DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0080968 (hereinafter Jeong) in view of US 2022/0417857 (hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches method comprising: receiving a management frame including an information element, the information element comprising a duration field indicating a duration for a link on which an affiliated AP station of the AP MLD is operating is to be disabled (paragraphs [0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186]: details when a certain frame is received, the end terminal may determine that the certain frame is the relay suspend frame [i.e., a management frame], based on action category information and relay action information included in the received certain frame, and may acquire the suspend condition and the suspend duration included in the relay suspend frame; relay device [i.e., the relay AP device] may transmit the relay suspend frame to the end terminal in a broadcast or unicast manner; When receiving the relay suspend frame, the terminals STA 1 and STA 2 may recognize that they meet the suspend condition based on terminal characteristics, and thus may not transmit data, the length of which exceeds 100 bytes, for a preset suspend duration and figures 1-17), and temporarily disabling the link during the duration (paragraphs [0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186]: details relay device may transmit the relay suspend frame to the end terminal [i.e., to the non-AP device(s)] in a broadcast or unicast manner; When receiving the relay suspend frame, the terminals STA 1 and STA 2 may recognize that they meet the suspend condition based on terminal characteristics, and thus may not transmit data, the length of which exceeds 100 bytes, for a preset suspend duration and figures 1-17).
Jeong does not explicitly teach wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink, a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment.
However, Guo teaches wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink ([0108][0217][0345]: details the multi-link STA is any user communication device that allows a user to communicate with an AP and then with the WLAN; the structure shown in FIG. 12 includes… an uplink (UL) multi-user (MU) disable (UL MU disable) field; the first device disables an unnecessary link in response to a communication service requirement being low, and reduce a number of spatial streams of the link to a minimum), a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Guo and include wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink, a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment of Guo with Jeong. Doing so would achieve a power save objective (Guo, paragraph [0367]).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches when the duration elapses, providing an indication that the link is enabled; and enabling the link based on the reception of the indication that the link is enabled ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of US 2022/0377839 (hereinafter Jang) and Guo.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Jeong teaches a non-AP / an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) having AP stations affiliated with the AP MLD, the AP MLD comprising: a transceiver; a memory, comprising one or more non-transitory storage media, storing instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the AP MLD to: determine whether to temporarily disable a link of a plurality of links which the affiliated AP stations are operating on ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] a relay device [i.e., a relay AP] has a small buffer; When a buffer overflow occurs, the relay device cannot receive the frame transmitted from the end terminal; relay device may solve the above problem by controlling the traffic received from the end terminal [i.e., determining to disable at least a radio link between the terminal/non-AP device and the relay AP] and figures 1-17), based on the result of determination of whether to temporarily disable the link, generate an information element comprising a duration field indicating a duration for the link on which an affiliated AP station of the AP MLD is operating is to be disabled ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17), and transmit a management frame including the information element ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] when a certain frame is received, the end terminal may determine that the certain frame is the relay suspend frame [i.e., a management frame], based on action category information and relay action information included in the received certain frame, and may acquire the suspend condition and the suspend duration included in the relay suspend frame; relay device [i.e., the relay AP device] may transmit the relay suspend frame to the end terminal in a broadcast or unicast manner and figures 1-17).
Jeong does not explicitly teach an indication of at least one link to which one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) are mapped from among the plurality of links, map the one or more TIDs to the at least one link indicated by the indication, and wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink, a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment.
However, Jang teaches an indication of at least one link to which one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) are mapped from among the plurality of links, map the one or more TIDs to the at least one link indicated by the indication ([0041]-[0049], [0242]-[0248], [0261]-[0291]: details STAs 110 and 120 may perform an access point (AP) role; STA (AP and/or non-AP STA) of the present disclosure may support multi-link (ML) communication; AP may perform enablement/disablement one or more links for power saving or efficiency; AP/STA may transmit/ receive a multi-link (ML) enablement/disablement control field or element for link enablement/disablement; Link enablement/disablement information may be included in a management frame, such as a beacon, a probe response, and the like, a new control/action frame (for example, an enablement/disablement announcement frame), or a data frame (or a PPDU) in the form of a control field; Enablement/Disablement information may be determined based on TID information mapped to each link; Timing information: it may include information on the time, from the time point at which the timing information is received, for data transmission on the link; When the link is disabled, time information about when the link will be deactivated additionally may be required; lt may include information on the time, from the time point at which the timing information is received, for stopping the data transmission on that link; receiving MLD may receive a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) including a first control field in a first link; first control field may include information related to disablement of the first link and information on a time point at which the first link is disabled; receiving MLD may disable the first link based on the first control field and figures 1-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Jang and include an indication of at least one link to which one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) are mapped from among the plurality of links, map the one or more TIDs to the at least one link indicated by the indication of Jang with Jeong. Doing so would improve throughput (Jang, paragraph [0004]).
Moreover, Guo teaches wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink, a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment ([0108][0217][0345]: details the multi-link STA is any user communication device that allows a user to communicate with an AP and then with the WLAN; the structure shown in FIG. 12 includes… an uplink (UL) multi-user (MU) disable (UL MU disable) field; the first device disables an unnecessary link in response to a communication service requirement being low, and reduce a number of spatial streams of the link to a minimum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Guo and include wherein the information element further comprises an indication of whether temporarily disabling the link in an uplink, a downlink, or both in a wireless local area network (WLAN) MLD environment of Guo with Jeong. Doing so would achieve a power save objective (Guo, paragraph [0367]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Jeong teaches when the duration elapses, provide an indication that the link is enabled ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Jeong teaches wherein reception of frames over the link is prohibited while the link is disabled ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Jeong teaches wherein the information element further comprises a start time field indicating a start time when the link becomes disabled, and the duration field indicates a duration for which the link is disabled after the start time is reached ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Jeong teaches disable the link when the start time elapses ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Jeong teaches wherein the duration field indicates a remaining duration for which the link is disabled ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186]: details relay control frame may include a relay suspend field [i.e., an information element], a relay resume field, and a reserved field; relay device may generate a relay suspend frame including both the configured suspend condition and a suspend duration for data transmission; relay action information may indicate that the corresponding frame requests the suspension of data transmission; suspend duration information may indicate a duration during which the transmission of data to the relay device is suspended and figures 1-17).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Jeong teaches wherein the information element further comprises an indication of the link to be temporarily disabled ([0015][0128]: details suspend condition based on… group ID and association ID).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches wherein the management frame is a beacon frame or a probe response frame ([0103]-[0147], [0184]-[0186] when a certain frame is received, the end terminal may determine that the certain frame is the relay suspend frame [i.e., a management frame], based on action category information and relay action information included in the received certain frame, and may acquire the suspend condition and the suspend duration included in the relay suspend frame: relay device [i.e., the relay AP device] may transmit the relay suspend frame to the end terminal in a broadcast or unicast manner and figures 1-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 10-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang (US 12389493) details link deactivation in multi-link.
Kim (US 20240251282) details using multi-link.
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415