DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOH et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0407956, hereinafter Noh) in view of Appel et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0192300, hereinafter Appel).
Regarding claim 1, figure 1 of Noh discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a substrate (130) including substrate pads (131);
a first semiconductor chip (110) mounted on the substrate, the first semiconductor chip including first chip pads (115) arranged in a first direction of the first semiconductor chip; and
a first wire group (151/145/155) that connects the substrate pads to the first chip pads, the first wire group including a first power/ground wire (155), a first signal wire (151), a second signal wire (151), and a second power/ground wire (145) wherein the first signal wire and the second signal wire each connect a substrate pad of the substrate pads (131) to a first chip pad of the first chip pads (115).
Noh does not explicitly disclose a first top end of the first signal wire is closer horizontally to the first chip pads than is a second top end of the second signal wire.
In the same field of endeavor, figures 3 and 4 of Appel disclose a first top end of a first signal wire (316) is closer horizontally to first chip pads (on chip 310) than is a second top end of a second signal wire (314).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the first signal wire with a top end closer to the first chip pads than a second top end of the second signal wire as taught by Appel for the purpose of minimizing mutual coupling and crosstalk (¶ 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, figures 3 and 4 of Appel disclose the second top end of the second signal wire (314) is closer horizontally to the substrate pads than is the first top end of the first signal wire (316).
Regarding claim 3, figures 3 and 4 of Appel disclose a first angle between the first signal wire (316) and a top surface of one of the first chip pads (on chip 310) is greater than a second angle between the second signal wire (314) and a top surface of another of the first chip pads.
Regarding claim 4, figures 3 and 4 of Appel disclose a third angle between the first signal wire (316) and a top surface of one of the substrate pads is less than a fourth angle between the second signal wire (314) and a top surface of another of the substrate pads.
Regarding claim 6, figure 1 of Noh discloses a top end of the first power/ground wire (155) is closer horizontally to the first semiconductor chip than is a top end of the second power/ground wire (145).
Regarding claim 9, figure 1 of Noh discloses a second semiconductor chip stacked on the first semiconductor chip, the second semiconductor chip including second chip pads; and
a second wire group that connects the substrate pads to the second chip pads, the second wire group including a third power/ground wire (145), a third signal wire (153), a fourth signal wire (153), and a fourth power/ground wire (145) that are arranged in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, figure 1 of Noh discloses when viewed laterally, a gap between the third signal wire and the fourth signal wire is greater than a gap between the first signal wire and the second signal wire.
Note: The device includes a number of different signal wires (153), and the appropriate wire can be used to read on the claimed third and fourth signal wires such that the required gap is met.
Regarding claim 11, figure 1 of Noh discloses a molding layer that covers the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (¶ 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh.
Regarding claim 7, Noh does not explicitly disclose when viewed laterally, a gap between the first signal wire and the second signal wire is in a range of about 0.1 mm to about 2 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the wires with a gap within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 8, Noh does not explicitly disclose a length of the first signal wire and a length of the first power/ground wire are less than a length of the second signal wire and a length of the second power/ground wire.
However, it would have been obvious to form the wires with lengths that satisfy the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-17 are allowed.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “a substrate; a plurality of semiconductor chips that are disposed in an offset stack structure along a first direction on the substrate; a plurality of bonding wires that connect one of the plurality of semiconductor chips to the substrate; and a molding layer that covers the plurality of semiconductor chips on the substrate, wherein the plurality of bonding wires include first wire groups and second wire groups that are alternately arranged in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, where each of the first and second wire groups includes a signal wire and a power/ground wire, wherein, in each of the first wire groups, the signal wire is disposed in the second direction of the power/ground wire, wherein, in each of the second wire groups, the signal wire is disposed in a direction opposite to the second direction of the power/ground wire, and wherein, in the first wire group and the second wire group that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, a first top end of the signal wire of the first wire group is shifted in the first direction from a second top end of the signal wire of the second wire group”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-HSI D SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817