DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on November 26, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0388673 A1 to Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052047 A1 to Schmidt (“Schmidt”). As to claim 1, Chen in view of Schmidt discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor layer (3/11) of a first conductivity type; a field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) formed on a front surface (top/34) of the semiconductor layer (3/11); a front surface electrode (5c, buried gate/15) which is an inner peripheral electrode (5c, buried gate/15) formed on the front surface (top/34) of the semiconductor layer (3/11) inside the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) and covering an inner peripheral end of the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17); an outer peripheral electrode (12) formed on the front surface (top/34) of the semiconductor layer (3/11) outside the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) and covering an outer peripheral end of the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17); a well region (5a/b, 9) of a second conductivity type formed in a surface layer portion of the semiconductor layer (3/11), connected to the front surface electrode (5c, buried gate/15), and extending to an outside of an outer peripheral end of the front surface electrode (5c, buried gate/15); a semi-insulating film (7) that covers a part of the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) and is formed apart from the front surface electrode (5c, buried gate/15) and the outer peripheral electrode (12); and a back surface electrode (C/14) formed on a back surface side (bottom/35) of the semiconductor layer (3/11), wherein the semi-insulating film (7) is connected to the semiconductor layer (3/11) through a first opening (4b) formed in the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) in a region inside an outer peripheral end of the well region (5a/b, 9) and through a second opening (4b above 10b) formed in the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) in a region outside the outer peripheral end of the well region (5a/b, 9), the first opening (4b) and the second opening (4b above 10b) being positioned between the front surface electrode (5c, buried gate/15) and the outer peripheral electrode (12) (See Fig. 10, Fig. 12, Fig. 13, ¶ 0023, ¶ 0025, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0029, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0068, ¶ 0069, ¶ 0070) (Notes: the gate wiring line 5c is shown to be buried to be separated from the semi-insulating film. Further, as taught by Schmidt (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0016, ¶ 0017, ¶ 0018, ¶ 0019, ¶ 0024), the front surface electrode of the gate electrode is buried to be apart from the semi-insulating film. Furthermore, the collector region is connected to the back surface electrode. Lastly, Chen teaches multiple openings can be formed in the field insulating film to suppress the withstand voltage deterioration such that FIG. 13 with the third embodiment of FIG. 10 is modified to have the multiple openings shown in FIG. 12). As to claim 9, Chen in view of Schmidt further discloses wherein the semi-insulating film (7) is connected to the semiconductor layer (3/11) through the first (4b) and second (4b above 10b) openings formed in the field insulating film (4, gate insulating layer/17) so as to extend to an inside and an outside of the outer peripheral end of the well region (5a/b, 9) (See Chen Fig. 12). As to claim 10, Chen in view of Schmidt further discloses wherein the semiconductor layer (3/11) is formed of a wide band gap semiconductor (See Schmidt ¶ 0024). As to claim 11, Chen in view of Schmidt further discloses wherein the wide band gap semiconductor is silicon carbide (See Schmidt ¶ 0024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot
in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815