DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/6/26, with respect to claims 1-5, 8-13, 16-20 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5, 8-9 have been withdrawn. Claims 10-13, 16 are stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10-13 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIO et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0135640) in view of REID (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0415710), as previously applied.
Regarding to claim 10, SIO et al. teaches an interconnect structure comprising:
a first metal line (M1) in a first inter-level dielectric (ILD) layer;
multiple second metal lines (M2) in a second ILD layer above the first metal line and above the first ILD layer;
a third metal line (M3) in a third ILD layer above the multiple second metal lines and above the second ILD layer; and
a skipvia (150a) between the third metal line and the first metal line,
wherein the first, the multiple second, and the third metal lines comprise a first conductive material (Cu, M1/M2/M3) and the skipvia comprises a second conductive material, (Ru, 150a) the first conductive material being different from the second conductive material (see figure 9E, see paragraphs# 37, 61, 69).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a barrier layer directly surrounding the skipvia, the barrier layer being a layer of tantalum nitride; and a conductive liner directly lining the third metal line, and wherein the conductive liner is substantially surrounded by the barrier layer (in claim 1), the third metal line is surrounded by a conductive liner, the conductive liner being a layer of cobalt (Co) and surrounded by the barrier layer (in claim 10).
REID teaches teach a barrier layer (422) directly surrounding the skipvia, the barrier layer being a layer of tantalum nitride (see paragraph# 55), the third metal line (460) is surrounded by a conductive liner (424), the conductive liner being a layer of cobalt (Co, see paragraph# 76) and surrounded by the barrier layer (meeting claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form TaN barrier layer and Co liner layer in REID as taught by SIO et al. because it is known in the art to improve adhesion between the interconnect metal and the dielectric, ensuring a strong and reliable connection.
Regarding to claim 11, the first conductive material is copper (Cu) and the second conductive material is ruthenium (Ru) (see figure 9E, see paragraphs# 37, 61, 69).
Regarding to claim 12, a first contact via between one of the multiple second metal lines with the first metal line, wherein the first contact via comprises the first conductive material (see figure 9E, see paragraphs# 37, 61, 69).
Regarding to claim 13, a second contact via between the third metal line with another one of the multiple second metal lines, wherein the second contact via comprises the second conductive material (see figure 9E, see paragraphs# 37, 61, 69).
Claim 16 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIO et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0135640) in view of REID (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0415710) as applied to claims 10-13 above in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0139821), as previously applied.
Referring to figures 2-9, SIO et al. teaches an interconnect structure comprising:
a first metal line (M1) in a first inter-level dielectric (ILD) layer (see figure 9E);
one or more second metal lines (M2) in a second ILD layer above the first metal line (M1) and above the first ILD layer (see figure 9E);
a third metal line (M3) in a third ILD layer above the one or more second metal lines (M2) and above the second ILD layer (see figure 9E); and
a skipvia (150a) connecting the third metal line (M3) with the first metal line (M1),
wherein the first, the one or more second, and the third metal lines (M1/M2/M3) are made of a first conductive material (Cu, 150a) and the skipvia is made of a second conductive material, the first conductive material being different from the second conductive material (Ru, see paragraphs# 37, 61, 69).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the third metal line includes a lowered portion, the lowered portion having a step shape and a bottom thereof being covered by the conductive liner, the conductive liner being directly on top of the skipvia.
Yang et al. teaches the third metal line (32) includes a lowered portion, the lowered portion having a step shape and a bottom thereof being covered by the conductive liner (24L), the conductive liner (24L) being directly on top of the skipvia (see figure 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the third metal line includes a lowered portion, the lowered portion having a step shape and a bottom thereof being covered by the conductive liner, the conductive liner being directly on top of the skipvia in SIO et al. as taught by Yang et al. because it is known in the art to form a device that controlled line resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that none of the reference teaches/suggests a barrier layer directly surrounding the skipvia, the barrier layer being a layer of tantalum nitride. This is not found persuasive because Sio et al. teaches a skipvia while relies on REID to teach a barrier layer (422) directly surrounding the skipvia, the barrier layer being a layer of tantalum nitride (see paragraph# 55).
Applicant further contends that the Examiner is relying on impermissible hindsight, gleaned from Applicant's disclosure, in suggesting a first conductive material for the alleged first, one or more second, and third metal lines (M1/M2/M3) and a second and different conductive material for the alleged skipvia (150a). According to MPEP 2142, "[tjhe tendency to resort to "hindsight" based upon applicant's disclosure is often difficult to avoid due to the very nature of the examination process. However, impermissible hindsight must be avoided and the legal conclusion must be reached on the basis of the facts gleaned from the prior art" (emphasis added). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 8-9 are allowed. None of the prior art teaches or suggests a barrier layer directly surrounding sidewalls and a bottom of the skipvia.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893