Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,6,9-10,12-13,15,17-18,29-30,35-36,39-40,55 and 77-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al, CN 110690202 A.
Pertaining to claim 1,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) A bonded structure comprising: a first element including a first insulating layer[14] and at least two first conductive features[121] disposed in the first insulating layer[14];a second element including a second insulating layer[24] and at least two second conductive features[221] disposed in the second insulating substrate layer [24], the first element being directly bonded to the second element ( see para fig.1 for example ) with the at least two first conductive features[121 left side and 121 right side ] aligned with the at least two second conductive features[221 left side and 221 right side]; and an isolation feature [23] in the second insulating layer[24] and between the at least two second conductive features[221] ( see fig7 above), the isolation feature[23] having a dielectric constant lower than a dielectric constant of the second insulating layer[24] ( see the isolation layer[23] is made of air which is lower that the insulating layer [24] made of silicon oxide) ( see page 3, lines 10-15 and page 6, lines 25-25 of the document viewer printout) ; wherein the isolation feature [23] extends to a bonding interface[3] between the first and second elements ( see fig.1 and 7 above).
Pertaining to claim 2,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer [14] and the second insulating layer [24] are directed bonded without an intervening adhesive, and wherein the at least two first conductive features[121] and the at least two second conductive features[221] are directed bonded without an intervening adhesive ( see page 2, lines 10-11, page 8, lines 22-27 teaching about using hybrid bonding which is a direct bonding )
5. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 6,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 1, wherein the isolation feature[ 23] between the at least two second conductive features [221] reduces a parasitic capacitance between the at least two second conductive features ( see abstract teaching for example when one try minimizing parasitic capacitance one will reduce capacitive coupling).
7. (canceled)
8. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 9 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 1, wherein the isolation feature [23] is filled with a low dielectric constant material ( air which has a dielectric constant is close to 1 for example) ( see page 3, lines 10-15).
Pertaining to claim 10 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 1, wherein the dielectric constant [23] of the isolation feature is less than about 3.5 ( air which has a dielectric constant is close to 1 for example).
11. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 12 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 1, wherein the at least two second conductive features[221] are disposed near the bonding interface [3] between the first and second elements.
Pertaining to claim 13 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 12, wherein a width of the isolation feature[23] parallel to the bonding interface[3] is smaller than a width of either one of the at least two second conductive features[221] parallel to the interface[3].
16. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 17 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example The bonded structure of Claim 12, wherein the isolation feature[23] surrounds ( at least partially in planer view not shown ) one of the at least two second conductive features[221] in a plane substantially parallel to the bonding interface[3].
Pertaining to claim 18 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) the bonded structure of Claim 1, further comprising an additional isolation feature[13] in the first insulating layer [14] and between the at least two first conductive features[121], the additional isolation feature having a dielectric constant lower than a dielectric constant of the first insulating layer ( see the isolation layer[13] made of air which is lower that the insulating layer [14] made of silicon oxide).
19-28. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 29 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) A method of forming a bonded structure, the method comprising: providing a first element including a first insulating layer[14] and at least two first conductive features [121] disposed in the first insulating layer[14] ;providing a second element including a second insulating layer[24] and at least two second conductive features[221] disposed in the second insulating layer [24];forming an isolation feature[23] in the second insulating layer[24] and between the at least two second conductive features[221], the isolation feature [23] having a dielectric constant lower than a dielectric constant of the second insulating layer ( see the isolation layer[23] made of air which is lower that the insulating layer [24] made of silicon oxide); and directly bonding the first element to the second element along a bonding interface[3] with the at least two first conductive features[121] aligned with the at least two second conductive features[221], wherein the isolation feature [23] extends to the bonding interface[3].
Pertaining to claim 30 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The method of Claim 29, wherein directly bonding the first element to the second element comprises directly bonding the first insulating layer[14] to the second insulating layer[24], and the at least two first conductive features [121] to the at least two second conductive features[221], without an intervening adhesive.
33. (canceled)
34. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 35 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The method of Claim 29, further comprising filling the isolation feature[23] with a low dielectric constant material ( air which has a dielectric constant is close to 1 for example) ( see page 3, lines 10-15).
Pertaining claim 36, Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The method of Claim 29, further comprising partially filling the isolation feature [23] with a low dielectric constant material ( see page 3, lines 10-15). .
37. (canceled)
38. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 39 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The method of Claim 29, wherein the isolation feature[23] and the at least two second conductive features [221] are disposed near or at a direct bonding interface[3] between the first and second elements.
Pertaining to claim 40 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The method of Claim 39, wherein a width of the isolation feature [23] parallel to the bonding interface [3] is smaller than a width of either one of the at least two second conductive features[221] parallel to the interface[3].
41-54. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 55 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) An electronic device configured for direct bonding, comprising: an insulating layer [14] of a first element; a first conductive feature[121 left side] and a second conductive feature[121 right side] in the insulating layer[14]; and a first isolation feature[13] in the insulating layer[14], the first isolation feature [13] separating the first and second conductive features[121] and having a dielectric constant lower than that of the insulating layer ( see the isolation layer[13] made of air which is lower that the insulating layer [14] made of silicon oxide) ( see page 3, lines 10-15 and page 6, lines 25-25 of the document viewer printout),wherein the first and second conductive features [121] and the first isolation feature[13] are disposed near or at a direct bonding interface configured for direct hybrid bonding ( see fig.1 above).
57-76. (canceled)
Pertaining to claim 77 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) A microelectronic device configured for direct bonding, comprising: an insulating layer[14];at least two conductive features [121] disposed in the insulating layer[14]; and an isolation feature [13] disposed in the insulating layer[14], the isolation feature[13] disposed between the at least two conductive features[121], the isolation feature disposed at opposite sides of at least one of the at least two conductive features[121] as seen in a cross-sectional view, the isolation feature [13] having a dielectric constant lower than that of the insulating layer ( see the isolation layer[13] made of air which is lower that the insulating layer [14] made of silicon oxide) ( see page 3, lines 10-15 and page 6, lines 25-25 of the document viewer printout) ,wherein the first and second conductive features [121] are disposed near or at a bonding surface[3] configured for direct hybrid bonding.
Pertaining to claim 78 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The microelectronic device of Claim 77, wherein the isolation feature [13] is disposed at least partially surrounding ( at least partially in planer view not shown ) the one of the at least two conductive features[121].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al, CN 110690202 A in view of England et al, US 10818570 B1 or Zhang et al, US 20220262751 A1 or Fang et al, US 20220199559 A1.
Pertaining claim 56, Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The electronic device of Claim 55, but is silent wherein the direct bonding interface comprises a surface planarized to a roughness of less than 2 nm root mean square per micron.
However, in the same field of endeavor, England or Zhang or Fang all teach about a hybrid boning interface wherein the direct bonding interface comprises a surface planarized to a roughness of less than 2 nm root mean square per micron ( see col.6, lines 45-49 of England, or para 0117 of Zhang or para 0030 of Fang) .In view of all these reference teaching about the roughness at the interface being below 2nm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching into that of Hu in in order to achieve a satisfactory bonding quality.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al, CN 110690202 A in view of Yang et al, US 20220216167 A1
Pertaining claim 14, Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example) The bonded structure of Claim 12, but is silent wherein a width of the isolation feature parallel to the bonding interface is about 1µm to about 2 µm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches wherein a width of the isolation feature[26] parallel to the bonding interface is about 1µm to about 2 µm.
In view of Yang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the width size of the isolation feature [26] teaching into that of Hu in in order so as to improve the stability of wafer-bonding ( see last sentence of Hus abstract) to achieve a satisfactory bonding quality.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al, CN 110690202 A.
Pertaining to claim 15 ,Hu teaches ( see figs.1 and 7 above for example ) The bonded structure of Claim 12, but did not explicitly teach wherein a depth of the isolation feature orthogonal to the bonding interface is at least 10% of a depth of either one of the at least two second conductive features orthogonal to the interface.
However, viewing the prior art reference as whole, Hu implicitly teaches this wherein a depth of the isolation feature[23] orthogonal to the bonding interface[3] is at least 10% of a depth of either one of the at least two second conductive features[221] orthogonal to the interface[3] since if we If we take the depth of the conductive feature [221] which is orthogonal to the interface as 100%, and since by virtue of their shape and depth of the isolation 23 withing the insulation layer 24] , the depth of the isolation[23] is deeper than that of conductive feature [221], therefore a depth of the isolation feature[23] orthogonal to the bonding interface[3] will obviously be is at least 10% of a depth of either one of the at least two second conductive features[221]. It is therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the conclusion that the instant claim is taught by Hu based on the depth scaling difference between the isolation feature and the conductive feature from the interface[3] .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4,31-32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record of Hu et al, CN 110690202 A) teaches the limitation of claim1 and 29, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 3 and 31 respectively including “wherein the second element further comprises a third insulating layer on the second insulating layer, and wherein the first element is directly bonded to the third insulating layer” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MAMADOU L DIALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897