DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the definition of the word "match" is made in Applicant's specification, but Applicant's specification states that these are "an example" and therefore not a definition. Regarding claim 1, the claim language is broad enough to include wherein the concentrations match because the concentrations complement one another to form a functional device; wherein "match" can be defined/interpreted as to adapt or suit SO that a balanced or harmonious result is achieved; cause to correspond.
If Applicant amended the claim to require the specifics of Applicant's definition, such an amendment may overcome the current anticipation rejection over Piedra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5,6,10,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Piedra et al. (US20210126120A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig.3 of Piedra teaches a device having a high electron
mobility transistor, the device comprising:
the high electron mobility transistor, the high electron mobility transistor
comprising:
a substrate layer 302 (para.0050); and
a gallium nitride (GaN) based heterostructure (heterostructure formed by layer
308 and layer 310) overlying the substrate layer 302, the GaN-based heterostructure
including:
a channel layer 308 (para.0054) of a first compound semiconductor material 308
disposed proximate to the substrate layer 302; and
a barrier layer 310 (para.0056) of a second compound semiconductor material
disposed adjacent to the channel layer 308 and forming a two-dimensional electron gas
(2DEG) at a junction between the channel layer 308 and the barrier layer 310, the
2DEG having an electron concentration; and
a buried implant region 304 (para.0051) formed by an implanted activated dopant
and disposed at least partially within the substrate layer 302 and extending laterally
from a region underlying a source terminal 318 (para.0058) of the transistor to a region
between a gate 316 (para.0057) and drain 320 (para.0058) terminals of the transistor,
the buried implant region 304 configured to modulate an electric field (para.0053,
wherein the conductive layer 304 can be configured as a back-side field plate to shape
an electric field produced by compound semiconductor device of the integrated
circuit 300) between the gate 316 and drain terminals 320 of the transistor, wherein a
concentration of the activated dopant is matched to an electron concentration of the
2DEG (wherein, the concentrations match because the concentrations complement one
another to form a functional device; wherein "match" can be defined/interpreted as to
adapt or suit so that a balanced or harmonious result is achieved; cause to correspond)
Regarding claim 5, Piedra appears not to explicitly disclose the device of claim
1 wherein the buried implant region is disposed within a vertical distance of 150 to 400
nanometers of the 2DEG.
However, Piedra discloses that the thickness of the high energy bandgap
material overlaps or lies inside the claimed range (paragraphs [0041], [0042], [0050],
[0054]). According to well established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.05, I), "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside
ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Accordingly,
it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said
subject matter pertains to form the high energy bandgap material to have a thickness
between 150nm and 400nm.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 10 of Piedra teaches the device of claim 1, further
comprising the gate terminal 316 (para.0057), wherein the gate terminal 316 includes a
free-standing gate head. Applicant's specification defines a free-standing gate as a T-
gate or T-shaped gate that is not supported by a dielectric. Piedra teaches, in
para.0134, wherein a compound semiconductor device has a T-shaped gate electrical
contact that is surrounded by air gap.
Regarding claim 10, Piedra further teaches the device of claim 1, further
comprising a nucleation layer 306 (para.0054) interposed between the channel layer
308 (para.0054) and the substrate 302 (para.0050), the nucleation layer 306 formed
after a temperature ramp up with nitrogen gas. The process limitation of "the nucleation
layer formed after a temperature ramp up with nitrogen gas" found in product claim 10
invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to
the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP §
2113). Therefore, claim 10 does not require the nucleation layer to be formed by
temperature ramp up with nitrogen gas, but simply that the nucleation layer interposed
between the channel and the substrate.
Regarding claim 19, Fig.3 of Piedra teaches a device having a high electron
mobility transistor, the device comprising:
the high electron mobility transistor, the high electron mobility transistor comprising:
a substrate layer 302 (para.0050);
a buried implant region 304 (para.0051) including first and second dopants
implanted within the substrate layer 302, the buried implant region 304 extending
laterally from a region underlying a source terminal 318 (para.0058) of the transistor to a
region between a gate 316 (para.0057) and drain terminals 320 (para.0058) of the
transistor, the buried implant region 304 (para.0053, wherein the conductive
layer 304 can be configured as a back-side field plate to shape an electric field
produced by compound semiconductor device of the integrated circuit 300) configured
to modulate an electric field between the gate 316 and drain 320 terminals of the
transistor;
a nucleation layer 306 (para.0054) overlying the substrate 302 and the buried
implant region 304;
a channel layer 308 (para.0056) of a first compound semiconductor material
overlying the nucleation layer 306; and
a barrier layer 310 (para.0056) of a second compound semiconductor material
overlying the channel layer 308 and forming a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) at
a first interface between the channel layer 308 and the barrier layer 310;
wherein the channel layer 308 and the nucleation layer 306 are grown to have a
lattice match at a second interface between the nucleation layer 306 and the channel
layer 308 that enables a height of the channel layer 308 and the nucleation layer 306 to
be smaller than a threshold vertical distance between the buried implant region 304 and the 2DEG to enable the buried implant region to modulate an electric field between the
gate 316 (para.0057) and drain 320 (para.0058) terminals, wherein a concentration of at
least one of the first and second dopants is matched to an electron concentration of the
2DEG (wherein, the concentrations match because the concentrations complement one
another to form a functional device; wherein "match" can be defined/interpreted as to
adapt or suit so that a balanced or harmonious result is achieved; cause to
correspond).
Regarding claim 20, Piedra further teaches the transistor of claim 19, wherein
the nucleation layer 306 (para.0054) is formed after a temperature ramp up step using
nitrogen gas. The process limitation of "the nucleation layer formed after a temperature
ramp up with nitrogen gas" found in product claim 10 invokes the product-by-process
doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited
steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Therefore, claim 10 does
not require the nucleation layer to be formed by temperature ramp up with nitrogen gas,
but simply that the nucleation layer interposed between the channel and the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piedra et al. (US20210126120A1) in view of IUCOLANO et al. (US20190229203A1).
Regarding claim 3, Piedra does not teach wherein the concentration of the
activated dopant is matched to the electron concentration of the 2DEG so that a voltage
applied between the gate and drain terminals of the transistor concurrently depletes
respective concentrations of holes and electrons in overlapping regions of the implant
region and the 2DEG.
IUCOLANO teaches, in para.0062, wherein HEMT achieves a good compromise
between high threshold voltage and low ON resistance due to the thermal annealing to
activate dopant impurities in an epitaxial layer with a high concentration
of dopant impurities is carried out following upon a step of selective removal of portions
of said epitaxial layer, and in particular of the portions external to a gate region of the
HEMT. In doing so, the dopant impurities may diffuse only towards regions of
the heterostructure underlying the gate region in order to increase the threshold voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to activate dopant impurities in an epitaxial
layer with a high concentration of dopant impurities, as taught by IUCOLANO, because
in doing so, doing so, the dopant impurities may diffuse only towards regions of the heterostructure underlying the gate region and thus, increases the threshold voltage
(IUCOLANO, [para.0062]).
Regarding claim 4, Piedra does not teach wherein the concentration of the
activated dopant decreases laterally from a region underlying the gate terminal to a
region underlying the drain terminal.
IUCOLANO teaches, in the abstract, wherein thermal annealing of the
doped gate region is carried out so as to cause a diffusion of the dopant impurities of
the P type in the first gate layer and in the heterostructure, with a concentration, in the
heterostructure, that decreases as the lateral distance from the
doped gate region increases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the diffusion of
the dopant impurities towards regions of the heterostructure underlying the gate region,
as taught by IUCOLANO, in order to increase the threshold voltage, whereas it may not
diffuse in the regions of the heterostructure that connect the gate region to
the source and drain regions, thus preventing an increase in the ON state resistance
(IUCOLANO, [para.0062]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piedra et al. (US20210126120A1) in view of Miyoshi et al. (US20050274980A1).
Regarding claim 7, Piedra does not teach wherein the channel layer has a crystalline structure that exceeds a crystal quality threshold to determine a thickness of the heterostructure, wherein the crystal quality threshold is defined by a rocking curve, wherein the rocking curve includes a peak having a full width half max below 300 arc-seconds.
Fig.1 of Miyoshi discloses wherein providing a highly crystalline underlying layer
containing AIN at an interface between a substrate and a GaN layer in a HEMT having
an AIGAN/GaN/GaN heterostructure to improve the crystallinity of a channel layer and
an electron supply layer which are formed on the underlying layer, thereby increasing
the performance of the HEMT (Miyoshi, [para.0008]). Miyoshi further teaches, in paragraph 0040, wherein third semiconductor layer 7 is preferably formed so that the X-ray rocking curve FWHM for the (002) plane is not greater than 250 seconds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the highly crystalline underlying
layer containing AIN at an interface between a substrate and a GaN layer in a HEMT
having an AIGAN/GaN heterostructure, as taught by Miyoshi, to improve the crystallinity
of a channel layer and an electron supply layer which are formed on the underlying
layer, thereby increasing the performance of the HEMT and to have the X-ray rocking curve FWHM for the (002) plane is not greater than 250 seconds in order to provide the appropriate control of the growth conditions of the semiconductor layers with high crystallinity (Miyoshi, [para.0008, 0040]).
Moreover, the limitation is a characteristic of the claim device and not a structural
limitation. Thus, a device such as that of Piedra, as modified by Miyoshi, which
obviously has the same structure as the claimed invention is expected to also have the
claimed characteristics (rocking curve).
Furthermore, it is noted that the claim does not specify a specific threshold, nor
does it disclose variables that were considered to determine the threshold needed in
determining the desired thickness. Thus, a device such as Piedra, as modified by
Miyoshi, having a crystalline channel layer and thickness of the heterostructure would
inherently meet the claimed limitation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piedra et al.
(US20210126120A1) in view of Janzén et al. (US20170365469A1).
Regarding claim 9, Piedra further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the
GaN-based heterostructure (para.0022, wherein heterostructure that includes a first
compound semiconductor and one or more second compound semiconductors can
include an AIN layer coupled with an InAIN layer) includes an aluminum nitride
nucleation layer, and
Piedra does not disclose wherein the aluminum nitride nucleation layer has a
rocking curve with a peak having a full width half max below 100 arc-seconds.
Fig.3b of Janzén discloses rocking curves of the AIN (002) peak of AIN nucleation layers grown by the method disclosed herein using temperature ramp up and by the prior art method, respectively. The AIN (002) peak of the AIN nucleation
layer grown by the present method has a FWHM of 42 arcsec while the AIN (002) peak
of the reference AIN nucleation layer grown by the prior art method is wider and has a
FWHM of 99 arcsec (para.0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Janzén's AIN (002) peak of the
AIN nucleation layer that has a FWHM of 42 arcsec while the AIN (002) peak of the
reference AIN nucleation layer grown by the prior art method is wider and has a FWHM
of 99 arcsec, in the teachings of Piedra because it improves crystallinity of the AIN
nucleation layer (Janzén, [para.0120]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT KIPKEMOI. RONO
Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/V.K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891