DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the election filed 23 July 2025. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 8, in the reply filed on 23 July 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 July 2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “trench gate [] provided in the cell region” (as in claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors in line 5 (suggested correction: delete “to the semiconductor device”) and line 7 (suggested correction: delete “to the drive circuit”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0162219 A1 to Terai et al. (hereinafter “Terai”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Terai (Figs. 11-12) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor element PD (not labeled in Fig. 12; see ¶ 0022) diced into a square shape in top view from a semiconductor wafer (Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0054); and
a sealing resin sealing the semiconductor element (¶ 0059), wherein the semiconductor element includes a cell region 1 (¶ 0022) through which a main current flows, a terminal region (Fig. 12 - dotted line border region around 1) provided on an outer peripheral side of the cell region, and a protective film 2/7 (¶ 0053) covering an upper surface of an outer peripheral portion of the terminal region (¶ 0053), the protective film 2/7 includes spread portions spreading to outermost ends at four corners of the semiconductor element (Fig. 12 - 7 at corners; ¶ 0054), and the spread portions have a cut section 6 (¶ 0037) continuous with a cut section 6 of the terminal region (Figs. 11-12), and do not spread to the outermost ends in four sides (Figs. 11-12 - substrate surface 3 is uncovered; ¶ 0033) excluding the four corners of the semiconductor element (Fig. 12 - four corners are covered by 7; ¶ 0054).
Regarding claim 2, Terai discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the protective film 2/7 contains polyimide (¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 5, Terai discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a semiconductor material of the semiconductor element is SiC (¶ 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terai.
Regarding claim 3, Terai discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, however fail to expressly disclose wherein the spread portions spread at least 200 μm in the four corners of the semiconductor element to the outermost ends. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a spread of at least 200 µm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, the size of the protective film, and thus the spread portions, is considered a result effective variable because it affects the ability of the protective film to prevent peeling and cracking (Terai, ¶¶ 0065-66). Thus the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the size of the protective film and the spread of its spread portions according to the application and to minimize peeling and cracking.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2020-4881 to Asai et al. (citations refer to the English machine translation filed with the 14 November 2024 IDS; hereinafter “Asai”).
Regarding claim 4, Terai discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, including an IGBT (¶ 0058), however fails to expressly disclose wherein a trench gate is provided in the cell region, and a step portion having a depth equal to that of the trench gate is provided in a portion of the terminal region covered with the spread portion. In the same field of endeavor, Asai discloses a semiconductor device 1 having a trench gate (¶ 0014) in a trench 34 formed together with step portion 12 (¶ 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Terai to include the semiconductor device as in Asai for the purpose of providing a functional device (IGBT) in an art recognized way, and to provide the step portion having a depth equal to that of the trench gate provided as recited to reduce the number of steps required to manufacture the device and to suppress chipping during the dicing process (Asai, ¶ 0007).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0241391 A1 to Chandrasekaran et al. (hereinafter “Chandrasekaran”).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Terai discloses a semiconductor device according to claim 1, including a switching element such as an IGBT or MOSFET (¶ 0058), however fails to expressly disclose: a power conversion apparatus comprising: a conversion circuit including a semiconductor device according to claim 1, and configured to convert and output input power; a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal for driving the semiconductor device to the semiconductor device; and a control circuit configured to output a control signal for controlling the drive circuit to the drive circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Chandrasekaran discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising: a conversion circuit including IGBTs and MOSFETs, and configured to convert and output input power; a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal for driving the semiconductor device to the semiconductor device; and a control circuit configured to output a control signal for controlling the drive circuit to the drive circuit (¶ 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the semiconductor device of Terai in the power conversion apparatus of Chandrasekaran for the purpose of providing necessary components, IGBTs and MOSFETs, in an art-recognized, conventional manner (as exemplified by Terai, ¶ 0058).
Conclusion
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
26 September 2025
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813