Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The amendment filed 11/13/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 7, 11-15, 26, 32-33, 38, 46, 57, 60, 71, 75, and 82-83 remain pending. No claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7,11-15, 26, 32,33, 38, 46, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kendall et al. (WO2021062475A1; hereinafter known as “Kendall”). Regarding claim 1 and 32, Kendall teaches a microneedle array (See Kendall Figure 5) for use in sensing cortisol (See Kendall [0350], a small molecule from the group consisting of cortisol), comprising: a plurality of solid microneedles (See Kendall [0225] [0227] Figure 7B), wherein at least one microneedle of the plurality of solid microneedles comprises: a tapered distal portion having an insulated distal apex (See Kendall [0058] Figure 7B [0505], insulating layer 512.1); and an annular working electrode located on a surface of the tapered distal portion that is proximal to the insulated distal apex (See Kendall Figure 7B part 512.3), wherein the working electrode is configured to generate a sensor signal that is indicative of a concentration of cortisol in the dermal interstitial fluid when contacting the dermal interstitial fluid (See Kendall [0505], the electrical signal is communicated midway along the structure). Regarding claim 2, Kendall teaches wherein the working electrode comprises an electrode material (See Kendall Figure 7B part 512.3) and a biorecognition layer arranged at least partially over the electrode material, wherein the biorecognition layer comprises an aptamer that selectively and reversibly binds to cortisol (See Kendall [0019], aptamer coating the microstructure). Regarding claim 3, Kendall teaches wherein the aptamer is tethered directly or indirectly to the electrode material via a linker (See Kendall [0323], aptamer attached via linker ). Regarding claim 7 and 38, Kendall teaches the microneedle array of claim 2, wherein: the electrode material comprises gold (See Kendall [0341], gold coated electrodes), and the aptamer is tethered to the electrode material via a thiol link (See Kendall [0029] [0030]). Regarding claim 11, Kendall teaches that the biorecognition layer comprises a conductive polymer layer arranged at least partially over the electrode material (See Kendall [0047]); and the aptamer is tethered to the conductive polymer layer (See Kendall [0323], the aptamer comprises a moiety for attaching via linker such as a polymer; [0268], [0569]). Regarding claim 12, Kendall teaches that the aptamer is tethered to the conductive polymer layer via an amide linker (See Kendall [0267][00321-0323][0327-0329], the aptamer is attached via a polymer, which can be made from various materials, [0268], [0569]). Regarding claim 13, Kendall teaches the electrode material comprises a silicon; and the aptamer is tethered to the electrode material via a silane linker (See Kendall [0047][0269][0391], the microstructures include at least one of silicone) . Regarding claim 14, Kendall teaches the electrode material comprises carbon and the aptamer is tethered to the electrode material via an amide (See Kendall [0267][00321-0323][0327-0329], the aptamer is attached via a polymer, which can be made from various materials). Regarding claim 15 and 46, Kendall the aptamer is covalently bound to a redox-active molecule at the 3' end or the 5' end of the aptamer such that selective binding of the cortisol to the aptamer and a resulting conformational change of the aptamer changes the proximity between the redox-active molecule and a surface of the electrode material to modulate electron transfer between the redox-active molecule and the electrode material, thereby generating the sensor signal (See Kendall [0024-0025][0309][0314] also see [0328], the redox moiety may be attached at any suitable point on the aptamer provided that the conformational change ). Regarding claim 26 and 57, Kendall teaches the annular working electrode is an annular electrode comprises a proximal edge and a distal edge (See Kendall [0056]), and the distal edge of the annular working electrode is proximate a proximal edge of the insulated distal apex (See Kendall [0058] Figure 7B [0505], insulating layer 512.1).
Regarding claim 33, Kendall teaches the working electrode comprises an electrode material (See Kendall Figure 7B part 512.3) and a biorecognition layer arranged at least partially over the electrode material (See Kendall [0019], aptamer coating the microstructure), wherein the biorecognition layer comprises an aptamer that selectively and reversibly binds to cortisol (See Kendall [0020], the aptamer selectively binds [0350] [, the analyte may be cortisol).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60, 71, 75, 82 and 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall in view of Utter et al. (US20150186609A1; hereinafter known as “Utter”). Regarding claim 60, Kendall teaches a cortisol monitoring device comprising: a wearable housing comprising a user interface (See Kendall [0429]); and the microneedle array of claim 1, extending outwardly from the wearable housing (See Kendall [0040][0103]). Kendall is silent to wherein the user interface comprises one or more indicator lights, each other one or more indicator lights configured to be selectively illuminated responsive to the signal.Utter teaches a wearable device to determine a user’s status and further teaches the user interface comprises one or more indicator lights, each other one or more indicator lights configured to be selectively illuminated responsive to the signal (See Utter [0096, device has a user interface with lights that determine user’s mood dependent on user’s mood). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide Kendall with one or more indicator lights, each other one or more indicator lights configured to be selectively illuminated responsive to the signal as taught by Utter to inform user of their psychological state (See Utter [0100-0101]). Regarding claim 71, Kendall teaches the cortisol monitoring device is a skin adhered patch (See Kendall [0086], adhesive patch) Regarding claim 75, Kendall teaches determining a user status based on the signal (See Kendall [0429]). Kendall is silent to and selectively illuminating one or more indicator, lights based on the user status. Utter teaches selectively illuminating one or more indicator, lights based on the user status (See Utter [0096, device has a user interface with lights that determine user’s mood dependent on user’s mood). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide Kendall with selectively illuminating one or more indicator, lights based on the user status as taught by Utter to inform user of their psychological state. Regarding claim 82, Kendall teaches the user status (See Kendall [0429]). Kendall is silent to is a psychological state of the user. Utter teach a psychological state of user (See Utter [0096, device has a user interface with lights that determine user’s mood dependent on user’s mood). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide Kendall a psychological state of user as taught by Utter to inform user of their psychological state (See Utter [0100-0101]).
Regarding claim 83, Kendall is silent to the psychological state is a degree of stress of the user. Utter teach a psychological state is a degree of stress of the user (See Utter [0096][0100-0101], device has a user interface with lights that determine user’s mood dependent on user’s mood). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide Kendall the psychological state is a degree of stress of the user. Utter teach a psychological state is a degree of stress of the user as taught by Utter to further monitor the psychological state of user (See Utter [0100-0101]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Kendall fails to teach annular electrodes and further fails to teach electrodes on the tapered surface. Examiner disagrees. Paragraphs 0502-0507 clearly note that electrodes can be annular and any other configuration. Further, paragraph 0505 notes that there can be ports within the insulating layer – which imply the electrode to be on the tapered portion. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAY SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JAY B SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791