Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on August 22, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 22, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Weichmann et al US 2020/0403376, herein referred to as Weichmann ‘376.
Regarding claim 1, Weichmann ‘376 discloses a multi-junction bottom emitting vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) comprising (Figure 2, [0066]): an electrical n-contact layer (105); a semiconductor substrate (110) disposed on the electrical n-contact layer (Figure 2); an etch-stop layer disposed on the semiconductor substrate (intermediate layer described in [0059 and 0067]); a n-type semiconductor distributed Bragg reflector (nDBR) (115) including a first plurality of layers of semiconductor material disposed on the etch-stop layer (Figure 2, [0059-0060, 0066-67]); a laser cavity (120) comprising of a plurality of active region disposed on the nDBR ([0060]); a hybrid metal-semiconductor reflector (125-1, 129, 130, 125-2) disposed on the laser cavity (120); wherein the hybrid metal-semiconductor reflector comprises a p-type semiconductor distributed Bragg reflector (pDBR) (125-1) including a second plurality of layers of semiconductor material ([0068]), a phase matching layer (129) disposed on the pDBR (125-1) and a metallic reflector (125-2, [0064-comprising Al) disposed on the phase matching layer (129); and an electrical p-contact layer (150) formed on the hybrid metal-semiconductor reflector.
Regarding claim 3, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein the nDBR (115), the etch-stop layer (intermediate layer, not labeled), the semiconductor substrate (110) and the electrical n-contact layer (105) are configured as a mesa extending out with a circular cross-section (Ring-shaped, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein the hybrid metal-semiconductor reflector is configured as a non-exit mirror and the nDBR is configured as a light-exit mirror (0018, 0033 0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein each layer of the plurality of active region in the laser cavity (120) comprises of a multiple of strained or unstrained quantum well structure ([0020, 0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein each multiple of strained or unstrained quantum well structure (120 comprises a quantum well structure with several sub layers) is spaced apart from one another ([0030]) wherein they are electrically conductively connected by a tunnel junction (130) and confined by a current confinement layer (124).
Regarding claim 9, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein the tunnel junction (130) comprises at least two doped semiconductor layers of different conduction types ([0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses a current confinement aperture (gap shown in Figure 2, [0069]) formed on the current confinement layer by wet oxidation ([0062, 103]).
Regarding claim 11, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses that the metallic reflector comprises at least one layer of metal or at least one layer of alloy (125-2, [0064-comprising Al).
Regarding claim 12, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein the metal comprises gold, silver, copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, chromium or platinum and the alloy comprises gold, silver, copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, chromium or platinum (125-2, [0064-comprising Al).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weichmann ‘376 in view of Yan CN 110829178, herein referred to as Yan ‘178 .
Regarding claim 2, Weichmann ‘376 further discloses wherein the electrical n-contact layer (105) and the semiconductor substrate (110) are configured as a ring shape with an emitting window for emitting laser (Figure 2, [0070]) and the electrical p-contact layer (150) is for current injection ([0018, 0033]). Weichmann ‘376 does not specifically discloses that the and the etch-stop layer is configured as a ring shape. In the same field of endeavor of VCSEL, Yan ‘178 teaches of a device wherein a DBR outer surface is exposed (Figures 3-4) to form a ring-shaped structure including an etch stop layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DBR layers of Weichmann ‘376 at taught by Yan ‘178 for the purpose of improving the radiating effect of the device (Disclosure of the invention (first paragraph)).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weichmann ‘376 in view of Jiang et al US 5719892, herein referred to as Jiang ‘892.
Regarding claims 5-6, Weichmann ‘376 does not discloses wherein each of the first plurality of layers of semiconductor material in the nDBR comprises Indium aluminum gallium arsenide (InAlGaAs) on Gallium Arsenide (GaAs)-based substrate, Indium aluminum gallium nitride (InAlGaN) on Gallium Nitride (GaN)- based substrate, and Indium aluminum gallium arsenide (InAlGaAs) on Indium Phosphide (InP)-based substrate or wherein each of the second plurality of layers of semiconductor material in the pDBR comprises Indium aluminum gallium arsenide (InAlGaAs) on Gallium Arsenide (GaAs)-based substrate, Indium aluminum gallium nitride (InAlGaN) on Gallium Nitride (GaN)-based substrate, and Indium aluminum gallium arsenide (InAlGaAs) on Indium Phosphide (InP)-based substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL), Jiang ‘892 discloses DBR layers made of (InAlGaAs) on Gallium Arsenide (GaAs)-based substrate, Indium aluminum gallium nitride (InAlGaN) on Gallium Nitride (GaN)- based substrate, and Indium aluminum gallium arsenide (InAlGaAs) on Indium Phosphide (InP) (Column 4, lines 7-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DBR layers of Weichmann ‘376 at taught by Jiang ‘892 for the purpose of enhancing the reliability of the device and preventing dislocations in the active region (Column 4, lines 7-36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tatum US 6965,626 and Takeuchi US 2008/0056320 are cited for disclosing VCSEL with ring shaped contacts and similar structure to the claimed invention. Deliwala US 2020/0161502 is cited for disclosing light emitting diode with ring shaped contacts and similar structure to the claimed invention.
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898