DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on April 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to examiner Groups I-III. This is not found persuasive because:
-the apparatus in Group I may have a separate utility other than in battery cell of Group III, such as in a battery cell wherein both electrodes have a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer;
- the method in Group II cannot make the apparatus in Group I wherein a first active material has a nickel-based chemistry and the second active material has an olivine-based chemistry; and
-the method in Group II cannot make the battery cell in Group III.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending with claims 15-20 withdrawn from considerations as being directed to non-elected inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “the buffer layer including a third thickness and a binder material” in claim 12 should be amended to recite “the buffer layer having a third thickness and including a binder material”,
The limitation “the buffer layer including a third thickness and a conductive material” in claim 13 should be amended to recite “the buffer layer having a third thickness and including a conductive material”,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480).
With regard to claim 1, Sikha et al. teach a method comprising:
- providing a conductive substrate, such as a current collector (113);
- depositing a first slurry mixture comprising a cathodically active material on the current collector (113) to form a first cathode material layer (210); and
-depositing a second slurry mixture comprising a cathodically active material on the first cathode material layer (210) to form a second cathode material layer (220)(fig.2C, fig.3, par.0034-0035, par.0038, par.0053).
The first slurry mixture may have a liquid to solid ratio of between 1:0.25 to about 0.33:0.25, and the second slurry may have a liquid to solid ratio of between 1:0.25 to about 1:0.33 (par.0054). The first slurry comprises less solvent than the second slurry, so it is more viscous. This meets the limitation for “the viscosity of the first applied slurry is greater than the viscosity of the second applied slurry” in claim 1 of the instant application.
Therefore, the cathode of Sikha et al. anticipates the apparatus in claim 1 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 2, Sikha et al. further teach that the first cathode material layer (210) may have a solid content greater than 60wt% and the second cathode material (220) may have a solid content of between 50-60wt% (par.0055). This is equivalent to the “first electrode layer including a first solid content by weight, the second electrode layer including a second solid content by weight, wherein the first solid content by weight is greater than the second solid content by weight” in claim 2 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 6, Sikha et al. teach that the porosity of the first cathode material layer (210) is greater than the porosity of the second cathode material layer (220)(par.0059).
With regard to claim 8, Sikha et al. teach that the first slurry mixture comprises a cathodically active material and the second slurry comprises a cathodically active material (claim 1), wherein the cathodically active material of the first slurry differs from the cathodically active material of the second slurry (claim 5).
This is equivalent to “a first solid content of the first electrode layer including a first active material having a first chemistry, and a second solid content of the second electrode layer including a second active material having a second chemistry different than the first chemistry” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480).
With regard to claim 4, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above). Sikha et al. further teach that the first cathode material layer (210) comprises a binder polymer (par.0044), and the second cathode material layer (220) comprises a binder (par.0053).
Sikha et al. further teach that a binder for a cathode layer is a polymer (par.0044).
This is equivalent to “a first solid content of the first electrode layer includes a first binder material with a first molecular weight, and a second solid content of the second electrode layer includes a second binder having a second molecular weight” in claim 4.
Sikha et al. fail to teach that the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight.
However, there are only three possible choices: the second molecular weight is equal to the first molecular weight, the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight, and the second molecular weight is more than the first molecular weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the cathode of Sikha et al. wherein the second molecular weight of the binder in the second cathode material layer (220) is less than the first molecular weight of the binder in the first cathode material layer (210), with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 5, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above). Sikha et al. further teach that the first cathode material layer (210) comprises an electro-conductive material (par.0046), and the second cathode material layer (220) comprises an electro-conductive material (par.0053).
This is equivalent to “a first solid content of the first electrode layer includes a first conductive material having a first conductivity and a second solid content of the second electrode layer includes a second conductive material having a second conductivity” in claim 5.
Sikha et al. fail to teach that the second conductivity is less than the first conductivity.
However, there are only three possible choices: the second conductivity is equal to the first conductivity, the second conductivity is less than the first conductivity, and the second conductivity is more than the first conductivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the cathode of Sikha et al. wherein the second conductivity of the electroconductive material in the second cathode material layer (220) is less than the first conductivity of the electroconductive material in the first cathode material layer (210), with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 7, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above).
Sikha et al. teach that the first slurry mixture comprises a cathodically active material and the second slurry comprises a cathodically active material (claim 1), wherein the cathodically active material of the first slurry differs from the cathodically active material of the second slurry (claim 5).
This is equivalent to “a first solid content of the first electrode layer includes first proportion of a first active material having a first chemistry, and a second solid content of the second electrode layer includes a second proportion of a second active material having a second chemistry different than the first chemistry” in claim 7.
Sikha et al. fail to teach that the second proportion is greater than the first proportion.
However, there are only three possible choices: the second proportion is equal to the first proportion, the second proportion is less than the first proportion, and the second proportion is greater than the first proportion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the cathode of Sikha et al. wherein the second proportion of the of the cathode active material in the second cathode material layer (220) is greater than the first proportion of the cathode active material in the first cathode material layer (210), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) in view of Guoyou (CN 105322130A, with attached machine translation).
With regard to claim 3, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach the viscosity of the first slurry.
Guoyou teaches an electrode for lithium-ion batteries, the electrode comprising a current collector and a slurry layer coated on the current collector (abstract, par.0002).
Guoyou further teaches that the viscosity of an electrode slurry may be 7000 mPa.s in order to be uniformly distributed on a side of a current collector (par.0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to make the first slurry mixture which forms the first cathode material layer (210) on the current collector (113) of Sikha et al. with a viscosity of 7000 mPa.s, in order to uniformly distribute the first slurry on the current collector (113).
7000 mPa.s= 7,000 centipoise, which is within the claimed range.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) in view of Zaghib et al. (US 2009/0301866).
With regard to claim 9, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above). Sikha et al. further teach that the first slurry mixture comprises a cathodically active material and the second slurry comprises a cathodically active material (claim 1), wherein the cathodically active material of the first slurry differs from the cathodically active material of the second slurry (claim 5).
Sikha et al. further teach that the cathodically active materials include LiNixCo1-2x MnxO2 and iron olivine (LiFePO4)(par,0041 and par.0053), but fail to teach a first cathode material layer (210) comprising LiNixCo1-2x MnxO2 and a second cathode material layer (220) comprising iron olivine (LiFePO4).
Zaghib et al. teach a multilayer material including a solid substrate and at least two superimposed solid layers containing particles of an electrochemically active material, the first solid layer adhering to the substrate and the second solid layer adhering to the first solid layer. The multilayer material is an electrode with good overcharge resistance (abstract, par.0007).
Zaghib et al. further teach that the first solid layer may comprise LiNi1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3O2 and the second solid layer may comprise LiFePO4 (fig.2).
LiNi1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3O2 of Zaghib et al. is a compound of formula LiNixCo1-2x MnxO2 of Sikha et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include LiNi1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3O2 in the first cathode material layer (210) and iron olivine (LiFePO4) in the second cathode material layer (220) of Sikha et al., in order to obtain with good overcharge resistance.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) in view of Less et al. (US 2009/0155678).
With regard to claim 10, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach a buffer layer adhering the first electrode layer to the first side of the current collector.
Less et al. teach an electrochemical cell including a current collector and a porous composite electrode layer adhered to the current collector (abstract). Less et al. further teach that an adhesion layer, such as a thin carbon polymer intercoating may be applied between the current collector and the electrode active layer in order to improve the adhesion of the active layer to the current collector (par.0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a thin carbon polymer intercoating between the current collector (113) and the first cathode material layer (210) of the cathode of Sikha et al., in order to improve the adhesion of the cathode material layer to the current collector.
The thin carbon polymer intercoating of Sikha modified by Less is equivalent to the “buffer layer including a binder material to adhere the first electrode layer to the first side of the current collector material”.
With regard to claim 12, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above).
The first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) of Sikha et al. are equivalent to the “first electrode layer having a first thickness and the second electrode layer having a second thickness” in claim 12.
Sikha et al. fail to teach a buffer layer adhering the first electrode layer to the first side of the current collector.
Less et al. teach an electrochemical cell including a current collector and a porous composite electrode layer adhered to the current collector (abstract). Less et al. further teach that an adhesion layer, such as a thin carbon polymer intercoating may be applied between the current collector and the electrode active layer in order to improve the adhesion of the active layer to the current collector (par.0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a thin carbon polymer intercoating between the current collector (113) and the first cathode material layer (210) of the cathode of Sikha et al., in order to improve the adhesion of the cathode material layer to the current collector.
The thin carbon polymer intercoating of Sikha modified by Less is equivalent to the “buffer layer having a third thickness and including a binder material to adhere the first electrode layer to the first side of the current collector material”.
Sikha et al. and Less et al. do not specifically teach that the third thickness is less than the first thickness and the second thickness.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to make the thin carbon polymer intercoating between the current collector (113) and the first cathode material layer (210) with a thickness less than the thickness of the first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220), in order to preserve the electrical conductivity of the electrode.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) in view of Ji et al. (“Graphene/Si multilayer structure anodes for advanced half and full lithium-ion cells”).
With regard to claim 11, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach the claimed buffer layer.
Ji et al. teach Si-based electrode are used in lithium-ion batteries (Introduction on page 164). Ji et al. further teach a graphene/Si multilayer structure (see fig.1a on page 165), wherein graphene creates a conductive matrix to enhance electron transport and provides mechanical strength to the multilayer electrode (left column on page 165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a graphene layer between the first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) of the cathode of Sikha et al., in order to provide mechanical strength to the cathode without affecting the electron transport throughout the cathode.
The graphene layer of Sikha modified by Ji is equivalent to the “buffer layer including a conductive material to conduct ions between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer”.
With regard to claim 13, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above).
The first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) of Sikha et al. are equivalent to the “first electrode layer having a first thickness and the second electrode layer having a second thickness” in claim 13.
Sikha et al. fail to teach the claimed buffer layer.
Ji et al. teach Si-based electrode are used in lithium-ion batteries (Introduction on page 164). Ji et al. further teach a graphene/Si multilayer structure (see fig.1a on page 165), wherein graphene creates a conductive matrix to enhance electron transport and provides mechanical strength to the multilayer electrode (left column on page 165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a graphene layer between the first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) of the cathode of Sikha et al., in order to provide mechanical strength to the cathode without affecting the electron transport throughout the cathode.
The graphene layer of Sikha modified by Ji is equivalent to the “buffer layer having a third thickness and including a conductive material to conduct ions between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer”.
Sikha et al. and Ji et al. fail to teach that the thickness of the graphene layer is less than the first thickness and the second thickness.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to make the graphene layer between first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) with a thickness less than the thickness of the first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220), in order to maintain a low battery thickness and low battery weight.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) in view of Less et al. (US 2009/0155678) and in further view of Ji et al. (“Graphene/Si multilayer structure anodes for advanced half and full lithium-ion cells”).
With regard to claim 14, Sikha et al. teach the apparatus in claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach the first buffer layer and the second buffer layer.
Less et al. teach an electrochemical cell including a current collector and a porous composite electrode layer adhered to the current collector (abstract). Less et al. further teach that an adhesion layer, such as a thin carbon polymer intercoating may be applied between the current collector and the electrode active layer in order to improve the adhesion of the active layer to the current collector (par.0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a thin carbon polymer intercoating between the current collector (113) and the first cathode material layer (210) of the cathode of Sikha et al., in order to improve the adhesion of the cathode material layer to the current collector.
The thin carbon polymer intercoating of Sikha modified by Less is equivalent to the “first buffer layer including a binder material to adhere the first electrode layer to the first side of the current collector material”.
Sikha et al. and Less et al. teach the second buffer layer.
Ji et al. teach Si-based electrode are used in lithium-ion batteries (Introduction on page 164). Ji et al. further teach a graphene/Si multilayer structure (see fig.1a on page 165), wherein graphene creates a conductive matrix to enhance electron transport and provides mechanical strength to the multilayer electrode (left column on page 165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a graphene layer between the first cathode material layer (210) and the second cathode material layer (220) of the cathode of Sikha modified by Less et al., in order to provide mechanical strength to the cathode without affecting the electron transport throughout the cathode.
The graphene layer of Sikha modified by Less and Ji is equivalent to the “second buffer layer including a conductive material to conduct ions between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wakizaka et al. (US 2012/0107690) teach an electrode slurry should have a viscosity between 100 mPa.s and 50,000 mPa.s (par.0129).
Sasaki et al. (US 2013/0011747) teach that the viscosity of an electrode slurry determines the coating properties (par.0042).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722