Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Yohei was disclosed in the IDS filed on 8/21/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOHEI (JP 7319945 B2) in view of Yoshino (U.S 2010/0321889 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Yohei discloses an electrical circuit device (Fig.3, #1), comprising: a power electronics circuit (Fig.1, #3) with at least one power electronics module (Fig.3, # 4a-4c is a power module #4a-4c), a filter device (Fig.3, #50 in conjunction with #20), a heat sink (Fig.3, #7 in conjunction with #60 which is integral with said heat sink, see “The first partition wall 60 may be formed integrally with the metal case 7”), a connector (Fig.2, #6 is the connector) configured to be coupled to a device external to the electrical circuit device (Fig.1-3, #6 is connected to an external DC source), and two busbars (Fig.3, #10 and #11) connecting the connector to the power electronics circuit (Fig.3), wherein the two busbars are arranged on a same end of the electrical circuit device (Fig.3, #10 and #11 are on the same end of the device #1) and are arranged adjacent to one another on the heat sink (Fig.3, #10/11 are adjacent to one another and on top of #7 in conjunction with #60) or one above the other on the heat sink, wherein the filter device is at least partially coupled to one of the two busbars (Fig.3, #50 is connected to #11), wherein the power electronics module and at least a portion of at least one of the two busbars are thermally connected to the heat sink (Fig.3-4, #6 and #10/11 are thermally connected to #7 in conjunction with #60) and wherein at least one of the two busbars is in thermal engagement with a surface of the heat sink (Fig.3-4, #10/11 are thermally connected to a surface of #7 in conjunction with #60, see “The second DC bus bar 11 is in contact with the first partition wall 60 via the second thermally conductive member 62”).
Yohei fails to explicitly disclose: A busbar is in direct thermal engagement with a surface of the heat sink.
However, Yoshino discloses: A busbar (Fig.16, #136) is in direct thermal engagement with a surface of the heat sink (Fig.16, #16 is in direct thermal engagement #40, see paragraph [0024 & 0094], as such the office notes that with the combination of Yohei in view of Yoshino, the bus bars that are thermally engaged with the heatsink (as taught by Yohei) would be modified to be directly in contact with a surface of said heat sink (as taught by Yoshino) to dissipate heat carried via the bus bars).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the bus bars that are thermally engaged with the heatsink (as taught by Yohei) to be directly in contact with a surface of said heat sink (as taught by Yoshino) to dissipate heat carried via the bus bars. By directly contacting the bus bars with the heatsink, would minimize thermal resistance and creates a simplified design using less components/steps.
Additionally, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; wherein there is no criticality established within the instant specification (See page 4, lines 13-19, which discloses the busbars can directly or indirectly contact the heat sink). As such, by directly connecting the busbar to the heatsink surface would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Yoshino discloses a busbar directly in contact to a heatsink to dissipate heat carried via the busbars (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 2, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the filter device has at least one capacitor (Fig.3, #50 is a smoothing capacitor) connected to at least one of the two busbars (Fig.3, #50 is connected to #11) and/or at least one inductance element coupled to at least one of the two busbars (Fig.3, #26).
In regards to Claim 3, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one inductance element is a ferrite core (Fig.3, #26 is a ferrite core (noise elimination core) to suppress EMI).
In regards to Claim 5, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the filter device comprises an inductance element arranged at the connector and/or surrounding the connector (Yohei, Fig.3, #26 is arranged at the connector in the back).
In regards to Claim 9, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink has one or more cooling channels extending inside the heat sink (Yohei, Fig.4, #8 is a coolant channel extending in #7).
In regards to Claim 10, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the power electronics circuit is configured as an inverter (Fig.1-4, #1 is an inverter, see technical field and background art).
In regards to Claim 11, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the power electronics circuit is configured as a multiphase pulse inverter (Yohei, Fig.3, #12a-12c, each represents a different phase for AC power when converting from DC power, see “The power semiconductor circuit section 4 includes power semiconductor modules 4a, 4b, and 4c. Power semiconductor module 4 a is connected to the U phase of motor generator 5 . Power semiconductor module 4 b is connected to the V phase of motor generator 5 . Power semiconductor module 4 c is connected to the W phase of motor generator 5”).
In regards to Claim 12, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses a motor vehicle comprising an electrical circuit device according to claim 1(Yoshino, Paragraph [0048], discloses the converter can be installed within a vehicle).
In regards to Claim 13, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the two busbars terminate at the connector at a common connector location (Yohei, Fig.2-3, #10/11 terminate at the common connector location located behind #6).
Claim 3 is rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOHEI (JP 7319945 B2) in view of Yoshino (U.S 2010/0321889 A1), and further, in view of Krause (U.S 2019/0036506 A1).
In regards to Claim 3, Yohei in view of Yoshino disclose the electrical circuit device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one inductance element (Yohei Fig.3, #26) having a core (Yohei Fig.3, #26 (noise elimination core) to suppress EMI which comprise inherent physical characteristic having a wire wrapped around some magnetic core).
Yohei in view of Yoshino fails to explicitly disclose: The inductor having a ferrite core.
However, Krause discloses: The inductor having a ferrite core (Fig.2, #203a-c are inductors having a ferrite core, see paragraph [0059], as such the office notes that with the combination of Yohei in view of Yoshino and Krause, the electrical circuit device having an inductor (as taught by Yohei) would be modified such that the inductor has a ferrite core (as taught by Krause) to create a magnetic field).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by including an inductor having a ferrite core would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Yohei discloses a noise elimination core in line with the busbars. By including an inductor having a ferrite core would provide a high magnetic permeability to the coil, thus increasing the magnetic field and inductance (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOHEI (JP 7319945 B2) in view of Yoshino (U.S 2010/0321889 A1), and further, in view of Rigbers (U.S 2022/0304184).
In regards to Claim 4, Yohei in view of Yoshino discloses the electrical circuit device according to claim 2.
Yohei in view of Yoshino fail to disclose: Wherein the filter device comprises at least one common mode choke, at least one common mode capacitor and/or at least one differential mode capacitor.
However, Rigbers discloses: Wherein the filter device comprises at least one common mode choke (Rigbers Fig.1 and paragraph [0031]), at least one common mode capacitor and/or at least one differential mode capacitor (as such the office notes that with the combination of Yohei in view of Yoshino and Rigbers, the filter device comprising a capacitor (as taught by Yohei) would be modified to be a common node choke (as taught by Rigbers) to help block high frequency signals).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the modified the filter device comprising a capacitor (as taught by Yohei) to further include a common node choke (as taught by Rigbers) to help block any high frequency signals. By including an inductor in conjunction with a common node choke, would help reduce electrical noise, frequency noise, and switching.
In regards to Claim 8, Yohei in view of Yoshino disclose the electrical circuit device according to claim 1.
Yohei in view of Yoshino fail to disclose: Wherein the power electronics circuit comprises a direct current link capacitor, wherein the two busbars are connected to the direct current link capacitor.
However, Rigbers discloses: wherein the power electronics circuit comprises a direct current link capacitor (abstract, which discloses #21 are link capacitors), wherein the busbars are connected to the direct current link capacitor (Fig.1, #50 are both electrically connected to #21, as such the office notes that with the combination of Yohei in view of Yoshino and Rigbers, the power electronics circuit (as taught by Yohei) would be modified to include a direct current link capacitor connected to two busbars (as taught by Rigbers) to help create an EMC filter for the converter).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the power electronics circuit (as taught by Yohei) to include a direct current link capacitor (as taught by Rigbers) to help create and EMC filter for the converter. By including a direct current link capacitor within the device, would prevent unwanted noise from interrupting the AC/DC conversions and improve efficiency by stabilizing voltage to minimize energy losses.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOHEI (JP 7319945 B2) in view of Yoshino (U.S 2010/0321889 A1), and further, in view of Boehmer (U.S 2022/0345027 A1).
In regards to Claim 6, Yohei in view of Yoshino disclose the electrical circuit device according to claim 1.
Yohei in view of Yoshino fail to disclose: Wherein the busbar is thermally bonded to the heat sink over at least 50% of its length.
However, Boehmer discloses: Wherein the busbar (Fig.6, #DCS +/-) is thermally bonded (paragraph [0087], using thermally conductive thermosetting composition to bond said busbar) to the heat sink (Fig.6, #KK) over at least 50% of its length (Fig.6, which discloses the busbar having at least 50% over the heatsink #KK, as such the office notes that with the combination of Yohei in view of Yoshino and Boehmer, the busbars (as taught by Yohei) would be modified to be thermally bonded to the heatsink (as taught by Boehmer) such that its bonded over at least 50% of length to dissipate heat).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the busbars (as taught by Yohei) to be thermally bonded to the heatsink (as taught by Boehmer) such that it’s bonded over at least 50% of length to dissipate heat. By bonding the busbars to the heatsink, would help dissipate the heat generated by the large current flowing through said busbar, thus ensuring the longevity of the device.
Conclusion
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835