DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in grounds of the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200373059).
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses a first magnetic core (1) defining a first channel (see figure 5 showing a channel starting from the left end of the core and ends at the right end of the core in the lateral direction of the drawing) and further including first and second posts (5,4) disposed within the first channel (see figures 5-13); a second magnetic core (2) defining a second channel (see figure 5 showing a channel starting from the left end of the core and ends at the right end of the core in the lateral direction of the drawing) and further including third and fourth posts (5,4) disposed within the second channel (see figures 5-13), wherein the first magnetic core is coupled to the second magnetic core such that the first post is aligned with the third post and the second post is aligned with the fourth post (see para 0049-0055); a primary winding (8)(see also para 0056) of wire formed around the first and third posts (5,5) (see figures 5-13);
a secondary winding of wire (9) formed around the first and third posts (see figures 5-13); and an inductor winding (7) of wire formed around the second and fourth posts (4,4), wherein the inductor winding is connected in series with the primary winding (see para 0056).
Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose the inductor winding having two or more turns. However, Yang et al. (para 0068) discloses a teaching wherein the inductor winding can be designed to have a plurality of windings, such as 2 or 4 winding turns.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein inductor winding has two or more turns as taught by Yang et al. so as to allow for a higher inductance which allows the inductive device to more effective at resisting sudden changes in current, an increased magnetic field strength, and a more compact core design since adding more turns can achieve a desired high inductance value without needing a larger/heavier core.
Regarding claim 8, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses a first magnetic core (1) defining a first channel (see figure 5 showing a channel starting from the left end of the core and ends at the right end of the core in the lateral direction of the drawing); a second magnetic core (2) defining a second channel (see figure 5 showing a channel starting from the left end of the core and ends at the right end of the core in the lateral direction of the drawing), wherein the first magnetic core is coupled to the second magnetic core(see figures 5-13); a first post (5) positioned within the first channel and within the second channel (see figures 5-13), the first post extending from the first magnetic core to the second magnetic core (see figures 5-13); a second post (4) positioned within the first channel and within the second channel (see figures 5-13), the second post extending from the first magnetic core to the second magnetic core (see figures 5-13); a primary winding (8) of wire formed around the first post (see figures 5-13); a secondary winding (9) of wire formed around the first post(see figures 5-13); and an inductor winding (7) of wire formed around the second post(see also para 0056).
Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose the inductor winding having two or more turns. However, Yang et al. (para 0068) discloses a teaching wherein the inductor winding can be designed to have a plurality of windings, such as 2 or 4 winding turns.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein inductor winding has two or more turns as taught by Yang et al. so as to allow for a higher inductance which allows the inductive device to more effective at resisting sudden changes in current, an increased magnetic field strength, and a more compact core design since adding more turns can achieve a desired high inductance value without needing a larger/heavier core.
Regarding claim 9, Yang et al. (para 0056-0057) discloses wherein the inductor winding is connected in series to the primary winding.
Regarding claim 10, Yang et al. (figures 5-13) discloses wherein the first post is formed from a portion of the first magnetic core and from a portion of the second magnetic core.
Regarding claim 11, Yang et al. (figures 5-13) discloses wherein the second post is formed from a portion of the first magnetic core and from a portion of the second magnetic core.
2. Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200373059) in view of Lai (US 20200286667).
Regarding claim 2, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses a void is defined between the first and the second magnetic cores but does not expressly disclose and a thermally conductive potting compound is disposed within the void.
Lai (para 0027 and figures 1-7) discloses a thermally conductive potting (140) compound is disposed within the void.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the applicant claimed invention to design a thermally conductive potting compound disposed within the void as taught by Lai to the inductive of Yang et al so as to prevent overheating, improve performance, and enhance reliability of the inductive device.
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses a void is defined between the first and the second magnetic cores but does not expressly disclose and a thermally conductive potting compound is disposed within the void.
Lai (para 0027 and figures 1-7) discloses a thermally conductive potting (140) compound is disposed within the void.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the applicant claimed invention to design a thermally conductive potting compound disposed within the void as taught by Lai to the inductive of Yang et al so as to prevent overheating, improve performance, and enhance reliability of the inductive device.
3. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200373059) in view of Dai (US 20190043653).
Regarding claim 3, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses all the limitations as not above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first post is separated from the third post by a gap.
Dai (para 0023 and figures 1-2) discloses a teaching wherein the first post is separated from the third post by a gap (124).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the applicant claimed invention to wherein the first post is separated from the third post by a gap as taught by Dai to the inductive of Yang et al so as to reduce core losses by controlling the flux more effectively
4. Claim 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200373059) in view of Jin et al. (US 20230223186).
Regarding claim 4, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses all the limitations as not above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first and the second magnetic cores each have U-shaped bodies.
Jin et al.(figures 1-2) discloses a teaching wherein the first and the second magnetic cores (51) each have U-shaped bodies.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the applicant claimed invention to wherein the first and the second magnetic cores each have U-shaped bodies as taught by Jin et al to the inductive of Yang et al so as to allow the inductive device to have low leakage inductance and improved voltage isolation.
Regarding claim 16, Yang et al. (figures 5-13 and para 0048-0076) discloses all the limitations as not above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first and the second magnetic cores each have U-shaped bodies.
Jin et al.(figures 1-2) discloses a teaching wherein the first and the second magnetic cores (51) each have U-shaped bodies.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the applicant claimed invention to wherein the first and the second magnetic cores each have U-shaped bodies as taught by Jin et al to the inductive of Yang et al so as to allow the inductive device to have low leakage inductance and improved voltage isolation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837