DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 158-171, in the reply filed on 8/18/25, is acknowledged. Applicant has further elected HLA-DP, CIITA, and MICA as species of HLA, transcriptional regulator of HLA, and cell surface protein, respectively. Upon reconsideration, the species election requirement for a viral protein is withdrawn. Claims 172-177 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 158-171 are being acted upon
Claims 158-171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 158 and 166 are indefinite in the recitation of a “functional fragment” or “functional variant’. The claims recites a nucleic acid encoding a cell surface protein that binds to a protein expressed on the surface of a phagocytic or cytolytic immune cell, or a “functional fragment” or a “functional variant” of said cell surface protein. It is not clear what function is required. For example, do the claim require that the functional fragment is a cell surface protein, or would the claims encompass soluble, secreted fragments or variants? Do the claims encompass any type of binding as the required “function” or do the claims that the binding results in activation of phagocytic or cytolytic activity. For example, would a fragment or variant that binds but does not activate be encompassed in the present claims? The scopes of the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claims 158 and 166 recite the limitation "the activation" in line 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 158-171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon (product of nature) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a genetically engineered human cell. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because said cells do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than a product of nature.
The present claims are directed to a “genetically engineered” human cell. However, the recitation of a “genetically engineered” refers to a product by process limitation explaining how the cells are made. During examination, a product-by-process claim is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied in the present claims is that the cell has a genomic disruption in an HLA gene. However, naturally occurring human cells are known to carry genomic disruption in HLA genes. See Hazini for example, which teaches that molecular gene defects and HLA genetic mutations are common in cancer. See also Goktas which teaches that genetic mutations and loss of MHC and other genes such as RFX5 occur naturally in human subjects and cells therein. Furthermore, the HLA genetic locus is inherently polymorphic, and each individual’s HLA-DP gene will exhibit numerous changes in the genetic sequence encoding the proteins, with respect to each other, that result in function differences in the resulting protein such as differing peptide binding capacities. Thus, any human cell would have genetic variation or mutations in HLA genes as compared to other human cells, and would be within the scope of a “genomic disruption” in HLA. Regarding the limitation in the claims that the cells express an “exogenous” nucleic acid, it is noted that this also refers to a product by process limitation for how the cells are produced. However, nothing in the claims implies or recites any structural element (for example a viral vector comprising the nucleic acid) that would distinguish from a naturally occurring cells. Naturally occurring tumor cells or APC would comprise nucleic acids encoding various cell surface proteins that are within the scope of the instant claims. For example, the naturally occurring APCs having RFX5 deletion in Goktas would also comprise nucleic acids encoding cell surface costimulatory molecules, which are within the claim scope. Furthermore, as taught by Groh, tumor cells inherently comprising nucleic acids for MICA. Regarding the claimed limitation that the cells further comprise a nucleic acid encoding a viral antigenic protein, it is noted that naturally occurring cells also comprising viral nucleic acids during physiological process, such as viral infection. For example, see Tan which teaches naturally occurring EBV transformed B cell malignances which are also genetically deficient in HLA expression (and would naturally comprise, and express various costimulatory molecules or MICA). Thus, the claimed human cells are not markedly different in structure or function from those that are naturally occurring.
Claims 158-171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is insufficient written description to demonstrate that applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of functional fragments or functional variants of cell surface proteins.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See MPEP 2163.
The instant claims are directed to genetically engineered human cells comprising an exogenous nucleic acid encoding a cell surface protein that binds to a protein expressed on the surface of a phagocytic or cytolytic immune cells, or a “functional fragment” or “functional variant”, wherein the binding results in the activation of phagocytic or cytolytic activity of the immune cell. The claims encompass a genus of structurally distinct variants or fragments of any cell surface protein that binds to any phagocytic or cytolytic immune cell, wherein the binding activates the cell. This would be thousands of different proteins and an essentially unlimited genus of variants or fragments thereof. The state of the art is such that protein chemistry is one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Whisstock et al (Quarterly Review of Biophysics, 2003, 36, pp307-340, of record) teach that the prediction of protein function from sequence and structure is a difficult problem, because homologous proteins often have different functions. Even single amino acid changes in a proteins amino acid sequence can have dramatic effects on protein function. For example, Wang et al. , 2001, of record, show that a single amino acid determines lysophospholipid specificity of the S1P1 (EDG1) and LPA1 (EDG2) phospholipids growth factor receptors (e.g., abstract). These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution or what appears to be an inconsequential chemical modification will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristic of a protein. The instant specification discloses certain cell surface proteins, such as MICA, MICAB, and ULBP1-6. However, no species of variants or fragments thereof that function as claimed are disclosed.
The instant application has not provided a sufficient description showing possession of the necessary functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the genus of variants and fragments. Further, the Court has interpreted 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, to require the patent specification to “describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc, 63 USPQ2d 1609 and 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
In evaluating whether a patentee has fulfilled this requirement, our standard is that the patent’s “disclosure must allow one skilled in the art ‘to visualize or recognize the identity of’ the subject matter purportedly described.” Id. (quoting Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir. 1997)).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Also, it is noted that the Court has held that the disclosure of screening assays and general classes of compounds was not adequate to describe compounds having the desired activity: without disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, or small organic molecules have the desired characteristic, the claims failed to meet the description requirement of § 112. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., lnc., 69 USPQ2d 1886,1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Thus, one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to provide adequate written description to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F. 3d 1559, 43, USPQ2d 1398.
Claim(s) 158-171 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steinle, 2001, as evidenced by Zemmour, 1992.
Steinle teaches a C1R B human cell line genetically engineered to express an exogenous MICA at the cell surface (i.e. a cell surface protein that binds to NKG2D on NK cells and activates cytolytic activity of NK cells, see page 280 and Fig. 1, in particular). As evidenced by Zemmour, said C1R cells are EBV transformed (i.e. the comprise a nucleic acid encoding an exogenous EBV surface, secreted, or cytoplasmic antigen), and also have a genomic disruption in an HLA gene. In particular, Zemmour teaches that said C1R has a deletion in the entire HLA region from one haplotype, including HLA-II (i.e. a genomic disruption in HLA-DP, DR, and DQ, see page 1941, 1947, and Fig. 1, in particular). Regarding the limitation that administration of the genetically engineered human cell to a subject immunizes the subject to an antigen, this refers to an intended use. The cells of the prior art are structurally identical to those of the instant claims and they would be capable of performing the intended use.
Claim 161 is included in the rejection to the extent that the transcriptional regulator is still recited in the alternative. For example, incorporation of claim 161 into claim 158 would result in claim for a cell comprising a genomic disruption in an HLA gene or a transcriptional regulator, wherein the transcriptional regulator is CIITA. Amendment to claim 161 to recite the genetically engineered human cell of claim 158, wherein the cell comprises a genomic disruption in at least one transcriptional regulator of an HLA gene, for example, would overcome the anticipation rejection of claim 161 by Steinle.
Claim(s) 158-171 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/072700, as evidenced by Liu, 2018.
WO 2020/072700 teaches genetically engineered human cells that are engineered to comprise a nucleic acid encoding a single HLA allele (see page 25-27, and Fig. 5 in particular). WO 2020/072700 teaches that the cells can be engineered to be deficient in HLA by deleting endogenous HLA-I and HLA-II alleles, which include HLA-DP, by CRIPSR-Cas9 mediated genome editing (i.e. a genomic disruption, see page 25 and 26, in particular). WO 2020/072700 teaches that the cells are infected with a virus in order to identify HLA binding viral peptide, and teaches DNA or RNA viruses such as SARS coronavirus (i.e. they comprise a nucleic acid encoding a microbial antigen peptide, see page 36 and 39, in particular). WO 2020/072700 teaches that said introduced HLA allele presents said viral peptide and induces killer T cell responses (i.e. it is a cell surface protein that binds to and activates cytolytic immune cells, see Fig. 1, in particular). Regarding the limitation that administration of the genetically engineered human cell to a subject immunizes the subject to an antigen, this refers to an intended use. The cells of the prior art are structurally identical to those of the instant claims and they would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 162, which requires that the exogenous nucleic acid encodes a cell surface protein that binds to a protein on the surface of an NK cell, WO 2020/072700 also teaches that the genetically engineered cells can be, for example B or dendritic cells (See page 26). B cells and dendritic cells inherently comprise nucleic acids encoding various cell surface costimulatory molecules that can bind to and activate NK cells. Regarding the recitation that the nucleic acid is “exogenous” this merely refers to a product by product limitation, i.e. that the cell is produced by introducing an exogenous nucleic acid. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production in the absence of a structural difference. In the instant case, the genetically engineered cells of WO 2020/072700 comprise a nucleic acid encoding a cell surface protein (such as a costimulatory molecule) that is structurally and functionally identical to that of the instant claims and meets the limitations of the present claims. Regarding claim 163, the cells would inherently comprise a nucleic acid encoding MICA, and WO 2020/072700 also specifically teaches that the genetically engineered cells can be subjected to stress (see page 26). As evidenced by Liu, MICA is specifically upregulated in stressed cells, and therefore cell surface expression of MICA would also be an inherently property of the genetically engineered cells of WO 2020/072700.
Claim 161 is included in the rejection to the extent that the transcriptional regulator, as it depends from claim 158, is recited in the alternative for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim 158-171 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/072700, in view of Liu, 2018 and Xu, April 4, 1019.
The teachings of WO 2020/072700 are described.
The reference differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly teach a genomic disruption in CIITA.
Xu teaches that disruption of class II HLA expression can be performed by deleting the CIITA gene, and that functional loss of CIITA gene leads to MHC class II deficiency. Xu explains that CIITA is a transcription factor that is essential for transcription of class II HLA genes, and that functional loss of CIITA leads to HLA-II deficiency (i.e. loss of all HLA-II alleles expression, including HLA-DP, see page 571, in particular).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to produce the HLA-II deficient cells in WO 2020/072700, by deleting CIITA, as taught by Xu. The ordinary artisan at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success, because Xu teaches that CIITA is a transcription factor that is essential for transcription of all class II HLA genes, and that functional loss of CIITA leads to HLA-II deficiency. Thus, it would be obvious to produce the cells of WO 2020/072700 that are engineered human cells that are engineered to express an single HLA allele (which meets part b. of the instant claim 158 and 166) and which is also infected with a DNA or RNA viruses such as SARS (i.e. part c. in claim 166), and which is further engineered to be have a genomic deletion in CIITA, as taught by Xu, to provide for HLA-II deficiency (i.e. part a of claims 158 and 166). As WO 2020/072700 further teaches that the cells can be subjected to stress, it would be obvious that the cells would also express MICA, encoded from a nucleic acid within the cells, as taught by Liu. As noted above, the limitation of an “exogenous” nucleic acid is a product by process limitation that does not distinguish the claimed cells from those made obvious by the prior art.
Claims 158-171 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 22-23 of copending Application No. 18/757,948 (reference application), in view of WO 2020/072700 and Steinle, 2001. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘948 application claims a genetically engineered human cell comprising a genomic disruption in an HLA gene, such as HLA-DP, or a transcriptional regulator of an HLA gene, such as CIITA, and an exogenous nucleic acid encoding a cell surface protein that binds to a protein expressed on the surface of a phagocytic or immune cell, wherein binding activates phagocytic or cytolytic activity, and wherein the cell overexpressed ARRDC1. Thus, the genetically modified cells of the ‘948 application represent a species of the genus of cells encompassed by the present claims. The ‘948 application claims that the cell further comprises a nucleic acid encoding an exogenous protein, such as a microbial protein, and selecting from known microbial proteins for expression, such as viral proteins as taught by WO 2020/072700 would be well within the purview of the ordinary artisan. Furthermore, it would be obvious to select MICA as the cell surface protein, since Steinle teaches that it can be expressed by genetic engineering and that it functions to activate cytolytic NK cell activity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claim is allowed.
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644