DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Joint Inventors
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 6/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group 2 is “directed to a method that includes certain limitations according to the system of the elected invention”. This is not found persuasive because the inclusion of certain limitations does not make the groups indistinct. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/28/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 2B element 210, Fig. 2C element 220, and Fig. 4 elements 420 and 420a-c. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims present a mixture of plural and singular terms contributing to indefiniteness. Applicant is encouraged to carefully edit the claims to be consistent in how components are introduced and thereafter referred to.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a battery stack" in line 6. It is unclear if this is the same as the “at least one battery stack” of line 3.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a pallet" in line 7. It is unclear if this is the same as the “plurality of pallets” of line 2.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cells" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a cathode plate" in line 15. It is unclear if this is the same as the “cathode plate” of line 13.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an anode plate" in line 15. It is unclear if this is the same as the “anode plate” of line 13.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a separator plate" in line 15. It is unclear if this is the same as the “separator plate” of line 13.
Claims 2-11 recite the limitation “the system” in the preamble. It is unclear if this is the same as the “automated battery assembly system” of claim 1 line 1, or the “control system” of claim 1 line 10.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one battery component". It is unclear if this is the same as the “at least one battery component” of claim 1.
Claims 4, 7, and 9 each recite the limitation "an assembly station". It is unclear if this is the same as the “plurality of assembly stations” of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 5 each recite the limitation "a lower plate". It is unclear if this is the same as the “lower plate” of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 5 each recite the limitation "a carrier". It is unclear if this is the same as the “carrier” of claim 3.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a cathode plate". It is unclear if this is the same as the “cathode plate” of claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "an anode plate". It is unclear if this is the same as the “anode plate” of claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a separator plate". It is unclear if this is the same as the “separator plate” of claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the assembly station". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 9 each recite the limitation "a battery component". It is unclear if this is the same as the “at least one battery component” of claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a plurality of pallets". It is unclear if this is the same as the “plurality of pallets” of claim 1.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SUZUKI (US 20230072704 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SUZUKI discloses an automated battery assembly system (lamination device 100), the system comprising: a closed-loop transport track (Fig. 1, movement mechanism 20 with stator 21) including a plurality of pallets (movers 22), each pallet receiving at least one battery stack (“a laminate in which a plurality of positive electrodes and a plurality of negative electrodes are alternately laminated with a resin film functioning as a separator interposed between” [0066]) and moveable along the track (“mover 22 of a linear motor that is movable between a plurality of the supply positions A1 to A4 along the traveling track” [0027]);
a plurality of stations located along the track, the plurality of stations comprising a plurality of assembly stations (“workpiece 1 of one type is supplied to each of a plurality of the supply positions A1 to A4” [0020]) and at least one transfer station (“a jig supply and discharge mechanism 50” [0067] as well as Fig. 6A-6C),
each assembly station for adding at least one battery component to a battery stack held on a pallet (“workpiece 1 of one type is supplied to each of a plurality of the supply positions A1 to A4” [0020]), the at least one transfer station for unloading a completed battery stack from the pallet (“when a desired laminate in which a plurality of types of the workpieces 1 are laminated is manufactured, the jig supply and discharge mechanism 50 discharges the laminate together with the jig 25” [0068]), the completed battery stack including a plurality of cells having a particular composition (“a laminate in which a plurality of positive electrodes and a plurality of negative electrodes are alternately laminated with a resin film functioning as a separator interposed between” [0066]);
and a control system (control unit 30, Fig. 3) for moving the pallets (“controls the mover to move to a next one of the supply positions after laminating the workpiece” [0007]) to the plurality of stations in a predetermined sequence (Steps S1 to S12 given in [0046-0065] such that “the resin film, the first metal foil, the resin film, and the second metal foil, which are four types of the workpieces 1, are laminated in this order is obtained” [0066]) to assemble the completed battery stack, the predetermined sequence comprising a plurality of revolutions around the track (“repeatedly performing the processes (S1) to (S12)” [0066]),
each of the cells comprising at least one of a cathode plate, an anode plate, and a separator plate, the particular composition relating to an arrangement of the at least one of a cathode plate, an anode plate, and a separator plate between a lower plate and an upper plate (“a laminate in which a plurality of positive electrodes and a plurality of negative electrodes are alternately laminated with a resin film functioning as a separator interposed between” [0066]; notably the instant disclosure is silent regarding the form and function of the lower and upper plates and therefore any plate structure reads on lower and upper plate by being the lowest or highest plate structure of the laminate).
Regarding claim 2, SUZUKI discloses at least one battery component is added to the battery stack in each revolution of the predetermined sequence (Fig. 1 as well as steps S1 to S12 given in [0046-0065] such that “the resin film, the first metal foil, the resin film, and the second metal foil, which are four types of the workpieces 1, are laminated in this order is obtained” [0066]).
Regarding claim 3, SUZUKI discloses the at least one transfer station loads a carrier to the pallet (“when a desired laminate in which a plurality of types of the workpieces 1 are laminated is manufactured, the jig supply and discharge mechanism 50 discharges the laminate together with the jig 25” [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, SUZUKI discloses an assembly station loads a lower plate to a carrier on the track (Step S1-S2 [0046-0047], “the control unit 30 stops the first mover 22 a at the first supply position A1” [0047] which has “a resin film as the workpiece 1 is supplied to the first supply position A1” [0046]; notably the instant disclosure is silent regarding the form and function of the lower plate and therefore the first separator reads on lower plate by being the lowest plate of the stack).
Regarding claim 5, SUZUKI discloses the at least one transfer station loading a carrier to a pallet comprises the at least one transfer station loading the carrier to the pallet with a lower plate being held therein (Fig. 6B wherein jig 25 has a lower plate integral to its design and therefore held therein; notably the instant disclosure is silent regarding the form and function of the lower plate and therefore the lower plate of the jig reads on lower plate by being the lowest plate of the stack).
Regarding claim 6, SUZUKI discloses the at least one transfer station unloading the completed battery stack from the track comprises the at least one transfer station unloading the carrier from the track, the completed battery stack being held therein (“when a desired laminate in which a plurality of types of the workpieces 1 are laminated is manufactured, the jig supply and discharge mechanism 50 discharges the laminate together with the jig 25” [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, SUZUKI discloses the at least one battery component added by an assembly station is one of a cathode plate … (“positive electrode” [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, SUZUKI discloses the control system reduces the speed of the pallets as the pallets approach the assembly station to receive a battery component (“the control unit 30 stops the first mover 22” [0047] wherein stopping requires a reduction in speed).
Regarding claim 9, SUZUKI discloses the control system stops the pallets at an assembly station to receive a battery component (“the control unit 30 stops the first mover 22 a” [0047]) and resumes the movement of the pallets after the battery component is added to the battery stack (“Subsequently, the control unit 30 moves the first mover 22 a from the first supply position A1 to the second supply position A2 along the traveling track” [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, SUZUKI discloses a number of the plurality of pallets is greater than a number of the plurality of assembly stations (Fig. 1 showing more movers 22 than stations A1-4 as well as “the number of the movers 22 is twice the number of the supply mechanisms 10” [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, SUZUKI discloses the track comprises a plurality of pallets (Fig. 1 with multiple movers 22), the plurality of pallets receiving at least one carrier (Fig. 5 showing jig 25 as a component of mover 22 as well as Figs. 6A-6C showing loading and unloading of jig 25 onto lamination stage 221 of mover 22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
FEYERHERD (WO 2019048589 A1) directed to a method and an apparatus for producing an electrode stack (1) wherein the carriages (31) are moved along a circulating track (30) to the stacking stations (4, 5, 6) and including a transfer station (7). Fully reading on at least claim 1.
ABE (US 20210057775 A1) directed to a jig for an electrode sheet stacking system including a circular track (conveyance device C) wherein the jig is removed with the electrode stack [0064] and the jig includes bottom plate 43.
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721