Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16, 18-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiyuran et al (US 2021/0089301, herein Maiyuran) in view of Khorasani et al (US 2018/0275991, herein Khorasani).
Regarding claim 16, Maiyuran teaches a system comprising:
a memory to store a block of data (Fig 1, [0047], memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor comprising a processor core having matrix acceleration hardware comprising a plurality of data processing units (Figs 1, 2A-2D, [0045], processors and associated units, [0108], compute accelerator), wherein the respective plurality of data processing units are to:
receive a decoded instruction ([0136], decode unit) for a first thread having a first register space, wherein the decoded instruction is for a matrix multiplication operation and comprises an indication to utilize a second register space for an operand of the decoded instruction for the first thread ([0240-0242], [0246-0247], [0250-0251], multiple sets of input matrix data for matrix multiply operations spread across first and second sets of registers to be used in a fused operation, [0141], [0144], [0159], [0240], a matrix multiplication type instruction opcode indicates the need for divided sets of matrix inputs);
access the second register space to obtain data for the operand of the decoded instruction ([0250-0251], second set of matrix multiplication input data acquired from second set of registers); and
perform the matrix multiplication operation for the first thread using the data for the operand from the second register space ([0252], execute matrix multiplication using shared processing resources).
Maiyuran fails to teach the second register space is that of a second thread.
Khorasani teaches a system comprising a processor to execute instructions using a first and second register space of first and second threads ([0024], [0030], threads assigned a corresponding register space for operations, [0040], [0058-0062], using instructions that extend a register space into shared registers assigned to other threads).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Maiyuran and Khorasani to utilize register spaces across thread barriers. While Maiyuran does disclose the use of threaded and multithreaded execution techniques, and the use of multiple registers spaces, Maiyuran does not explicitly state that these register spaces are assigned a corresponding thread to use as its register space for the instructions of that thread. However, as both Maiyuran and Khorasani disclose techniques for utilizing multiple register spaces for data-intensive operations such as matrix multiplication, the combination would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the system of claim 16, wherein a compiler is to utilize a synchronization barrier to synchronize the first thread and the second thread prior to the first thread accessing the data for the operand from the second register space of the second thread (Khorasani [0038], Maiyuran [0144], synchronization operations between threads, [0168], register write prompts synchronization event).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the system of claim 16, wherein a compiler is to utilize a global synchronization barrier prior to execution of the first thread and the second thread to determine that the first thread and the second thread are dispatched and running (Khorasani [0038], CTA-wide syncthreads command to handle extended register sets).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the indication comprises a first encoding in the instruction that comprises an identifier (ID) of the second thread, and wherein the indication comprises a second encoding to utilize a third register space of a third thread for another operand of the decoded instruction for the first thread (Khorasani [0058-0059], shared register pool lookup table indicates available register spaces according to a thread identifier).
Claims 1 and 6-8 refer to a processor embodiment of the system embodiment of claims 16 and 18-20, respectively. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 16 and 18-20 are applicable to claims 1 and 6-8, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein decoder circuitry of a graphics processor core comprising the matrix acceleration hardware is to decode an encoded instruction into the decoded instruction (Maiyuran [0136], decoding instructions from cache).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of data processing units comprise multiply-accumulate (MAC) circuits to support matrix acceleration operations, and wherein each MAC circuit comprises multiplier circuits, shifters, and at least one adder (Maiyuran [0246], execution units to perform multiplication and accumulation, [0135], [0144], performing math instructions such as add and multiply on execution units of accelerator).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the first register space and the second register space comprise general register files (GRFs) (Maiyuran [0128], GRF array).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) (Maiyuran [0095], general purpose GPU).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Maiyuran and Khorasani teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the matrix acceleration hardware comprises systolic array hardware (Maiyuran [0135], systolic array).
Claims 11 and 13-15 refer to a method embodiment of the system embodiment of claims 16 and 18-20, respectively. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 16 and 18-20 are applicable to claims 11 and 13-15 respectively.
Claims 21 and 23-25 refer to a medium embodiment of the system embodiment of claims 16 and 18-20, respectively. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 16 and 18-20 are applicable to claims 21 and 23-25 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 3, 12, 17, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed above incorporate limitations regarding the matrix multiplication instruction encoding an indication to allow reading but not writing of registers used by the instruction, which distinguishes the claims from the previously recited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2024/0403059) discloses a processor using a shared register group across threads of a warp.
Feiste (US 2023/0068637) discloses a processor for performing matrix multiplication operations and assigning register blocks based on their utilization.
Ciolkosz (US 2023/0111125) discloses a processor with a shared register space in a GPU used for matrix multiplication acceleration.
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183