DETAILED ACTION
Prior arts cited in this office action:
Barisoni et al. (Digital Pathology and Computational Image Analysis in Nephropathology, Nov. 2020, hereinafter “Barisoni”)
Hakala et al. (US 20220184421 A1, hereinafter “Hakala”)
Peng et al (US 20210019342 A1, hereinafter “Peng”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new ground of rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barisoni et al. (Digital Pathology and Computational Image Analysis in Nephropathology, Nov. 2020, hereinafter “Barisoni”) in view of Hakala et al. (US 20220184421 A1, hereinafter “Hakala”) and in view of Peng et al (US 20210019342 A1, hereinafter “Peng”) and in view of Mantzouratos et al. (US 11138200 B1, hereinafter “Mantzouratos”)
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15:
Barisoni teaches a computer-implemented method for processing digital pathology images to determine a treatment for one or more subjects (Barisoni Abstract, where Barisoni teaches integrated, biologically and clinically homogeneous disease categories, to identify patients at risk of progression, and shifting current paradigms for the treatment and prevention of kidney diseases), comprising:
receiving a plurality of medical images of at least one pathology specimen, the pathology specimen being associated with a subject (Barisoni Abstract, Key points page 670, where Barisoni teaches The introduction of digital pathology in clinical research, trials and practice has catalyzed the development of novel machine- learning models for tissue interrogation with the potential to improve our ability to discover disease mechanisms, identify comprehensive, patient- specific phenotypes, classify kidney patients into clinically relevant categories, predict disease outcome and, ultimately, identify more targeted therapies);
receiving metadata corresponding to the plurality of medical images, the metadata comprising data regarding previous medical treatment of the subject (Barisoni page 678, fig. 2, machine vision technology as supported in nephropathology, The common goals of these consortia are to better understand the pathogenesis of kidney diseases and to improve their classification and treatment through comprehensive analysis of clinical, morphological and molecular data — a process that has required the establishment of digital pathology repositories (DPRs) for the banking and organization of digital images from renal biopsies and their associated metadata);
providing the first embedding determine by the first machine learning model as input to a second machine learning model in the a machine learning system, the first embedding represent the plurality of medical images, the metadata and one or more tokens the machine learning system having been trained by receiving as input historical treatment information and digital images labeled with a predicted treatment regimen (Barisoni pages 677, 678 and 682, fig. 3 last paragraph, supervised learning uses an annotated training dataset to learn the relationship between individual features and categorical labels. Supervised and unsupervised learning can be used to convert digital pathology images into minable data, using two general techniques: ‘hand- crafted pathomics’ (also known as conventional pathomics) and ‘discovery pathomics with DL’…. The nephropathology digital ecosystem, fig. 3, For example, qualitative and quantitative automatic detection of features of acute tubular injury may predict the course of the disease and response to therapy: the presence of only a few areas of vacuolization with specific qualitative characteristics could predict rapid recovery from an episode of acute renal failure, with normalization of serum creatinine levels, compared with a renal biopsy containing much greater levels of vacuolization); and
outputting, by the machine learning system, a treatment effectiveness assessment (Barisoni pages 678 and 682 The nephropathology digital ecosystem, fig. 3, Finally, in the actionable intelligence phase, the knowledge obtained from the digital images (input data) is integrated with other data types, for example, omics and clinical data, and used to diagnose, prognosticate and select targeted treatments (output data) for the patient.
Barisoni fails to explicitly teach where the machine learning system having been trained by receiving as input historical treatment information and digital images labeled with a predicted treatment regimen.
providing the plurality of medical images and metadata to a trained embedding system including a first machine learning model; determining, using the first machine learning model, a first embedding, wherein determining the first embedding comprises:
converting the plurality of medical images and metadata into the first embedding; identifying one or more missing data points in the first embedding; and replacing the one or more missing data points with one or more tokens for processing;
providing the plurality of medical images, metadata, and first embedding as input to a second machine learning model in a machine learning system,
However, Barisoni teaches the common goals of these consortia are to better understand the pathogenesis of kidney diseases and to improve their classification and treatment through comprehensive analysis of clinical, morphological and molecular data — a process that has required the establishment of digital pathology repositories (DPRs) for the banking and organization of digital images from renal biopsies and their associated metadata. The analytical tools of AI and ML will reveal new opportunities with which to develop large- scale, kidney- centric data ecosystems, to combine datatypes and datasets for discovery and validation, and for the practice of precision nephrology. Machine vision can also be used to build models to aid prognostication. For example, qualitative and quantitative automatic detection of features of acute tubular injury may predict the course of the disease and response to therapy: the presence of only a few areas of vacuolization with specific qualitative characteristics could predict rapid recovery from an episode of acute renal failure, with normalization of serum creatinine levels, compared with a renal biopsy containing much greater levels of vacuolization (Barisoni page 678, fig. 2, machine vision technology as supported in nephropathology, d) prediction ). Hakala teaches a network calibration for radiography wherein a machine learning for adjusting score for prediction of treatments receives historical data and treatment attributes labels in the form of image. Upon determining the calibration parameters, the end-user device 140 may feed patient data for new patients into the machine learning model and use the calibration parameters to calibrate the output confidence scores for different treatment attributes (Hakala [0007]-[008], [0036], [0038]-[0039],[0087]-[0090], [0094], figs.2 and 4, in other words the first embedding determine that new patient data is missing and therefore using new patient data to update or add new information to the embedding). Peng further teaches a method for generating semantic labels which are used for similarity ranking among images in the reference library. The images 702 are fed to a second machine learning model 704, e.g., a deep convolutional neural network pattern recognizer which generates semantic labels for the images, such as healthy, benign, or assigns a tissue type label. The system includes a module configured to perform at least one of the following operations on the additional portions of the larger medical image that it found:
a) highlight the additional portions, e.g., by shading in a particular color or showing a bounding box or border around the additional portion;
b) provide annotations for the additional portions, such as probability cancerous or having a particular Gleason score; or
c) providing quantifications for the additional portions, such as size data.
(Peng [0012], [0017]-[0022], [0044], [0063], [0100], figs. 7 and 10-13). In other words, Peng teaches obtaining a first embedding wherein the first embedding includes information on a portion of an image then add additional missing information on the image or the embedding such that the missing information is included in the image ).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Barisoni, Hakala and Peng as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide not only historical data but also image with corresponding label regarding expected or predicted treatment and also add information wherever missing or when new information is available in order to properly train the model to be able to more accurately determine the best treatment possible corresponding a particular ailment or disease and to update and/or replace the treatment when new information are available.
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein identifying that at least one modality of a plurality of modalities associated with the plurality of medical images and metadata is missing at a time point replacing the missing modality at the time point with a generic missing token.
Replacing a missing data in a data series time series including a time series data with a random value (or token) or by interpolation is well-known in the art. For example, Mantzouratos teaches an efficient aggregation of time series data wherein the collected raw metadata can be preprocessed, for example, by removing suspected erroneous data points and replacing the removed or otherwise missing data with interpolated data points (Mantzouratos col. 6 line 36-col. 7 line 4, col. 8 lines 35-40).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Barisoni, Hakala, Peng and Mantzouratos, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to process the data obtained to determine if information is missing and replacing the missing data where necessary in order to more efficiently process the data
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18:
Barisoni in view of Hakala, in view of Peng and in view of Mantzouratos teaches wherein the trained system outputs the plurality of medical images with marking to display the predicted effects of the treatment effectiveness assessment (Barisoni page 678, fig. 2, d) prediction, where Barisoni teaches Machine vision can also be used to build models to aid prognostication. For example, qualitative and quantitative automatic detection of features of acute tubular injury may predict the course of the disease and response to therapy: the presence of only a few areas of vacuolization with specific qualitative characteristics could predict rapid recovery from an episode of acute renal failure, with normalization of serum creatinine levels, compared with a renal biopsy containing much greater levels of vacuolization; Peng [0012], [0044], [0063], [0100], figs. 7 and 10-13).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19:
Barisoni in view of Hakala, in view of Peng and in view of Mantzouratos teaches wherein the metadata may further include information describing a tissue type of the pathology specimen for the medical specimen (Barisoni page 673 and 675 left column, last paragraph; Hakala [0002], [0015]; Peng [0012], [0044], [0063], [0100], figs. 7 and 10-13).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20:
Barisoni in view of Hakala, in view of Peng and in view of Mantzouratos teaches further comprising:
inputting the received medical images that correspond to previously treated medical specimen into a second trained system; and
determining a score to measure the effectiveness of past treatment, wherein the score defines a damage of previously healthy slides and additional damage to previously cancerous regions of the inputted slides (Barisoni page 373; Hakala Abstract [0007]-[0008], [0064]-[0067]; Peng [0012], [0044], [0063], [0100], figs. 7 and 10-13).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21:
Barisoni in view of Hakala, in view of Peng and in view of Mantzouratos teaches wherein the treatment effectiveness assessment comprises a treatment type and a treatment dosage for the patient (Hakala [0024], [0048], [0065]; Peng [0012], [0044], [0063], [0100], figs. 7 and 10-13).
Regarding claim 22-24:
Barisoni in view of Hakala, in view of Peng and in view of Mantzouratos teaches wherein outputting the treatment effectiveness assessment includes:
determining a healthy tissue score based on effects of treatment on previously
benign regions of the plurality of medical images; and
determining a disease elimination score based on effectiveness of treatment on
previously cancerous regions of the plurality of medical images (Barisoni pages 677, 678 and 682, fig. 3 Peng [0050], [0101], fig. 2; The nephropathology digital ecosystem, fig. 3, For example, qualitative and quantitative automatic detection of features of acute tubular injury may predict the course of the disease and response to therapy: the presence of only a few areas of vacuolization with specific qualitative characteristics could predict rapid recovery from an episode of acute renal failure, with normalization of serum creatinine levels, compared with a renal biopsy containing much greater levels of vacuolization. Verifying the result of selecting a particular treatment by monitoring the progress of the treatment by comparing the current state to a previous state of the disease is obvious or inherent in determining if a treatment is good or not).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEDNEL CADEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 August 4, 2026