243The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the claimed first metal pattern is not identified with a numeral. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The claimed element “the first metal pattern” is not identified with a numeral.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claimed limitation of “a first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, and a second sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of the upper surface of the bit line structure”, as recited in claims 1, 9 and 15, is unclear as to how the first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, because the first conductive pattern is not recited in the detailed description of the disclosure such that one can ascertain how
The first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of
an upper surface of the first metal pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 8, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 2020/0020697 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Chen et al. 2023/0056204 A1 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches in FIG. 6A and related text, a semiconductor
device comprising:
a bit line structure (213, [0069]) on a substrate (201, [0066]);
a lower contact plug (218, [0072]) on a portion of the substrate (201) that is
adjacent to the bit line structure (213);
an upper contact plug (220/224, [0072]/[0075]) including,
a first metal pattern (220, [0072]) on the lower contact plug (218), and
a second metal pattern (224, [0075]) contacting an upper surface of the first
metal pattern (220); and
a capacitor (230, [0064]) on the upper contact plug (220/224),
wherein the upper surface of the first metal pattern (220) is above an upper
surface of the bit line structure (upper surface of 213) with respect to an upper surface
of the substrate (201),
a level of a lowermost surface of the second metal pattern (224) is the same as a
level of an upper surface of a capping pattern (214, [0069]) on the bit line structure
(213).
Kim does not explicitly state that the second metal pattern contacts an exposed
vertical upper sidewall of the first metal pattern; and a level of a lowermost surface of
the second metal pattern is lower than a level of the upper surface of the first metal
pattern with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Chen teaches in FIG. 28 and related text, a landing pad (27, [0100]) contacting
an exposed vertical upper sidewall of a first conductive pattern (25, [0100]); and a level
of a lowermost surface of the landing pad (27) is lower than a level of an upper surface
of the first conductive pattern (25) with respect to the upper surface of a substrate (10,
see FIG. 1, [0040])
Kim and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Chen because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim such that the second
metal pattern contacts an exposed vertical upper sidewall of the first metal pattern; and
a level of a lowermost surface of the second metal pattern is lower than a level of the
upper surface of the first metal pattern with respect to the upper surface of the
substrate, as taught by Chen, in order to increase the contact area between the first
metal pattern and second metal pattern and reduce contact resistance (Chen, [0098]).
Regarding the claimed limitation of “a first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, and a second sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of the upper surface of the bit line structure”, the element “the first metal pattern” is not identified in the disclosure. The abstract of the specification recites “an upper contact plug including a first metal pattern”. Thus, it is understood that the first metal pattern is part of the upper contact plug. As such, since Kim et al. teach that the upper contact plug is element 220/224, then the first metal pattern is part of upper contact plug 220/224. Therefore, Kim et al. teach a first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, and a second sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of the upper surface of the bit line structure, as required by the claims.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device
according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the upper surface of the first metal
pattern (220) is flat (planarization step, [0147]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device
according to claim 1, further comprising: a spacer structure on a sidewall of the bit line
structure, wherein a lower surface of the second metal pattern contacts the upper surface of the bit line structure and an upper surface of the spacer structure.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device
according to claim 1, wherein the bit line structure includes a conductive structure and
an insulation structure that are stacked on the substrate.
Claims 3-5, 9-11, and 13-19, as best understood, are rejected under 35
U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2020/0020697) (hereinafter Kim), Lee et al. in US 2020/0203354 A1 (hereinafter Lee), as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Chen et al. in US 2023/0056204 A1 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device
according to claim 1. Kim does not teach further comprising: a barrier pattern covering
a lower surface of and a lower sidewall of the first metal pattern.
Lee teaches in FIG. 1B and related text, a barrier pattern (157, [0035]) covering a
lower surface and a lower sidewall of a first metal pattern (LPa, [0069]).
Kim and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Lee because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim to include a barrier
pattern covering a lower surface and a lower sidewall of the first metal pattern, as taught
by Lee, in order to prevent electromigration.
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Chen and Lee teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 3. The combined structure of Kim, Chen and
Lee further teaches wherein a lower surface of the second metal pattern contacts an
upper surface of the barrier pattern.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Chen and Lee teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 3. Lee teaches wherein the upper surface of
the barrier pattern (surface of 157 contacting layer 170) has a constant height
(planarization step, [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches in FIG. 6A and related text, A semiconductor
device comprising:
a bit line structure (213, [0069]) on a substrate (201, [0066]);
a lower contact plug (218, [0072]) on a portion of the substrate (201) that is
adjacent to the bit line structure (213);
an upper contact plug (220/224, [0072]/[0075]) including,
a first metal pattern (220, [0072]) on the lower contact plug (218),
a second metal pattern (224, [0075]) contacting an upper surface of the first
metal pattern (220); and
a capacitor (230, [0064]) on the upper contact plug (220/224),
wherein the upper surface of the first metal pattern (wherein a level of a
lowermost surface of the second metal pattern (224) is the same as level of an upper
surface of a capping pattern (214, [0069]) on the bit line structure.
Kim does not teach a barrier pattern covering a lower surface and a lower
sidewall of the first metal pattern; the second metal pattern contacting an exposed
upper vertical sidewall of the first metal pattern and an upper surface of the barrier
pattern; wherein the upper surface of the barrier pattern is planar, and wherein a level of
a lowermost surface of the second metal pattern is lower than a level of the upper
surface of the first metal pattern with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Lee teaches in FIG. 1B and related text, a barrier pattern (157, [0035]) covering a
lower surface and a lower sidewall of a first metal pattern (LPa, [0069]), wherein the
upper surface of the barrier pattern (surface of 157 contacting layer 170) is planar
(planarization step, [0069]).
Chen teaches in FIG. 28 and related text, a landing pad (27, [0100]) contacting
an exposed vertical upper sidewall of a first conductive pattern (25, [0100]); and a level
of a lowermost surface of the landing pad (27) is lower than a level of an upper surface
of the first conductive pattern (25) with respect to the upper surface of a substrate (10,
see FIG. 1, [0040])
Kim, Lee and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Chen because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim:
1) to include a barrier pattern covering a lower surface and a lower sidewall of
the first metal pattern, wherein the upper surface of the barrier pattern is
planar, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent electromigration, and
2) such that the second metal pattern contacts an exposed vertical upper
sidewall of the first metal pattern; and a level of a lowermost surface of the
second metal pattern is lower than a level of the upper surface of the first
metal pattern with respect to the upper surface of the substrate, as taught by
Chen, in order to increase the contact area between the first metal pattern
and second metal pattern and reduce contact resistance (Chen, [0098]).
Regarding the claimed limitation of “a first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, and a second sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of the upper surface of the bit line structure”, see analysis above.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 9. Kim further teaches wherein the upper
surface of the first metal pattern (220) is flat (planarization step, [0147]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 9, further comprising:
a spacer structure on a sidewall of the bit line structure,
wherein a lower surface of the second metal pattern contacts an upper surface of
the bit line structure and an upper surface of the spacer structure.
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 9. Kim further teaches wherein an upper
surface of the first metal pattern (220) is above an upper surface of the bit line structure
(upper surface of 213) with respect to an upper surface of the substrate (201).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 9, wherein the bit line structure includes a
conductive structure and an insulation structure that are stacked on the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches in FIGS. 5, 6B and related text, a
semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern (203, FIG. 6B, [0066]) on a substrate (201, FIG. 6B, [0066]);
a gate structure (205/206/207, FIG. 6B, [0067]) buried in an upper portion of the
active pattern (203), the gate structure (205/206/207) extending in a first direction (X,
FIG. 5) that is parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (201);
a bit line structure (213/214, FIG. 6B, [0069]) on a central upper surface of the
active pattern (203) and extending in a second direction (Y, FIG. 5, noting 213 is part of
element BL, [0064]) that is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (201) and
perpendicular to the first direction (Y);
a spacer structure (216, FIG. 6B, [0070]) on a sidewall of the bit line (213/214)
structure;
a contact plug structure (218/219/220/224, FIG. 6B, [0072]/[0072]/[0075]) on each of opposite end portions of the active pattern (203); and
a capacitor (230, FIG. 6B, [0064]) on the contact plug structure
(218/219/220/224),
wherein the contact plug structure (218/219/220/224) includes,
a lower contact plug (218, [0072]),
a metal silicide pattern (219, [0072]) on the lower contact plug (218),
a first metal pattern (220, [0072]); and
a second metal pattern (224, [0075]) contacting an upper surface of the first
metal pattern (220) and upper surfaces of the bit line structure (213/214) and the spacer
structure (216), and
a level of a lowermost surface of the second metal pattern (224) is the same as a
level of an upper surface of a capping pattern (214, [0069]) on the bit line structure.
Kim does not explicitly teach a barrier pattern on the metal silicide pattern; a
lower surface and a lower sidewall of the first metal pattern are covered by the barrier
pattern; the second metal pattern contacting an upper sidewall of the first metal pattern,
and wherein the upper surface of the first metal pattern is above the upper surface of
the bit line structure with respect to an upper surface of the substrate, and a level of a
lowermost surface of the second metal pattern is lower than a level of the upper surface
of the first metal pattern with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Lee teaches in FIG. 1B and related text, a barrier pattern (157, [0035]) on a metal
silicide pattern (155, [0037]), wherein a lower surface and a lower sidewall of a first
metal pattern (LPa, [0069]) are covered by the barrier pattern (157).
Chen teaches in FIG. 28 and related text, a landing pad (27, [0100]) contacting
an exposed vertical upper sidewall of a first conductive pattern (25, [0100]), wherein an
upper surface of the first conductive pattern (25, [0100]) is above the upper surface of a
bit line structure (21, [0053]) with respect to an upper surface of the substrate (10, see
FIG. 1, [0040]); and a level of a lowermost surface of the landing pad (27) is lower than
a level of an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (25) with respect to the upper
surface of a substrate (10).
Kim, Lee and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Chen because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim:
1) to include a barrier pattern on the metal silicide pattern, wherein a lower
surface and a lower sidewall of the first metal pattern are covered by the
barrier pattern, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent electromigration, and
2) such that the second metal pattern contacts an upper sidewall of the first
metal pattern, and wherein the upper surface of the first metal pattern is
above the upper surface of the bit line structure with respect to an upper
surface of the substrate; and a level of a lowermost surface of the second
metal pattern is lower than a level of the upper surface of the first metal
pattern with respect to the upper surface of the substrate, as taught by Chen,
in order to increase the contact area between the first metal pattern and
second metal pattern and reduce contact resistance (Chen, [0098]).
Regarding the claimed limitation of “a first sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of an upper surface of the first metal pattern, and a second sidewall of the second metal pattern is in contact with an inner portion of the upper surface of the bit line structure”, see analysis above.
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 15. Kim further teaches wherein the active
pattern (203) is one of a plurality of active patterns (FIG. 5 shows a plurality) that are
spaced apart from each other in the first (X) and second directions (Y), each of the
plurality of active patterns (203) extending in a third direction (D3, annotated FIG. 5
below) parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (201) and having an acute angle
with the first (X) and second directions (Y), and the gate structure (205/206/207) is one of a plurality of gate structures (plurality shown in FIG. 5) that are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Y), and the bit line structure (213/214) is one of a plurality of bit line structures (plurality of BL shown in FIG. 5) that are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (X).
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 16. Kim further teaches wherein the contact
plug structure (218/219/220/224) is one of a plurality of contact plug structures (plurality
shown in FIG. 5) that are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Y), the
plurality of contact plug structures (218/219/220/224) arranged in a honeycomb pattern
in a plan view (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 15. Kim further teaches wherein the upper
surface of the first metal pattern (220) is flat (planarization step, [0147]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 15.
Lee teaches wherein the upper surface of the barrier pattern (surface of 157
contacting layer 170) has a constant height (planarization step, [0069]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et
al. in U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0020697 A1 (hereinafter Kim)
and Chen et al. in US 2023/0056204 A1 (hereinafter Chen) and in view of Han in
U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0035096 A1 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Chen teaches substantially the entire
claimed semiconductor device according to claim 1. Kim as modified by Chen does not
explicitly teach wherein the second metal pattern has an upper portion having a first
width and a lower portion having a second width greater than the first width.
Han teaches in FIG. 2B a metal pattern 40A1, [0050]), wherein the metal pattern
(40A1) has an upper portion (40a, [0050]) having a first width and a lower portion (40b,
[0050]) having a second width greater than the first width, in order to minimize the
space between contacts in a memory device ([0103]).
Kim, Chen, and Han are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed at semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the combined structure of Kim
and Chen in view of Han because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined structure of Kim and Han
such that the second metal pattern has an upper portion having a first width and a lower
portion having a second width greater than the first width, as taught by Han, with the
purpose of minimizing the space between contacts in a memory device (Han, [0103]).
Claims 12 and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as
being unpatentable over Kim et al. in U.S. Patent Application Publication US
2020/0020697 A1 (hereinafter Kim), Lee et al. in US 2020/0203354 A1 (hereinafter
Lee), and Chen et al. in US 2023/0056204 A1 (hereinafter Chen), and in view of
Han in U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0035096 A1 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen substantially teaches the
entire claimed semiconductor device according to claim 9. Kim as modified by Lee and
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second metal pattern has an upper portion
having a first width and a lower portion having a second width greater than the first
width.
Han teaches in FIG. 2B a metal pattern 40A1, [0050]), wherein the metal pattern
(40A1) has an upper portion (40a, [0050]) having a first width and a lower portion (40b,
[0050]) having a second width greater than the first width, in order to minimize the
space between contacts in a memory device ([0103]).
Kim and Han are analogous art because they both are directed at semiconductor
memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable
expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Han because they are from the same
field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second metal pattern as taught by Kim
such that the second metal pattern has an upper portion having a first width and a lower
portion having a second width greater than the first width, as taught by Han, with the
purpose of minimizing the space between contacts in a memory device (Han, [0103]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified by Lee and Chen teaches the
semiconductor device according to claim 15. Kim as modified by Lee and Chen does
not explicitly teach wherein the second metal pattern has an upper portion having a first
width and a lower portion having a second width greater than the first width.
Han teaches in FIG. 2B a metal pattern 40A1, [0050]), wherein the metal pattern
(40A1) has an upper portion (40a, [0050]) having a first width and a lower portion (40b,
[0050]) having a second width greater than the first width, in order to minimize the
space between contacts in a memory device ([0103]).
Kim and Han are analogous art because they both are directed at semiconductor
memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable
expectation of success to modify Kim in view of Han because they are from the same
field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second metal pattern as taught by Kim
such that the second metal pattern has an upper portion having a first width and a lower
portion having a second width greater than the first width, as taught by Han, with the
purpose of minimizing the space between contacts in a memory device (Han, [0103]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
8/13/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800