DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/12/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 06/12/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are not patentably distinct and that their examination would not impose a serious burden. This is not found persuasive.
As recited, the inventions of Groups I, II, and III are patentably distinct. The invention of Group II requires a plurality of struts disposed adjacent to at least one other strut, which is not required by the invention of Group I. The invention of Group I further requires a rotatable impeller, which is not required by the invention of Group II. The invention of Group I further requires a self-expanding mesh structure defining distinct distal and proximal portions configured to minimize a fracture of the mesh structure in the distal portion while the mesh structure is being collapsed, which is not required by the invention of Group III. The invention of Group III requires an expandable cannula, which is not required by the invention of Group I. Further, the argument that examination of all the groups would not impose a serious burden is not found to be persuasive, because the groups are classified in different areas and would require different fields of searching (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, and/or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Remarks
This action is in response to the Remarks filed 06/12/2025.
Claims 1-10 are examined in the office action below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “hub structure” of claims 7 and 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 8 require a “hub structure”. This claimed limitation is not explained in the specification or labeled in the drawings. It is unclear what the hub structure is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by McBride et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2008/0114339), hereinafter McBride.
Regarding claim 1, McBride discloses a catheter pump assembly (e.g. Abstract), comprising:
an elongate body having a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end (e.g. Par. [0135]: a blood pump 600; Fig. 14: blood pump shown with distal and proximal ends);
a cannula coupled with the distal end of the elongate body (e.g. Par. [0137]: cannula 625), the cannula comprising:
a self-expanding mesh structure (e.g. Par. [0144]: self-expanding mesh structure) that includes a plurality of nitinol members defining distinct distal and proximal portions respectively configured to minimize a fracture of the mesh structure in the distal portion while the mesh structure is being collapsed (e.g. Par. [0148]: can be made of nitinol; Fig. 15B: mesh structure 631 with distal and proximal portions; Par. [0145]), the proximal portion tapering from an expanded diameter to a smaller diameter at the distal end of the elongate body (e.g. Fig. 15B: the proximal portion by 660 tapers to a smaller diameter than at the distal end), and the distal portion defining a plurality of inlet spaces between the plurality of nitinol members to permit blood to enter the expandable cannula (e.g. Fig. 19: inlet spaces 642 to allow blood flow at the distal portion; Par. [0143]); and
a coating formed over the mesh structure and forming a conduit for the flow of blood from the distal portion to the proximal portion (e.g. Par. [0143]: coating may be applied for flow improvement); and
a rotatable impeller coupled with the distal end of the elongate body and extending in the proximal portion of the cannula for moving blood through the cannula while the cannula is expanded (e.g. Par. [0136]: impeller 605; Fig. 15A).
Regarding claim 2, McBride further discloses wherein the expanded diameter is at least 5 millimeters (e.g. Par. [0062]: diameter between 6-7mm).
Regarding claim 4, McBride further discloses wherein the distinct distal and proximal portions are collapsible from an expanded configuration to a delivery configuration having a delivery diameter for insertion into a patient or removal from the patient (e.g. Par. [0062]: insertion into patient; Par. [0175]: removal from patient).
Regarding claim 5, McBride further discloses wherein the coating comprises a biocompatible polymer (e.g. Par. [0143]: biocompatible coating).
Regarding claim 6, McBride further discloses wherein the plurality of nitinol members forms connection structures for securing the self-expanding mesh structure to the elongate body (e.g. Par. [0146]; Fig. 16: connectors 694).
Regarding claim 7, McBride further discloses wherein the connection structures secure the self-expanding mesh structure to the elongate body at a hub structure (e.g. Fig. 18: connector connected to structure 660, which is being considered the hub structure).
Regarding claim 8, McBride further discloses wherein the connection structures engage slots formed in the hub structure (e.g. Par. [0148]; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 9, McBride further discloses wherein the connection structures comprise loop elements (e.g. Fig. 16: connection structures include loop elements).
Regarding claim 10, McBride further discloses McBride further discloses wherein the connection structures comprise linear elements (e.g. Fig. 16: connection structures include linear elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over McBride et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2008/0114339), hereinafter McBride.
Regarding claim 3, McBride further discloses wherein the cannula proximal portion tapers at an angle in the range of 30 degrees to 40 degrees relative to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body (e.g. Fig. 15B: proximal portion tapers at an angle relative to longitudinal axis of the elongate body). McBride discloses the claimed invention except for the angle being in the range of 30 to 40 degrees. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention as taught by McBride with the angle being in the range of 30 to 40 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pfeffer et al. (US 2009/0093764) is directed towards a catheter device.
Campbell et al. (US 2011/0004046) is directed towards a blood pump with an expandable cannula.
McBride et al. (US 2011/0071338) is directed towards a heart assist device with an expandable impeller pump.
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796