DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant filed a petition on 1/5/26 requesting review and reconsideration of the Restriction Requirement.
Claims 8 and 9, previously withdrawn from consideration as a result of a restriction requirement, are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on new references Kawabata and Williamson for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “leadframe” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “printed circuit board” or “substrate with interconnects” while the accepted meaning of such a package substrate (in the specification of this application) is “a routable/molded leadframe.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0138131 (Kawabata), cited by Applicant.
Kawabata discloses (Figs. 1, 2, 6, 20)
1. (Currently Amended) A module, comprising:
an integrated circuit (IC) die 31;
a leadframe 20 having conductive channels 25 and contact pads 23;
solder elements 24 coupled between the IC die 31 and the contact pads 23 of the leadframe 20;
an insulative layer (on front surface 21) between the solder elements 24; and
magnetic-molding compound (MMC) filler 5 / 6 ([0081]) between the IC die 31 and the insulative layer (on front surface 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0207435 (Williamson) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0170247 (Shekhawat).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Williamson discloses (Figs. 15, 16)
1. (Currently Amended) A module, comprising:
an integrated circuit (IC) die 120;
a leadframe 101 having conductive channels 108 / 103 and contact pads 124;
solder elements 122 coupled between the IC die 120 and the contact pads 124 of the leadframe 101;
an insulative layer 116 between the solder elements 122; and
filler 1506 / 1606 between the IC die 120 and the insulative layer 116.
Williamson fails to disclose
magnetic-molding compound (MMC) filler.
Shekhawat teaches
A module, comprising:
magnetic-molding compound (MMC) filler 118 / 120.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use MMC filler in Williamson. The motivation would be so the filler material may be cured by heating at a lower temperature. Curing the filler surrounds the solder elements and protects them and the connection between the die and the insulative layer, as well as assist in supporting the die on the leadframe, as taught by Shekhawat ([0002], [0008]). See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson in view of Shekhawat as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. 2006-165303 (Sato).
The combination of references fails to teach
2. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the MMC filler between the IC die and the insulative layer is limited by a thickness of the insulative layer.
Sato teaches
A module, comprising:
wherein a thickness of the filler 40 / 42 between the IC die 10 and the insulative layer 22 is limited by a thickness SR of the insulative layer 22.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to limit the thickness of the filler in the modified device of Williamson. The motivation would be to prevent damage on an active surface by completely packing a filler between a die and an insulative layer even if the height of a solder element reduces in accordance with a narrow pitch processing of a die as taught by Sato.
Shekhawat and Sato teach
3. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 2, wherein the thickness of the insulative layer 22 is based on a target gap G between the IC die 10 and the leadframe 20 and a threshold particle size Q / 42 of the MMC filler 118 / 120.
Shekhawat and Sato teaches
4. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 3, wherein the target gap G is selected to limit particles Q / 42 of the MMC filler 118 / 120 between the IC die 10 and the insulative layer 22 to less than the threshold particle size.
Sato teaches
5. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 comprises solder resist.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use solder resist in the modified device of Williamson. The motivation would be solder resist is well-known and suitable insulative layer when combined with solder elements in the module art as taught by Sato. See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Sato teaches
6. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 partially exposes the contact pads 24.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to partially expose the pads in the modified device of Williamson. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering design considerations and suitability as taught by Sato. See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Sato teaches
7. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 has a layout based on an outline of the contact pads 24.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson in view of Shekhawat as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0006259 (Inoue).
The combination of references fails to teach
8. (Original) The module of claim 1, further comprising a coil having a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to a first solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, the second end coupled to a second solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, wherein a core of the coil includes the MMC filler.
Inoue teaches
A module comprising:
a coil 202 having a first end 212a and a second end 212b, the first end 210a coupled to a first solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, the second end 212b coupled to a second solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, wherein a core 210 of the coil 202 includes the MMC filler (encapsulating the coil 202, [0020]; fill the space withing coil 202, such as the core 210, [0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a coil in the modified device of Williamson. The motivation would be to form a system to support a particular application, such as proximity sensing, energy storage, actuation, power transmission, and filtering as taught by Inoue ([0016]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson in view of Shekhawat as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0197621 (Meyyappan).
The combination of references fails to teach
9. (Original) The module of claim 1, wherein the IC die includes switching converter components.
Meyyappan teaches (Fig. 6A)
A module comprising:
wherein the IC die 216 includes switching converter components.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to partially expose the pads in the modified device of Williamson. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering design considerations and suitability as taught by Meyyappan ([0035]). See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. 2006-165303 (Sato).
Kawabata fails to teach
2. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the MMC filler between the IC die and the insulative layer is limited by a thickness of the insulative layer.
Sato teaches
A module, comprising:
wherein a thickness of the filler 40 / 42 between the IC die 10 and the insulative layer 22 is limited by a thickness SR of the insulative layer 22.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to limit the thickness of the filler in Kawabata. The motivation would be to prevent damage on an active surface by completely packing a filler between a die and an insulative layer even if the height of a solder element reduces in accordance with a narrow pitch processing of a die as taught by Sato.
Kawabata and Sato teach
3. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 2, wherein the thickness of the insulative layer 22 is based on a target gap G between the IC die 10 and the leadframe 20 and a threshold particle size Q / 42 of the MMC filler 5 / 6.
Kawabata and Sato teaches
4. (Currently Amended) The module of claim 3, wherein the target gap G is selected to limit particles Q / 42 of the MMC filler 5 / 6 between the IC die 10 and the insulative layer 22 to less than the threshold particle size.
Sato teaches
5. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 comprises solder resist.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use solder resist in Kawabata. The motivation would be solder resist is well-known and suitable insulative layer when combined with solder elements in the module art as taught by Sato. See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Sato teaches
6. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 partially exposes the contact pads 24.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to partially expose the pads in Kawabata. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering design considerations and suitability as taught by Sato. See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Sato teaches
7. The module of claim 1, wherein the insulative layer 22 has a layout based on an outline of the contact pads 24.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0006259 (Inoue).
Kawabata fails to teach
8. (Original) The module of claim 1, further comprising a coil having a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to a first solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, the second end coupled to a second solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, wherein a core of the coil includes the MMC filler.
Inoue teaches
A module comprising:
a coil 202 having a first end 212a and a second end 212b, the first end 210a coupled to a first solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, the second end 212b coupled to a second solder element of the solder elements and a respective contact pad of the contact pads, wherein a core 210 of the coil 202 includes the MMC filler (encapsulating the coil 202, [0020]; fill the space withing coil 202, such as the core 210, [0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a coil in Kawabata. The motivation would be to form a system to support a particular application, such as proximity sensing, energy storage, actuation, power transmission, and filtering as taught by Inoue ([0016]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0197621 (Meyyappan).
Kawabata fails to teach
9. (Original) The module of claim 1, wherein the IC die includes switching converter components.
Meyyappan teaches (Fig. 6A)
A module comprising:
wherein the IC die 216 includes switching converter components.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to partially expose the pads in Kawabata. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering design considerations and suitability as taught by Meyyappan ([0035]). See MPEP 2144.03 and 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0307345 (Hou), 2022/0157744 (Chiang), 2020/0211760 (Brassfield), 2017/0200554 (Kudo) teach a module having a filler.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893