DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US Publication 20230282684).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7, BSL);
an active layer disposed on the substrate (Fig. 7, SCP), wherein the active layer comprises a channel portion and two conductive portions located at two sides of the channel portion (Fig. 7, channel portion SCP3 and two conductive portions at either side SCP1 and SCP2);
a first conductive layer disposed at one side of the active layer close to or away from the substrate, wherein the first conductive layer comprises a gate electrode (Fig. 7, GE), and a projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate overlaps with a projection of the channel portion projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, GE overlaps SCP3); and
a second conductive layer disposed at one side of the active layer away from the substrate, the second conductive layer comprising a source electrode connected to one of the conductive portions (Fig. 7, TE1 conductive portion ALE1 source electrode);
wherein the source electrode is disposed in a different layer from a drain electrode connected to the other one of the conductive portions (Fig. 7, source electrode ALE1 in different layer than drain electrode TE2), and the source electrode extends toward the drain electrode such that a projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate overlaps with the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig 7, BNK area including LD above where source electrode ALE1 projection extends toward TE2 and overlaps with gate electrode GE, see also Fig. 5, ALE1 overlaps BNK, para 124);
wherein the projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate completely covers the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, ALE1 projection on substrate completely covers GE);
wherein the first conductive layer further comprises the drain electrode which is in the same layer as and spaced apart from the gate electrode (Fig. 7, drain electrode TE2 is spaced apart from and in the same layer as GE), and a first gap is defined between a projection of the drain electrode projected on the substrate and the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, gap between TE2 and GE)
wherein a material of the drain electrode is same as a material of the gate electrode (para 159, GE and TE2 formed of "molybdenum (Mo), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), chrome (Cr), gold (Au), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), indium (In), tin (Sn), and an oxide or alloy thereof").
wherein the second conductive layer further comprises a first electrode portion which is in the same layer as and spaced apart from the source electrode (Fig. 4-7, ALE2 in same layer as and spaced apart from ALE1), and the first electrode portion is connected to the drain electrode (para 100-102; drain TE2 is connected to VSS – see figure 4 specifically as the bottom/drain of diode is connected to VSS, and paragraphs 100-102 describe ALE2 connected to VSS through ELT5, therefore, the first electrode portion ALE2 has an electrical connection to drain electrode TE2); the projection of the source electrode on the substrate overlaps the first gap (Fig. 7, ALE1 overlaps gap between TE2 and GE).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends.
Lee teaches wherein the first conductive layer is disposed between the second conductive layer and the active layer (Fig. 7, GE, TE1 and TE2 disposed between ALE1 and SCP), and the display panel further comprises:
a passivation layer disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (Fig. 7, PSV between conductive layers);
wherein each of the conductive portions comprises a first conductive portion and a second conductive portion, the second conductive portion is disposed between the first conductive portion and the channel portion, a projection of the second conductive portion projected on the substrate overlaps the first gap (Fig. 12, SCP2 and ST2 overlapping gap between TE2 and GE), and a concentration of hydrogen in the second conductive portion is higher than a concentration of hydrogen in the channel portion (para 150, "SCP1 may function as a source area and may be a first conductive area doped with a corresponding impurity. The second area SCP2 may function as a drain area and may be a second conductive area doped with a corresponding impurity. The third area SCP3 may function as a channel area and may be an area doped with no impurity" where hydrogen is the impurity dopant for the materials of SCP listed in para 149 "oxide semiconductor, at least one of indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium gallium oxide (IGO), and indium gallium tin oxide (IGTO), and indium zinc oxide (IZO)").
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 3 upon which claim 4 depends.
Lee teaches a barrier layer disposed on one side of the passivation layer away from the substrate, wherein a material of the barrier layer comprises at least one of aluminum oxide or titanium oxide (Fig. 7, VIA, para 163, "silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiOxNy), aluminum nitride (AlNx), aluminum oxide (AlOx), zirconium oxide (ZrOx), hafnium oxide (HfOx), or titanium oxide (TiOx)").
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 5 depends.
Lee teaches a second gap is defined between a projection of the first electrode portion projected on the substrate and a projection of the active layer projected on the substrate, and the projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate overlaps the second gap (Fig. 5 and 7, gap defined by ALE2 and SCP projections along z axis overlapped by ALE1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 6 depends.
Lee teaches wherein a material of the source electrode and a material of the first electrode portion both comprise at least one of metal or metal oxide (para 166, electrodes ALE of metal or metal oxide).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7, BSL);
an active layer disposed on the substrate (Fig. 7, SCP), wherein the active layer comprises a channel portion and two conductive portions located at two sides of the channel portion (Fig. 7, channel portion SCP3 and two conductive portions at either side SCP1 and SCP2);
a first conductive layer disposed at one side of the active layer close to or away from the substrate, wherein the first conductive layer comprises a gate electrode (Fig. 7, GE), and a projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate overlaps with a projection of the channel portion projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, GE overlaps SCP3); and
a second conductive layer disposed at one side of the active layer away from the substrate, the second conductive layer comprising a source electrode connected to one of the conductive portions (Fig. 7, TE1 conductive portion ALE1 source electrode);
wherein the source electrode is disposed in a different layer from a drain electrode connected to the other one of the conductive portions (Fig. 7, source electrode ALE1 in difference layer than drain electrode TE2), and a projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate overlaps with the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, source electrode ALE1 projection overlaps with gate electrode GE);
wherein the projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate completely covers the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, source electrode ALE1 projection completely covers gate GE);
wherein the first conductive layer further comprises the drain electrode which is in the same layer as and spaced apart from the gate electrode (Fig. 7, drain electrode TE2 in same layer and spaced apart from gate electrode GE), and a first gap is defined between a projection of the drain electrode projected on the substrate and the projection of the gate electrode projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, gap between TE2 and GE);
wherein a material of the drain electrode is same as a material of the gate electrode (para 159, GE and TE2 formed of "molybdenum (Mo), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), chrome (Cr), gold (Au), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), indium (In), tin (Sn), and an oxide or alloy thereof"), and the projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate overlaps the first gap (Fig. 7, ALE1 overlaps gap between TE2 and GE).
wherein the second conductive layer further comprises a first electrode portion which is in the same layer as and spaced apart from the source electrode (Fig. 4-7, ALE2 in same layer as and spaced apart from ALE1), and the first electrode portion is connected to the drain electrode (para 100-102; drain TE2 is connected to VSS – see figure 4 specifically as the bottom/drain of diode is connected to VSS, and paragraphs 100-102 describe ALE2 connected to VSS through ELT5, therefore, the first electrode portion ALE2 has an electrical connection to drain electrode TE2); and
wherein a second gap is defined between a projection of the first electrode portion projected on the substrate and a projection of the active layer projected on the substrate, and the projection of the source electrode projected on the substrate overlaps the second gap (Fig. 5 and 7, gap defined by ALE2 and SCP projections along z axis overlapped by ALE1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the limitation of claim 8 upon which claim 12 depends.
Lee teaches wherein the first conductive layer is disposed between the second conductive layer and the active layer, and the display panel further comprises (Fig. 7, GE, TE1 and TE2 disposed between ALE1 and SCP):
a passivation layer disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (Fig. 7, PSV between conductive layers);
wherein each of the conductive portions comprises a first conductive portion and a second conductive portion, the second conductive portion is disposed between the first conductive portion and the channel portion , a projection of the second conductive portion projected on the substrate overlaps the first gap (Fig. 12, SCP2 and ST2 overlapping gap between TE2 and GE), and a concentration of hydrogen in the second conductive portion is higher than a concentration of hydrogen in the channel portion (para 150, "SCP1 may function as a source area and may be a first conductive area doped with a corresponding impurity. The second area SCP2 may function as a drain area and may be a second conductive area doped with a corresponding impurity. The third area SCP3 may function as a channel area and may be an area doped with no impurity" where hydrogen is the impurity dopant for the materials of SCP listed in para 149 "oxide semiconductor, at least one of indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium gallium oxide (IGO), and indium gallium tin oxide (IGTO), and indium zinc oxide (IZO)").
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 12 upon which claim 13 depends.
Lee teaches a barrier layer disposed on one side of the passivation layer away from the substrate, wherein a material of the barrier layer comprises at least one of aluminum oxide or titanium oxide (Fig. 7, VIA, para 163, "silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiOxNy), aluminum nitride (AlNx), aluminum oxide (AlOx), zirconium oxide (ZrOx), hafnium oxide (HfOx), or titanium oxide (TiOx)").
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 15 depends.
Lee teaches wherein a material of the source electrode and a material of the first electrode portion both comprise at least one of metal or metal oxide (para 166, electrodes ALE of metal or metal oxide).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 16 depends.
Lee teaches a first gate insulating layer disposed between the active layer and the first conductive layer (Fig. 7, GI between SCP layer and TE3/GE layer).
a passivation layer disposed between the drain electrode and the second conductive layer (Fig. 7, PSV between TE2 layer and ALE1 layer).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 18 depends.
Lee teaches a first gate insulating layer disposed between the active layer and the first conductive layer (Fig. 7, GI);
a passivation layer disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (Fig. 7, PSV between TE2 and ALE1); and
a light shielding layer disposed at one side of the active layer close to the substrate (Fig. 7, BML1), wherein a projection of the light shielding layer projected on the substrate covers a projection of the active layer projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, BML1 projection covers SCP projection);
wherein the drain electrode and the light shielding layer are arranged in the same layer (Fig. 7, BML1 and TE2 in BFL layer).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 19 depends.
Lee teaches a light shielding layer disposed at one side of the active layer close to the substrate (Fig. 7, BML1, para 92 “light-shielding pattern”), wherein a projection of the light shielding layer projected on the substrate covers a projection of the active layer projected on the substrate (Fig. 7, BML1 projection covers SCP projection), and one end of the light shielding layer is connected to at least one of the source electrode or the drain electrode (Fig. 7, BML1 electrically connected to source ALE1).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 20 depends.
Lee teaches an electronic terminal, wherein the electronic terminal comprises the display panel of claim 8 (Fig. 3, PNL, para 78).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re 102 rejection of claims 1 and 8 applicant argues:
Lee does not disclose the claimed different layer architecture where the source electrode is disposed in a different layer from the drain electrode. Lee discloses a source electrode (Fig. 7, ALE1 electrically connected to the source portion of M1, para 125, is an electrode directed connected to the source electrode, therefore can be broadly considered ‘part of the source’ electrode) disposed in a different layer (Fig. 7, ALE1 disposed on VIA layer) from the drain electrode (Fig. 7, drain electrode TE2 disposed on GI layer). It seems that many of the following arguments are all derived from the argument that ALE cannot broadly be considered at least part of the source electrode. It is recommended that Applicant create a claim language describing the complete structure of the source layer and positions of all elements of the source level.
Lee does not disclose that the source electrode extends toward the drain electrode. Lee discloses the source electrode extends toward the drain electrode (Fig. 7, ALE1 projection extends toward TE2). Lee para 124 states "electrodes ALE may at least partially overlap the above-stated bank BNK. The first to third electrodes ALE1, ALE2, and ALE3 each may extend in the second direction (the Y-axis direction), and may be spaced apart from each other in the first direction (the X-axis direction), and may be successively located.". As shown in Lee figs. 5 and 7, ALE1 extends along the x and y axis along the sample section A-A'.
Lee does not disclose that the source electrode projection completely covers the gate electrode. Lee discloses the source electrode projection completely covers the gate electrode (Fig. 7, ALE1 projection completely covers GE).
Lee does not disclose a first electrode portion in the second conductive layer that is in the same layer as the source electrode and spaced apart from it (Fig. 4-7, ALE2 in same layer as and spaced apart from ALE1).
Lee does not disclose the source electrode portion projection overlaps the first gap. Lee discloses a first gap (Fig. 7, gap between TE2 and GE) and the source electrode projection overlaps the first gap (Fig. 5 and 7, ALE1 projection overlaps gap between TE2 and GE).
Lee does not disclose a second gap defined by the first electrode portion and the active layer. Lee discloses a second gap defined by the first electrode portion and the active layer (Fig. 5 and 7, second gap defined by ALE2 and SCP projections along z axis overlapped by ALE1).
The 102 rejection of claims 1 and 8 relies on reconstruction. Application of the broadest reasonable interpretation to Lee as cited and viewed in combination with the limitations of the instant application has not resulted in reconstruction of the device of LEE. Rather, the device of LEE and that of the instant application have been structurally evaluated to that structure as cited in the specification and figures cited. While it is understood that figures are not drawn to scale, if a figure clearly shows a limitation, especially of one element covering the other, then prior art figure reads on the claimed invention in the broadest reasonable interpretation. Figure 7 shows the projection of the gate electrode (GE) is fully covered by the projection of the source electrode (ALE1) in the x direction. Understanding that someone looking down from the z direction would see that the source electrode covers the gate electrode in the x direction. Applicant is invited to more clearly claim the extent of the coverage in specific directions, etc … to clearly articulate the difference between present invention and the prior art to Lee.
As to the technical arguments, please define in the claim language the structure associated with the technical argument to overcome the prior art rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818