DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference numeral 13 (see at least paragraph 0028 of the specification) is not included in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 10, line 8, “a battery module” should be --the battery module--, in order to refer back to the battery module previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10: Pham teaches: a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter & a direct current (DC) output device (200), comprising a battery module (202) and a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter (204/408); wherein a connector (402) of the DC-DC converter is electrically connected with a plug of the battery module (not shown, but an electrical connector is necessarily present on the battery); wherein the DC-DC converter comprise: a housing (302); a detachable connection structure (306) arranged on the housing and configured to detachably connect with the battery module; a DC-DC conversion module (204/408) received in the housing and configured to convert a direct current input from the battery module to a direct current at a preset voltage (a voltage of the USB output 414 or multi-pin port 418); and one or more current output ports (414 and 418) arranged on the housing, wherein the one or more current output ports are electrically connected with the DC-DC conversion module and are configured to output the direct current at the preset voltage (see figs. 2-4 and par. 0035-0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1) in view of Mergener et al (US 2016/0311094 A1).
The teachings of Pham, as applied to claims 1 and 10, have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 11-13, Pham teaches that the detachable connection structure (306) allows the housing (302) to be easily attached and removed from the battery (see par. 0037).
Pham does not specifically teach: (regarding claims 2 and 11) wherein the detachable connection structure comprises a clasp member configured to form a lock with a groove defined on the battery module by fastening with the groove; (regarding claims 3 and 12) wherein the clasp member comprises a limiting block fixed on an inner wall of the housing, a resilient part fixed on the limiting block, and a hook connected to a free end of the resilient part and configured to be stuck in the groove of the battery module by pressing or stretching the resilient part; (regarding claims 4 and 13) wherein the clasp member further comprises a button connected with the hook, and the DC-DC converter further comprises a through groove passing through the housing, wherein the button is exposed on an outer surface of the housing via the through groove.
Mergener et al teaches a detachable connection structure between an adapter (600, figs. 8-10) and a battery module (400, figs. 5-6), (regarding claims 2 and 11) wherein the detachable connection structure comprises a clasp member (408, fig. 5) configured to form a lock with a groove (642, fig. 10) defined on the adapter by fastening with the groove; (regarding claims 3 and 12) wherein the clasp member comprises a limiting block (the portion of 408 that is between 414 and 416 and within the housing 402, see figs. 5 and 6) fixed on an inner wall of the housing (402), a resilient part fixed on the limiting block (a spring, see par. 0061), and a hook (416) connected to a free end of the resilient part and configured to be stuck in the groove (642) of the adapter by pressing or stretching the resilient part; (regarding claims 4 and 13) wherein the clasp member further comprises a button (414) connected with the hook, and the DC-DC converter further comprises a through groove passing through the housing (an opening in the housing 402, which allows 414 to be exposed outside of the housing 402, see figs. 5 and 6), wherein the button is exposed on an outer surface of the housing via the through groove (see figs. 5 and 6).
In view of the teachings of Mergener et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the detachable connection structure of Pham, (regarding claims 2 and 11) wherein the detachable connection structure comprises a clasp member configured to form a lock with a groove defined on the battery module by fastening with the groove; (regarding claims 3 and 12) wherein the clasp member comprises a limiting block fixed on an inner wall of the housing, a resilient part fixed on the limiting block, and a hook connected to a free end of the resilient part and configured to be stuck in the groove of the battery module by pressing or stretching the resilient part; (regarding claims 4 and 13) wherein the clasp member further comprises a button connected with the hook, and the DC-DC converter further comprises a through groove passing through the housing, wherein the button is exposed on an outer surface of the housing via the through groove, since this structure would allow the housing to be easily attached and removed from the battery module by pressing tabs (416 of Mergener et al).
Furthermore, it is noted that placement of the clasp member on the housing of the DC-DC converter/DC output device and placement of the groove on the battery module would represent a rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would be motivated to place the clasp member on the housing of the DC-DC converter/DC output device and place the groove on the battery module, since the clasp and groove would provide the same function in either location and this would reduce the number of clasp members required (one for the housing of the DC-DC converter/DC output device, instead of one for each of the plurality of batteries to be used with the DC-DC converter/DC output device).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Pham teaches that the detachable connection structure (306) allows the housing (302) to be easily attached and removed from the battery (see par. 0037).
Pham does not specifically teach wherein the detachable connection structure comprises a groove configured to form a lock with a clasp member arranged on the battery module.
Mergener et al teaches a detachable connection structure between an adapter (600, figs. 8-10) and a battery module (400, figs. 5-6), the detachable connection structure comprises a groove (642, fig. 10) configured to form a lock with a clasp member (408, fig. 5) arranged on the battery module (see par. 0061, 0088).
In view of the teachings of Mergener et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the detachable connection structure of Pham, wherein the detachable connection structure comprises a groove configured to form a lock with a clasp member arranged on the battery module, since this structure would allow the housing to be easily attached and removed from the battery module by pressing tabs (416 of Mergener et al).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1) in view of Stacey et al (US 10,523,018 B2).
The teachings of Pham, as applied to claims 1 and 10, have been discussed above.
Pham does not specifically teach wherein an annular flange is arranged on an edge of the housing, and the annular flange is configured to fasten with an inner wall of a connection slot arranged on the battery module, to form a physical connection between the DC-DC converter and the battery module; or the edge of the housing extends outward to form a connection slot, wherein the connection slot is configured to fasten with a periphery of an annular flange arranged on the battery module, to form the physical connection between the DC-DC converter and the battery module.
Stacey et al teaches a modular energy storage system (10), comprising a control module (16) having a housing, and battery modules (12) (see figs. 1-3A). An annular flange (located along the outer edges of receptacle 12H) is arranged on an edge of the housing, and the annular flange is configured to fasten with an inner wall (12L) of a connection slot (along the outer edges of raised part 12F) arranged on the battery module (12), to form a physical connection between the control module (16) and the battery module (also see col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 8, and col. 6, line 52 – col. 7, line 66).
In view of the teachings of Stacey et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the device of Pham, wherein an annular flange is arranged on an edge of the housing, and the annular flange is configured to fasten with an inner wall of a connection slot arranged on the battery module, to form a physical connection between the DC-DC converter/DC output device and the battery module, since this structure would allow the housing and battery module to be locked together and prevent lateral movement between components (see col. 7, lines 37-42).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1) in view of Yang et al (US 2014/0285020 A1).
The teachings of Pham, as applied to claims 1 and 10, have been discussed above. Pham also teaches wherein the DC-DC converter comprises at least two current output ports (414 and 418, fig. 4).
Pham does not specifically teach at least one of the two current output ports is a charging and discharging port that has both discharge function and charge function.
Yang et al teaches a portable power supply (1) including a housing (20) detachable connected to a battery module (30). The housing includes at least two current output ports (DC input/output ports 13), wherein at least one of the two current output ports is a charging and discharging port that has both discharge function and charge function (see figs. 1-3 and par. 0020-0024).
In view of the teachings of Yang et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the device of Pham, wherein at least one of the two current output ports is a charging and discharging port that has both discharge function and charge function, since this structure would allow convenient charging of the battery module without the need to remove the battery module from the DC-DC converter/DC output device.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 2023/0291045 A1).
The teachings of Pham, as applied to claims 1 and 10, have been discussed above. Pham also teaches (fig. 15) wherein the DC-DC converter further comprises a front panel arranged on the housing, wherein the one or more current output ports (1512) are arranged on the front panel (see fig. 15 and par. 0063).
Pham does not specifically teach a bump for mistake proofing is arranged at an edge of the front panel.
Chen et al teaches the use of positioning grooves in a housing body and positioning protrusions on a cover plate, in order to improve the accuracy of assembly (see par. 0013).
In view of the teachings of Chen et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the device of Pham, a bump for mistake proofing is arranged at an edge of the front panel, in order to improve the accuracy of assembly (see par. 0013 of Chen et al).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2014/0117922 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al (US 11,013,104 B2).
The teachings of Pham, as applied to claims 1 and 10, have been discussed above.
Pham does not specifically teach wherein the DC-DC conversion module comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board connected to each other via an electric wire harness.
Ishikawa et al teaches a DC/DC converter (40) that comprises a first circuit board (130A) and a second circuit board (138) connected to each other via an electric wire harness (wiring exhibiting flexibility) (see fig. 3D and col. 9, lines 34-39).
In view of the teachings of Ishikawa et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the device of Pham, wherein the DC-DC conversion module comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board connected to each other via an electric wire harness, since this would allow for the use of smaller individual circuit boards and more flexibility in the size/shape of the device housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to power supply systems using battery modules.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859