CTFR 18/051,543 CTFR 77458 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Previous action: Claims 1 through 8 and 10 through 19 rejected Present action: Claims 1 through 8 and 10 through 19 rejected Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s). 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 through 8 and 10 through 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2024/0266470) in view of Wierer (US 6514782) in view of Liu (US 2016/0172558) Regarding claim 1. Xiong teaches: An electronic device, comprising: a substrate (fig 7:6; [para 0066]); a first bonding pad (fig 7:7; [para 0067]) and a second bonding pad (fig 7:7; [para 0067]) disposed on the substrate (fig 7:6; [para 0066]); an electronic assembly (fig 4,7:1; [para 0059]) on the substrate (fig 7:6; [para 0066]) and having a third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]) and a fourth bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]), wherein the third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]) has an outer side and an inner side opposite the outer side; a first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) electrically connecting the first bonding pad (fig 7:7; [para 0067]) to the third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]); a second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) electrically connecting the second bonding pad (fig 7:7; [para 0067]) to the fourth bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]); and a metal layer between the substrate and the first bonding pad and between the substrate and the second bonding pad, wherein the metal layer comprises an opening, and the opening exposes a portion of an insulating layer , wherein a thickness of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) and a thickness of the second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) are greater than or equal to 10 µm and less than or equal to 30 µm (25 microns; [para 0063]). wherein a first position of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) has a first external thickness, a second position of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) has a first internal thickness, a distance between the first position and the outer side of the third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]) is the same as a distance between the second position and the inner side of the third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203,202; [para 0060]), and the first external thickness is different from the first internal thickness, wherein a portion of the first conductive structure extends and is disposed on the outer side of the third bonding pad . PNG media_image1.png 658 1215 media_image1.png Greyscale Xiong does not teach the structure of the substrate. Wierer teaches: an electronic device, comprising: a metal layer (fig 6b:52; [column 7 lines 40-45]) between the substrate (fig 6b:50; [column 7 lines 40-45]) and the first bonding pad (fig 6b:54; [column 7 lines 55-65]) and between the substrate (fig 6b:50; [column 7 lines 40-45]) and the second bonding pad (fig 6b:54; [column 7 lines 55-65]), wherein the metal layer (fig 6b:52; [column 7 lines 40-45]) comprises an opening, and the opening exposes a portion of an insulating layer (fig 6b:51; [column 7 lines 43-58]). PNG media_image2.png 512 1076 media_image2.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a metal layer between the substrate and the bonding pad in order to provide an electrode sub-mount which can act as conductive pathways on the substrate thereby enabling the energization of the electronic assembly. Xiong does not teach that conductive structure is disposed on the outer side of the bonding pad. Liu teaches: a portion of the first conductive structure (fig 2a:111; [para 0024]) extends and is disposed on the outer side of the third bonding pad (fig 2a:202; [para 0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the conductive structure to extend up and be disposed on the side of the bonding pad due to the overflow of melted solder during a reflow process (paragraph 24), although the reflow of material around the contact pad may be unwanted it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art (see Lin) that material subject to compressive deformation will tend to overflow resulting in material extending onto sidewalls of adjacent structures. MPEP 2144.I. Regarding claim 2. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Wierer teaches: an area of the third bonding pad (fig 6b,7:41; [column 7 lines 55-60]) of the electronic assembly is greater than an area of the fourth bonding pad (fig 6b,7:41; [column 7 lines 55-60]) of the electronic assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the third bonding pad larger than the fourth bonding pad in order to accommodate design flexibility and increase current spreading (Wierer column 3 lines 10-15). Regarding claim 3. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: the thickness of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) or the thickness of the second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) is greater than or equal to 15 µm and less than or equal to 30 µm (25 microns; [para 0063]). Regarding claim 4. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: the thickness of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) is greater than or equal to 20 µm and less than or equal to 30 µm (25 microns; [para 0063]). Regarding claim 5. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: a difference between the thickness of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) and the thickness of the second conductive (fig 4,7:301; [para 0063]) structure is less than or equal to 20 µm. PNG media_image3.png 190 569 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: materials ([para 0011]) of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301 tin; [para 0063]) and the second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301 tin; [para 0063]) are different from materials of the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad. Wierer teaches: materials of the first bonding pad (fig 6b:52 silver or aluminum; [column 10 lines 5-10]) and the second bonding pad (fig 6b:52 silver or aluminum; [column 10 lines 5-10]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the material of the structure and the pad to be different I order that the pad does not melt when the structure is flowed. Regarding claim 7. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: materials of the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301 tin; [para 0060]) and the second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301 tin; [para 0060]) are different from materials of the third bonding pad (fig 4,7:203 gold; [para 0060]) and the fourth bonding pad (fig 4,7:203 gold; [para 0060]). Regarding claim 8. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: the first conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0060,0063]) and the second conductive structure (fig 4,7:301; [para 0060,0063]) comprise tin ([para 0011]) Regarding claim 10 Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: a difference between the first external thickness and the first internal thickness is less than or equal to 20 µm.(note: the thickness of the conductive structure (301) is 25 microns ([para 0063]) and the difference in thickness is less than half the thickness of the layer (fig 4,7)) Regarding claim 11. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: the second conductive structure (fig 7:301; [para 0063]) has a second external thickness and a second internal thickness, wherein the second external thickness is different from the second internal thickness. PNG media_image4.png 480 1017 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 12. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 11, Xiong teaches: a difference between the second external thickness and the second internal thickness is less than or equal to 20 µm.(note: the thickness of the conductive structure (301) is 25 microns ([para 0063]) and the difference in thickness is less than half the thickness of the layer (fig 4,7)) Regarding claim 13. Xiong in view of Wierer in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Xiong teaches: the electronic assembly (fig 4,7:1; [para 0058]) is a light-emitting unit . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 13, 14, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moy (US 2009/0057850) in view of Wierer (US 6514782) Regarding claim 1. Moy teaches: An electronic device, comprising: a substrate (fig 8:41; [para 0015]); a first bonding pad (fig 8:42; [para 0015]) and a second bonding pad (fig 8:43; [para 0015]) disposed on the substrate (fig 8:41:0015]); an electronic assembly (fig 8:70; [para 0022]) on the substrate (fig 8:41; [para 0015]) and having a third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]) and a fourth bonding pad (fig 8:72; [para 0022]), wherein the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]) has an outer side and an inner side opposite the outer side; a first conductive structure (fig 8:81; [para 0024]) electrically connecting the first bonding pad (fig 8:42; [para 0015]) to the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]); a second conductive structure (fig 8:82; [para 0024]) electrically connecting the second bonding pad (fig 8:43; [para 0015]) to the fourth bonding pad (fig 8:72; [para 0022]); and a metal layer between the substrate and the first bonding pad and between the substrate and the second bonding pad, wherein the metal layer comprises an opening, and the opening exposes a portion of an insulating layer , wherein a thickness of the first conductive structure and a thickness of the second conductive structure are greater than or equal to 10 µm and less than or equal to 30 µm , wherein a first position of the first conductive structure (fig 8:81; [para 0024]) has a first external thickness, a second position of the first conductive structure (fig 8:81; [para 0024]) has a first internal thickness, a distance between the first position and the outer side of the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]) is the same as a distance between the second position and the inner side of the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]), and the first external thickness is different from the first internal thickness, wherein a portion of the first conductive structure extends and is disposed on the outer side of the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]). PNG media_image5.png 480 1023 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 640 859 media_image6.png Greyscale Moy does not teach the structure of the substrate. Wierer teaches: an electronic device, comprising: a metal layer (fig 6b:52; [column 7 lines 40-45]) between the substrate (fig 6b:50; [column 7 lines 40-45]) and the first bonding pad (fig 6b:54; [column 7 lines 55-65]) and between the substrate (fig 6b:50; [column 7 lines 40-45]) and the second bonding pad (fig 6b:54; [column 7 lines 55-65]), wherein the metal layer (fig 6b:52; [column 7 lines 40-45]) comprises an opening, and the opening exposes a portion of an insulating layer (fig 6b:51; [column 7 lines 43-58]), wherein a thickness of the first conductive (fig 6b:60; [column 7 lines 40-45]) structure and a thickness of the second conductive structure (fig 6b:60; [column 7 lines 40-45]) are greater than or equal to 10 µm and less than or equal to 30 µm (fig 6b:60; [column 10 lines 65-67]), PNG media_image2.png 512 1076 media_image2.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a metal layer between the substrate and the bonding pad in order to provide an electrode sub-mount which can act as conductive pathways on the substrate thereby enabling the energization of the electronic assembly, further 10 to 30 microns of solder provides sufficient volume for a secure conductive bond. Regarding claim 13. Moy in view of Weirer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, Moy teaches: the electronic assembly is a light-emitting unit (fig 8:70; [para 0022]). Regarding claim 14. Moy in view of Weier teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 13, the light-emitting unit comprises: a light-emitting portion (fig 8; [para 0014]) disposed on the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]) and the fourth bonding pad (fig 8:72; [para 0022]); and a wire frame (fig 8; [para 0021]) disposed between the light-emitting portion (fig 8; [para 0022]) and the third bonding pad (fig 8:71; [para 0022]) and between the light-emitting portion (fig 8; [para 0022]) and the fourth bonding pad (fig 8:72; [para 0022]). PNG media_image7.png 520 1031 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding claim 15. Moy in view of Weirer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, Moy teaches: the third bonding pad protrudes beyond the wire frame by a first distance (annotated fig 8). Regarding claim 17. Moy in view of Weirer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, Moy teaches: the fourth bonding pad protrudes beyond the wire frame by a second distance (annotated fig 8). Regarding claim 19. Moy in view of Weirer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, Moy teaches: the third bonding pad and the fourth bonding pad comprise copper ([para 0024]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moy (US 2009/0057850) in view of Wierer (US 6514782) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Kim (US 9520383) Regarding claim 16. Moy in view of Wierer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15, Moy in view of Wierer does not teach the protrusion distance. Kim teaches: A bonding pad that protrudes from the wire frame by first distance wherein the first distance is in a range of 10 to 300 µm (fig 1; [column 3 lines 15-25]). PNG media_image8.png 315 521 media_image8.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the pad to protrude the wire frame by 10 to 300 microns in order for the wires embedded in the wireframe to have a sufficient strength for mounting and sufficient conductivity to provide voltage to the device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moy (US 2009/0057850) in view of Wierer (US 6514782) as applied to claim 17 and further in view of Kim (US 9520383) Regarding claim 18. Moy in view of Wierer teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 17, Moy in view of Wierer does not teach the protrusion distance. Kim teaches: A bonding pad that protrudes from the wire frame by first distance wherein the first distance is in a range of 10 to 300 µm (fig 1 annotated; [column 3 lines 15-25]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the pad to protrude the wire frame by 10 to 300 microns in order for the wires embedded in the wireframe to have a sufficient strength for mounting and sufficient conductivity to provide voltage to the device. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID J GOODWIN whose telephone number is (571)272-8451. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 11:00 - 19:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kretelia Graham can be reached at (571)272-5055. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /D.J.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/051,543 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/051,543 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817