DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0184859, filed on 12/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2022 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 10/24/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structures given in paragraphs [00105], [00135], [00204], and [00215] are low-resolution/illegible. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are clear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing the size of the structure and/or font, making the font bold, and/or making the lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 15, the claims state that “any hydrogen atom in the molecule is substituted with a deuterium atom”.
This is confusing because the only previous molecule in the claim is referred to as an “amine compound”, and it is not clear whether this is the molecule Applicant is referring to or whether there is another molecule, which is not the amine molecule.
In continuing examination, Examiner is interpreting “molecule” as referring to the “amine molecule” represented by Formula 1.
Claims 2-14 and 16-25 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mujica-Fernaud et al. (US 2015/0155491 A1).
With respect to claim 15, Mujica-Fernaud discloses compound (160) (page 24), which is pictured below.
Compound 160 meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 4, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 5. In Formula 4, m2 is 1, n5 is 0 and R5 is not present, X is oxygen and n6 is 0 so that R6 is not present. In Formula 5, m3 is 1 and n7 is 0 so that R7 is not present, R9 is a hydrogen atom, n8 is 0 and R8 is not present, and Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group.
With respect to claim 20, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 4 is represented by instant Formula 4-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 21, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 20, and Formula 4-2 is represented by Formula 4-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 22, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 5 is represented by Formula 5-3, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 23, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 22, and Formula 5-3 is represented by Formula 5-d, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 24, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 25, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and the compound is identical to instant D85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mujica-Fernaud et al. (US 2015/0155491 A1) as applied above.
With respect to claim 1, Mujica-Fernaud teaches a light emitting element comprising a first electrode (an anode), a second electrode (a cathode), and at least one functional layer between the electrodes which comprises an amine compound of formula (1) (paragraph 0085), such as compound (160) (page 24), which is pictured below.
Compound 160 meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 4, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 5. In Formula 4, m2 is 1, n5 is 0 and R5 is not present, X is oxygen and n6 is 0 so that R6 is not present. In Formula 5, m3 is 1 and n7 is 0 so that R7 is not present, R9 is a hydrogen atom, n8 is 0 and R8 is not present, and Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Mujica-Fernaud teaches that the use of compounds of the invention in electronic devices result in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compound (160) in the functional layer of a light emitting element in order to achieve an electronic device with high efficiency, low operating voltage, and long lifetime, as taught by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that the functional layer comprises at least a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an emission layer, and an electron transporting layer between the two electrodes (paragraph 0165), and the hole transport layer comprises the compound (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a hole transporting layer, as taught by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claim 4, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound (160) is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) which is pictured below.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 is represented by formula (28) (paragraph 0055 and page 7), which is pictured below.
This structure meets the requirements of instant formula 2-2 when n1 and n2 are 0 and R1a and R2 are not present.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an electronic device which results in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 5, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 4, and Formula 2-2 is represented by Formula 2-c, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 6, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound (160) is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) which is pictured below.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 is represented by formula (28) (paragraph 0055 and page 7), which is pictured below.
This structure meets the requirements of instant formula 2-2 when n1 and n2 are 0 and R1a and R2 are not present.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an electronic device which results in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 8, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 4 is represented by Formula 4-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 9, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 8, and Formula 4-2 is represented by Formula 4-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 10, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 5 above is represented by Formula 5-3, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 11, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 10, and Formula 5-3 is represented by Formula 5-d, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 12, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 13, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 2, as discussed above.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches an embodiment of the invention in Table 1 (page 76) wherein host compound H1 is used in the emission layer (EML). Compound H1 is pictured below to facilitate discussion.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Formula E-1 when d11 is 2 and the two R40 are joined to form a ring, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compound of Formula E-1 as a host material in the emission layer, as demonstrated by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claim 14, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the amine compound is identical to instant D85.
With respect to claim 16, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, as discussed above.
Compound (160) is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) which is pictured below.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 is represented by formula (28) (paragraph 0055 and page 7), which is pictured below.
This structure meets the requirements of instant formula 2-2 when n1 and n2 are 0 and R1a and R2 are not present.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an electronic device which results in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 16, and Formula 2-2 is represented by Formula 2-c, as pictured above.
Claims 1-7, 12, 14-19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0359223 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses an organic light emitting element (paragraph 0076), comprising a first electrode (a positive electrode, paragraph 0094), a second electrode (a negative electrode, paragraph 0095), and at least one functional layer (an electron blocking layer) comprises a compound of Formula 2 (paragraph 0089), such as the compound below (page 51).
This compound is derived from Kim formula 2, which is pictured below (paragraph 0012).
Kim teaches that each of Ar2 through Ar4 may be selected from -L2-Z (paragraph 0014), wherein L2 is a direct bond or a phenylene group (paragraph 0015).
When the direct bond between the amine and the naphthyl group is replaced by a phenylene group, it forms a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 2, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 3. In Formula 2, n1 is 0 and R1 is not present, n2 is 0 and R2 is not present. In Formula 3, m1 is 1, and n3 is 0 so that R3 is not present, and n4 is 0 so that R4 is not present.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which results in an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life (paragraph 00170), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Kim teaches that organic light emitting devices comprising compounds of the invention can improve low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life (paragraph 0017).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Kim in the electron blocking layer of a device with the claimed structure in order to obtain an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life, as taught by Kim.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the device comprises at least one electron blocking layer comprising the compound, as discussed above.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 2 is represented by Formula 2-2, and either of Formulae 2-c or 2-d, because Kim is not limiting with regard to the bonding pattern of -L2-Z.
With respect to claim 6, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 3 is represented by instant Formula 3-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 7, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 6, and Formula 3-2 above is represented by instant Formula 3-e, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 12, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 14, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the compound is identical to instant compound A65.
With respect to claim 15, Kim discloses the compound below (page 51).
This compound is derived from Kim formula 2, which is pictured below (paragraph 0012).
Kim teaches that each of Ar2 through Ar4 may be selected from -L2-Z (paragraph 0014), wherein L2 is a direct bond or a phenylene group (paragraph 0015).
When the direct bond between the amine and the naphthyl group is replaced by a phenylene group, it forms a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 2, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 3. In Formula 2, n1 is 0 and R1 is not present, n2 is 0 and R2 is not present. In Formula 3, m1 is 1, and n3 is 0 so that R3 is not present, and n4 is 0 so that R4 is not present.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which results in an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life (paragraph 00170), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 16, Kim teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 2 could be represented by Formula 2-1 or 2-2, as Kim is not limiting with respect to the bonding pattern of -L2-Z.
With respect to claim 17, Kim teaches the compound of claim 16, and the teachings of Kim can be used to arrive at any of formulae 2-a through 2-d, as Kim is not limiting with respect to the bonding pattern of -L2-Z, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 18, Kim teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 3 above is represented by Formula 3-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 19, Kim teaches the compound of claim 18, and Formula 3-2 is represented by Formula 3-e, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 24, No teaches the compound of claim 15, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 25, No teaches the compound of claim 15, and one embodiment of the compound is identical to instant Compound A65.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
No et al. (KR 2014/0043224 A) – teaches relevant compounds
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786