DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendments filed 11/05/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-8 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendment to claim 6 is sufficient to overcome the previously set forth 112(b) rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 states “a heating unit configured to support and heat a substrate”
Prong 1: the phrase “configured to” is used
Prong 2: a generic placeholder of “unit” is present
Prong 3: The addition of “heating” to the unit does not provide sufficient structure.
Interpretation: The specification identifies the heating unit as 42 and per ¶ 34 states that the heating unit comprises a heating plate. Therefore the heating unit will be interpreted as a heating plate or the equivalent.
Claim 3 states “an exhaust unit configured to discharge a gas”
Prong 1: the phrase “configured to” is used
Prong 2: a generic placeholder of “unit” is present
Prong 3: The addition of “exhaust” to the unit does not provide sufficient structure.
Interpretation: The specification identifies the exhaust unit as 80 and per ¶ 68 states that the exhaust unit comprises a plurality of pipes designed to channel gases. Therefore the heating unit will be interpreted as a plurality of piping or the equivalent.
Claim 4 states “a partition unit configured to partition the inner space”
Prong 1: : the phrase “configured to” is used
Prong 2: a generic placeholder of “unit” is present
Prong 3: The addition of “partition” to the unit does not provide sufficient structure.
Interpretation: The specification identifies the partition unit as 60 and per Figure 3 and ¶ 45 states that the partition unit comprises a plate to separate two spaces. Therefore the heating unit will be interpreted as a plate separating two chambers or the equivalent.
Claim 4 states “a switching unit configured to switch”
Prong 1: the phrase “configured to” is used
Prong 2: a generic placeholder of “unit” is present
Prong 3: The addition of “switching” to the unit does not provide sufficient structure.
Interpretation: The specification identifies the switching unit as 90 and per ¶ 75 states that the switching unit comprises a plurality of channels designed to direct gases. Therefore the heating unit will be interpreted as a plurality of channels or the equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0169373 (Aoki) in view of KR 20130110005 (Kawasaki hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches a heat treatment apparatus (Figures 1 and 6) that discloses a house configured to form an inner space (Housing 110 with internal area in Figure 6); a heating unit disposed in the inner space configured to support and heat a substrate onto which a processing liquid is supplied (Heating unit 120 in Figure 6 per ¶ 68); a bottom wall surrounding the substrate supported by the heating unit (Bottom wall 122 in Figure 6); a chamber including a top plate covering the heating unit and side walls provided between the bottom wall and the top plate (Chamber formed by 123 with clearly shown side walls and a top plate in Figure 6), the chamber being configured to be detachably attached to a base member provided with the heating unit (Broadest reasonable interpretation that 122 can be removed off of the spacers 124); and a guide unit (Guide unit 164).
Aoki is silent with respect to a guide unit configured to guide a movement of the chamber from an installation position, where an inner space of the chamber surrounds the substrate on the heating unit, in a driving direction along an upper surface of the heating unit, the driving direction being along which the heating unit and a carry-in opening for the substrate provided in the housing are arranged.
However, Kawasaki teaches a substrate moving and treatment apparatus that discloses a central movement path with sidewall access points (Figure 11 with substrate movement mechanism 2a being central to all of the treatment chambers). The resultant combination would take Figure 6 of Aoki and allow for an opening for 161 to pass through wall 110 therefore teaching a guide unit configured to guide a movement of the chamber from an installation position (Guide unit 154 of Aoki), where an inner space of the chamber surrounds the substrate on the heating unit (Figure 6 of Aoki), in a driving direction along an upper surface of the heating unit, the driving direction being along which the heating unit and a carry-in opening for the substrate provided in the housing are arranged (carry in opening per Kawasaki Figure 11 on the sidewall of 110 of Aoki).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate movement of Aoki with the teachings of Kawasaki to allow for a central movement device to easily move substrates around once treatment has completed.
Regarding claim 2, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 there Aoki further discloses that the guide unit includes a rail member extending in the driving direction (Rail of guide unit 164 seen in Figure 6 of Aoki), and the rail member includes a rail main body on which a roller provided at the chamber drives (Rollers created by the ball-screw described in ¶ 77 of Aoki); and a recess where the roller is accommodated when the chamber is located at the installation position (Recess created by the grooves for the ball-screw design to function).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 there Aoki further discloses an exhaust unit configured to discharge a gas from the inner space of the chamber such that the gas flows toward one side along the driving direction (Exhaust 151 in Figures 6, 7, 10a, and 10b with ¶ 75 on the side of rails 164 of Aoki).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 there Aoki further discloses a partition unit configured to partition the inner space of the chamber into a first space where the substrate on the heating unit is exposed and a second space located above the first space (Partition member 133 with the first space being at the wafer “W” in Figure 6 and the second space being anywhere above 133 in Figure 6 of Aoki); and a switching unit configured to switch between a first state where the gas is discharged through the first space and a second state where the gas is discharged through the second space (The first state is shown in Figure 10b of Aoki and the second state is shown in Figure 10a of Aoki), wherein the partition unit is allowed to be moved together with the chamber with respect to the base member (Evident of Figure 6 of Aoki when 123 is elevated).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 there Aoki further discloses that the exhaust unit is detachably attached to the chamber (The exhaust unit is shown as a different component than that of the chamber and therefore the Examiner is viewing the exhaust unit as capable of being detached).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 there Aoki further discloses that the exhaust unit includes a pipe forming channels through which an exhaust gas from the inner space of the chamber flows and extending in the driving direction (Pipes within the exhaust unit 151 as seen in Figures 6, 7, and 8 of Aoki); and a mounting member provided away from the pipe and equipped with a fixing member configured to fix the chamber and the exhaust unit (Inherent feature to create a gas seal between 151 and 123 of Aoki).
Regarding claim 8, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Aoki further discloses that the guide unit includes a rail unit which extends in the driving direction and on which a roller provided at the chamber drives (¶ 77 of Aoki discloses the rail unit 164 with the rollers of a ball-screw system), the rail unit is integrally formed with the bottom wall (Figure 6 shows the rail system 164 and the bottom wall 122), and the rail unit and the bottom wall are detachably attached to the base member independently of the chamber (Evident from Figure 6 of Aoki).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0169373 (Aoki) in view of in view of KR 20130110005 (Kawasaki) and further in view of US 2007/0022626 (Gomi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 but are silent with respect to a shutter member disposed with a gap therebetween with the side wall of the chamber located at the installation position, and configured to switch between a closed state where a carry-in/out opening for the substrate provided in the side wall is covered from a side and an open state where the carry-in/out opening is opened, wherein the shutter member is provided at the base member, the exhaust unit discharges the gas from the inner space of the chamber through a discharge opening provided near the heating unit, and the carry-in/out opening and the discharge opening are arranged with the heating unit interposed therebetween in the driving direction.
However, Gomi teaches a wafer treating apparatus that discloses a shutter member disposed with a gap therebetween with the side wall of the chamber located at the installation position, and configured to switch between a closed state where a carry-in/out opening for the substrate provided in the side wall is covered from a side and an open state where the carry-in/out opening is opened (Figure 5, Shutter 68 allowing the entry of the wafer into the equivalent chamber via the sidewall per ¶ 95). The resultant combination would be such that the sidewall of Aoki would feature the shutter of Gomi and therefore disclose wherein the shutter member is provided at the base member, the exhaust unit discharges the gas from the inner space of the chamber through a discharge opening provided near the heating unit (Discharge from the exhaust unit 151 features and outlet “near” the heating unit of Aoki), and the carry-in/out opening and the discharge opening are arranged with the heating unit interposed therebetween in the driving direction (Evident from Figure 5 of Gomi as added to Aoki).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the entry point of the wafer of Aoki with the entry point and structure of Gomi to minimize the number of moving parts in Aoki by keeping the top plate, exhaust unit, and sidewalls stationary while requiring only one sidewall to feature the shutter of Gomi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762