Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20120073152, McGahan.
Regarding Claim 7, McGahan discloses a method of using a utility knife (method of using box cutter C combined with Clip C, which together are herein defined as a utility knife assembly) comprising:
grasping a utility knife (combination of box cutter C combined with Clip C) having a blade aperture (opening at bottom of clip assembly 22, defined by walls 60 of housing 22 fig 3, and through which blade CB extends, see fig 6) and a knife blade CB with a cutting edge extending from the blade aperture in the knife handle (see figs 2 and 6);
subsequently, coupling a tape measure hook (MT) attached to a tape blade (T) of a tape measure (TM, par 0048) to the blade aperture of the utility knife (par 0057)
extending the tape blade of the tape measure from a housing 30 of the tape measure along a workpiece P to a desired measurement of the workpiece while the tape measure hook is coupled to the blade aperture of the utility knife (par. 0058),
sliding the cutting edge the cutting edge of the knife blade CB of the utility knife along a longitudinal axis of the knife handle (combination of 22, 24, and long handle part of BC) through the front end of the handle of the utility knife (fig 6) and
cutting the workpiece P with the cutting edge of the knife blade CB (fig 6) of the utility knife at the desired measurement while the tape measure hook is coupled to the blade aperture of the utility knife (par0059).
Regarding Claim 8, in McGahan the method of use there of further comprises locking the tape measure in place via a locking mechanism (62 and 70) of the tape measure (par. 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB 5511261, Collins in view of the teachings of USPGPUB 20050193566, Brown.
Regarding Claim 1 Collins discloses a:
utility knife (abstract, since the tool is a utility tool including a knife blade), comprising:
a body (12) comprising: a front end (See annotated fig 2 below);
a rear end opposite the front end (See annotated fig 2 below);
a first body portion (See annotated fig 2 below); and
a second body portion coupled to the first body portion (See annotated fig 2 below where the body portions are shown coupled integrally, which is a coupling under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the term in view of the present specification, see par. 0033, where it is noted that: “0033 Unless specified or limited otherwise, the terms “mounted,” “connected,”, “supported,” and “coupled” and variations thereof are used broadly and encompass both direct and indirect mountings, connections, supports, and couplings.”), the first body portion and the second body portion each extend between the front end and the rear end (see annotated fig 2 below) and together define an interior portion of the body (portion which slidably encloses the blade 54);
a blade holder (body portion of member 34 carried by screw shaft 28) supported by the body (12) within the interior portion of the body (fig’s. 6-7), the blade holder moveable relative to the body to move a blade between an extended position and a retracted position (col. 4, lines 1-20), wherein the blade has a thickness (fig 7), wherein the first body portion surrounds a first side of the blade holder and the second body portion surrounds a second side of the blade holder such that the blade holder is enclosed within the body (compare annotated fig 2 below with figs 6-7); and
a blade aperture (See annotated fig 2 below) positioned at the front end of the body (See annotated fig 2 below), the blade aperture defined and enclosed between the first body portion and the second body portion (See annotated fig 2 below), through which the blade extends out of the body when in the extended position (fig 2 and 7), the blade aperture comprising a first end section having a width (See annotated fig 7 below), a central section having a width (See annotated fig 7 below), and a second end section having a width (See annotated fig 7 below).
the central section of the blade aperture has a height greater than the respective heights of both the first end section and the second end section of the blade aperture (See annotated fig 7 below), and wherein the first end section and the second end section are each positioned along the major axis of the blade aperture (since the sections are all aligned on a single plane, e.g. through the center of each respective section).
Collins lacks wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (claim 1), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2).
In Collins the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section appears to be from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, and the width of the central section appears to be greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (Claim 1) (see fig 2, and 7), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2) (see fig 2, and 7).
However, the exact dimensions of the sections are not disclosed in Collins. Thus Collins lacks wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (claim 1), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2).
In regards to the widths of the first end section and second end sections, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (claim 1), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2) because discovering an optimum width would have been a mere design consideration based on ensuring that the blade is securely held in the knife slot. Such a modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the aforementioned requirement, of securing the blade.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section of Collins to be from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (claim 1), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2).
Further, Brown teaches that in a utility knife, analogous to the utility knife of the present invention, that the width of a blade opening is a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade, par 0086, and that the width may be narrower or wider than approximately two times the thickness of the blade (par 0086).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins by having the blade art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, and since Brown discloses that blade opening width to be a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 4, in Collins, the blade aperture is defined in the front end of the body (See annotated fig 2 above), wherein the blade holder is slidable relative to the body to move the blade through the blade aperture between the extended position and the retracted position (Col. 4, 1-20).
Regarding Claim 6, in Collins, the width of the first end section is equal to the width of the second end section and the height of the first end section is equal to the height of the second end section. (See annotated fig 7 below).
Regarding Claim 10, in Reda the method of use there of further comprises wherein the first body portion faces a first side of the blade and the second body portion faces a second side of the blade (See annotated fig. 7 below).
Regarding Claim 12, in Collins a first gap defined between a first recess of the first body portion and a first side of the blade; and a second gap defined between a second recess of the second body portion and a second side of the blade; wherein the first gap and second gap are located within the central section of the blade aperture.
Regarding Claim 13, in Collins the first and second recesses extend from the blade aperture into the body along a length direction of the blade (compare fig 2 to annotated fig 7 above).
Regarding Claim 14, in Collins the first recess has a size and a shape to receive a hook of a tape measure and the second recess having a size and a shape to receive the hook of the tape measure such that when the hook is received in the first or second recess the tape measure is coupled to the utility knife (since the recess may receive a hook of a tape measure of certain sizes).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of USPGPUB 20050283983, Huang.
Regarding Claims 15-16, the Collins lacks wherein the blade holder comprises a lock member coupled to a resilient spring arm (Claim 15) and a plurality of projections formed on the interior portion of the body and spaced along a slot that extends through the first body portion of the body such that the lock member is selectively receivable between adjacent pairs of projections to retain the blade holder in a position (Claim 16).
Huang discloses a sliding blade knife assembly in the same field of endeavor as the sliding blade knife assembly of Collins and discloses that such an assembly includes a blade body having a slideable blade 90 carried on sliding body 20 received ion housing 10, and discloses that in such a sliding blade assembly it is known to include the blade holder 20 comprising a lock member 27 coupled to a resilient spring arm 26 (Claim 15) and a plurality of projections 19 formed on the interior portion of the body and spaced along a slot (channel defining housing 10 interior) that extends through the first body portion of the body such that the lock member is selectively receivable between adjacent pairs of projections to retain the blade holder in a position (par 0047) in order to allow the blade to be selectively locked in a number of positions (par 0047) (Claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins by having the blade holder comprises a lock member coupled to a resilient spring arm (Claim 15) and a plurality of projections formed on the interior portion of the body and spaced along a slot that extends through the first body portion of the body such that the lock member is selectively receivable between adjacent pairs of projections to retain the blade holder in a position (Claim 16) in order to allow the blade to be selectively locked in a number of positions as taught via/by Huang.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 7913397 van Deursen, in view of Collins, and in view of the teachings of Brown.
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, Van Deursen discloses a utility knife (abstract) comprising: a body (10, 11, and 12) comprising a front end (12 and 15) and a rear end opposite the front end 11;
a blade holder (12) supported by the body (fig 4), the blade holder moveable relative to the body to move a blade 13 between an extended position (fig 10) and a retracted position (see fig 11-12), wherein the blade has a thickness (since it is three dimensional, see also fig 2);
a blade aperture (opening in front of body 12 from which the blade extends forward through) through which the blade extends when in the extended position (fig 2 through 4) (claim 1), and wherein the blade aperture is defined in the blade holder (fig 1 and 2) and the blade holder is pivotally coupled to the body to pivot the blade between the extended position (fig 1) and the retracted position (fig 1) (Claim 5).
Van Deursen lacks the blade aperture comprises/ing a first end section having a width, a central section having a width, and a second end section having a width, wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade.
Collins discloses a sliding blade knife assembly in the same field of endeavor as the sliding blade knife assembly of Van Deursen and discloses that such an assembly includes a blade body having a blade aperture 20 which leads to a channel 16, both comprises/ing a hexagonal cross section col. 3, 30-40) which cross section includes a first end section having a width, a central section having a width, and a second end section having a width, wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are approximately from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is approximately greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (see annotated fig 7 below), which hexagonal cross section ensures that the blade channel therein can not only carry a blade, but can also carry analogous tools such as drivers 32 and 36 of Collins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Deursen by having the blade aperture comprise a hexagonal cross section, including a first end section having a width, a central section having a width, and a second end section having a width, wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are approximately from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than approximately 150% of the thickness of the blade in order to ensure that the blade channel can not only carry a blade, but can also carry analogous tools such as drivers; as taught by Collins.
Further, Brown teaches that in a utility knife, analogous to the utility knife of the present invention, that the width of a blade opening is a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade, par 0086, and that the width may be narrower or wider than approximately two times the thickness of the blade (par 0086).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins by having the blade art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, and since Brown discloses that blade opening width to be a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Modified Van Deursen still lacks wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (claim 1), and wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section are each less than 115% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 170% of the thickness of the blade (claim 2).
In Collins the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section appears to be from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, and the width of the central section appears to be greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade (see fig 2, and 7). However, the exact dimensions of the sections are not disclosed in Collins. Thus Collins, and also modified Van Deursen, lack wherein the respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade.
In regards to the widths of the first end section and second end sections, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade, because discovering an optimum width would have been a mere design consideration based on ensuring that the blade is securely held in the knife slot. Such a modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the aforementioned requirement, of securing the blade. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section of modified Van Deursen to be from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade.
Further, Brown teaches that in a utility knife, analogous to the utility knife of the present invention, that the width of a blade opening is a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade, par 0086, and that the width may be narrower or wider than approximately two times the thickness of the blade (par 0086).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Deursen by having the blade art to select respective widths of the first end section and the second end section is from 100% to 125% of the thickness of the blade, wherein the width of the central section is greater than 150% of the thickness of the blade since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, and since Brown discloses that blade opening width to be a result effective variable for providing lateral support to a blade. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 1/5/26, with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims (as the claims have now been amended) have been fully considered and persuasive. Collins, as previously interpreted, with regard to Claim 3 of the previous claims, lacks “the central section of the blade aperture has a height greater than the respective heights of both the first end section and the second end section of the blade aperture, and wherein the first end section and the second end section are each positioned along the major axis of the blade aperture”. However, a further reading of Collins has resulted in the interpretation as shown in the present rejection, in which Collins comprises this feature. Also, Applicant persuasively argues that Reda lacks the feature of Claim 7, of: “sliding the cutting edge of the knife blade of the utility knife along a longitudinal axis of the knife handle through the front end of the handle of the utility knife”. However, a further search has produced a rejection in view of McGahan for Claims 7-8, as amended.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 8020312 10036620 11598622 20030182811 7886447 6804898 5406711 8091250 11333478 6785971 7740012 and D615429, disclose state of the art cutter tools with geometrically shaped recesses capable of receiving a tape hook, and, thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724