DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0371725, hereinafter Cheng) in view of Preisler (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0217908, hereinafter Preisler) and Shu (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0294871, hereinafter Shu) and Chen (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0243416, hereinafter Chen).
Re claim 6 Cheng discloses in Fig 3A-C, 9A/9B a method for forming a semiconductor device comprising: providing a semiconductor substrate, wherein the semiconductor substrate includes circuit components disposed on an active surface thereof; forming a dielectric, includes a metal dielectric layer Mi(dielectric)[0095] with metal interconnects or metal lines(MLsi) (907/908), and a via dielectric {Vi) layer (dielectric)[0095] above the Mi, the Vi layer (dielectric)[0095] includes via contacts (VCsi) (929/927), a process control[0049], wherein the PCM structure includes a lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) (906/908) disposed Mi(dielectric)[0095], PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) (929/927), disposed proximately to the PCMLMLi in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLi or any other lower metal lines in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi extend below a top surface of the PCMLMLi (906/908) by an overlap distance OV (distance between 906/908 and 929/927) which is less than the full depth of Mi, the PCMVCsi (929/927) are separated from the PCMLMLi by the metal dielectric layer of Mi, and an upper PCM interconnect(906/908) (PCMUMLi) of PCMi in Mi+1, wherein the PCMUMLi (906/908) is coupled to top surfaces of the PCMVCsi (929/927) to form a via chain capacitor(933); and measuring the capacitance[0048].
Cheng does not disclose forming a BEOL dielectric; a dielectric having x number of intermetal dielectric (IvD) layers, a process control[0049] monitoring (PCM) structure (PCMi) of Mi for monitoring via contact landing of VCsi (929/927) of Vi landing on MLsi (907/908) of Mi; and applying a test voltage to the PCM and measuring the PCM capacitance[0048] which indicates a depth of the PCM via contacts(929/927) relative to the PCM lower interconnect (PCMLMLi) (906/908); in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLi(906/908) or any other lower metal lines in any lower JIMD’s; a lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) disposed in Mi, PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends PCMLMLi Mi without PCMLMLi; the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi is forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi;
Preisler disclose in Fig 6 forming a BEOL dielectric[0051 of Preisler]; a dielectric having x number of intermetal dielectric (IvD) layers (260/268/270 of Preisler), a process control[0049] monitoring (PCM) structure (PCMi) (256/246 of Preisler) of Mi for monitoring via contact (264b/c of Preisler) landing of VCsi of Vi (260 of Preisler) landing on MLsi (266/272 of Preisler) of Mi(268/270 of Preisler); and applying a test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCM and measuring [0056 of Preisler] the PCM capacitance[0048] which indicates a depth [0026 of Preisler] of the PCM via contacts(929/927) relative to the PCM lower interconnect (PCMLMLi) (906/908);
Preisler disclose in Fig 6 forming a BEOL dielectric[0051 of Preisler]; a dielectric having x number of intermetal dielectric (IvD) layers (260/268/270 of Preisler), a process control[0049] monitoring (PCM) structure (PCMi) (256/246 of Preisler) of Mi for monitoring via contact (264b/c of Preisler) landing of VCsi of Vi (260 of Preisler) landing on MLsi (266/272 of Preisler) of Mi(268/270 of Preisler); and applying a test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCM and measuring [0056 of Preisler] the PCM capacitance[0048] which indicates a depth [0026 of Preisler] of the PCM via contacts(929/927) relative to the PCM lower interconnect (PCMLMLi) (906/908);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Preisler to the teachings of Cheng in order to efficiently and effectively implementing process control monitoring devices with improved productivity [0005, Preisler]. In doing so, forming a BEOL dielectric[0051 of Preisler]; a dielectric having x number of intermetal dielectric (IMD) layers, wherein an i” IMD layer (IMDi), where i = 1 to x(260/268/270 of Preisler), wherein the i ILD layer and Mi+1 also includes a process control monitoring (PCM) structure(256/246 of Preisler) for monitoring via contact landing of via contacts(264b/c of Preisler) of Vi (260 of Preisler) landing on metal lines(266/272 of Preisler) of Mi(268/270 of Preisler); and applying a test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCM and measuring[0056 of Preisler] the PCM capacitance[0048 of Cheng] which indicates a depth[0026 of Preisler] of the PCM via contacts(929/927 of Cheng) relative to the PCM lower interconnect(906/908 of Cheng);
Cheng and Preisler does not disclose disposed proximately to the PCMLMLi in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLi or any other lower metal lines in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi extend below a top surface of the PCMLMLi by an overlap distance OV which is less than the full depth of Mi, the PCMVCsi are separated from the PCMLMLi by the metal dielectric layer of Mi,
and applying a test voltage to the PCMi and measuring a PCM capacitance to determine a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi relative to the PCMLMLsi; a lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) disposed in Mi, PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends PCMLMLi Mi without PCMLMLi; the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi is forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi;
Shu discloses (MT) disposed proximately to the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLi or any other lower metal lines [0048 of Shu] in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi extend below a top surface of the PCMLMLi by an overlap distance OV[0042 of Shu] which is less than the full depth of Mi, the PCMVCsi are separated from the PCMLMLi by the metal dielectric layer of Mi[0031 of Shu],
and applying a test voltage[0030 of Shu] to the PCMi and measuring a PCM capacitance[0035,0046 of Shu] to determine a via etch depth[0024 of Shu] of the PCMVCsi relative to the PCMLMLsi
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shu to the teachings of Cheng in order to properly prepared is capable of conducting electricity under certain controllable conditions, such as the application of the small electrical charge [0001, Shu].
Cheng and Preisler and Shu does not disclose a lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) disposed in Mi, PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends PCMLMLi Mi without PCMLMLi; the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi is forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi;
Chen disclose a interconnect (PCMLMLi) [0051 of Chen] having top and bottom via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen], the via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen] and forms a via chain capacitor[0032 of Chen]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shu to the teachings of Cheng in order to measure defects of the wafer and confirm the expected service life of the semiconductor device [0015, Chen]. In doing so, a lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) [0046 of Shu] disposed in Mi, PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) (929/927) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen] PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] Mi without PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu]; the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi(929/927) are coupled to the PCMUMLi[0046 of Shu], the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu], the bottom PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen] do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] or Mi, and the PCMVCsi(929/927), coupled to the PCMUMLi[0046 of Shu], and the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] is forms a via chain capacitor[0032 of Chen] having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi(929/927) with respect to the PCMLML[0046 of Shu]i;
Re claim 7 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) are disposed in all IMD layers of the BEOL dielectric.
Re claim 8 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) are disposed in at least one IMD level layer of the BEOL dielectric.
Re claim 9 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein applying the test voltage to the PCM structure(256/246 of Preisler) is performed after each IMD layer of the BEOL dielectric is completed.
Re claim 10 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein applying the test voltage[0049 of Preisler] to the PCM structure is performed after PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) for all IMD layers of the BEOL dielectric are completed.
Re claim 11 Cheng discloses in Fig 3A-C, 9A/9B a method for forming a semiconductor device comprising: providing a semiconductor wafer, wherein the semiconductor wafer includes a plurality of devices with circuit components[0050] disposed on an active surface thereof, the devices are arranged in a matrix of devices with rows and columns(Fig 3B/3C), wherein the devices are separated by a kerf region between rows and columns of devices[0047]; forming a BEOL dielectric for the devices having x number of intermetal dielectric (IMD) layers, wherein an ith IMD layer of the devices (IMDi), where i = 1 to x, includes a metal dielectric layer Mi(dielectric)[0095] with metal interconnect or metal lines (MLsi) (907/908), and a Vi layer Vi(dielectric)[0095] above the Mi, the via dielectric layer includes via contacts (VCsi) (929/927), a metal dielectric layer Mi+1(dielectric)[0095] with metal lines(907/908) (MLsi+1), wherein the VCsi are configured to couple Mi+1, process control [0049] monitoring (PCM) structures of IMDi for monitoring via contact landing of VCsi Vi landing on MLsi of Mi for the devices, wherein the PCMi structures for the devices are formed in the kerf region of the wafer, wherein a PCM structures includes lower PCM interconnect (PCMLMLi) (906/908) disposed in Mi, PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) (929/927), PCMLMLsi in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLsi or any other lower metal lines in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi extend below top surfaces of the PCMLMLsi by an overlap distance OV (distance between 906/908 and 929/927)which is less than a thickness of Mi, the PCMVCsi , are separated from the PCMLMLsi by dielectric of Mi,and upper PCM interconnect (PCMUMLsi) disposed in Mi+1, wherein the PCMUMLsi are coupled to top surfaces of the PCMVCsi to form via chain capacitors(933); and applying a test voltage to the PCMistructures and measuring a PCM capacitance to determine a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts relative to the PCMLMLsi.
Cheng does not disclose forming a BEOL dielectric for the devices having x number of intermetal dielectric (IMD) layers, wherein an ith IMDlayer, where i = 1 to x, also includes process control[0049] monitoring (PCM) structures of IMDi for monitoring via contact landing of via contacts(929/927) of Vi landing on metal lines(907/908) of Mi for the devices, PCMLMLsi in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLsi or any other lower metal lines in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi
and applying a test voltage to the PCMistructures and measuring a PCM capacitance[0048] to determine a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts(929/927) relative to the PCMLMLsi; PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends dielectric, the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi. the bottom PCM contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and
the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi; and applying a test voltage to the PCM structures and measuring the PCM capacitance of the PCM structures to determine the via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts with respect to the PCMLMLi.
Preisler disclose in Fig 6 forming a BEOL dielectric[0051 of Preisler] for the devices having x number of intermetal dielectric (IMD) layers, wherein forming an ith IMDlayer, where i = 1 to x (260/268/270 of Preisler),
also includes process control[0049] monitoring (PCM) structures (256/246 of Preisler) of IMDi for monitoring via contact landing of via contacts(264b/c of Preisler) of Vi (260 of Preisler) landing on metal lines(266/272 of Preisler) of Mi(268/270 of Preisler) for the devices,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Preisler to the teachings of Cheng in order to efficiently and effectively implementing process control monitoring devices with improved productivity [0005, Preisler]. In doing so, a BEOL dielectric[0051 of Preisler] for the devices having x number of intermetal dielectric (IMD) layers, wherein an ith IMDlayer, where i = 1 to x (260/268/270 of Preisler), also includes process control monitoring (PCM) structures(256/246 of Preisler) for monitoring via contact landing of via contacts(264b/c of Preisler) of Vi(260 of Preisler) landing on metal lines(266/272 of Preisler) of Mi (268/270 of Preisler) for the devices, and applying a test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCM structures and measuring[0056 of Preisler] the PCM capacitance[0048 of Cheng] which indicates a depth[0026 of Preisler] of the PCM via contacts(929/927 of Cheng) relative to the PCM lower interconnect(906/908 of Cheng).
Cheng and Preisler does not disclose the PCMVCsi
applying a test voltage to the PCMistructures and measuring a PCM capacitance to determine a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts relative to the PCMLMLsi; PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends dielectric, the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi. the bottom PCM contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and
the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi; and applying a test voltage to the PCM structures and measuring the PCM capacitance of the PCM structures to determine the via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts with respect to the PCMLMLi.
Shu discloses disposed proximately to the PCMLMLsi[0046 of Shu] in Mi without contacting the PCMLMLsi or any other lower metal lines[0048 of Shu] in any lower JIMDs, the PCMVCsi extend below top surfaces of the PCMLMLsi by an overlap distance OV [0042 of Shu] which is less than a thickness of Mi [0031 of Shu], the PCMVCsi applying a test voltage [0030 of Shu] to the PCMistructures and measuring a PCM capacitance[0035,0046 of Shu] to determine a via etch depth[0024 of Shu] of the PCMVCsi via contacts relative to the PCMLMLsi
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shu to the teachings of Cheng in order to properly prepared is capable of conducting electricity under certain controllable conditions, such as the application of the small electrical charge [0001, Shu].
Cheng and Preisler and Shu does not disclose PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends dielectric, the top PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are coupled to the PCMUMLi, the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsi are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi without contacting the PCMLMLi. the bottom PCM contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi or Mi, and
the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi, and the PCMLMLi forms a via chain capacitor having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsi with respect to the PCMLMLi; and applying a test voltage to the PCM structures and measuring the PCM capacitance of the PCM structures to determine the via etch depth of the PCMVCsi via contacts with respect to the PCMLMLi.
Chen disclose PCM via contacts (PCMVCsi) (929/927) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen], the top PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen], a via chain capacitor[0032 of Chen]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shu to the teachings of Cheng in order to measure defects of the wafer and confirm the expected service life of the semiconductor device [0015, Chen]. In doing so, CM via contacts (PCMVCsi) (929/927) having top and bottom PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen] dielectric, the top PCM via contact ends(ends of contact)[0032 of Chen] of the PCMVCsii(929/927) are coupled to the PCMUMLi[0046 of Shu], the bottom PCM via contact ends of the PCMVCsii(929/927) are disposed laterally from the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] without contacting the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] the bottom PCM contact ends do not extend below a bottom of the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] or Mi, and
the PCMVCsi, coupled to the PCMUMLi[0046 of Shu], and the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu] forms a via chain capacitor[0032 of Chen] having a PCM capacitance determined by a via etch depth of the PCMVCsii(929/927) with respect to the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu]; and applying a test voltage to the PCM structures and measuring the PCM capacitance of the PCM structures to determine the via etch depth of the PCMVCsii(929/927) via contacts with respect to the PCMLMLi[0046 of Shu].
Re claim 12 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) are disposed in all IMD levels layers of the BEOL dielectric.
Re claim 13 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) are disposed in at least one IMD level layer of the BEOL dielectric.
Re claim 14 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11, wherein applying the test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCMi is performed each layers of the BEOL dielectric is completed.
Re claim 15 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11, wherein applying the test voltage[0054 of Preisler] to the PCM structure is performed after PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) for all layers of the BEOL dielectric are completed.
Re claim 16 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6 further comprises: forming a pre-metal dielectric below the metal dielectric M1 with metal lines(907/908),forming pre-metal via contacts(929/927), and wherein the pre-metal via contacts(929/927) are coupled to the metal dielectric M1 with metal lines(907/908) and contact regions on the active surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 17 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6 further comprises forming a pad metal (MP) dielectric with metal pads above the metal dielectric layer Mi(dielectric)[0095], wherein the VCsx of Vx are coupled to the metal pads in the MP.
Re claim 18 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the PCMLMLi is an M-shaped or double U-shaped interconnect(906/908), and the PCMLMLi is a U-shaped interconnect(906/908).
Re claim 19 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the semiconductor device is a part of a wafer with a plurality of semiconductor devices separated by a kerf region(see Fig 3A of Preisler), wherein the PCM structures(256/246 of Preisler) are disposed in the kerf region of the wafer between the semiconductor devices.
Re claim 20 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11 further co rises: forming a pre-metal dielectric below the metal dielectric M1 with metal lines(907/908),forming pre-metal via contacts(929/927), and wherein the pre-metal via contacts(929/927) are coupled to the metal dielectric M1 with metal lines(907/908) and contact regions on the active surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 21 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11 further comprises forming a pad metal (MP) dielectric with metal pads above the, the VCsx of Vx of Vi are coupled to the metal pads in the MP.
Re claim 22 Cheng, Preisler and Shu and Chen disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the PCMLMLi is an M-shaped or double U-shaped interconnect(906/908), and the PCMLMLi is a U-shaped interconnect(906/908).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-22 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812