DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 in the reply dated 24 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 20230352408 A1, hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Jung discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming a front end of line structure comprising a gate (18 [0021] and Fig. 2B); forming a back end of line structure on a first surface of the front end of line structure (48 [0015] and Fig. 2A); and forming a backside power delivery network on a second surface of the front end of line structure opposite the first surface (60 [0027] and Fig. 2A); wherein source and drain regions on a first side of the gate are connected to the backside power delivery network (14_1 [0020] and Fig. 2A) and source and drain regions on a second side of the gate are connected to the back end of line structure (14_2 [0022] and Fig. 2A); and wherein the source and drain regions on the first side of the gate are connected to the backside power delivery network through a frontside source/drain contact that is shorted to a via-to-backside power rail (14_1 connected to 60 through 22, 22P, 52, and 54 [0027] and Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 2 - Jung further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the back end of line structure comprises a power supply (BSPDN [0027] and Figs. 2A and 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 20230352408 A1, hereinafter “Jung”), in view of Huang et al (US 20240008243 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 3 - Jung discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Jung fails to disclose forming a virtual power supply between the front end of line structure and the backside power delivery network.
However, Huang discloses forming a virtual power supply (BM0 supplies VddH as Vdd2 [0037] and Fig. 7) between the front end of line structure and the backside power delivery network (Fig. 7).
Huang discloses an analogous MOSFET IC power delivery network to Jung. Huang teaches using a virtual power supply (VddH) for critical logic blocks, as well as an unboosted power supply (VddL) to reduce power and maintain circuit performance (Huang [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Jung and Huang to form a virtual power supply between the front end of line structure and the backside power delivery network for the benefit of reducing power and maintaining circuit performance.
Regarding Claim 4 – Jung modified by Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
The combination of Jung and Huang further discloses the power supply is connected to the source and drain regions on the second side of the gate (2nd Side in annotated Fig. 7) and the virtual power supply is connected to the source and drain regions on the first side of the gate (1st Side in annotated Fig. 7).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20210202385 A1, hereinafter “Huang”), in view of Akkaya et al (US 20250201281 A1, hereinafter “Akkaya”).
Regarding Claim 8 - Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Huang fails to disclose the gate is connected to a boost signal on the back end of line structure and a backside boost signal line between the backside power delivery network and the front end of line structure.
However, Akkaya discloses the gate is connected to a boost signal on the back end of line structure (by C1’ between 516 and 518 [0039] and Fig. 5) and a backside boost signal line between the backside power delivery network and the front end of line structure (304 formed as C1 between 546 and 548 [0035] and Fig. 5).
Akkaya discloses a transistor IC analogous to Huang. Akkaya teaches capacitively coupling the interconnects on the front and back sides of the IC to boost gate voltage of critical nodes for the benefit of more reliable device performance (Akkaya [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Juan in a kayak to boost gate voltage by capacitively coupling interconnects for the benefit of more reliable device performance.
Regarding Claim 9 - Huang modified by Akkaya discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Huang and Akkaya further discloses the gate comprises a gate extension (1802 [0089] and Fig. 18A) that extends through a shallow trench isolation region of the front end of line structure (902 [0048] and Fig. 18A).
Regarding Claim 10 - Huang modified by Akkaya discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Huang and Akkaya further discloses the gate extension is directly connected to the backside boost signal line (1804 [0090] and Fig. 18A).
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898