DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The argument that
In response to applicant's argument that Crowell’s battery management method relies on individual battery management systems (BMS), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the batteries are solely controlled by the external battery control unit) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner suggests amending the claim to clarify that the plurality of battery systems do not have individual controllers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowell (US 20050275372 A1) in view of Park (US 20150194707 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Crowell teaches a battery management method integrated into a power supply system (Fig. 1) for smart start and controlling charge balance, comprising:
providing the power supply system, wherein the power supply system comprises a power supply device (microprocessor 145 and DC voltage in, see at least ¶[67] and Fig. 1) and a plurality of battery systems (105, 110, 115 … 140) connected in parallel (see Fig. 1), wherein the power supply device comprises a battery control unit, and the battery control unit is directly communicatively and electrically connected to each of the plurality of battery systems (see Fig. 1 and 6, ¶[43] “The RS232 serial bus 175 talks to microprocessor 145 and all eight of batteries 105, 110, 115, 120, 125, 130, 135, 140 through multiplexor (MUX) 180”), and configured to control the charging or discharging of each of the plurality of battery systems (¶[29] “The system of the invention combines a multitude of smart battery packs in a parallel arrangement in order to provide greater current than is possible with a single pack, while controlling the charging and discharging of the packs”);
detecting an actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems by the battery control unit (¶[30] “The process of the present invention depends on the ability to measure the charge state, current, voltage, and temperature from each individual battery pack. In a preferred embodiment, smart battery packs are used, as they provide all of this data in real time over a two-wire bus back to the controller”);
controlling the start of battery systems with a low actual voltage for charging or discharging by the battery control unit;
and controlling the start of battery systems with a high actual voltage by the battery control unit after the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems is balanced (¶[8] “The state of each pack is monitored, and a pack that is at too high a charge is isolated from its parallel group, charging of the pack being suppressed until the other packs are charged to a level sufficient to allow balanced current-sharing” suppressing a high charge battery pack is the same as charging low-charge battery packs first),
automatically recognize a charging current limit of each started battery system by the battery control unit ([Abstract] “the specification limits for current and voltage of individual packs are maintained through microprocessor control of the battery pack charging circuits”);
Crowell does not teach adjusting the charging current limit by the battery control unit according to an actual current of each started battery system,
wherein adjusting the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system by the battery control unit comprises:
acquiring a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems
setting a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems;
and feedback adjusting the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel.
Park teaches adjusting the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system by the battery control unit (¶[116] “The battery management unit 22 may provide the integrated controller 15 with information about the maximum charge allowable current. The integrated controller 15 may control the converter 14 to charge current that is lower than the maximum charge allowable current to the converter 14”),
wherein adjusting the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system by the battery control unit comprises:
acquiring a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems (¶[116] “When the sub-batteries are additionally coupled, the battery management unit 22 may determine the maximum charge allowable current based on the number of sub-batteries being coupled in parallel”);
setting a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems (see ¶[116] quoted above);
and feedback adjusting the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel (¶[116] “The battery management unit 22 may provide the integrated controller 15 with information about the maximum charge allowable current. The integrated controller 15 may control the converter 14 to charge current that is lower than the maximum charge allowable current to the converter 14”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide adjusting the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system,
wherein adjusting the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system comprises:
acquiring a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems
setting a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems;
and feedback adjusting the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel,
in order to charge the batteries while avoiding damage from overcurrent.
Regarding Claim 2, Crowell in view of Park teaches the battery management method according to claim 1.
Crowell as modified does not teach wherein controlling the start of battery systems with a low actual voltage, comprising:
acquiring a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems
judging whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel;
if yes, starting battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage;
if not, starting each battery system with the minimum actual voltage.
Park teaches wherein controlling the start of battery systems with a low actual voltage, comprising:
acquiring a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems (¶[45] “The battery management unit 130 may periodically detect the battery voltage of the batteries 110. For example, the battery management unit 130 may detect the battery voltage of each of batteries 110 at regular intervals”, ¶[17] “The plurality of batteries may include a first battery having a lowest module voltage, and a second battery having a second lowest module voltage”);
judging whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel (¶[57] “When the difference between the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 and that of the second battery 110_2 is smaller than the threshold value”);
if yes, starting battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage (¶[57] “When the difference between the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 and that of the second battery 110_2 is smaller than the threshold value as the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 increases, the battery management unit 130 may be configured to concurrently (e.g., simultaneously) charge the first and second batteries 110_1 and 110_2 by closing the second module switch 120_2. According to the above-described method, the battery management unit 130 may be configured to couple all the batteries 110 in parallel by closing all the module switches 120.”);
if not, starting each battery system with the minimum actual voltage (¶[50] “For example, assume that the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 is the lowest, the battery voltage of the second battery 110_2 is the second lowest … The battery management unit 130 may close the first module switch 120_1 corresponding to the first battery 110_1 having the lowest battery voltage”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell in view of Park to further incorporate the teachings of Park to provide acquiring a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems
judging whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel;
if yes, starting battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage; if not, starting each battery system with the minimum actual voltage, in order to passively balance the batteries and increase the efficiency and life of the battery packs.
Regarding Claim 7, Crowell teaches power supply system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a power supply device (microprocessor 145, chargers 150-165, and DC voltage in, see at least ¶[67] & Fig. 1) and a plurality of battery systems (105, 110, 115 … 140) connected in parallel (see Fig. 1),
wherein the power supply device comprises a battery control unit (145), and the battery control unit is directly communicatively and electrically connected to each of the plurality of battery systems (see Fig. 1 and 6, ¶[43] “The RS232 serial bus 175 talks to microprocessor 145 and all eight of batteries 105, 110, 115, 120, 125, 130, 135, 140 through multiplexor (MUX) 180”), and configured to control charging or discharging of each of the plurality of battery systems (¶[29] “The system of the invention combines a multitude of smart battery packs in a parallel arrangement in order to provide greater current than is possible with a single pack, while controlling the charging and discharging of the packs”);
wherein the battery control unit is configured to:
detect an actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems (¶[30] “The process of the present invention depends on the ability to measure the charge state, current, voltage, and temperature from each individual battery pack. In a preferred embodiment, smart battery packs are used, as they provide all of this data in real time over a two-wire bus back to the controller”);
control the start of battery systems with a low actual voltage for charging or discharging;
control the start of battery systems with a high actual voltage after the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems is balanced (¶[8] “The state of each pack is monitored, and a pack that is at too high a charge is isolated from its parallel group, charging of the pack being suppressed until the other packs are charged to a level sufficient to allow balanced current-sharing” suppressing a high charge battery pack is the same as charging low-charge battery packs first),
automatically recognize a charging current limit of each started battery system ([Abstract] “the specification limits for current and voltage of individual packs are maintained through microprocessor control of the battery pack charging circuits”);
Crowell does not teach wherein the battery control unit is configured to:
adjust the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system,
acquire a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems;
set a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems;
and feedback adjust the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel.
Park teaches wherein the battery control unit is configured to:
adjust the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system (¶[116] “The battery management unit 22 may provide the integrated controller 15 with information about the maximum charge allowable current. The integrated controller 15 may control the converter 14 to charge current that is lower than the maximum charge allowable current to the converter 14”),
acquire a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems (Park ¶[116] “When the sub-batteries are additionally coupled, the battery management unit 22 may determine the maximum charge allowable current based on the number of sub-batteries being coupled in parallel”, see rationale for Claim 3);
set a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems (see ¶[116] quoted above);
and feedback adjust the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel (Park ¶[116] “The battery management unit 22 may provide the integrated controller 15 with information about the maximum charge allowable current. The integrated controller 15 may control the converter 14 to charge current that is lower than the maximum charge allowable current to the converter 14”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide wherein the battery control unit is configured to:
adjust the charging current limit according to an actual current of each started battery system,
acquire a charging current limit of each started battery system according to the number of the started battery systems;
set a total charging current limit of the plurality of battery systems connected in parallel according to the charging current limit of each of the started battery systems;
and feedback adjust the total charging current limit according to the actual current of each of the started battery system such that the total charging current limit satisfies an allowable current limit when the battery systems are connected in parallel
in order to prevent overcurrent that can damage the batteries.
Regarding Claim 8, Crowell teaches the power supply system according to claim 7.
Crowell does not teach that the battery control unit is further configured to:
acquire a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems;
judge whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel;
if yes, start battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage;
if not, start each battery system with the minimum actual voltage.
Park teaches that the battery control unit is further configured to:
acquire a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems (¶[45] “The battery management unit 130 may periodically detect the battery voltage of the batteries 110. For example, the battery management unit 130 may detect the battery voltage of each of batteries 110 at regular intervals”, ¶[17] “The plurality of batteries may include a first battery having a lowest module voltage, and a second battery having a second lowest module voltage”);
judge whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel (¶[57] “When the difference between the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 and that of the second battery 110_2 is smaller than the threshold value”);
if yes, start battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage (¶[57] “When the difference between the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 and that of the second battery 110_2 is smaller than the threshold value as the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 increases, the battery management unit 130 may be configured to concurrently (e.g., simultaneously) charge the first and second batteries 110_1 and 110_2 by closing the second module switch 120_2. According to the above-described method, the battery management unit 130 may be configured to couple all the batteries 110 in parallel by closing all the module switches 120.”);
if not, start each battery system with the minimum actual voltage (¶[50] “For example, assume that the battery voltage of the first battery 110_1 is the lowest, the battery voltage of the second battery 110_2 is the second lowest … The battery management unit 130 may close the first module switch 120_1 corresponding to the first battery 110_1 having the lowest battery voltage”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell in view of Park to further incorporate the teachings of Park to provide the battery control unit is further configured to:
acquire a minimum actual voltage according to the actual voltage of each of the plurality of battery systems;
judge whether a difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than an allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel;
if yes, start battery systems in which the difference between the actual voltage of each battery system and the minimum actual voltage is less than the allowable voltage difference when the plurality of battery systems are connected in parallel, and each battery system with the minimum actual voltage;
if not, start each battery system with the minimum actual voltage; in order to passively balance the batteries and increase the efficiency and life of the battery packs.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowell (US 20050275372 A1) in view of Park (US 20150194707 A1) further in view of Nakashita et al. (JP 2016082845 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Crowell in view of Park teaches the battery management method according to claim 1.
Crowell in view of Park does not teach setting an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on;
and setting a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started.
Nakashita teaches setting an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on (¶[36] “the initial voltage value of the charging voltage generating unit 20 is set to 0 volts (step S4)” ¶[46] “the initial voltage value of the discharge voltage generating unit 21 is set to the maximum value of the rated voltage of the remote sensing voltage terminals 18, 19 (step S11)”);
and setting a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started (¶[2] “Once the battery voltage has increased to the predetermined constant voltage, the charging is switched to constant voltage charging to maintain this constant voltage.”; see further abstract which also describes the use of constant voltage control)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Nakashita to provide setting an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on;
and setting a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started in order to determine when the battery is ready for constant voltage charging, and avoiding damaging the battery by charging with too high of a charging voltage.
Regarding Claim 6, Crowell in view of Park further in view of Nakashita teaches the battery management method according to claim 5.
Nakashita further teaches controlling the charging or discharging of each started battery system according to the preset charging or discharging voltage (¶[2] “Once the battery voltage has increased to the predetermined constant voltage, the charging is switched to constant voltage charging to maintain this constant voltage.”),
Crowell further teaches detecting the actual voltage of each of the battery systems ¶[30] “The process of the present invention depends on the ability to measure the charge state, current, voltage, and temperature from each individual battery pack. In a preferred embodiment, smart battery packs are used, as they provide all of this data in real time over a two-wire bus back to the controller”);
Regarding Claim 11, Crowell in view of Park teaches the power supply system according to claim 7.
Crowell in view of Park does not teach wherein the battery control unit is further configured to:
set an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on;
and set a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started.
Nakashita teaches wherein the battery control unit (10) is further configured to:
set an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on (¶[36] “the initial voltage value of the charging voltage generating unit 20 is set to 0 volts (step S4)” ¶[46] “the initial voltage value of the discharge voltage generating unit 21 is set to the maximum value of the rated voltage of the remote sensing voltage terminals 18, 19 (step S11)”);
and set a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started (¶[2] “Once the battery voltage has increased to the predetermined constant voltage, the charging is switched to constant voltage charging to maintain this constant voltage.”; see further abstract which also describes the use of constant voltage control).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Crowell in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Nakashita to provide wherein the battery control unit is further configured to:
set an initial charging or discharging voltage after the power supply system is powered on;
and set a preset charging or discharging voltage according to a state of an actual charging and discharging circuit of each battery system after each battery system is started in order to determine when the battery is ready for constant voltage charging, and avoiding damaging the battery by charging with too high of a charging voltage.
Regarding Claim 12, Crowell in view of Park further in view of Nakashita teaches the power supply system according to claim 11.
Nakashita further teaches wherein the battery control unit is further configured to:
control charging or discharging of each started battery system according to the preset charging or discharging voltage (¶[2] “Once the battery voltage has increased to the predetermined constant voltage, the charging is switched to constant voltage charging to maintain this constant voltage.”),
Crowell further teaches wherein the battery control unit is further configured to:
detecting the actual voltage of each of the battery systems ¶[30] “The process of the present invention depends on the ability to measure the charge state, current, voltage, and temperature from each individual battery pack. In a preferred embodiment, smart battery packs are used, as they provide all of this data in real time over a two-wire bus back to the controller”);
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859