DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 10/31/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-19 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1 and 14 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bathwal et al. (US20220287125 A1, hereinafter “Bathwal”), in view of Kim et al. (US 20220264387 A1, hereinafter “Kim ‘387”), in view of Kim (US 20220377602 A1, hereinafter “Kim ‘602”).
RE Claim 1, Bathwal discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity (feedback packet data from PDCP entity. ¶0008; UE controller/processor provides RRC lay functionality including PDCP and implements layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. ¶0050, Fig. 3: 350, 359) of a user equipment (UE) (¶0039, Fig. 7: 104),
generating uplink data compression (UDC) compressed data packets (compressed data packets are compressed using NR uplink data compression, UDC or NR-UDC. ¶0008) for the configured radio bearer (a first RLC entity, a radio bearer. ¶0008; split bearers refers to a radio bearer that has RLC bearers. ¶0057;); and
routing the UDC compressed data packets to one or more radio link control (RLC) entities of the UE (data packets are compressed using UDC and transmitted first RLC entity, a radio bearer. ¶0008; split bearers refers to a radio bearer that has RLC bearers. ¶0057; UE transmits split bearer traffic of the UL data packets to the RLC entities. ¶0060).
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
uncompressed data packets for an uplink (UL) transmission with a configured radio bearer in a new radio (NR) wireless network configured with uplink data compression (UDC) for the radio bearer;
receiving a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer with the configured UDC;
However, Kim ‘387 discloses:
uncompressed data packets for an uplink (UL) transmission with a configured radio bearer in a new radio (NR) wireless network configured with uplink data compression (UDC) for the radio bearer (Base station transmits RRCConnectionSetup to UE to establish RRC connection and configuration of each bearer, PDCP entity, and RLC entity. ¶0152, Fig. 5; Base station uses RRC message to configure UE to perform UDC for each bearer. ¶¶0388, 0417; PDCP receives data from higher layer, if UDC is configured for the PDCP entity, the UE performs UDC on the received data. ¶0419; Compression of uncompressed data performed by UDC. ¶¶0410-0412, Fig. 16, 17; UE in RRC connected mode and configured for dual connectivity with a split bearer. ¶0490.);
receiving a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer with the configured UDC (In addition, the above RRC message may be used to determine whether to perform, UDC enable indication, uplink data compression for each bearer, logical channel, or PDCP entity. ¶0417; RRCConnectionSetup message configures SDAP entity to indicate to the PDCP entity whether to use or not to use uplink data compression. ¶0388;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘387, configuration of UDC and indication to apply UDC to each bearer.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide signaling options to the UE for enablement and configuration of specific UDC protocols improve communication performance, such as increased throughput and improved coverage, specifically for dual connectivity and split bearers. (Bathwal: Abstract; Kim ‘602: ¶¶0013, 0020, 0025, 0383-0384, Fig. 15, 16)
RE Claim 2, Bathwal discloses:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a service radio bearer (SRB), a data radio bearer (DRB) (UE data transmission by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057), or a split bearer (UE data transmission by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057).
RE Claim 3, Bathwal discloses:
The method, wherein UE is configured with multiple radio access technology (RAT) dual connectivity (MRDC) (dual connectivity, DC, with two radio access technology, RAT, specific RLC entities. ¶0057) with a master cell group and a secondary cell group (data transmission between UE and a first and second base stations, master and secondary cells. ¶0057),
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the PDCP entity of the UE performs UDC data compression for the MRDC before routing.
However, Kim ‘387 discloses:
and wherein the PDCP entity of the UE performs UDC data compression for the MRDC before routing (Base station transmits RRCConnectionSetup to UE to establish RRC connection and configuration of each bearer, PDCP entity, and RLC entity. ¶0152, Fig. 5; Base station uses RRC message to configure UE to perform UDC for each bearer. ¶¶0388, 0417; PDCP receives data from higher layer, if UDC is configured for the PDCP entity, the UE performs UDC on the received data. ¶0419; Compression of uncompressed data performed by UDC. ¶¶0410-0412, Fig. 16, 17; UE in RRC connected mode and configured for dual connectivity with a split bearer. ¶0490.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘387, configuration of UDC and indication to apply UDC by the PDCP entity to each bearer.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide signaling options to the UE for enablement and configuration of specific UDC protocols improve communication performance, such as increased throughput and improved coverage, specifically for dual connectivity and split bearers. (Bathwal: Abstract; Kim ‘602: ¶¶0013, 0020, 0025, 0383-0384, Fig. 15, 16)
RE Claim 4,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer (UE supports dual active protocol stack, DAPS. ¶0570; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 5,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created, and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The method, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created (Base station configures user data compression method, UDC, for each logical channel, for each bearer, or for each PDCP device. ¶0146), and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS (Base station configures UDC for uplink or downlink or both which correspond to a UDC protocol. ¶0137; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers with associated specific UDC protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 6,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The method, further comprising:
receiving an uplink data switching to a target cell request from upper layers of the UE; and
performing UDC with a UDC configuration corresponding to the target cell.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The method of claim, further comprising:
receiving an uplink data switching to a target cell request from upper layers of the UE (UE switches uplink transmission from source to target base station when first condition is satisfied. First condition may be determined for a time to switch, e.g. when there is least data interruption time. ¶0402); and
performing UDC with a UDC configuration corresponding to the target cell (Base station configures user data compression method, UDC, for each logical channel, for each bearer, or for each PDCP device. ¶0146).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers with associated specific UDC protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC into DAPS configurations to improve UE and Network improvements during handovers between NR or NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 8, Bathwal discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving from a transmitting user equipment (UE) (UE transmits uplink data packets to the RAN. ¶0060), by a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of a gNB (RLC entities of gNB transmit received UL data packets to the NR-PDCP of gNB. ¶0060), data packets from an uplink (UL) transmission over a configured radio bearer in a new radio (NR) wireless network (UE transmits split bearer traffic of UL data packets to the LTE RLC and NR LTE entities. ¶0060), and
wherein the data packets are uplink data compression (UDC) compressed data packets (UE transmits uplink data packets via split bearers to two RAT-specific RLC entities. ¶0060; Transmitted UL data packets are compressed by the UE. The compression includes NR-UDC. Compressed UL packets transmitted to the NR-PDCP entity of the RANs, PDCP formatted by UE. ¶0061);
reordering the received UDC compressed data packets (NR-PDCP of gNB reorders the compressed UL data packets received from UE. ¶0064);
decompressing the UDC compressed data packets (NR-PDCP entity reorders compress data packets from the UE and decompresses the compressed UL data packets. ¶0064); and
delivering decompressed data packets to upper layers of the gNB (Decompress UL data packets from RLC entities, lower layer, are processed by NR-PDCP entity, a higher layer. ¶0064).
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
wherein when the configured radio bearer is a split bearer, further comprising: sending a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer;
However, Kim ‘387 discloses:
wherein when the configured radio bearer is a split bearer, further comprising: sending a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer
(In addition, the above RRC message may be used to determine whether to perform, UDC enable indication, uplink data compression for each bearer, logical channel, or PDCP entity. ¶0417; UE in RRC connected mode and configured for dual connectivity with a split bearer. ¶0490. RRCConnectionSetup message configures SDAP entity to indicate to the PDCP entity whether to use or not to use uplink data compression. ¶0388;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘387, configuration of UDC and indication to apply UDC to each bearer.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide signaling options to the UE for enablement and configuration of specific UDC protocols improve communication performance, such as increased throughput and improved coverage, specifically for dual connectivity and split bearers. (Bathwal: Abstract; Kim ‘602: ¶¶0013, 0020, 0025, 0383-0384, Fig. 15, 16)
RE Claim 9, Bathwal discloses:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a service radio bearer (SRB), a data radio bearer (DRB) (UE data transmission to the gNB by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057), or a split bearer (UE data transmission to the gNB by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057).
RE Claim 10, Bathwal discloses:
The method, further comprising:
configuring a master cell group and a secondary cell group for the transmitting UE (UE and RAN, including firsts and second base station, are configured for dual connectivity. ¶0057); and
performing reordering by the PDCP entity of the gNB before UDC data decompression (NR-PDCP of gNB reorders the compressed UL data packets received from UE. ¶0064).
RE Claim 11,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The method, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer.
(UE supports dual active protocol stack, DAPS. ¶0570; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 12,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created, and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The method, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created (Base station configures user data compression method, UDC, for each logical channel, for each bearer, or for each PDCP device. ¶0146), and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS (Base station configures UDC for uplink or downlink or both which correspond to a UDC protocol. ¶0137; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers with associated specific UDC protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 14, Bathwal discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (¶0050, Fig. 3: 350), comprising: a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal (¶0050, Fig. 3: 354) in a new radio (NR) wireless network (¶0003; UE includes dual connectivity component to transmit to 5G NR and LTE base stations. ¶0040);
a memory (¶0050, Fig. 3:360), and
a processor coupled to the memory (¶0050, Fig. 3: 359, 360), the processor configured to
receive,
by a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity (¶0050, Fig. 3: 354; feedback packet data from PDCP entity. ¶0008; UE controller/processor provides RRC lay functionality including PDCP and implements layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. ¶0050, Fig. 3: 350, 359),
uncompressed data packets for an uplink (UL) transmission (uncompressed data packets to be transmitted. ¶0008) with a configured radio bearer (a first RLC entity, a radio bearer. ¶0008; split bearers refers to a radio bearer that has RLC bearers. ¶0057) in the NR wireless network (¶0003; UE includes dual connectivity component to transmit to 5G NR and LTE base stations. ¶0040),
generate, by the PDCP entity, UDC compressed data packets (Compressed data packets are compressed using NR uplink data compression, UDC or NR-UDC. ¶0008; Transmitted UL data packets are compressed by the UE. The compression includes NR-UDC. Compressed UL packets transmitted to the NR-PDCP entity of the RANs, PDCP formatted by UE. ¶0061; UE controller/processor provides RRC lay functionality including PDCP and implements layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. ¶0050, Fig. 3: 350, 359) for the configured radio bearer (a first RLC entity, a radio bearer. ¶0008; split bearers refers to a radio bearer that has RLC bearers. ¶0057); and
route, by the PDCP entity, the UDC compressed data packets to one or more radio link control (RLC) entities of the UE (Compressed UL packets transmitted to the NR-PDCP entity of the RANs, PDCP formatted by UE. ¶0061; UE controller/processor provides RRC lay functionality including PDCP and implements layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. ¶0050, Fig. 3: 350, 359).
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is configured with uplink data compression (UDC) for the radio bearer;
receive a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer with the configured UDC;
However, Kim ‘387 discloses:
wherein the UE is configured with uplink data compression (UDC) for the radio bearer (Base station transmits RRCConnectionSetup to UE to establish RRC connection and configuration of each bearer, PDCP entity, and RLC entity. ¶0152, Fig. 5; Base station uses RRC message to configure UE to perform UDC for each bearer. ¶¶0388, 0417; PDCP receives data from higher layer, if UDC is configured for the PDCP entity, the UE performs UDC on the received data. ¶0419; Compression of uncompressed data performed by UDC. ¶¶0410-0412, Fig. 16, 17; UE in RRC connected mode and configured for dual connectivity with a split bearer. ¶0490.);
receive a UDC enabling indicator from the NR wireless network to enable UDC for the configured split bearer with the configured UDC
(In addition, the above RRC message may be used to determine whether to perform, UDC enable indication, uplink data compression for each bearer, logical channel, or PDCP entity. ¶0417; RRCConnectionSetup message configures SDAP entity to indicate to the PDCP entity whether to use or not to use uplink data compression. ¶0388;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘387, configuration of UDC and indication to apply UDC to each bearer.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide signaling options to the UE for enablement and configuration of specific UDC protocols improve communication performance, such as increased throughput and improved coverage, specifically for dual connectivity and split bearers. (Bathwal: Abstract; Kim ‘602: ¶¶0013, 0020, 0025, 0383-0384, Fig. 15, 16)
RE Claim 15, Bathwal discloses:
The UE, wherein the configured radio bearer is a service radio bearer (SRB), a data radio bearer (DRB) (UE data transmission by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057), or a split bearer (UE data transmission by split data bearers, DRBs. ¶0057).
RE Claim 16, Bathwal discloses:
The UE, wherein UE is configured with multiple radio access technology (RAT) dual connectivity (MRDC) (dual connectivity, DC, with two radio access technology, RAT, specific RLC entities. ¶0057) with a master cell group and a secondary cell group (data transmission between UE and a first and second base stations, master and secondary cells. ¶0057),
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the PDCP entity of the UE performs UDC data compression for the MRDC before routing.
However, Kim ‘387 discloses:
and wherein the PDCP entity of the UE performs UDC data compression for the MRDC before routing (Base station transmits RRCConnectionSetup to UE to establish RRC connection and configuration of each bearer, PDCP entity, and RLC entity. ¶0152, Fig. 5; Base station uses RRC message to configure UE to perform UDC for each bearer. ¶¶0388, 0417; PDCP receives data from higher layer, if UDC is configured for the PDCP entity, the UE performs UDC on the received data. ¶0419; Compression of uncompressed data performed by UDC. ¶¶0410-0412, Fig. 16, 17; UE in RRC connected mode and configured for dual connectivity with a split bearer. ¶0490.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘387, configuration of UDC and indication to apply UDC by the PDCP entity to each bearer.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide signaling options to the UE for enablement and configuration of specific UDC protocols improve communication performance, such as increased throughput and improved coverage, specifically for dual connectivity and split bearers. (Bathwal: Abstract; Kim ‘602: ¶¶0013, 0020, 0025, 0383-0384, Fig. 15, 16)
RE Claim 17,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The UE, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The UE, wherein the configured radio bearer is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) bearer(UE supports dual active protocol stack, DAPS. ¶0570; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 18,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The UE, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created, and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The UE, wherein two sets of UDC protocol are created (Base station configures user data compression method, UDC, for each logical channel, for each bearer, or for each PDCP device. ¶0146), and wherein each set of UDC protocol is associated with a corresponding RLC entity configured for the DAPS (Base station configures UDC for uplink or downlink or both which correspond to a UDC protocol. ¶0137; RRC Layer identifies indication of DAPS handover method for each bearer. RRC layers transfers the indication to each bearer or PDCP device for which the DAPS handover method is indicated. ¶0394; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers with associated specific UDC protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC for both MRDC and DAPS network configurations for additional improvements to NR and NR/LTE wireless networks.
RE Claim 19,
Bathwal does not explicitly disclose:
The UE, wherein the UE receives an uplink data switching to a target cell request from upper layers of the UE;
and performs UDC with a UDC configuration corresponding to the target cell.
However, Kim ‘602 discloses:
The UE, wherein the UE receives an uplink data switching to a target cell request from upper layers of the UE (UE switches uplink transmission from source to target base station when first condition is satisfied. First condition may be determined for a time to switch, e.g. when there is least data interruption time. ¶0402);
and performs UDC with a UDC configuration corresponding to the target cell (Base station configures user data compression method, UDC, for each logical channel, for each bearer, or for each PDCP device. ¶0146).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the method of Bathwal, applying UDC to split bearers, dual connectivity, with the teachings of Kim ‘602, applying UDC to DAPS, dual active protocol bearers with associated specific UDC protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to integrate UDC into DAPS configurations to improve UE and Network improvements during handovers between NR or NR/LTE wireless networks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 14, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20190141567 A1 Lin et al.
US 20230025610 A1 Kim et al.
US 20210377792 A1 Govil et al.
US 20220038945 A1 Dalmiya et al.
US 20190141571 A1 Kim et al.
US 20220053367 A1 Rao et al.
US-20210084534-A1 Kim et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of uplink data compression and split bearers.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419