DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0278145 (hereinafter Tanaka) in view of Bennett et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0307950 (hereinafter Bennett).
Consider claim 1, Tanaka teaches a display device comprising: a display area including a first area, a second area, and a third area in a first direction (Figure 6, display area includes at least three areas), the second area being between the first area and the third area (Figure 6, area (e.g. area corresponding to 15) in between edge areas); first signal lines in the display area and extending in the first direction (Figures 6-7, 11(K)); second signal lines in the display area and extending in a second direction (Figures 6-7, 12); pixels in the display area and connected to the first signal lines and the second signal lines (Figure 10c, pixels connected to lines 11 and 12); a first pad area at a side of the second area in the second direction (Figure 6, first pad area corresponding to 14A or 14B); first lines in the second area and connected from the second area to the first pad area (Figure 6, vertical lines 120P (see also figure 10c)); a power line in the display area and connected to the pixels (Figure 10a, VSS and 151); and bridges in the display area and connecting corresponding ones of the second signal lines in the first area among the second signal lines and the first lines (Figure 6, horizontal lines of 120P (see also figure 10c)), the bridges being disposed across the first area and the second area (Figure 6, horizontal lines of 120P located in the center region and peripheral regions), wherein the first area includes first pixel columns comprising the second signal lines in the first area from among the second signal lines (Figure 10c, columns of pixels in first area (peripheral region) connected to data line 12P), wherein the second area includes second pixel columns comprising others of the second signal lines in the second area from among the second signal lines and first lines from among the first lines (Figure 10c, column of pixels in second area (e.g. region located adjacent to RG) connected to 12Q and 11; and 120P), wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises a number of the first lines corresponding to a ratio of a number of the first pixel columns to a number of the second pixel columns (Figure 10c, vertical line 120P corresponding to a ratio of a number of columns connected to 12P to a number of columns connected to 12Q (e.g. a second pixel column comprises 4/4 first lines), and wherein at least one of the bridges extends parallel to the first direction (Figures 6, 10c shows that horizontal line 120P extents parallel to x-direction, bridge (see annotation above)) on both sides with respect to a connected first line among the first lines (Figure 6 and 10c, connected 1st line (see annotation above)) such that the at least one of the bridges electrically connects one of the second signal lines in the first area and another one of the first lines in the second area (bridge, another one 1st line (see annotation)), the connected first line being electrically connected to at least another one of the bridges and extending along a boundary between the first area and the second area (connected 1st line (See annotation)).
Tanaka does not appear to specifically disclose a dummy line comprising an end connected to the power line, and another end that is disconnected.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Ono teaches a display may have an array of pixels and further teaches a dummy line comprising an end connected to the power line, and another end that is disconnected (Figure 13 and [0043], dummy lines GVD may be grounded (and thus low power supply) may not be connected to any of pixels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide dummy lines as taught by Tanaka in order to ensure the visual appearance of the display and reduction of capacitive loading as mentioned in [0043-0044].
Consider claim 2, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the first lines corresponding to a number proportional to the number of the first pixel columns and a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns (Figure 10c, vertical line 120P corresponding to a number proportional to number of columns connected to 12P to a number of columns connected to 12Q (e.g. a second pixel column comprises a first line proportional to 4/4)).
Consider claim 3, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 2.
Tanaka does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the number of the first lines inversely proportional to the number of the second pixel columns.
However, Tanaka teaches wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the number of the first lines with respect to the number of the second pixel columns (Figure 10c, vertical line 120P with respect to number of columns connected to 12Q). In addition, Tanaka teaches in figures 5-6 that the size of the display can be variable as indicated by the dots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a particular number of first lines in order to meet design choices or particular display size. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Consider claim 4, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the same number of the first lines as a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns (Figure 10c, 4 first lines 120P, 4 first pixel columns 12P), and wherein the second area comprises the same number of the second pixel columns as the number of the first pixel columns in the first area (Figure 10c, 4 columns connected to 12Q and 4 columns connected to 12P).
Consider claim 5, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Tanaka does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the number of the first lines corresponding to 1/K of a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns, wherein K is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and wherein the second area comprises the number of the second pixel columns corresponding to K times the number of the first pixel columns.
However, Tanaka teaches wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises the number of the first lines corresponding to 1/K of a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns (Figure 10c, 120P, 12P), and wherein the second area comprises the number of the second pixel columns corresponding to K times the number of the first pixel columns (Figure 10c, 12Q and 12P). In addition, Tanaka teaches in figures 5-6 that the size of the display can be variable as indicated by the dots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a particular number of lines in order to meet design choices or particular display size. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Consider claim 6, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Tanaka teaches wherein a ratio of a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns to a number of the first lines in each of the second pixel columns is N:M, wherein each of N and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and wherein a ratio of the number of the first pixel columns to the number of the second pixel columns is M:N.
However, Tanaka teaches wherein a ratio of a number of the second signal lines in each of the first pixel columns to a number of the first lines in each of the second pixel columns is N:M (Figure 10c, 120P, 12P), and wherein a ratio of the number of the first pixel columns to the number of the second pixel columns is M:N (Figure 10c, 12Q and 12P). In addition, Tanaka teaches in figures 5-6 that the size of the display can be variable as indicated by the dots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a particular ratio in order to meet design choices or particular display size. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Consider claim 7, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches a pad-free area at one side of the first area in the second direction (Figure 6, pad-free area below 12P).
Consider claim 8, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein the first lines extend in the second direction from the second area and are connected to the first pad area (Figure 6, 120P (see also figure 10c)), and wherein the second signal lines in the second area from among the second signal lines extend in the second direction from the second area and are connected to the first pad area (Figure 6, 12Q (see also figure 10c)).
Consider claim 9, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 8. In addition, Tanaka teaches first pads in the first pad area and electrically connected to the second signal lines in the first area through the first lines and the bridges (Figure 10c, 120P and 12P); and second pads in the first pad area and electrically connected to the second signal lines in the second area (Figure 10c, 12Q (see also figure 6)).
Consider claim 10, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches a second pad area at one side of the third area in the second direction (Figure 6, corresponding RG area), wherein second signal lines in the third area from among the second signal lines extend in the second direction from the third area and are connected to the second pad area (Figure 10a, 12Q and RG).
Consider claim 11, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 10. In addition, Tanaka teaches second lines in the third area, extending in the second direction from the third area, and connected to the second pad area (Figure 7, 151), wherein the second lines are electrically connected to the first signal lines in the third area (Figure 7, 11K and 151).
Consider claim 12, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Tanaka teaches third pads in the second pad area and electrically connected to the first signal lines through the second lines (Figure 7, 11K and 151); and fourth pads in the second pad area and electrically connected to the second signal lines in the third area (Figure 10a, 12Q (see also figure 6)).
Consider claim 13, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches a fourth area around the third area (Figure 10A, fourth area considered area connected to VSS at the edge of the figure); and a third pad area at one side of the fourth area in the second direction (Figure 10A, corresponding pad (see also figures 6-7)).
Consider claim 14, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 13. In addition, Tanaka teaches a third line in the fourth area, connected to the power line, extending in the second direction from the fourth area, and connected to the third pad area (Figure 10a, VSS); fifth pads in the third pad area and electrically connected to the power line through the third line (Figures 6-7 and figure 10a); and sixth pads in the third pad area and electrically connected to second signal lines in the fourth area from among the second signal lines (Figure 10a, 12Q (see also figures 6-7)).
Consider claim 15, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 14. In addition, Bennett teaches a dummy line extending in the second direction and connected to the power line in the display area (Figure 13 and [0043], GVD, see motivation to combine in claim 1).
Consider claim 16, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein each of the first lines is between pixel circuits of ones of the pixels in ones of the second pixel columns adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figure 10c, vertical part of 120P), or around other pixel circuits of others of the pixels in a first or last one of the second pixel columns of the second area.
Consider claim 17, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein the bridges are between two pixel rows adjacent to each other in the second direction (Figure 10c, horizontal part of 120P).
Consider claim 18, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein the first area is at both edges of the display area in the first direction (Figure 6, area corresponding to 12P), wherein the second area is directly adjacent to the first area in the first direction (Figure 6, area adjacent to the area corresponding to 12P), and wherein the third area is at a center of the display area in the first direction (Figure 6, RG).
Consider claim 19, Tanaka and Bennett teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tanaka teaches a pad area including the first pad area and a second pad area adjacent to the first pad area and at one side of the third area in the second direction (Figure 6, pad corresponding to 14 and 15); and a pad-free area at both sides of the pad area in the first direction and at one side of the first area in the second direction (Figure 6, pad-free below the area corresponding to 12P).
Consider claim 20, Tanaka teaches a display device comprising: a display panel comprising blocks arranged in a first direction (Figure 6, blocks corresponding to 14a-b); and driving circuits on pad areas of each of the blocks and arranged along the first direction (Figure 6, 14-15), wherein each of the blocks comprises: a display area including a first area and a second area along the first direction (Figure 6, area corresponding to 12P and 12Q), and comprising first signal lines extending in the first direction (Figure 7, 11k), second signal lines extending in a second direction (Figure 6, 12), and pixels connected to the first signal lines and the second signal lines (Figure 10c, pixels connected to 11 and 12); a pad-free area and a pad area at one side of the first area and the second area in the second direction, respectively (Figure 6); first lines in the second area and connected from the second area to the pad area (Figure 6, 120P (see also figure 10c)); a power line in the display area and connected to the pixels (Figure 10a, VSS and 151); and bridges connecting corresponding ones of the second signal lines in the first area from among the second signal lines to the first lines, the bridges being disposed across the first area and the second area (Figure 6, 120P and 12P), wherein the first area includes first pixel columns comprising the second signal lines in the first area from among the second signal lines (Figure 10c, 12P), wherein the second area includes second pixel columns comprising others of the second signal lines in the second area and corresponding ones of the first lines (Figure 10c, 12Q and 120P), wherein each of the second pixel columns comprises a number of the first lines corresponding to a ratio of a number of the first pixel columns to a number of the second pixel columns (Figure 10c, vertical line 120P corresponding to a ratio of a number of columns connected to 12P to a number of columns connected to 12Q (e.g. a second pixel column comprises 4/4 first lines), and wherein at least one of the bridges extends parallel to the first direction (Figures 6, 10c shows that horizontal line 120P extents parallel to x-direction, bridge (see annotation above)) on both sides with respect to a connected first line among the first lines (Figure 6 and 10c, connected 1st line (see annotation above)) such that the at least one of the bridges electrically connects one of the second signal lines in the first area and another one of the first lines in the second area (bridge, another one 1st line (see annotation)), the connected first line being electrically connected to at least another one of the bridges and extending along a boundary between the first area and the second area (connected 1st line (See annotation)).
Tanaka does not appear to specifically disclose a dummy line comprising an end connected to the power line, and another end that is disconnected.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Ono teaches a display may have an array of pixels and further teaches a dummy line comprising an end connected to the power line, and another end that is disconnected (Figure 13 and [0043], dummy lines GVD may be grounded (and thus low power supply) may not be connected to any of pixels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide dummy lines as taught by Tanaka in order to ensure the visual appearance of the display and reduction of capacitive loading as mentioned in [0043-0044].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9, Applicant argues that “as can be seen in FIG. 16 of Bennett (reproduced below), although Bennett appears to show an end of the dummy lines is disconnected, FIG. 16 of Bennett also appears to show the other end of the alleged dummy lines GVD is grounded, not "connected to the [alleged] power line [VSS]." (See, e.g., Bennett, paras. [0044], [0047]- [0048]). Indeed, the cited portions of Bennett do not appear to disclose any of the alleged dummy lines GVD as being connected to any alleged power line at all.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Bennett teaches in [0043], dummy lines GVD may be grounded. Thus, a ground voltage is a low voltage related to Vss (see Applicant’s publication [0087]). In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
On pages 10-11, Applicant argues that “the horizontal portion of line 120P (alleged "at least one of the bridge patterns") would extend only on a single side (e.g., right side), and not on both sides of the annotated vertical line” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
The “bridge” (see annotation) extend on both sides with respect to a connected first line (see annotation, connected 1st line). Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621