DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received March 23, 2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over SUZUKI et al (2012/0219911) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 which now recites that the overlayer comprises a hydrophilic polymer and a hydrophobic polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over MAEMOTO et al. (2003/0148207).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
MAEMOTO et al likewise discloses an overlayer comprising a hydrophilic polymer blended with a hydrophobic polymer particles, see para. [0420] shown below:
The working example can be found on page 51, para. [0515] Coating Solution 2, below:
The reference fails to disclose the contact angle of a water droplet; however, the presence of hydrophobic polymer particles provides for a hydrophobicity to the protective layer as to repel water and would be expected to be at a greater angle than 36 degrees. The content of the polymer fine particles is in an amount four times the polyacrylic acid, making the surface hydrophobic implying an angle at 90 degrees or greater. Contact angles less than 90 degrees indicates some hydrophilic properties.
The rejection is repeated wherein the analysis by AI for an 80% hydrophobic polymer and 20% hydrophilic polymer blend would yield an expected contact angle typically in the range of 70o to 95o and considered partially hydrophobic to weakly hydrophilic, see image below:
Thus, the claimed range as now recited for 36o to 80o would be inherently met by the coating solution 2 for the overcoat layer in MAEMOTO et al.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of MAEMOTO et al (20030148207) and SUZUKI et al. (2012/0219911).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
MAEMOTO et al has been discussed for above for the on-press lithographic printing plate having hydrophobic polymer particles in the protective layer which would inherently meet the contact angle of a water droplet as claimed.
Claims 13-14 and 17 are met at by SUZUKI et al at para. [0091].
Claims 15-16 is inherently asserted as to the infrared absorber reported in para. [0081] of SUZUKI et al.
Claims 18-19 are met by the disclosure of micropores in para. [0154] of MAEMOTO et al.
Claim 20 for the method is met by the exposure to an infrared semiconductor laser reported on page 23, para. [0201] to [0203], having a wavelength of 760 nm to 1200nm.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of on-press lithographic plates to duplicate the examples found in MAEMOTO et al and SUZUKI et al with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for good ink receptivity and high printing durability.
The rejection is repeated for the AI estimate for the contact angle of water on an 80/20 weight ratio of a hydrophobic polymer to the polyacrylic acid hydrophilic polymer in MAEMOTO et al. shown in paragraph 5 of the Office action.
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references of record disclose the particular discoloring compound having a Formula 1-1 in the outermost layer.
Claims 21-23 are seen as allowable over the prior art of record.
None of the references of record disclose the particular discoloring compound having a Formula 1-1 in the outermost layer.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YU et al (2006/0292486) and NOGLIK et al (2004/0081911) both disclose overcoat layer comprising a resin and resin mixtures, see paras.[0061] in both references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
June 11, 2026