DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/9/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered. The claim objections have been withdrawn due to amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-11 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US 20210066953 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20120007551 A1) further in view of Tang (CN 113410894 B).
Regarding Claim 1, Engel teaches a system (Figs. 2B-2C), comprising:
a controller (100) configured to:
determine a first value of a voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[40] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a first voltage value at the first resistor 226, before the relay 220 closes”) in a charger configured to output power to a battery of an electric vehicle (10) (¶[5] “An aspect of the disclosed embodiments is a method for a battery charger circuit of a vehicle”);
detect, responsive to the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link being greater than a reference value of a DC voltage established for the DC link (¶[41] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a second voltage value at the second resistor 228, before the relay 220 closes. In some embodiments, the controller 100 may determine whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value”), an in-rush current from the battery to the charger (¶[42] “When the controller 100 determines that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, the controller 100 may determine whether a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than a threshold. The threshold may include a value that indicates that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value may result in a current spike when the relay 220 closes”);
Engel does not explicitly teach to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link;
determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag.
Song teaches to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[74] “The commercial electricity 300 may be AC electricity or DC electricity”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Engel to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link in order to be compatible with high speed DC chargers.
Engel in view of Song does not teach to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag
Tang teaches to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”);
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold (¶[84] “If the duration of the abnormal voltage signal is greater than the first time threshold, the power switch S is controlled to be disconnected”),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel and Song to incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold in order to prevent the battery charger from operating if there is still a risk of an in-rush current.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not explicitly teach the controller to provide an alert via a human machine interface using the flag; however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an alert to the user so that they know the vehicle is not charging properly.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 1.
Engel further teaches a capacitor (224) located at an output of the DC link (see Fig. 2B-2C);
and the controller configured to increase, responsive to detection of the in-rush current, voltage at the output of the DC link (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 1.
Tang further teaches wherein the controller (150) is further configured to:
determine a duration for which the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”);
and terminate current flow from the charger to the battery responsive to the duration greater than or equal to a threshold (¶[84] “If the duration of the abnormal voltage signal is greater than the first time threshold, the power switch S is controlled to be disconnected, thereby controlling the battery charging or discharging circuit to be disconnected”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 1.
Tang further teaches wherein the controller (150) is further configured to:
determine a duration for which the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”);
Engel as modified does not teach to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor that measures current between the charger and the battery.
Tang further teaches to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor (141) that measures current between the charger and the battery (¶[71] “if the voltage across the battery or the charging or discharging current of the battery is in an abnormal state, the low-power logic control signal controls the bandgap reference circuit 120, the overcurrent detection subcircuit 141, the voltage detection circuit 110 and the sampling circuit 160 to remain in the on state” (emphasis added)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to further incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor that measures current between the charger and the battery;
in order to keep the current detection circuit active if the battery is reconnected.
Regarding Claim 8, Engel teaches a system, comprising:
a controller (100) configured to:
determine a first value of voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[40] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a first voltage value at the first resistor 226, before the relay 220 closes”) in a charger configured to output power to a battery (¶[5] “An aspect of the disclosed embodiments is a method for a battery charger circuit of a vehicle”) via a capacitor (224);
control, responsive to a comparison of the first value of DC voltage at the input of the DC link with a reference value of a DC voltage established for the input of the DC link, voltage at the capacitor (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”).
Engel does not explicitly teach to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link;
determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link; and
trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag.
Song teaches to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[74] “The commercial electricity 300 may be AC electricity or DC electricity”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Engel to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link in order to be compatible with high speed DC chargers.
Engel in view of Song does not teach to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag
Tang teaches to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”);
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold (¶[84] “If the duration of the abnormal voltage signal is greater than the first time threshold, the power switch S is controlled to be disconnected”),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel and Song to incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide to determine a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and trigger a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold in order to prevent the battery charger from operating if there is still a risk of an in-rush current.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not explicitly teach the controller to provide an alert via a human machine interface using the flag; however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an alert to the user so that they know the vehicle is not charging properly.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 8.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
determine that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[41] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a second voltage value at the second resistor 228, before the relay 220 closes. In some embodiments, the controller 100 may determine whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value”); and
provide, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, an indication of in-rush current (¶[42] “When the controller 100 determines that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, the controller 100 may determine whether a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than a threshold. The threshold may include a value that indicates that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value may result in a current spike when the relay 220 closes”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang system of claim 8.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
determine that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[41] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a second voltage value at the second resistor 228, before the relay 220 closes. In some embodiments, the controller 100 may determine whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value”); and
increase, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a second value (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, ¶[44] “The controller 100 may increase the voltage value of the capacitor 224, such that the voltage value of the capacitor 224 equals or substantially equals the first voltage value”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang system of claim 8.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
determine that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[43] “When the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is not greater than the threshold”, the threshold may be 0 indicating that the values are equal); and
maintain, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor at a same value (¶[43] “Conversely, when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, the voltage of the capacitor is only adjusted when difference is above a threshold, so when the voltage is below a threshold the voltage is not adjusted and therefore maintained at the current value).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang system of claim 8,
Tang further teaches wherein the controller (150) is further configured to:
determine a duration for which the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”); and
terminate current flow from the charger to the battery responsive to the duration greater than or equal to a threshold (¶[84] “If the duration of the abnormal voltage signal is greater than the first time threshold, the power switch S is controlled to be disconnected, thereby controlling the battery charging or discharging circuit to be disconnected”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang system of claim 8.
Tang further teaches wherein the controller (150) is further configured to:
determine a duration for which the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”); and
Engel as modified does not teach to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor that measures current between the charger and the battery.
Tang further teaches to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor (141) that measures current between the charger and the battery (¶[71] “if the voltage across the battery or the charging or discharging current of the battery is in an abnormal state, the low-power logic control signal controls the bandgap reference circuit 120, the overcurrent detection subcircuit 141, the voltage detection circuit 110 and the sampling circuit 160 to remain in the on state” (emphasis added)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to further incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide to identify, based on the duration greater than or equal to a threshold, a state of a current sensor that measures current between the charger and the battery;
in order to keep the current detection circuit active if the battery is reconnected.
Regarding Claim 17, Engel teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a controller, a first value of voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[40] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a first voltage value at the first resistor 226, before the relay 220 closes”) in a charger configured to output power to a battery (¶[5] “An aspect of the disclosed embodiments is a method for a battery charger circuit of a vehicle”) via a capacitor (224);
controlling, by the controller, responsive to a comparison of the first value of DC voltage at the input of the DC link with a reference value of DC voltage established for the input of the DC link, voltage at the capacitor (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”).
Engel does not explicitly teach determining a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link;
determining a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and triggering a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag.
Song teaches determining a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link (¶[74] “The commercial electricity 300 may be AC electricity or DC electricity”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Engel to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide to determine a first value of a direct current (DC) voltage at an input of a DC link in order to be compatible with high speed DC chargers.
Engel in view of Song does not teach determining a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and triggering a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, the controller to provide an alert via a human-machine interface using the flag.
Tang teaches to determining a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[84] “After receiving the abnormal voltage signal, the driving circuit 130 determines the duration of the abnormal voltage signal”);
and triggering a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold (¶[84] “If the duration of the abnormal voltage signal is greater than the first time threshold, the power switch S is controlled to be disconnected”),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel and Song to incorporate the teachings of Tang to provide to determining a duration for which the first value of the DC voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of the DC voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and triggering a flag responsive to the duration exceeding a threshold, in order to prevent the battery charger from operating if there is still a risk of an in-rush current.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not explicitly teach the controller to provide an alert via a human machine interface using the flag; however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an alert to the user so that they know the vehicle is not charging properly.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches method of claim 17.
Engel further teaches determining, by the controller, that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[41] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a second voltage value at the second resistor 228, before the relay 220 closes. In some embodiments, the controller 100 may determine whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value”); and
providing, by the controller, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, an indication of in-rush current (¶[42] “When the controller 100 determines that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, the controller 100 may determine whether a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than a threshold. The threshold may include a value that indicates that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value may result in a current spike when the relay 220 closes”)
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the method of claim 17.
Engel further teaches determining, by the controller, that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[41] “The controller 100 may be configured to measure a second voltage value at the second resistor 228, before the relay 220 closes. In some embodiments, the controller 100 may determine whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value”); and
increase, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a second value (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, ¶[44] “The controller 100 may increase the voltage value of the capacitor 224, such that the voltage value of the capacitor 224 equals or substantially equals the first voltage value”).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the method of claim 17.
Engel further teaches determining, by the controller (100), that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[43] “When the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is not greater than the threshold”, the threshold may be 0 indicating that the values are equal);
and maintaining, by the controller, responsive to the determination that the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor at a same value (¶[43] “Conversely, when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, the voltage of the capacitor is only adjusted when difference is above a threshold, so when the voltage is below a threshold the voltage is not adjusted and therefore maintained at the current value).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US 20210066953 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20120007551 A1) further in view of Tang (CN 113410894 B) and further in view of Yoshida (US 20180316275 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the teaches the system of claim 1.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
increase, responsive to detection of the in-rush current, the voltage at an output of the DC link (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, ¶[44] “The controller 100 may increase the voltage value of the capacitor 224, such that the voltage value of the capacitor 224 equals or substantially equals the first voltage value”);
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not teach to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output, that a second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and increase, responsive to the determination that the second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output of the DC link to a third value.
Yoshida teaches to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output (first initial charging operation, see Fig. 3A), that a second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[46] “At step S102, the control unit 20 determines whether or not a difference (voltage difference) between a DC link capacitor voltage value as detected by the DC link capacitor voltage detection unit 14 and an alternating current voltage crest value as detected by the alternating current voltage detection unit 13 becomes smaller than or equal to a voltage reference value”);
and increase, responsive to the determination that the second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output of the DC link to a third value (see Fig. 3B and 3C where the capacitor voltage is increased).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output, that a second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and increase, responsive to the determination that the second value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output of the DC link to a third value;
in case one charging cycle is not enough to raise the voltage of the capacitor to a sufficient level for preventing in-rush current.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the teaches the system of claim 1.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
increase, responsive to detection of the in-rush current, the voltage at an output of the charger to a second value (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, ¶[44] “The controller 100 may increase the voltage value of the capacitor 224, such that the voltage value of the capacitor 224 equals or substantially equals the first voltage value”);
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not teach to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output to the second value, that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and maintain, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output at the second value.
Yoshida teaches to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output to the second value (first initial charging operation, see Fig. 3A), that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[46] “the control unit 20 determines whether or not a difference (voltage difference) between a DC link capacitor voltage value as detected by the DC link capacitor voltage detection unit 14 and an alternating current voltage crest value as detected by the alternating current voltage detection unit 13 becomes smaller than or equal to a voltage reference value”);
and maintain, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output at the second value (¶[46] “When it is determined that the difference between the DC link capacitor voltage value and the alternating current voltage crest value becomes smaller than or equal to the voltage reference value, the initial charging operation is to be completed so that the process advances to step S103”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the output to the second value, that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and maintain, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is less than or equal to the reference value of voltage for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the output at the second value;
in order to prevent over-charging of the capacitor while still preventing in-rush current.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the teaches the system of claim 8.
Engel further teaches wherein the controller (100) is further configured to:
increase, responsive to the comparison of the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link with the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a second value (¶[43] “when the controller 100 determines that the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than the threshold, the controller 100 selectively adjusts a voltage value of the capacitor 224”, ¶[44] “The controller 100 may increase the voltage value of the capacitor 224, such that the voltage value of the capacitor 224 equals or substantially equals the first voltage value”);
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not teach to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the capacitor to the second value, that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and increase, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a fourth value greater than the second value.
Yoshida teaches determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the capacitor to the second value (first initial charging operation, see Fig. 3A), that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link (¶[46] “the control unit 20 determines whether or not a difference (voltage difference) between a DC link capacitor voltage value as detected by the DC link capacitor voltage detection unit 14 and an alternating current voltage crest value as detected by the alternating current voltage detection unit 13 becomes smaller than or equal to a voltage reference value”);
and increase, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a fourth value greater than the second value (see Fig. 3B and 3C where the capacitor voltage is increased).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to determine, subsequent to the increase of the voltage at the capacitor to the second value, that a third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link;
and increase, responsive to the determination that the third value of voltage at the input of the DC link is greater than the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to a fourth value greater than the second value;
in case one charging cycle is not enough to raise the voltage of the capacitor to a sufficient level for preventing in-rush current.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US 20210066953 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20120007551 A1) further in view of Tang (CN 113410894 B) and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20170013671 A).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang system of claim 8.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not explicitly teach the controller to control, responsive to the comparison of the first value of voltage at the input of the DC link with the reference value of voltage established for the input of the DC link, the voltage at the capacitor to match a second value of voltage at the battery.
Kim teaches the controller to control the voltage at the capacitor to match a second value of voltage at the battery (¶[34] “After the high voltage stage input capacitor (40) is charged to the same voltage level as the high voltage battery (10), the main relay (20) is conducted”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Kim to provide the controller to control the voltage at the capacitor to match a second value of voltage at the battery because matching the voltage value of the battery will prevent in-rush current (see Kim ¶[35]).
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US 20210066953 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20120007551 A1) further in view of Tang (CN 113410894 B) and further in view of Yeo et al. (US 20210399628 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 1.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not teach wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit.
Yeo teaches wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit (200, see Fig. 2, ¶[61] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the first switching part 210 and the second switching part 230 may form a full-bridge converter”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Yeo to provide wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit in order to control the DC voltage supplied to the battery (see ¶[14]).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Engel, Song and Tang teaches the system of claim 8.
The combination of Engel, Song and Tang does not teach wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit.
Yeo teaches wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit (200, see Fig. 2, ¶[61] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the first switching part 210 and the second switching part 230 may form a full-bridge converter”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Engel, Song and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Yeo to provide wherein the input of the DC link and the battery are coupled via a dual active bridge circuit in order to control the DC voltage supplied to the battery (see ¶[14]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 20180175652 A1)
Gibson et al. (US 8164206 B2)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859