DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutsui (US 2020/0209742; IDS, 01/06/2023).
Tsutsui discloses a method of producing microstructures and method of producing liquid injection head. Tsutsui illustrates in Figure 1A a schematic perspective view of a liquid ejection head according to at least one embodiment of the present disclosure. (Para, 0081; Fig.1A). Tsutsui also illustrated in Figure 1B a schematic sectional view of the liquid ejection head according to at least one embodiment of the present disclosure viewed from a surface perpendicular to its substrate, the surface passing a line A-A′ in FIG. 1A. (Para, 0081; Fig.1B). Tsutsui discloses the liquid ejection head illustrated in each of FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B includes a substrate 1 in which energy-generating elements 2 configured to generate energy for ejecting a liquid are formed at predetermined pitches such an electrothermal conversion element and a piezoelectric element. (Para, 0082). Tsutsui explains the energy-generating elements 2 may be arranged so as to be in contact with the surface of the substrate 1, or may be arranged so as to be partially hollow with respect to the surface of the substrate 1. (Para, 0082). Tsutsui discloses control signal input electrodes (not shown) for operating the energy-generating elements 2 are connected to the energy-generating elements 2 and the substrate 1 has opened therein a supply port 3 configured to supply ink. (Para, 0082).
Tsutsui discloses an inorganic material layer 4 and a protective layer 5 are formed on the first surface side of the substrate 1 on which the energy-generating elements 2 are arranged. (Para, 0083: Fig.1A-1B). Tsutsui discloses the substrate 1 is, for example, a silicon substrate formed of silicon, and the silicon substrate is preferably a silicon single crystal whose surface has a crystal orientation of (100). (Para, 0084). Tsutsui disclose a material for forming the inorganic material layer 4, there are given, for example, silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbide (SiC), silicon carbonitride (SiCN), and silicon oxycarbide (SiOC). (Para, 0085). Tsutsui explains the inorganic material layer 4 is used as a heat storage layer or an insulating layer. (Para, 0085; Fig.1A-1B). Tsutsui discloses the protective layer 5 protects the energy-generating elements, and is formed of, for example, Ta or Ir, and the inorganic material layer 4 may cover the energy-generating elements. (Para, 0086; Fig.1A-1B). Tsutsui discloses the inorganic material layer 4 is formed on substantially the entire surface of the substrate 1. (Para, 0087; Fig.1A-1B). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figure 1A-1B teach the limitation of claim 15, ‘A liquid discharge head comprising…a substrate having an inorganic material layer on a surface thereof…’
Tsutsui discloses a member having ejection orifices and a flow path in this embodiment has a flow path forming member 6 and an ejection orifice forming member 10, and the flow path forming member is illustrated under a state of being integrated with the ejection orifice forming member 10 in FIG. 1A. (Para, 0088; Fig.1A). Tsutsui discloses the side walls of a flow path 7 are formed by the flow path forming member 6 on the inorganic material layer 4. (Para, 0089; Fig.1A-1B). Tsutsui disclose the ejection orifice forming member 10 having ejection orifices 8 is formed on the flow path forming member 6 and the flow path 7 and a liquid repellent layer 11 is formed on the ejection orifice forming member 10 as required. (Para, 0089; Fig.1A-1B). Tsutsui discloses the liquid ejection head ejects the ink supplied from the supply port 3 through the flow path 7 as ink droplets from the ejection orifices 8 through the flow path 7 by applying a pressure generated by the energy-generating elements 2 to the ink. (Para, 0091; Fig.1A-1B). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figure 1A-1B teach the limitation of claim 15, ‘A liquid discharge head comprising…a flow path forming member disposed on the inorganic material layer of the substrate and forming a liquid flow path, and a discharge port forming member disposed on the flow path forming member and having a discharge port for discharging a liquid…’
Tsutsui also discloses that using a photosensitive resin composition containing the following components (hereinafter referred to as “photosensitive resin composition (1)”) is used as a material for a resin layer for forming a microstructure such as a constituent member of a liquid ejection head on a substrate is advantageous. Tsutsui discloses the components include: an epoxy resin; a polyhydric alcohol that is bifunctional or trifunctional with respect to a terminal hydroxy group, that is free of a perfluoroalkyl group and a perfluoroalkylene group, and that has a number-average molecular weight of less than 3,000; a photoacid generator; and a solvent. (Para, 0047-0050). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figures 1A-1B teach the limitation of claim 15, ‘A liquid discharge head comprising the flow path forming member is a cured product of a photosensitive resin composition, and the photosensitive resin composition comprises an epoxy resin…’ Moreover, these disclosures teach the limitation of claim 12.
Tsutsui discloses the composition of the photosensitive resin to be used in the formation of the member having the ejection orifices and the flow path preferably contains a cationically polymerizable epoxy resin in consideration of, for example, the adhesive performance, mechanical strength, liquid (ink) resistance, swelling resistance, reactivity as a photolithography material, and resolution of a cured product thereof. (Para, 0113). Tsutsui discloses examples thereof may include cationically polymerizable epoxy resins, such as polyfunctional epoxy resins including: epoxy resins each having a bisphenol skeleton, such as a bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin; epoxy resins each having a phenol novolac skeleton, such as a phenol novolac-type epoxy resin; epoxy resins each having a cresol novolac skeleton, such as a cresol novolac-type epoxy resin; epoxy resins each having a norbornene skeleton; epoxy resins each having a terpene skeleton; epoxy resins each having a dicyclopentadiene skeleton; and epoxy resins each having an oxycyclohexane skeleton. Those epoxy resins may be used alone or in combination thereof. (Para, 0113). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 4. Tsutsui discloses a photo-cationically polymerizable epoxy resin composition may be prepared by adding a cationic initiator to each of the photosensitive resin compositions. (Para, 0114). Tsutsui also discloses, the use of an epoxy resin having two or more epoxy groups is suitable for obtaining desired characteristics because a cured product of each of the photosensitive resin compositions is three-dimensionally crosslinked. (Para, 0115).
Tsutsui discloses at least one kind of bifunctional epoxy resin is preferably used as the high-weight-average molecular weight epoxy resin for the photosensitive resin composition (1). (Para, 0118). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 2. Tsutsui further, at least one kind of epoxy resin that is trifunctional or more may be added to the bifunctional epoxy resin before use. (Para, 0118). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 3. Tsutsui discloses the incorporation of a resin having three or more epoxy groups allows the crosslinking of the photosensitive resin composition to three-dimensionally advance, and hence can improve the sensitivity thereof as a photosensitive material. (Para, 0119). Tsutsui explains the epoxy equivalent of the epoxy resin that is trifunctional or more is preferably less than 500. (Para, 0120). Tsutsui discloses the photosensitive resin composition (1) contains, as a crosslinking agent, the polyhydric alcohol that is bifunctional or trifunctional with respect to a terminal hydroxy group from the viewpoint of its adhesiveness with the inorganic material layer. (Para, 0121). Tsutsui explains the addition of the polyhydric alcohol having hydroxy groups at its terminals enables: the acceleration of the cationic polymerization reaction of the epoxy resin; and a reduction in stress of a resin cured product by a reaction between a ring-opened epoxy group and a hydroxy group. (Para, 0121). Tsutsui explains the alcohol is effective in improving the adhesiveness with the inorganic material layer. (Para, 0121).
Tsutsui discloses an epoxy resin selected from commercial epoxy resins and known epoxy resins may be used in the preparation of each of the photosensitive resin composition (1) serving as the flow path forming member and the photosensitive resin composition (2) serving as the ejection orifice forming member. (Para, 0137). Tsutsui discloses a photopolymerization initiator to be added to the resin composition is preferably a sulfonic acid compound, a diazomethane compound, a sulfonium salt compound, an iodonium salt compound, a disulfone-based compound, or the like. (Para, 0140). Tsutsui explains the photoacid generators may be used as a mixture thereof. (Para, 0140). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 15, ‘A liquid discharge head…and the photosensitive resin composition comprises…at least one cationic polymerization initiator with a molar extinction coefficient in an i-line of less than 500 L mol-1cm-1…’ This disclosure also teaches the limitation of claim 5. Tsutsui also discloses examples of preferable commercial products that may be used. (Para, 0140). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 6.
Tsutsui also discloses a silane coupling agent may be added for the purpose of increasing the adhesive performance. (Para, 0141). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 13. Moreover, Tsutsui discloses a sensitizer such as an anthracene compound, a basic substance, such as an amine, an acid generator that generates toluenesulfonic acid that is weakly acidic (pKa=−1.5 to 3.0), or the like may be added for improving the pattern resolution or adjusting the sensitivity of each of the photosensitive resin compositions (exposure value needed for its curing). (Para, 0142). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 15, ‘ A liquid discharge head…and the photosensitive resin composition comprises… and at least one sensitizer with a molar extinction coefficient in an i-line of 500 L-mol-1cm-1 or more.’ Moreover, this disclosure teaches the limitation of claims 8 and 11.
Tsutsui illustrates in Figures 2A-2B an example of a method of producing a dry film formed of the photosensitive resin composition (1). (Para, 0092). Tsutsui then illustrates in Figures 3A-3H an example of the method of producing a liquid ejection head, and are each a view when the head is viewed under a completed state at the same sectional position as that of FIG. 1B. (Para, 0093).
Tsutsui discloses a film base material 12 formed of, for example, a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or a polyimide is prepared. (Para, 0094; Fig.2A). Tsutsui discloses the photosensitive resin composition (1) is applied onto the film base material 12 by, for example, a spin coating method or a slit coating method to form a coated layer and then the coated layer is prebaked to be dried, a dry film 13 can be produced from the photosensitive resin composition (1). (Para, 0094; Fig.2B). Tsutsui discloses the photosensitive resin composition (1) contains an epoxy resin having a weight-average molecular weight of more than 5,000, a polyhydric alcohol that is bifunctional or trifunctional with respect to a terminal hydroxy group, and that is free of a perfluoroalkyl group and a perfluoroalkylene group, a photoacid generator, and a solvent, and has negative photosensitivity. (Para, 0095). Tsutsui discloses thickness of the dry film 13 corresponds to the height of the flow path, and is hence appropriately determined by the ejection design of the liquid ejection head; the thickness is preferably set to, for example, 3 μm or more and 45 μm or less. (Para, 0096).
Tsutsui then discloses a substrate 1 having the energy-generating elements 2 on its first surface side is prepared. (Para 0097; Fig.3A). Tsutsui discloses the inorganic material layer 4 is formed on the surface side of the substrate 1 so as to cover the energy-generating elements 2. (Para, 0098; Fig.3B). Tsutsui discloses the protective layer 5 is formed above the energy-generating elements 2 and the inorganic material layer 4 and the protective layer 5 are subjected to patterning as required. (Para, 0098). Tsutsui discloses the supply port 3 that penetrates the substrate 1 and is configured to supply the ink is formed at a desired position by using wet etching with an alkaline etching liquid, such as tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH), or dry etching, such as reactive ion etching. (Para, 0099; Fig.3C). Tsutsui discloses the dry film 13 produced in FIG. 2A-2B is transferred onto the inorganic material layer 4 of the substrate 1 having arranged therein the energy-generating elements 2 and the supply port 3 by using a lamination method to be formed as a first resin layer. (Para, 0100; Fig.3D). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figures 3A-3D teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method for producing a shaped object, the method comprising: laminating a photosensitive resin composition on an inorganic material layer of a substrate having the inorganic material layer on a surface thereof…’
Tsutsui discloses that next the dry film 13 is selectively exposed to a flow path pattern through a photomask 14 having the flow path pattern and a heat treatment (post exposure baking) is performed to cure the exposed portion of the film, thus the flow path forming member 6 is formed. (Para, 0101; Fig.3E). Tsutsui explains a non-exposed portion in the dry film 13 is left as an uncured portion. (Para, 0101; Fig.3E). Tsutsui discloses the photomask 14 is obtained by forming a light-shielding film, such as a chromium film, on a substrate formed of a material that transmits light having an exposure wavelength, such as glass or quartz, in accordance with the pattern of the flow path or the like. (Para, 0102). Tsutsui discloses a projection exposure apparatus having a light source having a single wavelength, such as an i-line exposure stepper or a KrF stepper, or a projection exposure apparatus having a broad-wavelength mercury lamp as a light source, such as MASK ALIGNER MPA-600 Super (product name, manufactured by Canon Inc.), may be used as an exposure apparatus. (Para, 0102). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method for producing a shaped object, the method comprising: …performing a patterned exposure of the photosensitive resin composition using an i-line; and curing a pattern-exposed portion…’
Tsutsui discloses a photosensitive resin composition (2) is applied to a film base material formed of, for example, a PET or a polyimide, and is then turned into a dry film 15. (Para, 0103; Fig.3F). Tsutsui discloses the film is transferred onto the dry film 13 subjected to the exposure treatment by using a lamination method to be formed as a second resin layer. (Para, 0103). Tsutsui discloses the liquid repellent layer 11 is formed on the dry film 15 as required, the dry film 15 serving as the ejection orifice forming member 10 is preferably formed of a cationically polymerizable epoxy resin composition in consideration of, for example, its adhesiveness with the flow path forming member 6, mechanical strength, stability against a liquid such as ink, and resolution. (Para, 0104; Fig.3F). Tsutsui discloses the thickness of the dry film 15 is appropriately determined by the ejection design of the liquid ejection head, and is hence not particularly limited. However, the thickness is preferably set to, for example, 3 μm or more and 25 μm or less from the viewpoint of the mechanical strength or the like. (Para, 0104). Tsutsui discloses the liquid repellent layer 11 is required to have liquid repellency against a liquid such as ink, and a perfluoroalkyl composition or perfluoropolyether composition having cationic polymerizability is preferably used in the formation of the liquid repellent layer 11. (Para, 0105).
Tsutsui discloses the dry film 15 and the liquid repellent layer 11 are subjected to pattern exposure through a photomask 16 having an ejection orifice pattern. (Para, 0106; Fig.3F). Tsutsui discloses a heat treatment (post exposure baking) is performed to cure the exposed portions of the film and the layer and thus, the ejection orifice forming member 10 is formed. (Para, 0106; Fig.3G). Tsutsui discloses a similar photomask and projection exposure apparatus are used for the pattering of dry film 15 and liquid repellant layer 11. (Para, 0107). Tsutsui discloses next the uncured portions of the dry film 13, the dry film 15, and the liquid repellent layer 11 are developed with a developing liquid to be collectively removed; therefore, the flow path 7 and the ejection orifices 8 are formed. (Para, 0107; Fig.3H). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figures 3F-3H teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A method for producing a shaped object, the method comprising: …and removing an unexposed portion to form a shaped object in which a cured product of the photosensitive resin composition is formed on the substrate, wherein the photosensitive resin composition comprises an epoxy resin…’ As discussed above, Tsutsui discloses in paragraphs 0137-0142 other components of the resin composition which comprises the flow path. (Para, 0137-0142). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method for producing a shaped object, the method comprising: … wherein the photosensitive resin composition comprises… at least one cationic polymerization initiator with a molar extinction coefficient in an i-line of less than 500 L mol-1cm-1 and at least one sensitizer with a molar extinction coefficient in an i-line of 500 L-mol-1cm-1 or more.’ Tsutsui also discloses a heat treatment is performed as required to complete the liquid ejection head. (Para, 0108).
The disclosures and illustrations of Tsutsui as discussed above also teach the limitations of claim 14.
Therefore the recitations of claims 1-6, 8 and 11-15 are anticipated by the disclosures and illustrations of Tsutsui.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsutsui.
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). The Examiner also points out that based on the date of publication, the reference constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The disclosures of Tsutsui as discussed in paragraph 3 above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 7, ‘The method for producing a shaped object according to claim 1, wherein a content of the cationic polymerization initiator comprised in the photosensitive resin composition is 0.1 to 30.0 parts by mass in relation to 100 parts by mass of solid matters in the epoxy resin.’ However, this recitation is still obvious in view of the disclosures of Tsutsui. Tsutsui discloses various examples of the photosensitive resin composition used to form the flow path of the liquid discharge head disclosed. (Table 1-1 to Table 1-3; Table 3-1 to 3-2; Table 4). Tsutsui also discloses various Tables which compare the various attributes of the exampled compositions disclosed, with grades of A and B for the various compositions. (Table 4, Table 7; Para, 216, 220). From these disclosures, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the composition of the photosensitive resin for the flow path member can be optimized as well as each component can be optimized for the desired outcome. Therefore, these disclosures of Tsutsui teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 7 as well as the limitation of claim 9-10
While the recitations of claims 7 and 9-10 are not exactly and/or identically disclosed by Tsutsui one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of fabricating a desired flow path member of a liquid discharge head by optimizing the photosensitive resin composition disclosed in Tsutsui, which discloses example compositions containing components that can be adjusted so a desired resin composition is achieved that has the desired properties such as good adhesion and photo-sensitivity and can be formed into a desired and precise pattern for fabrication of a liquid discharge head.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899