics” from being reasonably performed in the mind. Further, Applicant has provided a conclusory argument that this was not achievable on-site previously.
Applicant argues: “The Office states that "computer-processor" and "non-transitory storage medium" are generic (OA p. 12). Applicant agrees these nouns are common, but claim 11's use of them is particular and specific to the claimed process …
The claims recite a specific way of using "poroelastic measurements", "physics-informed features", and a "geomechanical simulation library" to "control hydraulic fracturing" "in real time" …
These steps represent a unique process that
improves the process of hydraulic fracturing and completion. These steps cannot physically be performed in the human mind, are significantly more than a mental process, and, key here, do not preempt other fracturing and analysis techniques.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive based on the preceding remarks.
Response to Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. However, the Office does not consider them to be persuasive.
Applicant argues: “Neither Kampfer nor James, or the combination of Kampfer and James, could be performed in real time during a fracturing operation. Applicant has improved the industry as a whole by providing a physics-informed method of estimating fracture parameters in real-time during the fracturing process. Neither Kampfer nor James provide this instantaneous estimation of fracture geometry. James specifically states that the "real-time" information provided is "knowledge about the rock quality," paragraph [0066]. The "near real-time" information is provided from "transient response from the initial injection or leak off test before the primary stimulation" but does not provide ongoing real-time data during stimulation” (bold emphasis in original) (underline emphasis added)
James is not relied upon to teach the recited “using physics-informed data analytics to process poroelastic pressure data including one or more extracted characteristics in real time to provide an immediate assessment of the stimulated reservoir volume (SRV)”. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments that James discloses “near real-time” is not persuasive. Further, Kampfer explicitly teaches analyzing poroelastic response during stimulation and based on actively monitored pressures (i.e., during stimulation, and in real-time).
Applicant argues: “Although the Examiner attempts to align isolated phrases from Kampfer, James, and Roussel with discrete elements of the present claims, the cited portions are taken out of context and do not reflect what these references actually teach in their proper technical frameworks. … Nor does the prior art provide any motivation to merge their disparate analytical domains. When read in proper context, these references do not teach or suggest the claimed combination, and the Examiner's position can only be reached through hindsight reconstruction anchored in the Applicants' disclosure rather than in the prior art itself”
Examiner notes that the prior art teachings are not bodily incorporated into previous references. Although later references may teach other embodiments and/or have other use cases, this does not prevent the teachings from being combined. Examiner that Applicant has not argued that the combination is inoperable, nor that any reference(s) teach away. Further, the number of references is not dispositive, and does not by itself amount to hindsight reconstruction. Further, the Office Action clearly articulates a teaching-suggestion-motivation (see MPEP 2141) for the motivation to combine, and Applicant has not explicitly challenged any of these articulated motivations. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: With respect to claim 1, applying step 1, the preamble of independent claims 1 and 11, claim a method, as such these claims fall within the statutory categories of a process.
Step 2A, prong one: In order to apply step 2A, a recitation of claim 1 is copied below.
(Highlighted portions in bold of the claim constitute an abstract idea; the remaining limitations are "additional elements"): The claim recites:
1. A method for stimulating a subterranean formation comprising:
a) measuring a poroelastic pressure response of a subterranean formation during a hydraulic fracturing operation in an active well to generate a measured poroelastic pressure response;
b) identifying a closest simulated poroelastic pressure response in a library of simulated poroelastic pressure response said poroelastic pressure response library comprising simulated poroelastic pressure responses of known fracture geometry generated utilizing a geomechanical model comprising: (mentaI process - observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion); and
extracting one or more characteristics of said measured poroelastic pressure response selected from time-lag, magnitude, slope, elapsed time to reach maximum pressure (delta_t_max), elapsed time to reach minimum pressure (delta_t_min), maximum deviation in poroelastic pressure (delta_p_max), minimum deviation in poroelastic pressure (delta_p_min), and maximum slope (max delta_p/delta_t), and using physics-informed data analytics to process poroelastic pressure data including one or more extracted characteristics in real time to provide an immediate assessment of the stimulated reservoir volume (SRV); (mentaI process - observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion);
c) estimating a geometrical parameter of a fracture or fractures in the subterranean formation based on the closest simulated poroelastic pressure response (mental process - observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion); and
d) changing a fracture design to optimize completion in an active well.
The limitations as analyzed include concepts directed to the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection Ill). Identifying a closest simulated poroelastic pressure response is under its broadest reasonable interpretation evaluating the data within a dataset (library) and mentally comparing and making a judgement about the closest match. Extracting one or more characteristics of said measured poroelastic pressure response require no more than analytical evaluations from previously obtained data which could be performed mentally. Using physics-informed data analystics to process data and provide a real-time assessment requires no more than analytical evaluations using physical relationships to provide a judgement, where real time does not require specific timing requirements precluding performance in the mind. Estimating a parameter based on the identified closest poroelastic pressure response is also a judgement based on the evaluation and then providing an opinion (estimate). Changing a fracture design requires no more than judgements and evaluations which could be performed mentally on an intangible “design”. Thus, limitations noted above also fall into the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, prong two: Under step 2A prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional claim limitations outside the abstract idea only present general fieId of use or insignificant extra-solution activity.
The additional limitations of the general preamble, "measuring a poroelastic pressure response of a subterranean formation during a hydraulic fracturing operation in an active well to generate a measured poroelastic pressure response" and that the identifying is “automatically”. The step of measuring pressure response appears to be insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering and outputting (2106.05(g)). Therefore, this does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Merely automating a mental process step does not amount to significantly more (e.g., using a computer). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Moving on to step 2B of the analysis, the Examiner must consider whether each claim limitation individually or as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. This analysis includes determining whether an inventive concept is furnished by an element or a combination of elements that are beyond the judicial exception.
The additional limitations in claim 1 are measuring a pressure response, and that the identifying is “automatically”. As noted above, this appears to be insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering and outputting (2106.05(g)). Further evidence that measuring a pressure response is well understood routine and conventional is the generic way it is claimed and taught by for example Kampfer, US 2017/0002652 (see [0027] "After the monitoring well is selected, in S303, a pressure gauge is connected in direct fluid communication with the monitoring well in order to monitor the pressure changes in the step(s). The pressure gauge may be, but is not limited to, a surface pressure gauge or a subsurface pressure gauge. Among suitable pressure measurement techniques, the surface gauge approach is far simpler and far less costly, reducing the risk of implementation and cost by orders of magnitude."). This teaches that pressure measurements are mere data collection. The “automating” requires no more than automation using a general purpose computer which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, the independent claim 1 does not add significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C.101. Independent claim 11 are directed to substantially the same subject matter as independent claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale and further failure to add significantly more. Independent claim 11 recites additional limitations of "computer-processor to query a database" and "the library is stored in a non-transitory computer storage medium" that are generic computer type functions. These generic functions are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention to a patentable invention because the recited components (i.e., processor, or non-transitory storage medium) are recited at a high level of generality that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer system, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Looking at the additional elements in combination adds nothing more than when considering them individually since the “measuring” and “automatically identifying” require no more than generic computer functions. The same conclusion is reached for the dependent claims, see below for detail.
Claims 2 and 12 recite wherein the geometrical parameter is one or more of: height of fracture, length of fracture, width of fracture, fracture asymmetry, residual width from proppant, orientation of fracture, stimulated reservoir volume, and drained reservoir volume. This is merely describing the type of data the system is collecting (analysis same as in step 2B above for data collection for claim 1 and that links the data to a field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 3 and 13 recite wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses is searchable by one or more of: elapsed time to reach maximum pressure, elapsed time to reach minimum pressure, maximum deviation in poroelastic pressure, minimum deviation in poroelastic pressure, and maximum slope. This is merely describing the type of data the system is collecting (analysis same as in step 2B above for data collection for claim 1 and that links the data to a field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 4 and 14 recite wherein the estimating of dimension or dimensions of a fracture or fractures is completed in real-time as the hydraulic fracturing operation is performed. This is a further recitation of an abstract idea, as mental processes can occur in real-time.
Claims 5 and 15 recite wherein the hydraulic fracturing operation is a multi-stage hydraulic fracturing operation. This links the abstract idea to a field of use, but this is not sufficient without more to integrate it into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 6 and 16 recite d) modifying a completion design parameter of the subterranean formation in real-time. This does not provide any additional details that would make this similar to the Diehr case, and is only a general statement that the design parameter should be modified which amounts to instructions to "apply it." MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 7 and 17 recite wherein the completion design parameter is one or more of: rate of subterranean fluid introduced, proppant concentration, proppant volume, and injection rate. This links the abstract idea to a field of use, but this is not sufficient without more to integrate it into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 8 and 18 recite wherein the poroelastic pressure response is measured at surface or in a well. This is merely describing the type of data the system is collecting (analysis same as in step 2B above for data collection for claim 1 and that links the data to a field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 9 and 19 recite wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses includes at least one suggested completion design parameter selected from: injection rate, fluid type, fluid volume, proppant type, proppant volume, cluster spacing, and stage spacing. This links the abstract idea to a field of use, but this is not sufficient without more to integrate it into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claims 10 and 20 recite wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses includes field data, completion design parameter, or well performance data. This links the abstract idea to a fieId of use, but this is not sufficient without more to integrate it into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 12 and 14 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kampfer et al., US 2017/0002652 (henceforth “Kampfer”) in view of James et al., US 2016/0115780 (henceforth “James”).
With regard to claim 1, Kampfer teaches a method for stimulating a subterranean formation comprising:
a) measuring a poroelastic pressure response of a subterranean formation during a hydraulic fracturing operation in an active well to generate a measured poroelastic pressure response (Kampfer [0012] "The present invention provides an improved approach for mapping hydraulic fractures by using measured pressures during the hydraulic fracturing process, which have their origin in a poroelastic response due to the propagation and dilation of a hydraulic fracture."; [0035] "The measured pressures are recorded in S310. After the monitoring is completed, in S311, the valve connecting the pressure gauge and the monitoring well is closed. Further fracturing operations may then be performed in the next stage in the monitoring well. In S312, a determination is made to decide whether more data is needed, and if yes, S304-S312 may be repeated as many times as desired.", and Figure 3 this is from a monitoring well to monitor actual fracturing operations (during fracturing operation in an active well)
)
simulated poroelastic pressure responses of known fracture geometry generated utilizing a geomechanical model (Kampfer, [0045] "The simulation re-produces the poroelastic pressure increase one would expect in an observation fracture, at a certain distance to a second fracture, which is pressurized/dilated/propagating. A series of such simulations for various distances between the two fractures are conducted and the resulting normalized pressure increase is then displayed on a surface plot spanned in a normalized space of fracture overlap and fracture offset."); and
extracting one or more characteristics of said measured poroelastic pressure response selected from time-lag, magnitude, slope, elapsed time to reach maximum pressure (delta_t_max), elapsed time to reach minimum pressure (delta_t)min), maximum deviation in poroelastic pressure (delta_p_max), minimum deviation in poroelastic pressure (delta_p_min), and maximum slope (max delta_p/delta_t), and (Kampfer [0043] “The rate of change in the pressure response and the magnitude are clear indicators of either direct fluid communication or poroelastic influence”)
using physics-informed data analytics to process poroelastic pressure data including one or more extracted characteristics in real time to provide an immediate assessment of the stimulated reservoir volume (SRV); (Kampfer [0043] the pressure responses are indicative of real physical fracture processes “The rate of change in the pressure response and the magnitude are clear indicators of either direct fluid communication or poroelastic influence”)
c) estimating a geometrical parameter of a fracture or fractures in the subterranean formation based on the closest simulated poroelastic pressure response (Kampfer, [0053] "FIG. 5 is a Pore Pressure Map according to one embodiment of the present invention. The Pore Pressure Map shows history match of poroelastic pressure response observed in a series of stages of a stimulated well from an observation fracture in an adjacent observation well. The history match provides the overlap and offsetforeach stage as well as the FHL/FHT ratio of 4.").
d) changing a fracture design to optimize completion in the active well. (Kampfer [0054] well-spacing affects overall fracture connections from adjacent wells (changing a fracture design to optimize) “The determined hydraulic fracture geometries according to the above described analysis may optimize the spacings between two or more wells penetrating the subterranean formation, and the forming of a further fracture emanating from the adjacent well(s).”)
Kampfer does not explicitly disclose b) automatically identifying a closest simulated poroelastic pressure response in a library of simulated poroelastic pressure response said poroelastic pressure response library;
James teaches:
b) automatically identifying a closest simulated poroelastic pressure response in a library of simulated poroelastic pressure response said poroelastic pressure response library (James Fig. 1 steps 140 and 150 describing comparing simulated responses and measured responses to identify fracture hydraulic parameters; [0018] "numerically simulating a transient and using optimization methods through history matching to determine fracture hydraulic parameters."; [0078] lookup tables are used to perform the comparison (automatically identifying) "Thus, by using an electrical model, simulated responses with their associated flow resistances and fracture capacitances can be obtained for previous actual fracture stimulation operations, future actual stimulation operations, and any other stimulation operations that one may encounter since the information regarding the well, the casing, and the fluid are already known, will be known, or can be predicted .... advance. All these simulated responses, flow resistances, and fracture capacitances may be saved in a database or lookup table for comparison with future stimulation operations. In one embodiment, the comparison may be performed by adjusting the resistor in the electrical model first to determine the flow resistance and then adjusting the capacitor to determine the facture capacitance. Therefore, it is possible to model every expected response and different combination of depth, fracture flow resistance, fracture capacitance, and response at the surface in terms of the pressure transient that is generated at the surface for a given field. The benefit is that hydraulic properties of the fracture system of the reservoir can be inferred by just looking at the pressure responses observed at the surface during the water hammering. The model allows one to infer the flow resistance and the hydraulic capacitance of the fracture based on the pressure response measured at the surface. In other words, if the comparison shows a match, the flow resistance and fracture capacitance of the actual fracture stimulation operation can be obtained from the flow resistance and fracture capacitance of the matched simulated response. With this lookup table, one does not need to manually change the resistance and capacitance in the electrical model for matching its simulated response to every measured response. The benefit of having the lookup table or database allows an operator to calculate these parameters very quickly.")
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success (obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 2, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the geometrical parameter is one or more of: height of fracture, length of fracture, width of fracture, fracture asymmetry, residual width from proppant, orientation of fracture, stimulated reservoir volume, and drained reservoir volume (Kampfer, [0045] "These maps are very sensitive to the fracture geometry, i.e. the fracture height. The combination of the measured pressure signals and the surface plots for different fracture heightto length ratios provide the final geometry of the hydraulic fracture in the subsurface.").
With regard to claim 4, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1. Kampfer does not explicitly
disclose, but James teaches wherein the estimating of dimension or dimensions of a fracture or fractures is completed in real-time as the hydraulic fracturing operation is performed ([0078] "The operator can get the transient response from the initial injection or leak off test before the primary stimulation of every stage in a horizontal wellbore, thereby providing the operator valuable information needed on a near real time basis to optimize each particular stage before pumping any proppant.").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions ( look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success ( obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 5, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the hydraulic fracturing operation is a multi-stage hydraulic fracturing operation (Kampfer, Fig. 2 S301 identify wells for "multi-stage hydraulic fracturing").
With regard to claim 6, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1. Kampfer does not explicitly disclose but James teaches, further comprising: d) modifying a completion design parameter of the subterranean formation in real-time (James, [0078] "thereby providing the operator valuable information needed on a near real time basis to optimize each particular stage before pumping any proppant.").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer(directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success (obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 7, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 6. Kampfer does not explicitly disclose but James teaches, wherein the completion design parameter is one or more of: rate of subterranean fluid introduced, proppant concentration, proppant volume, and injection rate (James, [0064] "Referring to FIG. 2, the fracturing treatment in which the leak-off test is performed has a duration of approximately three hours from start to finish. FIG. 3 is a breakdown of FIG. 2 that shows the treatment rate (the top graph), the treatment pressure (the middle graph), and the proppant concentration (the bottom graph) of the fracturing treatment." These parameters are then able to used by [0078] "the operator valuable information needed on a near real time basis to optimize each particular stage before pumping any proppant.").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success ( obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 8, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the poroelastic pressure response is measured at surface or in a well (Kampfer, [0027] "The pressure gauge may be, but is not limited to, a surface pressure gauge or a subsurface pressure gauge. Among suitable pressure measurement techniques, the surface gauge approach is far simpler and far less costly, reducing the risk of implementation and cost by orders of magnitude.").
With regard to claim 9, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1. Kampfer does not explicitly disclose but James teaches, wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses includes at least one suggested completion design parameter selected from: injection rate, fluid type, fluid volume, proppant type, proppant volume, cluster spacing, and stage spacing (James, [0083] "determining fracture hydraulic parameters using the measured response 140 in FIG.1, one can determine flow resistance and fracture capacitance by either comparing the simulated response to the measured response with help from a lookup table or employing numerical optimization .... The optimization of the stimulation treatment may be adjusting the volume, properties or rate (i.e., number of barrels per minute) of the fracturing fluid is required to fracture the reservoir, adjusting the volume, size or type of prop pant carried by the fracturing fluid, or omitting a hydraulic fracturing treatment altogether for a given stage.").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success (obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 10, modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses includes field data, completion design parameter, or well performance data (James, [0083] "Therefore, referring to the step of determining fracture hydraulic parameters using the measured response 140 in FIG.1, one can determine flow resistance and fracture capacitance by either comparing the simulated response to the measured response with help from a lookup table or employing numerical optimization. Based on the determined flow resistance and fracture capacitance, one can optimize a stimulation treatment to the reservoir 150.").
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (look up table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success (obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
With regard to claim 11, Kampfer does not explicitly disclose but James teaches using a computer-processor to query a database (James, [0078] "All these simulated responses, flow resistances, and fracture capacitances may be saved in a database or lookup table for comparison with future stimulation operations." This is construed as teaching the generic computer components including non-transitory storage media.). Additionally, Claim 11 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Kampfer (directed to determining geometric fracture parameters through simulations based on measurements) and James (similarly directed to determinations of fracture parameters) before them, to have tried to address the need (fast parameter determination via queries) of Kampfer by using one or more of the known predictable solutions (lookup table or database of simulated fracture operations) of James, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options with a reasonable expectation of success ( obtaining fracture properties as a typical inverse problem of matching measured and simulated responses.).
Claim 12 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 14 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 15 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 16 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 17 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 18 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 19 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 9, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim 20 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 10, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kampfer in view of James, and further in view of Roussel et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0176394 (henceforth “Roussel (394)”).
With regard to claim 3, Modified Kampfer teaches The method of claim 1. Kampfer does not explicitly disclose, wherein the library of simulated poroelastic pressure responses is searchable by one or more of: elapsed time to reach maximum pressure, elapsed time to reach minimum pressure, maximum deviation in poroelastic pressure, minimum deviation in poroelastic pressure, and maximum slope.
Roussel teaches wherein the database of simulated poroelastic pressure responses is searchable by one or more of: elapsed time to reach maximum pressure, elapsed time to reach minimum pressure, maximum deviation in poroelastic pressure, minimum deviation in poroelastic pressure, and maximum slope (Roussel, [0030-0033] describing measured the pressure responses using sensors that includes time-based pressure transient analysis).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kampfer (directed to analysis of hydraulic fracturing operations) and Roussel (directed to analysis of hydraulic fracturing processes) and arrived at the creation and storage of the additional types of pressure responses as claimed.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because it would improve the efficiency of the fracturing operations by providing a more complete understanding of the fractures in the field as taught in Roussel ([0005]).
Claim 13 contains limitations for a method which are similar to the limitations for the method described in claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons as detailed above.
Examiner General Comments
With regard to the prior art rejection(s), any cited portion of the relied upon reference(s), either to specific areas or as direct language, is intended to be interpreted in the context of the reference(s) as a whole, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Conclusion
/ALFRED H. WECHSELBERGER/ExaminerArt Unit 2187
/EMERSON C PUENTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187