DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, direct to Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 02/20/2026 is acknowledged and is under consideration. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn by the Applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) is filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok Eng Cheah et al, (hereinafter CHEAH), US 20210183776 A1, in view of Eng Huat Goh et al, (hereinafter GOH), US 20190013303 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, CHEAH teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 400, circuit package) comprising:
a semiconductor package (Fig. 4, 442, IC package substrate) comprising a first surface (Fig. 4, 443, die side), an opposing second surface (Fig. 4, 441, land side), and a side wall (annotated Figure 4);
a printed circuit board (Fig. 4, 456, board) coupled to the second surface (Fig. 4, 441, land side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 4, 442, IC package substrate); and
at least one passive component array (annotated Figure 4) comprising one or more passive components (Fig. 4, 412/476, passive device) at least partially embedded in a mold layer (Fig. 4, 420, molding layer), each passive component (Fig. 4, 412/476, passive device) further comprising a first terminal (annotated Figure 4) and a second terminal (annotated Figure 4).
CHEAH does not explicitly disclose, an electronic assembly comprising: wherein the first terminal of the passive component is coupled to the printed circuit board, and the passive component array is attached to the side wall of the semiconductor package.
GOH teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly) comprising:
wherein the first terminal (Fig. 7, 426, second terminal) of the passive component (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 7, 450, PCB), and
the passive component array (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is attached to the side wall (Fig. 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHEAH to incorporate the teachings of GOH, such that an electronic assembly comprising: wherein the first terminal of the passive component is coupled to the printed circuit board, and the passive component array is attached to the side wall of the semiconductor package. The above arrangement of the capacitor (422) may include a first terminal (424) electrically coupled with the conductive routing region (418) and connected to second terminal (426), therefore enabling the decoupling with PCB edge capacitors for the improvement of the device signal integrity (GOH, [0037], [0002]).
Regarding Claim 3, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly), wherein the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate) further comprises a stiffener (Fig. 7, 402) coupled to the first surface (Fig. 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate), the stiffener (Fig. 7, 402) having a side surface (annotated Figure 7) that is proximal to the side wall (annotated Figure 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate), and wherein the second terminal (Fig. 7, 424, first terminal) of the passive component (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is coupled to the side surface (annotated Figure 7) of the stiffener (Fig. 7, 402).
Regarding Claim 4, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly) comprises 4 passive component arrays (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly), wherein each passive component array (annotated Figure 1) comprises 3 passive components (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly), wherein the one or more passive components (annotated Figure 1) comprise one or more capacitors (Fig. 1, 114/120/126, first/second/third capacitor).
Regarding Claim 10, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly), further comprising one or more electronic components (Fig. 7, 414, IC die) coupled to the first surface (Fig. 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate), wherein the first terminal (Fig. 7, 426, second terminal) of the passive component (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is coupled to the one or more electronic components (Fig. 7, 462/460, interconnect structures (e.g. solder balls)) through the second surface (Fig. 7, 408, second side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate).
Regarding Claim 11, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 10.
GOH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, IC package assembly), wherein the one or more electronic components (Fig. 11, 800, computing device) comprise a central processing unit (Fig. 11, 804, processor, CPU, [0050], [0057], [0059], [0062]), a system-on-chip (Fig. 11, chipset, [0094]), a graphic processing unit (Fig. 11, 804, processor, Graphics CPU, [0050], [0057], [0059], [0062]), a deep learning processor (Fig. 11, 804, processor, CPU, [0050], [0057], [0059], [0062]), or a neural network processor (Fig. 11, 804, processor, CPU, [0050], [0057], [0059], [0060], [0062]).
CHEAH further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 400, circuit package), wherein the one or more electronic components (Fig. 6, 600, computing system) comprise a central processing unit (Fig. 6, 605/610, processor, [0092-0101]), a system-on-chip (Fig. 6, 620, chipset, [0094]), a graphic processing unit (Fig. 6, 605/610, processor, [0074], [0092-0101]), a deep learning processor (Fig. 6, 605/610, processor, [0092-0101]), or a neural network processor (Fig. 6, 666, network interface/processor, [0092-0101]).
Regarding Claim 12, CHEAH teaches a computing device (Fig. 6, 600, computing system) comprising:
a printed circuit board (Fig. 4, 456, board); and
an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 400, circuit package) coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 4, 456, board), the electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 400, circuit package) comprising:
a semiconductor package (Fig. 4, 442, IC package substrate) comprising a first surface (Fig. 4, 443, die side), an opposing second surface (Fig. 4, 441, land side), and a side wall (annotated Figure 4), wherein the second surface (Fig. 4, 441, land side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 4, 442, IC package substrate) is coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 4, 456, board); and
at least one passive component array (annotated Figure 4) comprising one or more passive components (Fig. 4, 412/476, passive device) at least partially embedded in a mold layer (Fig. 4, 420, molding layer), each passive component (Fig. 4, 412/476, passive device) further comprising a first terminal (annotated Figure 4) and a second terminal (annotated Figure 4).
CHEAH does not explicitly disclose a computing device comprising: wherein the first terminal of the passive component is coupled to the printed circuit board and the passive component array is attached to the side wall of the semiconductor package.
GOH teaches a computing device (Fig. 11, 800) comprising: wherein the first terminal (Fig. 7, 426, second terminal) of the passive component (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 7, 450, PCB), and
the passive component array (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is attached to the side wall (Fig. 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHEAH to incorporate the teachings of GOH, such that a computing device comprising: wherein the first terminal of the passive component is coupled to the printed circuit board, and the passive component array is attached to the side wall of the semiconductor package. The above arrangement of the capacitor (422) may include a first terminal (424) electrically coupled with the conductive routing region (418) and connected to second terminal (426), therefore enabling the decoupling with PCB edge capacitors for the improvement of the device signal integrity (GOH, [0037], [0002]).
Regarding Claim 14, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the computing device of claim 12.
GOH further teaches the computing device (Fig. 11, 800), wherein the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate) further comprises a stiffener (Fig. 7, 402) coupled to the first surface (Fig. 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate), the stiffener (Fig. 7, 402) having a side surface (annotated Figure 7) that is proximal to the side wall (annotated Figure 7, 406, first side) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, 404, package substrate), and wherein the second terminal (Fig. 7, 424, first terminal) of the passive component (Fig. 7, 422, capacitor) is coupled to the side surface (annotated Figure 7) of the stiffener (Fig. 7, 402).
Regarding Claim 15, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 12.
GOH further teaches the computing device (Fig. 11, 800), wherein the one or more passive components (annotated Figure 1) comprise one or more capacitors (Fig. 1, 114/120/126, first/second/third capacitor).
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEAH, in view of GOH, and further in view of Lei Shan, (hereinafter SHAN), US 20170367176 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
CHEAH as modified by GOH does not explicitly disclose the electronic assembly, further comprising a binding material adhering to a corner of the semiconductor package, wherein the binding material at least partially encapsulates the passive component array.
SHAN teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 2F, 220F, substrate structures), further comprising a binding material (Fig. 2F, 252, resin) adhering to a corner (annotated Figure 2F) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 2F, 226, substrate body), wherein the binding material (Fig. 2F, 252, resin) at least partially encapsulates (annotated Figure 2F) the passive component array (Figs. 1/2F, 100, MLC capacitor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHEAH as modified by GOH to incorporate the teachings of SHAN, such that the electronic assembly, further comprising a binding material adhering to a corner of the semiconductor package, wherein the binding material at least partially encapsulates the passive component array, so that the binding material or the sufficient resin is applied to minimize or eliminate air pockets from the space between MLC capacitor, 100 and interior sidewall 242, of cavity, 240 (SHAN, [0046]).
Regarding Claim 13, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the computing device of claim 12.
CHEAH as modified by GOH does not explicitly disclose the computing device, further comprising a binding material adhering to a corner of the semiconductor package, wherein the binding material at least partially encapsulates the passive component array.
SHAN teaches the computing device (semiconductor devices, [0023]), further comprising a binding material (Fig. 2F, 252, resin) adhering to a corner (annotated Figure 2F) of the semiconductor package (Fig. 2F, 226, substrate body), wherein the binding material (Fig. 2F, 252, resin) at least partially encapsulates (annotated Figure 2F) the passive component array (Figs. 1/2F, 100, MLC capacitor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHEAH as modified by GOH to incorporate the teachings of SHAN, such that the computing device, further comprising a binding material adhering to a corner of the semiconductor package, wherein the binding material at least partially encapsulates the passive component array, so that the binding material or the sufficient resin is applied to minimize or eliminate air pockets from the space between MLC capacitor, 100 and interior sidewall 242, of cavity, 240 (SHAN, [0046]).
Claim(s) 7-8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEAH, in view of GOH, and further in view of Anne Leahy et al, (hereinafter LEAHY), US 20030110452 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
CHEAH as modified by GOH does not explicitly disclose the electronic assembly, further comprising a voltage regulator coupled to the printed circuit board, wherein the voltage regulator is further coupled to the first terminal of the passive component and to the second surface of the semiconductor package.
LEAHY teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 5, 100, package assembly), further comprising a voltage regulator (Fig. 5, 51, voltage regulator module or VRM) coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 5, 120, PCB), wherein the voltage regulator (Fig. 5, 51, voltage regulator module or VRM) is further coupled to the first terminal (annotated Figure 5) of the passive component (Fig. 5, 128, bulk capacitor) and to the second surface (annotated Figure 5, [0022]) of the semiconductor package (Figure 5, 150, substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHEAH as modified by GOH to incorporate the teachings of LEAHY, such that the electronic assembly, further comprising a voltage regulator coupled to the printed circuit board, wherein the voltage regulator is further coupled to the first terminal of the passive component and to the second surface of the semiconductor package, so that a voltage regulator module (VRM) supplies the power to the package assembly through conductive pathways comprising vias, PTHs, and planes formed in the substrate and the PCB (LEAHY, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 8, CHEAH as modified by GOH and LEAHY teaches the electronic assembly of claim 7.
LEAHY further teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 5, 100, package assembly), wherein the voltage regulator (Fig. 5, 51, voltage regulator module or VRM) is further coupled to the first terminal (annotated Figure 5) of the passive component (Fig. 5, 128, bulk capacitor) via a board routing (annotated Figure 5) in the printed circuit board (Fig. 5, 120, PCB).
Regarding Claim 16, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the computing device of claim 12.
CHEAH as modified by GOH does not explicitly disclose the computing device, further comprising a voltage regulator coupled to the printed circuit board, wherein the voltage regulator is further coupled to the first terminal of the passive component and to the second surface of the semiconductor package.
LEAHY teaches the computing device (Fig. 1, electronic package assembly, [0007]), further comprising a voltage regulator (Fig. 5, 51, voltage regulator module or VRM) coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 5, 120, PCB), wherein the voltage regulator (Fig. 5, 51, voltage regulator module or VRM) is further coupled to the first terminal (annotated Figure 5) of the passive component (Fig. 5, 128, bulk capacitor) and to the second surface (annotated Figure 5, [0022]) of the semiconductor package (Figure 5, 150, substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHEAH as modified by GOH to incorporate the teachings of LEAHY, such that the computing device, further comprising a voltage regulator coupled to the printed circuit board, wherein the voltage regulator is further coupled to the first terminal of the passive component and to the second surface of the semiconductor package, so that a voltage regulator module (VRM) supplies the power to the package assembly through conductive pathways comprising vias, PTHs, and planes formed in the substrate and the PCB (LEAHY, [0021]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEAH, in view of GOH, and further in view of Bok Eng Cheah et al, (hereinafter CHEAH2), US 20200083170 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, CHEAH as modified by GOH teaches the electronic assembly of claim 1.
CHEAH as modified by GOH does not explicitly disclose the electronic assembly, wherein the first terminal of the passive component is associated to a power supply reference voltage (Vcc), and the second terminal of the passive component is associated to a ground reference voltage (Vss).
CHEAH2 teaches the electronic assembly (Fig. 1, 100, semiconductor device), wherein the first terminal (annotated Figure 1) of the passive component (Fig. 1, 140) is associated to a power supply reference voltage (Vcc) (Fig. 1, 122), and the second terminal (annotated Figure 1) of the passive component (Fig. 1, 140) is associated to a ground reference voltage (Vss) (Fig. 1, 124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHEAH as modified by GOH to incorporate the teachings of CHEAH2, such that the electronic assembly, wherein the first terminal of the passive component is associated to a power supply reference voltage (Vcc), and the second terminal of the passive component is associated to a ground reference voltage (Vss), so that the above arrangement mitigate the increase of inductance loop, and any unwanted noise due to signal jittering and further increase the device performance (CHEAH2, [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200128673 A1 – Figure 1B
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The voltage regulator (116) is couple to the second surface of the device package substrate (20) and the terminals of the passive devices (114).
US 20200350262 A1 – Figure 9, [0099]
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Separate passive components such as capacitors, inductors, or the like, in addition to the semiconductor chips, (121) and (123) may be disposed in the first and second through-holes (110HA) and (110HB).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812