Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 05/26/25, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments and Remarks
Specification Objections: The appropriate corrections have been made to the specification. The specification objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2025, with respect to the rejections of the independent claims (1 and 12) and dependent claims (3-11, 14-20) under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 2/25/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834].
In the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues the following with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
(page 9) “Wang is not a valid prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(c) because the subject matter on which the rejection is based and the claimed invention were subject to an obligation of assignment to the same entity not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”
Examiner has considered applicant’s argument and found it persuasive. As stated above, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834].
(page 9) “Applicant further notes that the Office Action uses WU in rejecting claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 WITHOUT listing WU in the rejection.”
The Office Action dated 02/06/25, page 2, states: “Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2021136377) in view of Kim (US PGPub 20200280834) and Wu (WO 2022236612).”
(page 9) There is not teaching of "the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PCS-radio resource control (RRC) message…Wu discloses the relay UE maintains a SIB type list associated with the serving remote UE(s) WITHOUT teaching the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE is received directly from the remote UE."
Examiner has considered applicant’s argument and found it persuasive. As stated above, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834].
(page 10) “Claims 10 & 19: … The Office Action relies on Wang as teaching the element of "wherein the relay UE acquires the one or more SIBs with on-demand SIB acquisition procedure." Wang is not a valid reference. Further, Wang discloses the on-demand procedure but does NOT teach the interested SIB list is acquired through the on-demand procedure.
Examiner has considered applicant’s argument and found it persuasive. As stated above, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834].
(page 11) “Claims 7 & 17… Freda discloses, as quoted by the Office Action, a paging message indicating an SI modification. The Office Action reasons that the "paging message teaches short message and claim 7 claims the short message is a SIB1, which is NOT a paging message. In particular, Freda discloses that when receiving a paging message, NOT a short message that is SI81 as recited in claim 7, the UE will then/ subsequently read SIB1 to determine the modified SI.
Examiner has considered applicant’s argument and found it persuasive. A new ground(s) of rejection for claims 7 and 17 is made with Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834], further in view of Liu [US 20190150114].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite due to depending on cancelled claim 2. For examination purposes, as the content of the original claim 2 was added to amended claim 1, examiner will interpret claim 3 to be dependent on claim 1.
Claim 4 is indefinite due to depending on cancelled claim 2. For examination purposes, as the content of the original claim 2 was added to amended claim 1, examiner will interpret claim 4 to be dependent on claim 1.
Claim 14 is indefinite due to depending on cancelled claim 13. For examination purposes, as the content of the original claim 13 was added to amended claim 12, examiner will interpret claim 14 to be dependent on claim 12.
Claim 15 is indefinite due to depending on cancelled claim 13. For examination purposes, as the content of the original claim 13 was added to amended claim 12, examiner will interpret claim 15 to be dependent on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 12, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834].
Regarding claim 1, Freda teaches: A method for a relay user equipment (UE) comprising: establishing, by the relay UE, a sidelink connection with a remote UE in a wireless network, wherein the relay UE is served by an access link with a base station in the wireless network; [Freda, ¶89 “After receiving a layer-2 link establishment request or temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) monitoring request (upper layer message) from the Remote UE, the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay indicates to the eNB that it is a ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and intends to perform ProSe UE-to-Network Relay sidelink communication. The eNB may provide resources for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay communication.” discloses the relay UE receiving a layer-2 link establishment request from a remote UE and that the eNB provides resources to the relay UE, therefore teaching: A method for a relay user equipment (UE) comprising: establishing, by the relay UE, a sidelink connection with a remote UE in a wireless network, wherein the relay UE is served by an access link with a base station in the wireless network].
Freda fails to explicitly teach: obtaining, by the relay UE, a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the remote UE, wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5- radio resource control (RRC) message,
receiving a short message from the wireless network through the access link;
acquiring one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message;
and forwarding, by the relay UE, one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE.
Luo, in analogous art, teaches: obtaining, by the relay UE, a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the remote UE, wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5- radio resource control (RRC) message; [Luo, ¶218 “In another implementation, in response that the relay UE receives the requested SIB type(s) list via a PC5 RRC message from a remote UE before, the relay UE sends the updated SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE.” discloses the relay UE receiving the requested SIB types list of the remote UE through a sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5-RRC message, therefore teaching: obtaining, by the relay UE, a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the remote UE, wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5- radio resource control (RRC) message]
… and forwarding, by the relay UE, one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE [Luo, ¶218 “In another implementation, in response that the relay UE receives the requested SIB type(s) list via a PC5 RRC message from a remote UE before, the relay UE sends the updated SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE.” discloses the relay UE sending the SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE, therefore teaching: and forwarding, by the relay UE, one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freda to incorporate the teachings of Luo. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Luo includes: for an RRC Idle/INACTIVE remote UE, the remote UE informs a relay UE on requested SIB type(s) via a PC5 RRC message [Luo, ¶208].
The combination of Freda and Luo fails to explicitly teach: receiving a short message from the wireless network through the access link; acquiring one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message.
Kim, in analogous art, teaches: receiving a short message from the wireless network through the access link; acquiring one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message; [Kim, Fig. 16 gNB, UE, and short message; ¶287-288 “Referring to FIG. 16, UE may receive PWS notification via short message during Nth modification period. If UE does not detect the short message during n+1th modification period, UE may initiate SIB1 reception from the start of the next modification period, for example, n+2th modification period.” disclose the UE receiving SIB1 based on a short message, therefore teaching: receiving a short message from the wireless network through the access link; acquiring one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message;].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda and Luo to incorporate the teachings of Kim. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Kim includes: method and apparatus for public warning system on unlicensed frequency in a wireless communication system [Kim, ¶2].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the short message indicates a system information (SI) modification or a public warning system (PWS) notification [Freda, ¶137 “A UE can receive notification of modified SI and/or PWS indication (hereby referred to as SI notification) in paging. Such SI notification can be sent in what is referred to as short message on the paging channel.”].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 5, wherein a PWS SIB is forwarded to the remote UE [Freda, ¶376 “In another solution, a relay UE's management/handling of reception of SI modification indication from the network may depend on the number or type of SIBs/SI that are changed and/or are SI/SIBs of interest from the remote UEs… For example, the relay UE may always forward the public warning system (PWS) SIBs”].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the relay UE acquires the one or more SIBs with on-demand SIB acquisition procedure [Luo, ¶210 “Specifically, in another implementation, if a relay UE is configured with onDemandSlB-Request in the RRCReconfiguration message, the UE may be allowed to request SIB(s) on-demand while in RRC_CONNECTED” discloses the relay UE receiving SIB(s) on-demand when it is configured with onDemandSIB-Request, therefore teaching: wherein the relay UE acquires the one or more SIBs with on-demand SIB acquisition procedure].
Regarding claim 12, Freda teaches: A user equipment (UE), comprising: [Freda, Fig. 1B WTRU 102]
a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network; [Freda, Fig. 1B Transceiver 102]
a sidelink connection handler that establishes a sidelink connection with a remote UE in the wireless network, wherein the UE is served by an access link with a base station in the wireless network; [Freda, Fig. 1B Processor 118 teaches sidelink connection handler; ¶37 “The processor 118 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment.”;
¶89 “After receiving a layer-2 link establishment request or temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) monitoring request (upper layer message) from the Remote UE, the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay indicates to the eNB that it is a ProSe UE-to-Network Relay and intends to perform ProSe UE-to-Network Relay sidelink communication. The eNB may provide resources for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay communication.” discloses the relay UE receiving a layer-2 link establishment request from a remote UE and that the eNB provides resources to the relay UE, therefore teaching: a sidelink connection handler that establishes a sidelink connection with a remote UE in the wireless network, wherein the UE is served by an access link with a base station in the wireless network].
Freda fails to explicitly teach: an interested list handler that obtains a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the UE; wherein the UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) message;
a short message handler that receives a short message from the wireless network through the access link; an acquisition handler that acquires one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message;
and a SIB handler that forwards one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE.
Luo, in analogous art, teaches: an interested list handler that obtains a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the UE; wherein the UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) message; [Luo, Fig. 3 Processor 321, Communication Interfaces 302, and Memories 322 teach interested list handler; ¶45 “Referring to FIG. 3, the system circuitry 304 may include one or more processors 321 and memories 322. The memory 322 stores, for example, an operating system 324, instructions 326, and parameters 328. The processor 321 is configured to execute the instructions 326 to carry out desired functionality for the UE 300.”;
¶218 “In another implementation, in response that the relay UE receives the requested SIB type(s) list via a PC5 RRC message from a remote UE before, the relay UE sends the updated SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE.” discloses the relay UE receiving the requested SIB types list of the remote UE through a sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5-RRC message, therefore teaching: an interested list handler that obtains a list of interested system information block (SIB) types of the UE; wherein the UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE through the sidelink connection with the remote UE using a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) message]
… and a SIB handler that forwards one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE [Luo, Fig. 3 Processor 321, Communication Interfaces 302, and Memories 322 teach SIB handler;
¶218 “In another implementation, in response that the relay UE receives the requested SIB type(s) list via a PC5 RRC message from a remote UE before, the relay UE sends the updated SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE.” discloses the relay UE sending the SIB that belongs to the requested SIB type(s) list to the remote UE, therefore teaching: and a SIB handler that forwards one or more selected SIBs to the remote UE, wherein each selected SIB is an acquired SIB that is on the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Freda to incorporate the teachings of Luo. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Luo includes: for an RRC Idle/INACTIVE remote UE, the remote UE informs a relay UE on requested SIB type(s) via a PC5 RRC message [Luo, ¶208].
The combination of Freda and Luo fails to explicitly teach: a short message handler that receives a short message from the wireless network through the access link; an acquisition handler that acquires one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message;
Kim, in analogous art, teaches: a short message handler that receives a short message from the wireless network through the access link; an acquisition handler that acquires one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message; [Kim, Fig. 2 First Device 100, Processor 102, Memory 104, Transceiver 106 teach a short message handler and an acquisition handler; ¶74 “The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods and/or operational flowcharts described in the present disclosure.”;
Fig. 16 gNB, UE, and short message; ¶287-288 “Referring to FIG. 16, UE may receive PWS notification via short message during Nth modification period. If UE does not detect the short message during n+1th modification period, UE may initiate SIB1 reception from the start of the next modification period, for example, n+2th modification period.” disclose the UE receiving SIB1 based on receiving a short message earlier from the gNB, therefore teaching: a short message handler that receives a short message from the wireless network through the access link; an acquisition handler that acquires one or more SIBs from the wireless network based on the received short message].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda and Luo to incorporate the teachings of Kim. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Kim includes: method and apparatus for public warning system on unlicensed frequency in a wireless communication system [Kim, ¶2].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 12, wherein the short message indicates a system information (SI) modification or a public warning system (PWS) notification [Freda, ¶137 “A UE can receive notification of modified SI and/or PWS indication (hereby referred to as SI notification) in paging. Such SI notification can be sent in what is referred to as short message on the paging channel.”].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 12, wherein the UE acquires the one or more SIBs with on-demand SIB acquisition procedure [Luo, ¶210 “Specifically, in another implementation, if a relay UE is configured with onDemandSlB-Request in the RRCReconfiguration message, the UE may be allowed to request SIB(s) on-demand while in RRC_CONNECTED” discloses the relay UE receiving SIB(s) on-demand when it is configured with onDemandSIB-Request, therefore teaching: wherein the relay UE acquires the one or more SIBs with on-demand SIB acquisition procedure].
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang [US 20230308991].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 2.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: wherein the PC5-RRC message is an existing PC5-RRC message.
Zhang, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the PC5-RRC message is an existing PC5-RRC message. [Zhang, ¶257-259 “[0257] When establishing a relay connection, the RM UE [Remote UE] indicates to the RL UE [Relay UE] that a relay path is needed. In such a case: [0258] If the RL UE has already acquired the necessary SIBs: [0259] The RL UE delivers the SIBs to the RM UE either by broadcast or via dedicated signaling. Please, note that the RL UE may deliver the entire SIB as generated by the gNB or just some field in a existing or new PC5-RRC message.”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Zhang includes: terminal devices, a network node, and methods therein for handling system information [Zhang, ¶1].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 2.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to teach: wherein the PC5-RRC message is a new PC5-RRC message used during the establishment of a PC5 RRC connection.
Zhang, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the PC5-RRC message is a new PC5-RRC message used during the establishment of a PC5 RRC connection [Zhang, ¶257-259 “[0257] When establishing a relay connection, the RM UE [Remote UE] indicates to the RL UE [Relay UE] that a relay path is needed. In such a case: [0258] If the RL UE has already acquired the necessary SIBs: [0259] The RL UE delivers the SIBs to the RM UE either by broadcast or via dedicated signaling. Please, note that the RL UE may deliver the entire SIB as generated by the gNB or just some field in a existing or new PC5-RRC message.”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Zhang includes: terminal devices, a network node, and methods therein for handling system information [Zhang, ¶1].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 13.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: wherein the PC5-RRC message is an existing PC5-RRC message.
Zhang, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the PC5-RRC message is an existing PC5-RRC message. [Zhang, ¶257-259 “[0257] When establishing a relay connection, the RM UE [Remote UE] indicates to the RL UE [Relay UE] that a relay path is needed. In such a case: [0258] If the RL UE has already acquired the necessary SIBs: [0259] The RL UE delivers the SIBs to the RM UE either by broadcast or via dedicated signaling. Please, note that the RL UE may deliver the entire SIB as generated by the gNB or just some field in a existing or new PC5-RRC message.”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Zhang includes: terminal devices, a network node, and methods therein for handling system information [Zhang, ¶1].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 13.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to teach: wherein the PC5-RRC message is a new PC5-RRC message used during the establishment of a PC5 RRC connection.
Zhang, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the PC5-RRC message is a new PC5-RRC message used during the establishment of a PC5 RRC connection [Zhang, ¶257-259 “[0257] When establishing a relay connection, the RM UE [Remote UE] indicates to the RL UE [Relay UE] that a relay path is needed. In such a case: [0258] If the RL UE has already acquired the necessary SIBs: [0259] The RL UE delivers the SIBs to the RM UE either by broadcast or via dedicated signaling. Please, note that the RL UE may deliver the entire SIB as generated by the gNB or just some field in a existing or new PC5-RRC message.”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhang. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Zhang includes: terminal devices, a network node, and methods therein for handling system information [Zhang, ¶1].
Claim(s) 7-8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834] as applied to claims 5 and 16 above, and further in view of Liu [US 20190150114].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 5.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to teach: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1.
Liu in analogous art, teaches: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1 [Lui, ¶111 “the UE 115 may monitor a notification related to system information change in a paging message, SIB1 or MIB, or a combination thereof, during every modification period 605” discloses a SI change notification that can be in a combined paging message and SIB1, therefore teaching: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Liu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Liu includes: implementing a base station that may signal a change in system information to a user equipment (UE) via a page or paging message, wherein the paging message may carry an indication of a change in system information and also indicate that paging information is available for one or more UEs associated with the base station [Liu, ¶5].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Freda, Luo, Kim and Liu teaches: The method of claim 7.
Furthermore, Freda teaches: wherein an updated SIB1 is forwarded to the remote UE [Freda, ¶572 “In another example, a specific type of SIB (or a specific SIB) update may be indicated to the relay UE intended for the remote UE. One type or specific SIB update that may be forwarded to the remote UE from the relay UE is SIB1. This actual SIB information may be forwarded to the remote UE either in part or in full by the relay UE.” discloses a specific SIB update indicated for the relay UE to forward to the remote UE, and the SIB update may be SIB1, therefore teaching: wherein an updated SIB1 is forwarded to the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Freda. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Freda includes: using system information type, such as system information block (SIB) type, to forward SI change information to a remote UE/WTRU from a relay UE/WTRU when the remote UE is in an idle or inactive state [Freda, ¶572].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 16.
Furthermore, Freda teaches: wherein an updated SIB1 is forwarded to the remote UE [Freda, ¶572 “In another example, a specific type of SIB (or a specific SIB) update may be indicated to the relay UE intended for the remote UE. One type or specific SIB update that may be forwarded to the remote UE from the relay UE is SIB1. This actual SIB information may be forwarded to the remote UE either in part or in full by the relay UE.” discloses a specific SIB update indicated for the relay UE to forward to the remote UE, and the SIB update may be SIB1, therefore teaching: wherein an updated SIB1 is forwarded to the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Freda. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Freda includes: using system information type, such as system information block (SIB) type, to forward SI change information to a remote UE/WTRU from a relay UE/WTRU when the remote UE is in an idle or inactive state [Freda, ¶572].
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to teach: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1.
Liu in analogous art, teaches: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1 [Lui, ¶111 “the UE 115 may monitor a notification related to system information change in a paging message, SIB1 or MIB, or a combination thereof, during every modification period 605” discloses a SI change notification that can be in a combined paging message and SIB1, therefore teaching: wherein the short message indicating the SI modification is a SIB1].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Liu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Liu includes: implementing a base station that may signal a change in system information to a user equipment (UE) via a page or paging message, wherein the paging message may carry an indication of a change in system information and also indicate that paging information is available for one or more UEs associated with the base station [Liu, ¶5].
Claim(s) 9, 11, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda [US 20240163934] in view of Luo [US 20230199908] and Kim [US 20200280834] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu [WO 2022236612].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 1.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE by recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE.
Wu, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE [Wu, ¶97 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may receive the SIB(s) based on the requested SIB list(s) received from the serving remote UE(s). For example, relay node 401B may receive the SIB(s) indicated in the SIB type list(s) associated with the serving remote UE(s).”] by recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE [Wu, ¶88 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may maintain (e.g., store and update) an association between a remote UE (e.g., UE 401A) and a SIB type list. The SIB type list may indicate the SIB(s) requested by the remote UE, which suggests that the remote UE is interested in such SIB(s).” wherein “maintain (e.g. store and update) an association” teaches recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wu includes efficiently performing communication in a communication system supporting a U2N relay [Wu, ¶5].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The method of claim 1.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: further comprising: storing the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE within a remote UE context of the remote UE during the lifetime of the remote UE.
Wu, in analogous art, teaches: further comprising: storing the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE within a remote UE context of the remote UE during the lifetime of the remote UE [Wu, ¶88 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may maintain (e.g., store and update) an association between a remote UE (e.g., UE 401A) and a SIB type list. The SIB type list may indicate the SIB(s) requested by the remote UE, which suggests that the remote UE is interested in such SIB(s).”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wu includes efficiently performing communication in a communication system supporting a U2N relay [Wu, ¶5].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 12.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: wherein the UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE by recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE.
Wu, in analogous art, teaches: wherein the relay UE obtains the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE [Wu, ¶97 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may receive the SIB(s) based on the requested SIB list(s) received from the serving remote UE(s). For example, relay node 401B may receive the SIB(s) indicated in the SIB type list(s) associated with the serving remote UE(s).”] by recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE [Wu, ¶88 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may maintain (e.g., store and update) an association between a remote UE (e.g., UE 401A) and a SIB type list. The SIB type list may indicate the SIB(s) requested by the remote UE, which suggests that the remote UE is interested in such SIB(s).” wherein “maintain (e.g. store and update) an association” teaches recording all SIB requests sent by the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wu includes efficiently performing communication in a communication system supporting a U2N relay [Wu, ¶5].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim teaches: The UE of claim 12.
The combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim fails to explicitly teach: further comprising: a storage manager that stores the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE within a remote UE context of the remote UE during the lifetime of the remote UE.
Wu, in analogous art, teaches: further comprising: a storage manager that stores the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE within a remote UE context of the remote UE during the lifetime of the remote UE [Wu, ¶145 “Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the operations or steps of a method described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, a hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art.” discloses forms of storage medium to perform the method, therefore teaching: storage manager;
¶88 “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, relay node 401B may maintain (e.g., store and update) an association between a remote UE (e.g., UE 401A) and a SIB type list. The SIB type list may indicate the SIB(s) requested by the remote UE, which suggests that the remote UE is interested in such SIB(s).” teaches: further comprising: a storage manager that stores the list of interested SIB types of the remote UE within a remote UE context of the remote UE during the lifetime of the remote UE].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Freda, Luo, and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu. Motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wu includes efficiently performing communication in a communication system supporting a U2N relay [Wu, ¶5].
Conclusion
/SHAMIHA SAFWAT KHAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414