DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed June 27, 2026. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20220115473 A1) herein after “Han” in view of Kim et al. (US 20230061355 A1) herein after “Kim” and Sung et al. (US 10541380 B1) herein after “Sung”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 3 of Han disclose a display apparatus (Fig. 1, display mother plate 100, ¶ [0004]) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, substrate 10, ¶ [0077]) including a display area (Fig. 3, display region 310, ¶ [0004]), a cutting region (Fig. 3, inner cutting region 420, ¶ [0075]), and a non-display area (Fig. 3, peripheral circuit region 320, peripheral region 330, ¶ [0075]) between the display area (310) and the cutting region (420);
a light-emitting element (Fig. 3, organic light emitting layer 25, ¶ [0076]) disposed on a plurality of pixels in the display area (310);
one or more cut-out parts (Fig. 3, multiple partition posts 203, ¶ [0100]), a first dam (Fig. 3, first dam foundation 201, ¶ [0100]) and a second dam (Fig. 3, second dam foundation 202, ¶ [0100]) disposed in the non-display area (320, 330);
a plurality of insulating films (Fig. 3, first insulating layer 11, second insulating layer 13, third insulating layer 15, fourth insulating layer 16, ¶ [0077]) disposed on the substrate (10) and disposed under the light-emitting element (25), the cut-out parts (203), and the first dam (201) and the second dam (202);
a plurality of transistors (Fig. 3, first transistor 101, second transistor 102, ¶ [0076]) between the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) and the light-emitting element (25);
a planarization layer (Fig. 3, first flat layer 20, second flat layer 21, ¶ [0076]) between the plurality of transistors (101, 102) and the light-emitting element (25);
a crack prevention structure (Fig. 3, crack dam 33, ¶ [0077]) disposed between the cutting region (420) and at least one of the first dam (201) and the second dam (202),
wherein one or more lower structure parts (portion of 33 between the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33) are disposed in an area in which at least a portion of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed,
wherein the material directly contacts side surfaces of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) exposed by the removal of the at least a portion of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16),
wherein the one or more cut-out parts (203) comprise a first cut-out part (portion of 203 left of gap 34), and a second cut-out part (portion of 203 right of gap 34), and
the first cut-out part (portion of 203 left of gap 34) and the second cut-out part (portion of 203 right of gap 34) each comprise a plurality of cut-out structures.
Han fails to disclose that the cutting region is for a camera hole;
the crack prevention structure is formed of an organic material identical to that of the planarization layer, and
wherein the first cut-out part is disposed between the first dam and the camera hole, and the second cut-out part is disposed between the first dam and the second dam, the second dam being disposed adjacent to the display area.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Figs. 5-6 of Kim discloses that the cutting region is for a camera hole (Fig. 5, opening 10H, ¶ [0068]) (“the opening area OA is cut along a cutting line CL by using a method such as laser cutting, the display panel 10 may include the opening 10H”, ¶ [0221], “The opening area OA may be a component area (e.g., a sensor area, a camera area”, ¶ [0074]); and
wherein the first cut-out part (Fig. 6, third portion 230c, ¶ [0161]) disposed between the first dam (Fig. 6, second partition PW2, ¶ [0103]) and the camera hole (10H), and a second cut-out part (230c) disposed between the first dam (PW2) and the second dam (Fig. 6, first partition PW1, ¶ [0103]), the second dam (PW1) being disposed adjacent to the display area (Fig. 6, display area DA, ¶ [0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the camera hole and cut-out parts as disclosed by Kim, to provide additional functionality and prevent damage (see Kim, ¶ [0075] and [0157]).
Kim fails to disclose the crack prevention structure is formed of an organic material identical to that of the planarization layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses the crack prevention structure (Fig. 21, first to fourth grooves G1-G4, col. 10, lines 18-19 and col. 22, lines 13-14) is formed of an organic material (Fig. 21, planarization layer 610, col. 7, line 26) identical to that of the planarization layer (Fig. 21, organic insulating layer 209, col. 12, line 13) (Sung discloses that layer 610 can be a polymer-based material, such as polyimide, col. 42, lines 39-41. The planarization film is organic insulating layer 209, which is also described as polyimide, col. 12, line 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the materials as disclosed by Sung, to obtain the desired transparency properties (see Sung, col. 42, lines 41-42) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein an upper structure part (portion of 33 above the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33) is disposed on the one or more lower structure parts (portion of 33 between the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33).
Regarding claim 3, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 2 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) comprise a lower buffer layer (Fig. 3, second insulating layer 13, ¶ [0077]).
Han and Kim fail to disclose wherein the plurality of insulating films comprise a multi-buffer layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses wherein the plurality of insulating films (Fig. 21, second inorganic layer 104, buffer layer 201, gate insulating layer 203, first interlayer insulating layer 205, col. 16, lines 46-47 and 61-62) comprise a multi-buffer layer (Fig. 21, “the second inorganic layer 104, which has a multi-layered structure”, col. 27, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the materials as disclosed by Sung, to protect the device from damage (see Sung, col. 11, lines 6-10) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 4, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 3 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the area in which at least a portion of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed corresponds to a region in the non-display area (320, 330) from which the multi-buffer layer (102) and the lower buffer layer (13) are removed.
Regarding claim 6, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 2 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) comprise a gate insulating film (Fig. 3, third insulating layer 15, ¶ [0076]) and an interlayer insulating film (Fig. 3, fourth insulating layer 16, ¶ [0076]) (“third insulating layer are called gate insulating (GI) layers, the fourth insulating layer is called an interlayer insulating (ILD)”, ¶ [0115]).
Regarding claim 7, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 6 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the area in which at least a portion of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed corresponds to a region in the non-display area (320, 330) from which the gate insulating film (15) and the interlayer insulating film (16) are removed.
Regarding claim 9, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above, but Han and Kim fail to disclose wherein the crack prevention structure is disposed in the first cut-out part.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses wherein the crack prevention structure (G2-G4) is disposed in the first cut-out part (Fig. 21, between dam 500 and opening 10H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the arrangement as disclosed by Sung, to protect the device from damage (see Sung, col. 19, lines 54-56).
Regarding claim 11, Figs. 1 and 3 of Han disclose a display apparatus (100) comprising:
a substrate (10) comprising a non-display area (320, 330) disposed between a opening (420) and a display area (310);
a plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) disposed in the display area (310) and the non-display area (320, 330) (“all of the above insulating layers are inorganic insulating layers”, ¶ [0077]);
an organic light-emitting stack (Fig. 3, “organic light emitting layer 25”, ¶ [0101]) disposed on the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) to correspond to the display area (310);
a plurality of transistors (101, 102) between the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) and the organic light-emitting stack (25);
a planarization layer (20, 21) between the plurality of transistors (101, 102) and the organic light-emitting stack (25);
one or more cut-out parts (203), a first dam (201) and a second dam (202) disposed on the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) to correspond to the non-display area (320, 330); and
wherein one or more lower structure parts (portion of 33 between the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33) are disposed in an area in which at least a portion of the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed,
wherein the material directly contacts side surfaces of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) exposed by the removal of the at least a portion of the plurality of insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16),
the first cut-out part (portion of 203 left of gap 34) and the second cut-out part (portion of 203 right of gap 34) each comprise a plurality of cut-out structures.
Han fails to disclose that the cutting region is for a camera hole;
a crack prevention structure disposed in the one or more cut out parts;
the crack prevention structure is formed of an organic material identical to that of the planarization layer, and
wherein the first cut-out part is disposed between the first dam and the camera hole, and the second cut-out part is disposed between the first dam and the second dam, the second dam being disposed adjacent to the display area.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Figs. 5-6 of Kim discloses that the cutting region is for a camera hole (Fig. 5, opening 10H, ¶ [0068]) (“the opening area OA is cut along a cutting line CL by using a method such as laser cutting, the display panel 10 may include the opening 10H”, ¶ [0221], “The opening area OA may be a component area (e.g., a sensor area, a camera area”, ¶ [0074]);
a crack prevention structure (Fig. 6, openings 222oh1, 222oh2, and 222oh3, ¶ [0165]) disposed in the one or more cut out parts (230C); and
wherein the first cut-out part (Fig. 6, third portion 230c, ¶ [0161]) disposed between the first dam (Fig. 6, second partition PW2, ¶ [0103]) and the camera hole (10H), and a second cut-out part (230c) disposed between the first dam (PW2) and the second dam (Fig. 6, first partition PW1, ¶ [0103]), the second dam (PW1) being disposed adjacent to the display area (Fig. 6, display area DA, ¶ [0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the camera hole and cut-out parts as disclosed by Kim, to provide additional functionality and prevent damage (see Kim, ¶ [0075] and [0157]).
Kim fails to disclose the crack prevention structure is formed of an organic material identical to that of the planarization layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses the crack prevention structure (Fig. 21, first to fourth grooves G1-G4, col. 10, lines 18-19 and col. 22, lines 13-14) is formed of an organic material (Fig. 21, planarization layer 610, col. 7, line 26) identical to that of the planarization layer (Fig. 21, organic insulating layer 209, col. 12, line 13) (Sung discloses that layer 610 can be a polymer-based material, such as polyimide, col. 42, lines 39-41. The planarization film is organic insulating layer 209, which is also described as polyimide, col. 12, line 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the materials as disclosed by Sung, to obtain the desired transparency properties (see Sung,col. 42, lines 41-42) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 11 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein an upper structure part (portion of 33 above the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33) is disposed on the one or more lower structure parts (portion of 33 between the insulating layers) of the crack prevention structure (33).
Regarding claim 13, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 12 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) comprise a lower buffer layer (Fig. 3, second insulating layer 13, ¶ [0077]).
Han and Kim fail to disclose wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating films comprise a multi-buffer layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating films (Fig. 21, second inorganic layer 104, buffer layer 201, gate insulating layer 203, first interlayer insulating layer 205, col. 16, lines 46-47 and 61-62) comprise a multi-buffer layer (Fig. 21, “the second inorganic layer 104, which has a multi-layered structure”, col. 27, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the materials as disclosed by Sung, to protect the device from damage (see Sung, col. 11, lines 6-10) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 14, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 13 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the area in which at least a portion of the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed corresponds to a region in the non-display area (320, 330) from which the multi-buffer layer (102) and the lower buffer layer (13) are removed.
Regarding claim 16, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 12 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) comprise a gate insulating film (Fig. 3, third insulating layer 15, ¶ [0076]) and an interlayer insulating film (Fig. 3, fourth insulating layer 16, ¶ [0076]) (“third insulating layer are called gate insulating (GI) layers, the fourth insulating layer is called an interlayer insulating (ILD)”, ¶ [0115]).
Regarding claim 17, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 16 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the area in which at least a portion of the plurality of inorganic insulating films (11, 13, 15, 16) is removed corresponds to a region in the non-display area (320, 330) from which the gate insulating film (15) and the interlayer insulating film (16) are removed.
Regarding claim 19, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 11 as applied above, but Han and Kim fail to disclose wherein the crack prevention structure is disposed in the first cut-out part.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 21 of Sung discloses wherein the crack prevention structure (G2-G4) is disposed in the first cut-out part (Fig. 21, between dam 500 and opening 10H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Han with the arrangement as disclosed by Sung, to protect the device from damage (see Sung, col. 19, lines 54-56).
Regarding claim 20, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above, but Han and Sung fail to disclose wherein the plurality of transistors includes a first transistor and a second transistor, and the second transistor is disposed on a gate electrode of the first transistor.
In the similar field of endeavor of display apparatuses, Fig. 6 of Kim discloses wherein the plurality of transistors (Fig. 6, first transistor T1 and the third transistor T3, ¶ [0125]) includes a first transistor (T1) and a second transistor (T3), and the second transistor (T3) is disposed on a gate electrode (Fig. 6, first gate electrode GE1, ¶ [0112]) of the first transistor (T1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sung with the transistors as disclosed by Kim, to obtain the desired electrical characteristics (see Kim, ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 21, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 20 as applied above, but Han and Sung fail to disclose wherein the plurality of insulating films includes a lower interlayer insulating film disposed between the gate electrode of the first transistor and the second transistor.
In the similar field of endeavor of display apparatuses, Fig. 6 of Kim discloses wherein the plurality of insulating films (Fig. 6, buffer layer 201, first gate insulating layer 203, first interlayer insulating layer 205, second interlayer insulating layer 207, second gate insulating layer 209, ¶ [0110-0122]) includes a lower interlayer insulating film (Fig. 6, interlayer insulating layer 207, ¶ [0118]) disposed between the gate electrode (GE1) of the first transistor (T1) and the second transistor (T3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sung with the transistors as disclosed by Kim, to obtain the desired electrical characteristics (see Kim, ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 22, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 20 as applied above, but Han and Sung fail to disclose wherein the planarization layer includes a first planarization layer disposed on the plurality of transistors, and a second planarization layer disposed on the first planarization layer, and a connection electrode is disposed on the first planarization layer between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display apparatuses, Fig. 6 of Kim discloses wherein the planarization layer includes a first planarization layer (Fig. 6, interlayer insulating layer 210, ¶ [0123]) disposed on the plurality of transistors (T1, T3), and a second planarization layer (Fig. 6, organic insulating layer 211, ¶ [0127]) disposed on the first planarization layer (210), and a connection electrode (Fig. 6, connection line 166, ¶ [0086]) is disposed on the first planarization layer (210) between the first planarization layer (210) and the second planarization layer (211).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sung with the transistors as disclosed by Kim, to obtain the desired electrical characteristics (see Kim, ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 23, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 3 of Han further discloses wherein the planarization layer (20, 21) includes a first planarization layer (Fig. 3, first flat layer 20, ¶ [0075]) disposed on the plurality of transistors (101, 102), and a second planarization layer (Fig. 3, second flat layer 21, ¶ [0075]) disposed on the first planarization layer (20), and a connection electrode (Fig. 3, first connection electrode 106, ¶ [0076]) is disposed on the first planarization layer (20) between the first planarization layer (20) and the second planarization layer (21).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220115473 A1), Kim (US 20230061355 A1) and Sung (US 10541380 B1) in view of Seo et al. (US 20190334120 A1) herein after “Seo”.
Regarding claim 10, Han, Kim and Sung together disclose the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above, but the combination fails to disclose wherein the crack prevention structure is disposed in the second cut-out part.
In the similar field of endeavor of display panels, Fig.9B of Seo discloses wherein the crack prevention structure (Fig. 9B, “the first blocking groove BR1-F is filled with the organic layer 33-F”, ¶ [0157]) is disposed in the second cut-out part (BR1-F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Sung to include the crack prevention structure as disclosed by Seo, to increase crack resistance (see Seo, ¶ [0157]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893