DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 03/27/2026, the claims were amended, and a high resolution copy of excerpts from the specification was submitted.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and Applicant’s submission, the objections to the specification is withdrawn by the Office.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 1-25 as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claims 15 and 20-25 as being anticipated by Mujica-Fernaud et al. (US 2015/0155491 A1), and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-5, 8-14, and 16-17 as being unpatentable over Mujica-Fernaud as applied above, are withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 1-25 were originally filed.
Claims 1, 15, and 25 are instantly amended.
Claims 1-25 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument of unexpected results, Examiner disagrees in three parts.
First, it is noted that applicant has only provided data from one trial of each compound from a single device structure. There is not enough evidence to support Applicant’s assertion that that these same results would be observed over a statistical analysis of multiple trials and multiple device structures. Without a statement of standard deviation, it is unclear whether these data represent a statistically significant improvement over the comparison devices or whether these data fall within standard deviation.
Second, the data presented is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention because independent claim 15 is drawn to a compound while the data is drawn to the compound in a specific device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that common endeavors in the field of organic electroluminescent devices, such as improved luminance, external quantum efficiency, device lifetime, color purity, and driving voltage, can be influenced by a multitude of factors such as device layer order, layer thickness, as well as layer composition. There is not enough evidence to support Applicant’s assertion that the claimed improvements are the result of the claimed compound only, and would be observed in any device of any structure.
Third, the data presented is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention because data have not been presented for a sufficient breadth of compounds to reasonably represent the full scope of the independent claims. For example, while the comparison of Example Compound A1 and Comparative Compound R1 is effective in demonstrating the unexpected advantage of using a moiety of instant Formula 2 for both of instant Ar1 and Ar2, and the comparison of Example Compounds D2 and D41 with Comparative Compound R1 is effective in demonstrating the unexpected advantage of using a moiety of Formula 5 and a moiety of Formula 2 as Ar1 and Ar2 of instant Formula 1, the claims encompass a great deal of combinations and subcombinations of moieties for which data have not been represented. These include subcominations such as the combination of Formula 2 and Formula 4 when m2 is 1, and the combination of two moieties of Formula 5. There is not enough data to support the full scope of compounds of instant Formula 1.
For these reasons, it is unclear whether the presented data represent a statistically significant improvement, whether these same results would be realized in any device, and whether the full breadth of the claimed compounds would demonstrate these same advantageous properties.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments that the amendments overcome Mujica-Fernaud, Examiner disagrees.
Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the prior art because the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
A reinterpretation of the prior art is given below to explain how the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to independent claim 15, the claim has been amended to include the limitation that when Ar1 and Ar2 are each represented by Formula 4 and each X is oxygen, then at least one m2 of Ar1 and Ar2 is 0.
Page 3, lines 25-27, of the originally filed specification includes the limitation that, “--when both Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 4 above, any one selected from among two m2’s is 1, and the other is 0--”. Examiner notes that this limitation is repeated and demonstrated throughout the originally filed disclosure. There is no support in writing or in example compounds to support a compound wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 4, and both of m2 are 0.
Thus, the amendment to claim 15 introduces new matter.
Claims 16-25 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claim 15, the claim contains the following contradictory limitations.
In this first limitation, when both of Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 4, one m2 is 1 and the other m2 is 0. However, in the second limitation, when Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 4, then at least one of m2 is 0.
Thus, it is unclear how many of m2 must be 0 when both of Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 4, and X is oxygen.
In continuing examination, this is being interpreted as when Ar1 and Ar2 are each represented by Formula 4 and each X is sulfur, then one m2 is 1 and the other is 0, and when Ar1 and Ar2 are each represented by Formula 4 and each X is oxygen, then at least one m2 is 0.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-17 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mujica-Fernaud et al. (US 2015/0155491 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Mujica-Fernaud teaches a light emitting element comprising a first electrode (an anode), a second electrode (a cathode), and at least one functional layer between the electrodes which comprises an amine compound of formula (1) (paragraph 0085), such as compound (160) (page 24), which is pictured below.
Compound 160 is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) (paragraph 0017) which is pictured below.
In this formula, Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 or Ar2 may be represented by formula (73) (page 11).
When the phenylene-linked carbazole group of compound 160 is replaced by the carbazole group of formula (73) which is directly bonded to the central amine, it forms a compound which meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 4, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 5. In Formula 4, m2 is 1, n5 is 0 and R5 is not present, X is oxygen and n6 is 0 so that R6 is not present. In Formula 5, m3 is 0 so that n7 and R7 are not present, R9 is a hydrogen atom, n8 is 0 and R8 is not present, and Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned single bond being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as formula (73), from the finite list of possible substituents for Ar1 and Ar2 and arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of compounds for use in organic electronic device, which result in electronic devices with high efficiency, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in the functional layer of a light emitting element in order to achieve an electronic device with high efficiency, low operating voltage, and long lifetime, as taught by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that the functional layer comprises at least a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an emission layer, and an electron transporting layer between the two electrodes (paragraph 0165), and the hole transport layer comprises the compound (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a hole transporting layer, as taught by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claim 4, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, as discussed above.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 is represented by formula (28) (paragraph 0055 and page 7), which is pictured below.
This structure meets the requirements of instant formula 2-2 when n1 and n2 are 0 and R1a and R2 are not present.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an electronic device which results in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 5, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 4, and Formula 2-2 is represented by Formula 2-c, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 8, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 4 is represented by Formula 4-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 9, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 8, and Formula 4-2 is represented by Formula 4-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 10, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 5 above is represented by Formula 5-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 11, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 10, and Formula 5-2 is represented by Formula 5-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 12, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 13, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 2, as discussed above.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches an embodiment of the invention in Table 1 (page 76) wherein host compound H1 is used in the emission layer (EML). Compound H1 is pictured below to facilitate discussion.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Formula E-1 when d11 is 2 and the two R40 are joined to form a ring, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compound of Formula E-1, such as H1 above, as a host material in the emission layer, as demonstrated by Mujica-Fernaud.
With respect to claim 14, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the amine compound is identical to instant D30.
With respect to claim 15, Mujica-Fernaud discloses compound (160) (page 24), which is pictured below.
Compound 160 is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) (paragraph 0017) which is pictured below.
In this formula, Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 or Ar2 may be represented by formula (73) (page 11).
When the phenylene-linked carbazole group of compound 160 is replaced by the carbazole group of formula (73) which is directly bonded to the central amine, it forms a compound which meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 4, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 5. In Formula 4, m2 is 1, n5 is 0 and R5 is not present, X is oxygen and n6 is 0 so that R6 is not present. In Formula 5, m3 is 0 so that n7 and R7 are not present, R9 is a hydrogen atom, n8 is 0 and R8 is not present, and Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned single bond being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as formula (73), from the finite list of possible substituents for Ar1 and Ar2 and arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of compounds for use in organic electronic device, which result in electronic devices with high efficiency, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 16, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, as discussed above.
Compound (160) is derived from Mujica-Fernaud formula (1) which is pictured below.
Mujica-Fernaud also teaches that Ar1 is represented by formula (28) (paragraph 0055 and page 7), which is pictured below.
This structure meets the requirements of instant formula 2-2 when n1 and n2 are 0 and R1a and R2 are not present.
Mujica-Fernaud includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Mujica-Fernaud being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an electronic device which results in high efficiencies, low operating voltage, and long lifetime (paragraph 0133), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 16, and Formula 2-2 is represented by Formula 2-c, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 20, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 4 is represented by instant Formula 4-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 21, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 20, and Formula 4-2 is represented by Formula 4-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 22, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 5 is represented by Formula 5-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 23, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 22, and Formula 5-3 is represented by Formula 5-b, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 24, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 25, Mujica-Fernaud teaches the compound of claim 15, and the compound is identical to instant D30.
Claims 1-7, 12, 14-19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0359223 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses an organic light emitting element (paragraph 0076), comprising a first electrode (a positive electrode, paragraph 0094), a second electrode (a negative electrode, paragraph 0095), and at least one functional layer (an electron blocking layer) comprises a compound of Formula 2 (paragraph 0089), such as the compound below (page 51).
This compound is derived from Kim formula 2, which is pictured below (paragraph 0012).
Kim teaches that each of Ar2 through Ar4 may be selected from -L2-Z (paragraph 0014), wherein L2 is a direct bond or a phenylene group (paragraph 0015).
When the direct bond between the amine and the naphthyl group is replaced by a phenylene group, it forms a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 2, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 3. In Formula 2, n1 is 0 and R1 is not present, n2 is 0 and R2 is not present. In Formula 3, m1 is 1, and n3 is 0 so that R3 is not present, and n4 is 0 so that R4 is not present.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which results in an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life (paragraph 00170), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Kim in the electron blocking layer of a device with the claimed structure in order to obtain an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life, as taught by Kim.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the device comprises at least one electron blocking layer comprising the compound, as discussed above.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 2 is represented by Formula 2-2, and either of Formulae 2-c or 2-d, because Kim is not limiting with regard to the bonding pattern of -L2-Z.
With respect to claim 6, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and Formula 3 is represented by instant Formula 3-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 7, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 6, and Formula 3-2 above is represented by instant Formula 3-e, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 12, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 14, Kim teaches the light emitting element of claim 1, and the compound is identical to instant compound A65.
With respect to claim 15, Kim discloses the compound below (page 51).
This compound is derived from Kim formula 2, which is pictured below (paragraph 0012).
Kim teaches that each of Ar2 through Ar4 may be selected from -L2-Z (paragraph 0014), wherein L2 is a direct bond or a phenylene group (paragraph 0015).
When the direct bond between the amine and the naphthyl group is replaced by a phenylene group, it forms a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when n is 0 and R is not present, Ar1 is represented by Formula 2, and Ar2 is represented by Formula 3. In Formula 2, n1 is 0 and R1 is not present, n2 is 0 and R2 is not present. In Formula 3, m1 is 1, and n3 is 0 so that R3 is not present, and n4 is 0 so that R4 is not present.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which results in an organic light emitting device with improved low driving voltage, high efficiency, and service life (paragraph 00170), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Kim teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 2 is represented by instant formula 2-2, and any of instant formulae 2-a through 2-d, as Kim is not limiting with respect to the bonding pattern of -L2-Z, as discussed above as discussed above.
With respect to claim 18, Kim teaches the compound of claim 15, and Formula 3 above is represented by Formula 3-2, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 19, Kim teaches the compound of claim 18, and Formula 3-2 is represented by Formula 3-e, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 24, No teaches the compound of claim 15, and R is not present, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 25, No teaches the compound of claim 15, and one embodiment of the compound is identical to instant Compound A65.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786