DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on each of 11/07/2022 and 04/17/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niboshi et al. WO-2019064333-A1, see English language equivalent US-20200388780-A1 referred to herein as "Niboshi".
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-8, and 16-20, Niboshi discloses an organic EL display comprises an anode electrode, an organic EL layer, and a cathode electrode (¶ [0110]), wherein the organic EL layer comprises a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), a light-emitting layer unit including a plurality of luminescent material containing layers, an electron transport layer (ETL), and an electron injection layer (EIL) are layered in this order from the anode electrode (¶ [0046]). Niboshi discloses wherein the light-emitting layer unit comprises a blue phosphorescent luminescent material containing layer and a blue fluorescent luminescent material containing layer layered in this order from the anode electrode (¶ [0111]), wherein the blue phosphorescent luminescent material containing layer comprises a blue phosphorescent luminescent material and a host (¶ [0111] and ¶ [0056]), the blue fluorescent luminescent material containing layer comprises blue fluorescent luminescent material and a host (¶ [0111] and ¶ [0056]), and wherein excitons are generated in each of the layers (¶ [0110]). Niboshi discloses wherein the blue fluorescent luminescent material in the blue fluorescent luminescent material containing layer includes a blue Triplet-Triplet Annihilation (TTA) material that generates a singlet exciton from a triplet exciton through a TTA phenomenon (¶ [0150]). Niboshi discloses the organic EL display device on a Thin Film Transistor (TFT) substrate (¶ [0029]), with a plurality of gate wiring lines and a plurality of source wiring lines connected to the TFT (¶ [0032]). Niboshi teaches the device as part of an apparatus further comprising a polarizing film and a touch sensor film (¶ [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niboshi et al. WO 2019064333 A1, see English language equivalent US-20200388780-A1 referred to herein as "Niboshi" as applied to claims 1, 2, and 7 above. Additionally supporting evidence provided by Song et al. Optoelectron. Lett. Vol. 2 No. 5, 15 Sept 2006 and Baranoff et al. Dalton Trans., 2015, 44, 8318.
Regarding claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15, Niboshi discloses the device as described above with respect to claims 1, 2, and 7.
Niboshi does not specifically exemplify a device wherein the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material and the blue phosphorescent dopant meet all of the requirements of claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15.
Niboshi teaches specific examples of blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material including 4,4′-bis(2,2′-diphenylvinyl)-biphenyl (DPVBi) (¶ [0152]), which is a transition-metal-free compound. As evidenced by Song et al., DPVBi emits at 464 nm (Abstract), which falls within the claimed range for an emission peak wavelength of 400 to 500 nm.
Niboshi teaches examples of the blue phosphorescent dopant, including Firpic ( bis[2-(4,6-difluorophenyl)pyridinate-N, C2′]iridium picolinate) (¶ [0067]), which is an organometallic compound comprising transition metal iridium and a ligand with a fluoro group, and meet claimed Formula 12, (and corresponds to PD17 in the instant specification). As evidenced by Baranoff et al., Firpic maximum emission is at about 472 nm (page 8352, first column, second paragraph), which falls within the claimed range for an emission peak wavelength of 400 to 500 nm.
Niboshi teaches the device obtains the beneficial properties of a good balance between luminous efficiency and color level (¶ [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material as DPVBi and the blue phosphorescent dopant as FIrpic, because it would have been choosing from the list of materials specifically disclosed by Niboshi, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compounds useful as the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material and the blue phosphorescent dopant in the device of Niboshi and possessing the beneficial properties taught by Niboshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising combinations of the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material and the blue phosphorescent dopant having the beneficial properties as described above taught by Niboshi in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Because the emission peak of the emission peak wavelength of DPVBi is 464 nm and Firpic maximum emission is at about 472 nm, the combination of these two also falls in a range of 400 to 500 nm.
Therefore, modified device comprising the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material as DPVBi and the blue phosphorescent dopant as FIrpic further meets claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15.
Claims 5-6, 9-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niboshi et al. WO 2019064333 A1, see English language equivalent US-20200388780-A1 referred to herein as "Niboshi" as applied to claim 1, 2, and 7 above, and further in view of Fleetham et al. Chem. Mater. 2016, 28, 3276-3282. Additionally supporting evidence provided by Song et al. Optoelectron. Lett. Vol. 2 No. 5, 15 Sept 2006.
Regarding claims 5-6, 9-12, and 14-15, Niboshi discloses the device as described above with respect to claims 1, 2, and 7.
Niboshi does not specifically exemplify a device wherein the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material and the blue phosphorescent dopant meet all of the requirements of claims 5-6, 9-12, and 14-15.
Niboshi teaches specific examples of blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material including 4,4′-bis(2,2′-diphenylvinyl)-biphenyl (DPVBi) (¶ [0152]), which is a transition-metal-free compound. As evidenced by Song et al., DPVBi emits at 464 nm (Abstract), which falls within the claimed range for an emission peak wavelength of 400 to 500 nm.
Niboshi teaches the device obtains the beneficial properties of a good balance between luminous efficiency and color level (¶ [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material as DPVBi, because it would have been choosing from the list of materials specifically disclosed by Niboshi, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compounds useful as the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material in the device of Niboshi and possessing the beneficial properties taught by Niboshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising combinations of the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material having the beneficial properties as described above taught by Niboshi in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Fleetham et al. discloses a deep blue phosphorescent emitting for use in organic light emitting diodes (Abstract). Fleetham teaches that the emission spectra of PtNON shows a deep blue emission peaking at 438 nm (Abstract) and that it is highly efficient (page 3280, Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Niboshi by forming the blue phosphorescent dopant out of PtNON, as taught by Fleetham et al.. One would have been motivated to do so because Niboshi teaches a blue phosphorescent luminescent material containing layer and Fleetham et al. teaches a blue phosphorescent material PtNON suitable for use as a dopant in an organic light emitting diode. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Additionally, Fleetham teaches PtNON to be a highly efficiency deep blue phosphorescent emitter and therefore forming the blue phosphorescent dopant in the device of Niboshi of PtNON would yield the benefit of high efficiency and deep blue emission, as described above.
Because the emission peak of the emission peak wavelength of DPVBi is 464 nm and of PtNON is 438 nm, the combination of these two also falls in a range of 400 to 500 nm.
Therefore, modified device comprising the blue fluorescent luminescent TTA material as DPVBi and the blue phosphorescent dopant as PtNON further meets claims 5-6, 9-12, and 14-15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hack et al. US-20200373360-A1, cited on the IDS of 04/17/2025 teaches a phosphorescent blue layer and a fluorescent blue layer used together in the OLED stack (¶ [0054]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786