DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I in the reply filed on 3/11/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al US 2010/0147574.
Pertaining to claim 1, Kaneko teaches a semiconductor interconnect structure, comprising:
a first row of metal lines 17 located in a bottom portion 15 of a metal layer 15+18; and
a second row of metal lines 14 located in a top portion 18 of the metal layer 15+18, wherein the first row of metal lines 17 are horizontally staggered with respect to the second row of metal lines 14 see Figure 1.
Pertaining to claim 2, Kaneko teaches the semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 1, wherein the first row of metal lines located in the bottom portion of the metal layer and the second row of metal lines located in the top portion of the metal layer are further located between a pair of outer metal lines 20 see Figure 1 marked up above.
Pertaining to claim 7, Kaneko semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 2, wherein:
the first row of metal lines located in the bottom portion of the metal layer and the second row of metal lines located in the top portion of the metal layer are formed from the same material(s). Keneko isn’t specific as to the material but illustrates that they are the same in Figure 1, and they are all metal materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chu et al US 2016/0204190.
Pertaining to claim 3, Kaneko teaches the semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 2, but is silent on the metal lines having different widths (narrower) and heights (shorter) compared to the outer metal lines. Chu teaches that metal lines can have varying heights and widths [0022] based on their function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Chu into the device of Kaneko by having varying dimensions of the metal lines. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kaneko in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of withstanding stresses during manufacture and/or different functions require different dimensions for efficient and desired operation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko as applied to claim 2 above.
Pertaining to claim 6, Kaneko teaches the semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 2, but is silent with regard to signal and power lines. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the metal lines of Kaneko for their common intended purpose, such as being used as power or signal lines. The addition of “power” and “signal” provide no differentiating structural features over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.02, specifically with regards to statements of intended use.
MPEP 2111.02 is directed to weight given to the preamble of claims and notes that the claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. MEPEP 2111.02 contains more discussion and case law cites regarding this issue, and is accessible via MPEP8 (August 2001) – 2111.02 Weight of Preamble – 2100 Patentability.
The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use “can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim.” Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Yang US 2005/0239273
Pertaining to claim 8, Kaneko teaches the semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 2, wherein the metal lines are formed of the same material, but is silent wherein: the first row of metal lines located in the bottom portion of the metal layer and the second row of metal lines located in the top portion of the metal layer are formed from different material(s). Yang teaches in an analogous art that metallization layers can consist of different metals or different conductive materials [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select known materials for their intended purpose. Selecting different metals for different metallization layers is a matter of design choice as indicated by Yang, with each metal offering different properties based on the desired electrical characteristics. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertaining to claim 4, the prior art does not teach nor suggest wherein a bottom surface of the first row of metal lines is coplanar with a bottom surface of the outer pair of metal lines and a top surface of the second row of metal lines is coplanar with a top surface of the pair of outer metal lines.
Pertaining to claim 5, the prior art does not teach nor suggest wherein a top surface of the second row of metal lines and a top surface of the pair of outer metal lines is coplanar with a top surface of the metal layer and a bottom surface of the first row of metal lines and a bottom surface of the pair of outer metal lines is coplanar with a bottom surface of the metal layer.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817